Opinion Podsiadly

My mate (a lifetime bulldog member) is absolutely livid the dogs didn't get him, werribee were affiliated with them and he did a pre season with the dogs around 05...

His current form would have gotten them over the Saints in one of their finals (08 or 09 i forget which).

09 I think, 8 goals to 7 or something like that.
Keep reminding him they wouldn't have got a flag with us still in the way!

My mate (a lifetime bulldog member) is absolutely livid the dogs didn't get him, werribee were affiliated with them and he did a pre season with the dogs around 05...
Not sure we actively pursued him. Didn't he walk in the door after a sports science job and offered to play with our VFL team if he got the job? The rest followed his excellent VFL form. Not to mention regularly out marking some of our better players during training drills.

09 I think, 8 goals to 7 or something like that.
Keep reminding him they wouldn't have got a flag with us still in the way!

Haha wouldn't have gotten a flag in 09 it was our destiny, but would have made the GF sadder i genuinely liked that bulldogs team even with that flog Aker in the lineup. If we didnt win in 09 i wanted the Dogs to. That said, we won and beat a team i have no respect for in the process.

Not sure we actively pursued him. Didn't he walk in the door after a sports science job and offered to play with our VFL team if he got the job? The rest followed his excellent VFL form. Not to mention regularly out marking some of our better players during training drills.
Thats how i heard it happened, came to the club as a fitness coach and was impressive in the VFL so they gave him a run. Rest is history. Imagine if we had him in 08 :(

My understanding is part of the job offer was a spot with the vfl side, obviously more convenient as well, and from there his potential was realised.

I still don't understand how the dogs didn't take him after dominating for years at vfl level and he literally walked in the front door, not even a rookie spot, and the kicker is they didn't have a key forward.. The mind boggles?..
Ended ok for us though :thumbsu:

My understanding is part of the job offer was a spot with the vfl side, obviously more convenient as well, and from there his potential was realised.

I still don't understand how the dogs didn't take him after dominating for years at vfl level and he literally walked in the front door, not even a rookie spot, and the kicker is they didn't have a key forward.. The mind boggles?..

He was, of course, earlier recruited then delisted by both Essendon and Collingwood, and he later trained with Footscray 05 and Richmond 06 and was rejected by both.
Scraggers shouldn't blame themselves too much.;)

The Doggies weren't the only club that passed on him either.

A bigger blunder was the Maggies passing on SJ when he was theirs for the taking. Due to concerns about his ankle. What the feck were we thinking.:eek:

Not only as a player and fitness assistant, but walked into the captaincy after Byrne retired. Best move he ever made really.

The guy's is play top footy, ........ stupid thread!:mad:
Not sure about this.

He's playing ok. Not terrible, not well, but ok. Basically it seems to me as though he's playing as the crash-n-bash option at the club who can push up away from goal. Just occasionally, he's been missing a few marks which he would have swallowed whole in 2011, and, below his knees, he has looked a little creaky (but then again that was never his strength to begin with).

On the plus side, he's covering the ground really well and of course never gets outmarked.

Finally, I'm not sure about the merits of calling a club forum thread 'stupid'. I mean, we're all here to talk about footy, aren't we? If we only post opinions which are completely uncontroversial (Gee, isn't Selwood good?), what board do we have?

He does play taller due to his strong contested marking. However, 190cm is small for a key position player these days. Perhaps with more experience he could be used in a key role when the opposition and conditions suit. Mackie is 2cm taller and is rarely used as a key back.
Charlie Gardiner was 190cm, was he not?

OP displays an almost total ignorance of the roles Pods is playing.

He's been better this year than last year. He is also playing the following roles: 1. part time defender; 2. long lead up half forward/linking target; 3. offensive decoy; 4. offensive pack-buster; 5. primary/secondary offensive marking target.

Only #5 actually involves him being the main way to goal. 1-4 arguably add more value than 5 in a team with another big forward, loads of good small forwards and a variety of mid-sized and midfield goal kicking options.

If you knew nothing about their ages, you would think Hawkins was the old bloke at the moment.