Review Plucky Dogs run over tragic 0-3 Blues

Tim’s kick getting smothered by Cripps when we were streaming into the forward 50 was the most team killing act of the night… We were on for a goal and he kicked the bloody thing straight into Cripps…

And everyone could anticipate that was going to happen because English was unaware where Cripps was just no footy smarts and instinct.

Can't wait to see English back at his best.

View attachment 2266262
I assume this means you think English was good last night? Can you point out some positive pieces of play? He had a lovely tap to Kennedy for a goal. After that I’ve got nothing, while his direct opponent was close to best on ground

I assume this means you think English was good last night? Can you point out some positive pieces of play? He had a lovely tap to Kennedy for a goal. After that I’ve got nothing, while his directors opponent was close to best on ground
No, I think he was neither good nor bad, he had a middling game. He won the hit outs to advantage. Made a couple of errors. Kicking it into Cripps cost us a goal. But other players cost us goals too.

TDK was better around the ground, but you may notice they spent large periods not near each other on the ground. I would assume that was under instruction.

English got towled up by Xerri in Rd1, but most ruckman are this year as Xerri is possibly the best ruck in the comp. He was also middling against Cameron breaking even against him.

The English bashing on here is a bit much. He hasn't been great, but other than Rd1 it's not the disaster it's painted out on here. We are 2-1 and with a bit of luck could be 3-0.

I’ve never been an English fan, I think it’s been obvious for several years that he lacks the physicality/attitude/aggression required for that position. Sometimes against lesser rucks that was painted over, he broke even in the contest and then destroyed them around the ground. But that is rarer nowadays, and tbf could be a result of the concussions and/or other injuries.

It’s less the actual game on Friday, or any individual game, that’s the issue. For me, there are three frustrations:

1) The opportunity cost of not having an effective ruck in big games has been problematic for at least 5-6 years. Having Martin in 2021 glossed over this, but when English has been first ruck it’s been challenging.

2) The salary cap hit is high for what he provides now, and likely into the future. My guess is he’s amongst the top 3-5 rucks from a salary perspective and we do not get that output from him.

3) The list management strategy with English as the presumptive first ruck then prevents us from targeting an effective player in that position.

I’m just a guy sitting on a couch and he’s playing probably the hardest position in the game, so well done to him - particularly given his concussions and willingness to get out there. But when the book of the Bevo years is written, I can’t help thinking that the assessment will be that one of the major mistakes he/the club made was to put all their chips in on English as the main ruck for basically a decade. And at a time when they had the best player in the comp, a loaded midfield and other high quality talent around the ground.

Tim’s kick getting smothered by Cripps when we were streaming into the forward 50 was the most team killing act of the night… We were on for a goal and he kicked the bloody thing straight into Cripps…
…who sent it down the other end for a Carlton goal 😡.

I texted to a family member “Thanks Tim bloody English!”

But hey, we won. Bevo said Tim was “solid”, so there you go.

Posting this just for a laugh

Great pic.

I love that jumper and the fact that we played in it in 2016. It is my favourite of all the ones we have worn over the years.

I understand it is based on our old jumper in the 50s/60s. Does anyone know what years we have worn this jumper?

Has there ever been a key forward with height of Darcy who competes at ground level as well as he does? Amazing.

For selection integrity Bramble has to go, needs a spell.

And his field kicking is elite.

The fact that Darcy and Lobb are playing so well is making English look even worse.

English and Naughton have been so disappointing. They both need to step up, and if they do, along with the return of our injured players, we could be looking at finals again but I don’t see top 4 as a strong possibility. But I’m very happy to be proven wrong.

Astro was pretty average but I really love the way he keeps persisting and stays involved.

Agree
But we also have to help him by kicking better to him. Sone of the kicks you could see wasn’t even put to his advantage

English was actually pretty good in the ruck (his usual weakness) and diabolical in general play (usual strength).

Weird game.

There was quite a few nearly marks for Tim. And Darcy and others.
Maybe the humidity, sweat, closed roof made for a number of those dropped marks. Also with Naughts, whose never been the sticky finger type.
Silvagni played great, Weitterman and TDK are top line players. Cripps was pretty hurt in the last. I reckon there will be players on both teams that might be too sore for next week

His start is bloody good … enormous sigh, head in hands… singing “darkness is my old friend …” lol

I do feel for the Blues supporters though.. they had hopes… heaps of them turned up .. team started really well … must win match … losing Williams was big for them, imo.

Or he is a young player with under 20 games experience who is taking his time to work into games, which will improve as he gers more experience.

Too many comments in the game day thread in the first half about the kid were pathetic given his age and experience and that his last halfs in the first 2 games were also very good

On SM-S926B using BigFooty.com mobile app
It's pretty ironic how often the words pathetic and disgraceful are spewed our on our game day threads.

I made the mistake of clicking on one of those Blues supporter game reviews on You Tube. Now I have them popping up everywhere, there are at least half a dozen on them, and my god aren't they depressing. Non stop bagging the club at how bad they are....

I was half expecting one of them, in true Davinci Code style, to get out a heavy rope with a knot tied in the end of it and start lashing himself with it.

Thanks for the invaluable feedback.
New profile, every post either bagging Bevo, English, Sanders, or mocking us moving on Macrae. We are 2-1, and a goal short of being 3-0, missing two of our best 3 players. Our best small forward. Bevo and the players seem united, Sanders has been pretty good in the second half of games. Vibes feel good. Kennedy is a better fit than Macrae for our current system, who is best in the center, but won't be pushing out Libba, Bont, Treloar and Richards. Some people should try and just enjoy the ride instead of being negative about every little thing.

Thanks, not really too fussed about a meaningless one line post, just annoyed enough to reply in the same vein! 😀

Review Plucky Dogs run over tragic 0-3 Blues