Draft Expert PMBangers 2023 Draft Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter PMBangers

Bangers, Lachie Charleson a bit stiff to not at least get a State Combine invite? Been outstanding for the Rebels and had some nice moments during the Nationals? I'd Willingly give him a rookie shot at the Crows, can't teach his level of footy smarts either forward or on ball.
I must agree with you here Mutineer, I'm a Charlson fan and found it difficult to rationalise some of those that were invited over him, but as we know from prior drafts all it takes is one club to like him for him to get on a list. Hopefully he has a good end to the season and receives an invite from that

No he didn't, just struggled heavily against Brisbane.
I have reacted accordingly and chucked him in the "undraftable" basket

Jed Walters knee is cooked too. Make sure that gets around heavily.
Roast Turkey Cooking GIF by Julia Child

You would be surprised the Tassie pride factor, it's different to most mainland teams and more like State of Origin football. If we have what essentially will be a state team in the AFL, a lot of our players would love to come back to play for Tassie. Doesn't mean they all will and life circumstances can make it difficult, but the lure of being an inaugral member of a Tasmanian team will be quite big.
Does that extend to 'fans' as well?

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Was gonna do a rankings update but not much has changed over the last month or so, my top 20 has shifted around a bit for the order but the only change in the names is Luamon Lual coming in for Angus Hastie. I think it's at a stage now where the top 14 is pretty well locked in, those consensus names you see in everyone's top 14 atm (Reid, Walter, McKercher, Read, Duursma, Watson, O'Sullivan, Curtin, Sanders, Rogers, Wilson, Murphy, Croft and Caddy) will likely be the top 14 come draft night, and from there it's a bit of a crap shoot trying to get a) any sort of consensus and b) happiness with my own rankings just due to the evenness of various groupings in there. I'm pretty set with the top 33 names I've got I'd say, the order changes everyday, and then after that there's about 10-15 I like in a group of their own before even more uncertainty amongst the rest. In that 33 there's 9 club tied prospects without including Sanders and only 2 of those in Edwards and Lual are NGA, so I can definitely see why there's angst amongst some clubs as to how compromised the draft is

I am also now not going to get excited for future drafts in fear of being disappointed

Was gonna do a rankings update but not much has changed over the last month or so, my top 20 has shifted around a bit for the order but the only change in the names is Luamon Lual coming in for Angus Hastie. I think it's at a stage now where the top 14 is pretty well locked in, those consensus names you see in everyone's top 14 atm (Reid, Walter, McKercher, Read, Duursma, Watson, O'Sullivan, Curtin, Sanders, Rogers, Wilson, Murphy, Croft and Caddy) will likely be the top 14 come draft night, and from there it's a bit of a crap shoot trying to get a) any sort of consensus and b) happiness with my own rankings just due to the evenness of various groupings in there. I'm pretty set with the top 33 names I've got I'd say, the order changes everyday, and then after that there's about 10-15 I like in a group of their own before even more uncertainty amongst the rest. In that 33 there's 9 club tied prospects without including Sanders and only 2 of those in Edwards and Lual are NGA, so I can definitely see why there's angst amongst some clubs as to how compromised the draft is

I am also now not going to get excited for future drafts in fear of being disappointed

I reckon we'll take Lual outright since we won't be able to match him. Pace is a huge need for the Dogs and we've worked with him for a while.

I am curious as to how the Dogs manoeuvre around the draft, whether they look to trade out just one first rounder and hope to take a pick prior to a Croft bid, or whether they trade out completely, then trade back in to make a selection once Croft has passed through

PMB

Can you share who your 13 are that sit outside your top 20?

I’m of the belief we need a quick small forward using the first of the North compo picks.

what are your thoughts here Bangers?

Collard, Sanchez…anyone else?

Delean, Callinan and maybe Gotthard to look at non-WA boys roughly around the mark; will leave Bangers to provide his thoughts on each....

I’m of the belief we need a quick small forward using the first of the North compo picks.

what are your thoughts here Bangers?

Collard, Sanchez…anyone else?
For quick small forwards you're looking at Jack Callinan or Pheonix Gothard in addition to those 2, but I'd say for a pick in the early 20's that Sanchez is going to be the most likely of the 4 to be in the frame, although Gothard I could see bolting to that range too.

Delean is an option but doesn't quite have the same level as speed, at least not to the eye, and a Kade De La Rue could fit the bill too but isn't really that small in comparison to the others

PMB

Can you share who your 13 are that sit outside your top 20?
Tholstrup, McCabe, Leake, DeMattia, A. Reid, Hardeman, Hastie, Sanchez, De La Rue, Graham, Simpson, Cleary, Stevens

PMBangers - Along with a whole raft of things WCE need, I'd love to see us pick up a big bodied accumulator with excellent hands/vision.
It seems as though George Stevens and Clay Hall may be the two closest to my wish list.

What are the main differences between these two players? Is there anyone else we should be looking at too?

For quick small forwards you're looking at Jack Callinan or Pheonix Gothard in addition to those 2, but I'd say for a pick in the early 20's that Sanchez is going to be the most likely of the 4 to be in the frame, although Gothard I could see bolting to that range too.

Delean is an option but doesn't quite have the same level as speed, at least not to the eye, and a Kade De La Rue could fit the bill too but isn't really that small in comparison to the others

Tholstrup, McCabe, Leake, DeMattia, A. Reid, Hardeman, Hastie, Sanchez, De La Rue, Graham, Simpson, Cleary, Stevens

If Sam Sturt hadn't started to perform then De La Rue might be ok...Actually might still be

PMBangers - Along with a whole raft of things WCE need, I'd love to see us pick up a big bodied accumulator with excellent hands/vision.
It seems as though George Stevens and Clay Hall may be the two closest to my wish list.

What are the main differences between these two players? Is there anyone else we should be looking at too?
Those are the two you'd be looking at for anything outside the top 15, but I think it's optimistic to assume Stevens will be a midfielder long term at the next level, I expect he'll be a defender if he's to have a long career.

For Hall however he should be able to become a solid role player through the midfield; work rate, spread from contest, inside/ outside balance are arguably his biggest strengths, with athleticism and disposal by foot the main criticisms. Given the lack of genuine mids this year, he could get jumped on early.

Someone else worth tracking if you're wanting more of a winger is Caleb Windsor from Eastern, works well both ways, holds his space well and is damaging by foot when out in space

Those are the two you'd be looking at for anything outside the top 15, but I think it's optimistic to assume Stevens will be a midfielder long term at the next level, I expect he'll be a defender if he's to have a long career.

For Hall however he should be able to become a solid role player through the midfield; work rate, spread from contest, inside/ outside balance are arguably his biggest strengths, with athleticism and disposal by foot the main criticisms. Given the lack of genuine mids this year, he could get jumped on early.

Someone else worth tracking if you're wanting more of a winger is Caleb Windsor from Eastern, works well both ways, holds his space well and is damaging by foot when out in space
Thanks mate...We need a defender to replace Hurn so maybe Stevens could fit the bill. I'll check Windsor out too!

We also need high class left footers, unless you're available, who else in the draft should we look at?

Thanks mate...We need a defender to replace Hurn so maybe Stevens could fit the bill. I'll check Windsor out too!

We also need high class left footers, unless you're available, who else in the draft should we look at?
There isn't much to write home about for high class kicks unfortunately 😥

IMO there are plenty of high class kicks in this draft whether they be left or right. Below are some lefties for u that have a high efficiency rate. All in WCE draft range.
Shoeenmaker who has a booming left peg. Is likely to play HB or wing. But he's a lovely kick. Reminds me of Clinton Young. Mid 2nd round.
Lorenz is a nice lefty who would suit the wings of Optus. He's not blessed with pace but he makes good decisions and can kick a nice goal. Late 2nd/3rd round
Philactides is a line breaking lefty that can be damaging at speed. He kicked a ripper goal at speed in the CTL last week. Mid/late 2nd round.
Hardeman is another that is a lovely kick and has some speed to go with it. He's reliable with ball in hand and can break the lines with his kicking. Hardeman is probably the only first rounder.
Moir is ambidextrous and is probably the best kick in the draft and he could easily find himself playing either end of the ground. Many have dropped off him but I rate him and he will be a very good AFL player. Late 2nd/Early 3rd round.

IMO there are plenty of high class kicks in this draft whether they be left or right. Below are some lefties for u that have a high efficiency rate. All in WCE draft range.
Shoeenmaker who has a booming left peg. Is likely to play HB or wing. But he's a lovely kick. Reminds me of Clinton Young. Mid 2nd round.
Lorenz is a nice lefty who would suit the wings of Optus. He's not blessed with pace but he makes good decisions and can kick a nice goal. Late 2nd/3rd round
Philactides is a line breaking lefty that can be damaging at speed. He kicked a ripper goal at speed in the CTL last week. Mid/late 2nd round.
Hardeman is another that is a lovely kick and has some speed to go with it. He's reliable with ball in hand and can break the lines with his kicking. Hardeman is probably the only first rounder.
Moir is ambidextrous and is probably the best kick in the draft and he could easily find himself playing either end of the ground. Many have dropped off him but I rate him and he will be a very good AFL player. Late 2nd/Early 3rd round.
Haven't heard of this Philactides fella, please elaborate