Draft Expert PMBangers 2023 Draft Thread

Saints Needs

1. Nuggety, speedy small back-pocket
2. Burst midfielder-good skills by foot added to P.Dow
3. 2 X small mid-forwards
4. Outside midfielder= Caleb Windsor added to L.Henry
1. Not really many in the National Draft frame, Oscar Hine-Bastion fits best but is eligible as an Eagles NGA
2. Also not widely available, Cooper Simpson sort of fits the bill but footskills aren't a strength from the inside
3. Plenty available! Phoenix Gothard probably my favourite but doesn't quite have the midfield potential

Oscar Hine-Bastion been very under rated by most
Beautiful long left foot kick
Strong core very quick and good endurance
Good one on one but then can run of
But what I like best his defensive running back to goal
He can beat most small forwards running back to goal and stop those easy goals
Classic small backman

Thanks mate.

Watching Curtin yesterday, he just seems such a lovely distributor and isn’t afraid of changing up the angles.

Given the inside mid backlog at north, Mckercher would be likely stuck on a wing for a while.
McKercher just spreads so well from congestion.
A lot of teams will play a high HF and push them up to the contest, McKercher could play that role early in his career and do it well.

Classic small backman
Yep - they’ve thrown him in as a lockdown defender and he does his job well but given the opportunity to run, this kid will explode, he plays instinctual footy. So much more to see here.

Classic small backman
There's certainly a bit to like, but I was pretty underwhelmed with some of his work at the Champs and felt he was exposed under pressure, certainly not a deal breaker given he's often playing deep on a dangerous small so it's a stressful position to be in, but his opposition at AFL level are the likes of Rankine, Rachele, Cameron, etc. who'll smell blood in the water in those situations
I think you should extend to 70.....I mean why not? It's fun.
I don't have that level of optimism for the draft unfortunately, I've got a list of 55 atm that I'd say are National Draft worthy, and there's 10 within the group that I'm being lenient on if I'm being honest, although for a couple of those the Combine Testing will be a make or break.
Billy Wilson has had a very decent season and with his speed and run and carry surely he has to be in some contention late 2nd round somewhere. Has looked really good in the midfield late in the season too. I don't see too many deficiencies in his game with his versatility?
I like the midfield exposure but think he's still a wing/ half back in an AFL side, contested game isn't terrible but his ball use just drops dramatically when in the clenches

There's certainly a bit to like, but I was pretty underwhelmed with some of his work at the Champs and felt he was exposed under pressure, certainly not a deal breaker given he's often playing deep on a dangerous small so it's a stressful position to be in, but his opposition at AFL level are the likes of Rankine, Rachele, Cameron, etc. who'll smell blood in the water in those situations

I don't have that level of optimism for the draft unfortunately, I've got a list of 55 atm that I'd say are National Draft worthy, and there's 10 within the group that I'm being lenient on if I'm being honest, although for a couple of those the Combine Testing will be a make or break.

I like the midfield exposure but think he's still a wing/ half back in an AFL side, contested game isn't terrible but his ball use just drops dramatically when in the clenches
In the championships was hurt by WA turning the ball out of defence then being out of position on the turnover
The wizard kicked a few on him but apart from one occasion where the wizard recovered quicker
The rest where from ball turnovers so he was out of position
Did a great job against Delan from SA and was very good against Vic country at optus
Colts level has been terrific in the back half of the season

Do you see Darcy Wilson being a potential late riser? Great runner, good shot at goal, decent size, good consistent output. Looks a really solid pick. Hoping he’s there for Essendon.
I like him for the Giants :)

Hey mate love your work how many Tasmanian players do you see getting drafted and what type of range do you see them going ?

This article thinks that Sanders is more likely to be available in the open pool which will affect the top order of the draft

Sanders, who has an Indigenous background, is yet to be added to the AFL's Next Generation Academy list. Under NGA rules, clubs can't match bids on prospects inside the first 40 picks of the draft, but there has been a view that the Roos could be given access to match a bid at any point for Sanders as part of their assistance package.

However, with just over a week to go before the AFL Commission meets, there is a growing feel among rivals that Sanders, a certain top-10 pick, will more likely be in the open pool.

Hey mate love your work how many Tasmanian players do you see getting drafted and what type of range do you see them going ?
On field suggests McKercher, Sanders, Schoenmaker and Callinan should all go National Draft. First two should be pretty safe within the top 10, Schoenmaker I imagine 20-35 and Callinan more 30+, it'll just come down to how they all interview/ character check, and whether clubs are a bit jumpy about drafting Tassie players (they shouldn't be)
This article thinks that Sanders is more likely to be available in the open pool which will affect the top order of the draft

Sanders, who has an Indigenous background, is yet to be added to the AFL's Next Generation Academy list. Under NGA rules, clubs can't match bids on prospects inside the first 40 picks of the draft, but there has been a view that the Roos could be given access to match a bid at any point for Sanders as part of their assistance package.

However, with just over a week to go before the AFL Commission meets, there is a growing feel among rivals that Sanders, a certain top-10 pick, will more likely be in the open pool.
Works out well for 17 clubs, I wonder if this means North get some other form of assistance though

BANGERS!

Let's talk about the draft from your perspective as a GIANTS fan instead of a draft follower.

What does the men's side need to zero in on and who's the right fit for it?
Jed Walter or Colby McKercher would be nice!

On field suggests McKercher, Sanders, Schoenmaker and Callinan should all go National Draft. First two should be pretty safe within the top 10, Schoenmaker I imagine 20-35 and Callinan more 30+, it'll just come down to how they all interview/ character check, and whether clubs are a bit jumpy about drafting Tassie players (they shouldn't be)

Works out well for 17 clubs, I wonder if this means North get some other form of assistance though
Without wanting to derail and this will be my last post on this here, I have no problem with north getting some assistance but they have a heap of young highpicked kids so salary cap relief / list spot help / soft cap help etc is what tge AFL should be working to as another 18 year old is not helping in the short term like better line coaches and the ability to go after free agents with extra cap relief does imo

Would you settle for O'Sullivan?
I'd honestly be happy with any of my top 8, O'Sullivan could well be our Haynes replacement if needed, or I wouldn't be shocked if Adam Kingsley tried to convert him into a KPF

Do you think he's any chance of becoming a mid?
Just can't see it, the value of KPDs is evident at the moment and unless they're gonna be a top line KPF (Naughton for example) I don't see many clubs making a switch

Classic small backman
Wow, you just talked yourself out of an NGA player. Won't make it to 40 after that promo

James Leake?

Next question Bangers.

Who's your "MY MAN" for 2024 and possibly 2025?
Murphy Reid and Zak Johnson for next year, haven't seen heaps of 2025 class but Dalton and Noah Hibbins-Hargreave have impressed me at CTL level
James Leake?
I was bound to forget one when quickly typing this mid cooking dinner, but yes obviously Leake as well in the 12-25 bracket

Just can't see it, the value of KPDs is evident at the moment and unless they're gonna be a top line KPF (Naughton for example) I don't see many clubs making a switch
Thanks mate....It's just that he looks like a giant flanker (lol) and doesn't really have KPD written over him. From the vids I've seen anyway.

I think it's easy to get that impression because he does have quite a bit of attacking flair to his game, but his first half of the season was a good display of how well he can balance between defensive and offensive within games, just the second half of the season he seemed a bit more 'eager' to get further afield