Current Police Officer Zachary Rolfe found not guilty of the murder of Kumanjayi Walker - NT

This Rolfe sounds like a full on racist piece of s**t with the disgusting racist language on his texts.
He has a long record of unwarranted assaults ,a lot covered up by his bosses.
He should have been done for murder.
Is there another article to this?

The one you provided doesn't show Rolfe being racist, nor does it show his bosses covering up unwarranted assaults, and it most certainly doesn't show Rolfe should have been done for murder.

The article you provided demonstrates some pretty unsavoury behaviour by colleagues in PRIVATE text exchanges with Rolfe. Rolfe responds to these text messages also in PRIVATE.

The only suggestion in the article of Rolfe doing something unwarranted is with the subjective use of "towel up", which includes an assumption that it means to "beat up". Again, you have to consider this text message is in PRIVATE.

I quite often towel people up, and I enjoy it. It's much, much better than me being towelled up. This year my footy team won the premiership losing only one game. We towelled up the opposition many times, including several 200+ victories.

This Rolfe sounds like a full on racist piece of s**t with the disgusting racist language on his texts.
He has a long record of unwarranted assaults ,a lot covered up by his bosses.
He should have been done for murder.
His texts are disgusting and he should be fired but they don't change the facts that the primary cause of the death was the violent actions of the desceased and the secondary cause was the violent attacks on the local health staff that made them leave slowing health care for the deceased. Unfortunately the inquiry had clearly been set up to find thr police fully to blame and reinforce the culture of victim hood in the north.

Sadly the vast vast majority of very decent people in those communities will continue to be left at risk due to under policing of the scum element.

Do agree more rehab support is needed and is a critical part of solution but some of those areas are just too dangerous to send people to.

On SM-A125F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Is there another article to this?

The one you provided doesn't show Rolfe being racist, nor does it show his bosses covering up unwarranted assaults, and it most certainly doesn't show Rolfe should have been done for murder.

The article you provided demonstrates some pretty unsavoury behaviour by colleagues in PRIVATE text exchanges with Rolfe. Rolfe responds to these text messages also in PRIVATE.

The only suggestion in the article of Rolfe doing something unwarranted is with the subjective use of "towel up", which includes an assumption that it means to "beat up". Again, you have to consider this text message is in PRIVATE.

I quite often towel people up, and I enjoy it. It's much, much better than me being towelled up. This year my footy team won the premiership losing only one game. We towelled up the opposition many times, including several 200+ victories.
What a crap post. What more do want, who cares if txts were private. It shows he has no right to be a cop and that he regards Indigenous people as subhuman.
You could not find a more racist cop. Plus he deliberately turns his camera off and bashes people indiscrimately.
He is a piece of racist s**t. You're defending a guy who called people neanderthalls, even uis ex-partner said he was a racist crooked cop.
Big tough cop, blowing someone away and then instantly trying to come up with legal excuses.

What a crap post. What more do want, who cares if txts were private. It shows he has no right to be a cop and that he regards Indigenous people as subhuman.
You could not find a more racist cop. Plus he deliberately turns his camera off and bashes people indiscrimately.
He is a piece of racist s**t. You're defending a guy who called people neanderthalls, even uis ex-partner said he was a racist crooked cop.
Big tough cop, blowing someone away and then instantly trying to come up with legal excuses.
Look at you go.

Have you ever worked in a community or prison?

How is that relevant to using racist language of the worst kind.
You seem to be barracking for Rolfe who was out of control and not suited to being a cop. Stop defending racist scumbags like Rolfe who was a trigger happy racist by any measure.
Even the redneck Queensland Sergent was shocked at what he wrote.

Look at you defending a gutless killer and making excuses for abhorrant racist stereotyping.
I'm not going to bother wasting my time arguing with someone blindsided by anti police propaganda who clearly doesn't know the first thing about what it's like to be a Police officer or in Rolfe's position.

You haven't contributed one iota to this thread until today. It says a lot about the type of person you are.

How is that relevant to using racist language of the worst kind.
You seem to be barracking for Rolfe who was out of control and not suited to being a cop. Stop defending racist scumbags like Rolfe who was a trigger happy racist by any measure.
Even the redneck Queensland Sergent was shocked at what he wrote.
It's relevant because you see awful people doing awful things and that can influence your perception of aborigines.

I'm not going to bother wasting my time arguing with someone blindsided by anti police propaganda who clearly doesn't know the first thing about what it's like to be a Police officer or in Rolfe's position.

You haven't contributed one iota to this thread until today. It says a lot about the type of person you are.
So Rolfe's a decent bloke you reckon? I don't want to read the rest of this thread if it's all just defence of anything a cop does.
There's good cops and bad cops. This guy is a bad cop.
There's no anti-police propaganda going on. There is some disgusting txts and collusion with his mate and a history of complaints and bashings by this cop.
Look at the evidence.

That argument doesn't stand up these days.You don't blow someone away for holding a pair of small blunt scissors.
You don't get charged with murder lightly either.
You're an idiot.

1. The offender wasn't just holding a pair of scissors. He stabbed the victim with them.
2. The 'blunt' scissors still caused damaged.
3. How the * is Rolfe meant to know the scissors were 'blunt'?

"Hold on, before you stab me with those scissors, let me just make an assessment to test whether those scissors are sharp. I'm gonna grab a tool from my kit bag so I can measure the sharpness of those scissors. Just stay still for me - I'll be back in a couple of minutes."

If you bothered to read the court transcript, you'd also be aware that a medical expert determined the scissors were capable of inflicting fatal wounds.

What Rolfe may or may not have said in private text message exchanges is absolutely irrelevant. It changes nothing.

You're an idiot.

1. The offender wasn't just holding a pair of scissors. He stabbed the victim with them.
2. The 'blunt' scissors still caused damaged.
3. How the * is Rolfe meant to know the scissors were 'blunt'?

"Hold on, before you stab me with those scissors, let me just make an assessment to test whether those scissors are sharp. I'm gonna grab a tool from my kit bag so I can measure the sharpness of those scissors. Just stay still for me - I'll be back in a couple of minutes."

If you bothered to read the court transcript, you'd also be aware that a medical expert determined the scissors were capable of inflicting fatal wounds.

What Rolfe may or may not have said in private text message exchanges is absolutely irrelevant. It changes nothing.
Don't call me an idiot. You're an apologist for bad cops.Rolfe is a crim and should be in jail. The txts were admissable in court, they showed he was a full on racist that liked getting his gun out first and shooting people.
Stop defending this prick.

Don't call me an idiot. You're an apologist for bad cops.Rolfe is a crim and should be in jail. The txts were admissable in court, they showed he was a full on racist that liked getting his gun out first and shooting people.
Stop defending this prick.
Regardless of whether or not he likes aborigines (he probably doesn't, by the sounds of it), he's a cop, a criminal stabbed his colleague who is also a cop, and so Rolfe responded to an emergency involving an armed criminal who had just stabbed his colleague and shot the criminal dead. Sounds reasonable to me.

Carrying a gun that wasn't holstered? Really ...then getting involved in an inevitable three man scuffle where Rolfe shoots three times. Lucky his aim was so cold and true or wild ones could have gone straight through the walls and killed people in the other rooms, or even his partner.

The court was also shown a section of Sergeant Eberl's body-worn camera footage from the night of the shooting, in which he is shown entering the front yard of the house where Mr Walker was then found.

A woman holding a crying baby asks why one of the officers is carrying a gun.

In the footage, Sergeant Adam Eberl replies: "No, he's not aiming to shoot anyone, is he?"

"We don't have a holster for that one, we have to carry it."

He adds: "So someone probably shouldn't run at police with an axe."

No surprise the text messages were suppressed, they're vile. He's a racist.

As to the scissors, they were very small, lightweight and with a thick blunt tip. I don't know any cops over the age of about 30yo who haven't been hurt sometimes seriously, making an arrest and none of them shot anyone. The risk of being hurt goes with the job.

While Rolfe might have evaded a murder conviction, he's not off the hook imo.

People sleep peacefully in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf.
It's not nice, it's not PC. It's easy for us to judge sitting in our beautiful homes and offices in beautiful cities. I don't think it's possible to judge correctly until we've had to do violence ourselves.

Carrying a gun that wasn't holstered? Really ...then getting involved in an inevitable three man scuffle where Rolfe shoots three times. Lucky his aim was so cold and true or wild ones could have gone straight through the walls and killed people in the other rooms, or even his partner.
Carrying a gun that isn't holstered isn't uncommon. In fact, it's the norm for specialist police. Their SAP is holstered, but specialist police also respond to jobs armed with a long arm. They are trained to maintain gun discipline. Perhaps do some research before you jump to conclusions that are out of character for you.

Is Rolfe squad? Executing a warrant at a pre-dawn raid?

You know they shouldn't have gone in to the Nanna's house on a Saturday night like that. It was sloppy and likely to end badly.

Yeah, I know a few police quite well. Without wanting to expose a complicated history, I have well known high ranking cops in the family

The facts are that some Police may experience a minor injury here and there, but you make it sound like every Police member over a certain age has received an injury while effecting an arrest at some stage in their career. It's simply not true.

You're also not comparing apples with apples.

Arresting an unarmed offender for theft who is only passively resisting isn't even close to the same dynamics Rolfe and his team were confronted with. You're not going to use your firearm to arrest an unarmed offender who is only passively resisting, are you?

The dynamics are so different in this case that I'm both surprised and insulted you used Walker's offending and actions to compare to 'other cops you know who have been injured effecting an arrest and they didn't shoot anyone'.

I put it to you that if 'any of the cops you know' responded to a job and their offsider was being stabbed with scissors, they would be hung out to dry if they chose not to respond to that. They are trained to use lethal force if there is a real danger and an imminent risk to life or serious injury. Rolfe made a quick assessment on that unfortunate night that lethal force was required. He was initially cleared of any wrongdoing because that's how Police are trained.

The public outrage when Rolfe was arrested shows he was treated harshly and unfairly. This thread up until yesterday is an example of that.

A wise person once told me you don't bring spray or a baton to a knife fight. Rolfe's decision to use his gun was more than justified, and his reasoning for the timing between shots one and two are more than reasonable and, importantly, were accepted by the criminal Court.

The facts are that some Police may experience a minor injury here and there, but you make it sound like every Police member over a certain age has received an injury while effecting an arrest at some stage in their career. It's simply not true.

I put it to you that you don't actually know many cops personally over lengthy careers that didn't sit at a desk for most of it.

Arresting an unarmed offender for theft who is only passively resisting isn't even close to the same dynamics Rolfe and his team were confronted with. You're not going to use your firearm to arrest an unarmed offender who is only passively resisting, are you?

Policing is actually harder now since ice came along, they're arresting addicts in ice rage all the time. Probably more dangerous and unpredictable than Walker with a pair of blunt scissors.

I put it to you that if 'any of the cops you know' responded to a job and their offsider was being stabbed with scissors, they would be hung out to dry if they chose not to respond to that. They are trained to use lethal force if there is a real danger and an imminent risk to life or serious injury, as was the more than reasonable quick assessment made by Rolfe on that unfortunate night.

They wouldn't be hung out to dry completely for choosing not to shoot Walker over medical scissor scratch. Now look where we are, an Aboriginal man with a disability and mental health issues is dead and a cop's exposed as a racist and absolutely not the type to be policing in remote community.

A wise person once told me you don't bring spray or a baton to a knife fight. Rolfe's decision to use his gun was more than justified, and his reasoning for the timing between shots one and two are more than reasonable and, importantly, were accepted by the criminal Court.

I've always said that Rolfe wouldn't be convicted of murder.

I put it to you that you don't actually know many cops personally over lengthy careers that didn't sit at a desk for most of it.
You'd be wrong.

Policing is actually harder now since ice came along, they're arresting addicts in ice rage all the time. Probably more dangerous and unpredictable than Walker with a pair of blunt scissors.
Absolutely it's harder now, and that strengthens my argument, so thanks.

They wouldn't be hung out to dry totally for choosing not to shoot Walker over medical scissor scratch. Now look where we are, an Aboriginal man with a disability and mental health issues is dead and a cop's exposed as a racist and absolutely not the type to be policing in remote community.

I can tell you from personal experience that choosing not to respond to an incident that required reasonable force isn't dealt with nicely. You're hung out to dry. Whether you choose to ignore that or not is your choice, but it's true.

Absolutely it's harder now, and that strengthens my argument, so thanks.

It doesn't, I can't remember the last time cops in Victoria or NSW more specifically shot a dangerous offender in ice rage.

I can tell you from personal experience that choosing not to respond to an incident isn't dealt with nicely. You're hung out to dry. Whether you choose to ignore that or not is your choice, but it's true.

If you're a cop, you'd know that you're probably going to be hung out to dry whatever way it goes. That's also the nature of the job.

Don't forget, Rolfe was charged with murder. Which version of being hung out to dry would you prefer?

Look at his actions. He killed a criminal who had just stabbed a police officer. How else could that have played out? Would it be more acceptable to kill that criminal if Rolfe liked aborigines, or if the criminal wasn't an aborigine?

Through the next round of inquiries, we might find out.

If Rolfe had the self discipline and the right character required for the job, he wouldn't have sent those incredibly damning text messages. They're sickening.

They could have sent in highly skilled and trained tacticals which was proposed and would have excluded Rolfe. A pre-dawn, or better planned arrest would have been far safer.