Draft Expert PMBangers 2025 Draft Thread

I'm just gonna delete anymore dick measuring about which young key forward is better hope thats ok =)
Wait this isn’t the thread for that?

I'm just gonna delete anymore dick measuring about which young key forward is better hope thats ok =)
Episode 2 Whatever GIF

The question is do you think types like McCarthy, Sweid, ElAchkar, Kellaway, McGuane, Addinsal, Waller, Walley, King, Murray, White etc get rated higher due to nga, fs, academy status
Rated by who?, the only rating that really matters comes on draft night.

The question is do you think types like McCarthy, Sweid, ElAchkar, Kellaway, McGuane, Addinsal, Waller, Walley, King, Murray, White etc get rated higher due to nga, fs, academy status
Sometimes yes, sometimes no

I think fans of clubs that have players linked generally over rate them in hopes they're getting an A grader for cheap, and I think media outlets do too to a degree to drive engagement, but come draft night they usually go where they should

I don’t know about ratings but I believe any kid affiliated with an AFL club in some capacity is afforded greater visibility, valuable opportunities and exposure in the AFL landscape that non affiliated kids do.
Whether they are more talented or not is debatable.

Sometimes yes, sometimes no

I think fans of clubs that have players linked generally over rate them in hopes they're getting an A grader for cheap, and I think media outlets do too to a degree to drive engagement, but come draft night they usually go where they should
Exhibit A is Patrick Naish.
Naish was eligible the year we had 5 picks under 30 and one AFL clown wrote a piece saying that we will need to give up 3 of those picks to match a bid for him.

Is Bammert a better prospect than Hunter Wright?

HW seemed like he was touted highly earlier in the year but everyone else has caught up.
Neither of them are overly appealing but Bamert does have a couple of PODs with his athleticism and overhead marking at least

Bamert’s old man was a deadset star in the VAFA with the exact traits you mention for Xavier. The smart recruiters would be aware of the genes past thru. I’ve seen a lot of Xavier’s knights games. He’s got some real X factor (pardon the pun) imo so hopefully he gets a look at the back half of the draft.

Hey mate, looking at the Eagles list and available spots assuming we want to bring in most/all of our F/S and NGA kids we have 3-5 spots, 1 and 2 barring trades go towards mids (hoping Sharp and Duursma but if Phillipou ends up in the top 5 by the draft then I'd go him and Sharp), do you see any KPD being a realistic FRP after Dean? Kondogiannis has been on the rise lately and Carmichael is tied to Sydney. Really one of our main holes unless we reach for Emmett in the ruck or add another small forward in the Byrne mould (absolute dog pressure i50). Curtin best position is clearly forward even if he looks a bit slow. Vague feeling Taj Murray could get turned into a KPD.

Seems like we could look to trade out any of (including band 1 and 2 compos) 14, 23, 34, and 52 into next year or out for a bigger backman. Love to hear your thoughts.

P.S dont know if you browse r/afl but would love to see your thoughts on a silly mock draft I wrote up the other day. u/txbyhull

Was a few beautys running around in the VFL on the weekend, notably, Annable & Prindable - BL, Mikunda - Gee, Harding - Carl, Addinsal - Suns, Mellor - Gee. Where do you rate these lads Bangers.

The obvious ones, Patterson and Uwland also played and looked every bit top 5 picks

Hey mate, looking at the Eagles list and available spots assuming we want to bring in most/all of our F/S and NGA kids we have 3-5 spots, 1 and 2 barring trades go towards mids (hoping Sharp and Duursma but if Phillipou ends up in the top 5 by the draft then I'd go him and Sharp), do you see any KPD being a realistic FRP after Dean? Kondogiannis has been on the rise lately and Carmichael is tied to Sydney. Really one of our main holes unless we reach for Emmett in the ruck or add another small forward in the Byrne mould (absolute dog pressure i50). Curtin best position is clearly forward even if he looks a bit slow. Vague feeling Taj Murray could get turned into a KPD.

Seems like we could look to trade out any of (including band 1 and 2 compos) 14, 23, 34, and 52 into next year or out for a bigger backman. Love to hear your thoughts.

P.S dont know if you browse r/afl but would love to see your thoughts on a silly mock draft I wrote up the other day. u/txbyhull
I'm not fully convinced there's a KPD worth a ND spot outside of Dean to be honest, Thredgold has some nice traits but i need to watch him at SANFL U18s level before being confident in that. Kondo and Carmichael are more medium/ small distributors. Emmett and Murray could develop as KPDs but pretty confident both will be playing their best footy in the front half.

Was a few beautys running around in the VFL on the weekend, notably, Annable & Prindable - BL, Mikunda - Gee, Harding - Carl, Addinsal - Suns, Mellor - Gee. Where do you rate these lads Bangers.

The obvious ones, Patterson and Uwland also played and looked every bit top 5 picks
Annable will likely go top 5 and Addinsall i imagine will be bid on between 15-25. I really like Mikunda and could see him going in the 20s, and Mellor is probably a little behind him. Harding I don't see getting on a list given the amount of prospects with similar height but more traits

I'm not fully convinced there's a KPD worth a ND spot outside of Dean to be honest, Thredgold has some nice traits but i need to watch him at SANFL U18s level before being confident in that. Kondo and Carmichael are more medium/ small distributors. Emmett and Murray could develop as KPDs but pretty confident both will be playing their best footy in the front half.

Annable will likely go top 5 and Addinsall i imagine will be bid on between 15-25. I really like Mikunda and could see him going in the 20s, and Mellor is probably a little behind him. Harding I don't see getting on a list given the amount of prospects with similar height but more traits
Sounds about right, how does Kondo project from a defensive aspect rather than with ball in-hand? Cole's contract ends this season and while I think he will be renewed for another season or two we're stuck having Edwards, no real second KPD, Ginbey as a versatile third tall defender, one of Duggan or Cole, then 2 non-plus defending ball users off hbf in Maric, Baker, McCarthy etc. Reckon he could fill a over Duggan and Cole? Inch or two taller than them but seems like he's capable of playing below his height within reason.

Kondo is certainly competitive enough for a role like that and can be an intercepting threat even when one-on-one, but his real strength is his distribution still

Just a general comment Bangers.

By 2029 at the least, I wanna see these junior games called by people and have a line to a boundary rider too.
I feel commentary, more often than not, detracts from the viewing experience

No Xavier Taylor? Or you don't see him as a KPD?

Just a general comment Bangers.

By 2029 at the least, I wanna see these junior games called by people and have a line to a boundary rider too.
I feel commentary, more often than not, detracts from the viewing experience
There are two things that need to happen desperately before we even start to worry about the commentary piece.

1. Setting up a proper pre launch process/checklist with a method for checking/confirming each. Sound setup, stereo channels, levels, undesirable sounds in effects mic (heavy wind noise etc). Battery/power levels on equipment and backups just in case. Stream hosted correctly and visible. There are more but even just double checking all these on a pre-launch checklist would resolve 90+% of the ongoing issues that the various junior leagues and comps have with their stream/broadcasts.

2. Enforcing quality controls over the camera operators. Review the footage they shoot, provide them points of improvement to work on. Stop contracting operators who's quality of shoot is consistently poor and who refuse to improve.

Hitting these two points would be a dream for everyone that regularly watches these streams.

You should, I think Talor Byrne and Sam Niklaus have AFL attributes.
Hey Bangers seems I'm now not the only one that thinks Sam Niklaus is very draftable, medium running defender with excellent all round skills and has looked good when given squirts in the midfield. And how wasn't Wilson already an invitee too.

STATE COMBINE ADDITIONS​

Rod Ali - Vic M, Eastern Ranges
Brodie Atkins - Vic C, Gippsland Power
Blake Chambers - Vic M, Eastern Ranges
Cooper Collins - QLD, Gold Coast Suns
Jack Cook - SA, Woodville-West Torrens
Ryder Corrigan - NSW/ACT, Murray Bushrangers
Archie Dollman - Vic M, Oakleigh Chargers
Nicholas Driscoll - Vic M, Northern Knights
Riley Hamilton - NSW/ACT, Giants Academy
Jim Houston - NSW/ACT, Giants Academy
Jesse Johnstone - Vic C, Bendigo Pioneers