Draft Expert PMBangers 2023 Draft Thread

Id be happy with Wilson and Sullivan.

However if McKercher was available one before our pick I'd be pushing for a trade.

I'd also like to see us take Watson (football alone) I heard he may be a flight risk which is disappointing.
I saw this mentioned last week, from someone who is supposed to work in recruiting.

I've heard a few on big footy say the same. Hopefully it is a bit of Chinese whispers but where there is smoke there is fire

Do you think with Wingards injury, Hawks might pull the trigger on Watson at 3/4?
It'll have to be a consideration I think, they were probably going to have to bring in a successor at some point and with a year on the sidelines it becomes a bit more urgent. They might be better looking to trade one in, or might just do more to retain Tyler Brockman as well though, given the top end of draft selections should be dictated more on talent than list needs

BANGERS!

What’s your GIANTS Wishlist vs what it really needs?
Wishlist is Reid naturally, or I'd love to see McKercher or Duursma slip to us from those first 4/5 picks. Realistically a combo of O'Sullivan and Wilson would make me very happy, or O'Sullivan and trade the second first rounder into next year

Sorry if already been asked, but who would you compare Luamon laul to a current afl player? Do you see scope for him to become a midfielder at afl level, or purely back/wing?

I don't really like comparisons, mostly because I'm a terrible judge, but there's a bit of Noble about his game with how he takes it on.

I think he's purely a defender or winger at the next level, hasn't got a great natural contested game to adapt to a more inside role and isn't a good enough user yet to be a first receiver in close

I am filthy I didn't do a rankings update now because I have Leake at 16 and now people will just say I copied Twomey 🤠

Still time to edit this post DR.

I am filthy I didn't do a rankings update now because I have Leake at 16 and now people will just say I copied Twomey 🤠
I think you were on him pretty early, congrats :) He is the first player Ive seen from Tassie who I hadn't heard of at the start of the season to now be in the top 20. I dont think there has been one that I hadn't heard of until their draft year that even went on to be drafted tbh. I have been waiting for that to happen. I hope when we have a team in the AFL this kind of draft year will be a semi-regular event for Tassie with potentially three in the top 20. It's a total outlier since I started watching back in 2014.

Schoenmaker a sneaky chance I think, if Tassie had a team now I would be very keen for us to take him with a later pick around 40 or so. Although I don't know what the off field issues have been.

Thinking outside the box, unlucky to be overlooked in last years draft, Kobe Ryan 19, has had a brilliant year in the SANFL league team for West Adelaide. He works hard for every possession, has a large tank, tough, and a football brain. Has been described as industrious, fearless, ball magnet, young gun, and is tagged every week, so is held in high esteem by opposition league coaches. 1st round, nominated for Powerade breakthrough player 27 disposals, 7 marks, 4 clearances, round 10 named SANFL performance of the week, 35 disposals, 1 60 metre goal, 12 tackles, 8 clearances. Ryan continues to impress with his weekly stats and input with his work ethic and skills in a league team that has only managed 3 wins this season.

if it makes you feel better, I think you were very early to the party on him. In fact, the first I'd heard of them was through you.

Quiet day out at Queen Elizabeth Oval for our boy Lachie Charleson this morning only managing to bang through 8 sausage rolls for the GWV Rebels win over the Bendigo Pioneers and Harley Reid (2 goals).
Surely, SURELY, he gets an invite to the state combine at the very least, still shocked to see some of the names that are in that first wave of invites ahead of him

View attachment 1773339
cheeky first round phantom draft for your pleasure xx

2 things. No way hawthorn let watson past them if they are serious and as much as i love watsons class the one thing we DONT need is a small forward. It will be a midfielder or a tall for us.

This could also be the first time I remember that we have 4 genuine ruck prospects in Read, Edwards, Goad and Green that are all, in my eyes at least, top 30 talents. I was lucky enough to watch Green in person yesterday play one of the best opening quarters I've seen from a ruck at any level, and he's the one I've had lowest of the 4 to this point. Add in Visentini as another National Draft prospect and that's 5 guys that I genuinely believe could shoulder the ruck duties for a club at the next level (although Read probably ends up a KPD). Going to be interesting to see how it plays out come the draft given clubs generally let them slide a little later on or trade rucks in, but I'd be pretty happy selecting any of the first 4 within the top 25

The Dees have gone close to pulling the trigger on a pure ruck with an early-ish pick the last couple of years and I reckon Green has a lot of the traits they generally like. Wouldn't shock me at all to see him go somewhere from 15-20.

Quiet day out at Queen Elizabeth Oval for our boy Lachie Charleson this morning only managing to bang through 8 sausage rolls for the GWV Rebels win over the Bendigo Pioneers and Harley Reid (2 goals).
Every time I've seen him, I've been impressed. The lack of a combine invite surprised me, but surely someone takes him in the first 2 rounds

Because it allows the Bulldogs to get 2 top talents for the price of one.
If they stay stagnant and don't trade up then their first rounder will likely be used in a bid match and eaten up.

The viable trade targets for the Dogs are probably running out tbh, apparently a ton of clubs are looking at moving into the top 10, the one who wants to move out (GC) I think would have a preference to move up rather than back imo.

Gippsland Power’s Lachlan Smith is as athletic but tougher than all of them. Look at his last few weeks.

If Smith is as athletic as Read and Goad in particular, then I'm a brownlow contender, and I say this as someone that consistently over rates Gippsland prospects

For quick small forwards you're looking at Jack Callinan or Pheonix Gothard in addition to those 2, but I'd say for a pick in the early 20's that Sanchez is going to be the most likely of the 4 to be in the frame, although Gothard I could see bolting to that range too.

Delean is an option but doesn't quite have the same level as speed, at least not to the eye, and a Kade De La Rue could fit the bill too but isn't really that small in comparison to the others

Tholstrup, McCabe, Leake, DeMattia, A. Reid, Hardeman, Hastie, Sanchez, De La Rue, Graham, Simpson, Cleary, Stevens
Callinan isn’t quick , clever yes