The Law Police

Can’t recall too many older, white women in the us getting shot. The “over exuberance” is usually limited to a couple of specified groups over there.
Without looking them up right now, I believe the stats actually say otherwise. More white people are shot by police than black on a per capita basis.

I stand to be corrected but I find that almost impossible to believe.

What they are saying is that a guy who is working in an office and doesn't live near a drug dealer is less likely to be shot by a cop than a guy who is robbing a liquor store.
It also suggests that some area's for example apartment blocks, are "known" danger area's and a cop is more likely to shoot someone by mistake while they are in such a place, on edge if you like.
---------------
Finally, the question of why crime rates are different across racial groups in the U.S. is a complicated question beyond the scope of this research, and thus we do not speak to this issue. Nonetheless, we believe that any research that can suggest new and innovative interventions to address this important problem should be encouraged.
---------------

There is a wiki on it.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Race_and_crime_in_the_United_States

Its not racist to say that there are more blacks committing violent crimes.
What is racist is the circumstances in which they find themselves in poor socioeconomic conditions.
Don't forget that these are statistics and some blacks have probably been incarcerated through being victimised. But there's enough there to suggest that there are in fact a lot more blacks committing violent crime.

Black Rappers even glamorise the lifestyle.

The video posted doesn't show the full story, here is the report by 7.30.

https://www.abc.net.au/7.30/disability-pensioner-suing-nsw-police-after/10516608

You will see that as she is driving, hears the siren and moves slightly to the left (giving way) not thinking that it is her that is being pursued as she is driving well within the speed limit. There is also a car in front of her that is also driving normally and doesn't pull over as I presume they too don't think they have done anything wrong. It doesn't appear that she is trying to get away and drives on to what I presume is her home. I can imagine myself doing the same thing.

Why when she did slow down and pull to the left didn't the officer drive up besides her and tell her to pull over?

The rest of the video is as posted.

The officer could have handled this so much better.

The video posted doesn't show the full story, here is the report by 7.30.

https://www.abc.net.au/7.30/disability-pensioner-suing-nsw-police-after/10516608

You will see that as she is driving, hears the siren and moves slightly to the left (giving way) not thinking that it is her that is being pursued as she is driving well within the speed limit. There is also a car in front of her that is also driving normally and doesn't pull over as I presume they too don't think they have done anything wrong. It doesn't appear that she is trying to get away and drives on to what I presume is her home. I can imagine myself doing the same thing.

Why when she did slow down and pull to the left didn't the officer drive up besides her and tell her to pull over?

The rest of the video is as posted.

The officer could have handled this so much better.
Officer.has control issues but also goes to the bigger picture of police culture and what do we want from the police as a society.

I dont want to see police over acting in these situations.
Could have been handled without cuffs. The dog was friendly but got defensive when the cop was trying to get the woman to her feet and then pushed the dog away. Fair enough for the cop to capsicum spray in that situation but it was him who allowed it to go there.
The woman could have been left out of coffs and fined some amount.
Her behaviour hardly warranted the police actions or attitude.

We are watching the video from the perspective of already knowing it was a 59 year old unarmed woman. Some people would do well to remember that.

Surely he would have known from what the on board computer was telling him that it was a 59y/o woman he was chasing?

Also pulling his gun in that case seems strange to me, as you say maybe there is something not on the footage provided, but there doesn't seem to be any justification for it.

Maybe I have been a bit too antagonistic in the way I have responded. You gotta remember I come from a place of knowing a thing or two about what it's like to do those sort of jobs and I constantly see uninformed people spouting nonsense about policing and the military. Perhaps I am too defensive as a default position and that comes across in the way I respond.

As I see it, and after given time to think, pulling the pistol out was too much. I said previously that it was arguably OK at best, but really... it wasn't necessary, regardless of whether I think he has a fair point in saying "I don't know what was waiting for me in the garage" because he should have a bit of a clue - almost certainly nothing. That's the funny thing about being a Hindsight Harry from the comfort of our couches though. We have no idea whether the cop has had something bad happen to him before in a similar circumstance. We are watching the video from the perspective of already knowing it was a 59 year old unarmed woman. Some people would do well to remember that. His attitude was definitely s**t.

But the rest? The dog thing is irrelevant - dog bites you, you cap spray the turd (the threat to shoot the dog was highly inappropriate though - it was only done to intimidate the woman). He also didn't physically mistreat her at all.

Unless there is something he did that isn't on the film that shows him doing something really horrible, the guy's job isn't in jeopardy and nor should it be. You don't fire cops for that. You give them a whack for overreacting, give them some retraining for that sort of situation and get them back to work with a better attitude.

I think this is an example of very bad policing and the officer in question needs to be reviewed whether he has the right aptitude for the job.

He's pursuing a car for potential traffic offenses. The woman parks in her own garage, which is not unreasonable. Why is the copper pulling a gun at this stage? It's alleged, but disputed, that he put the gun to her head.

Once established that she's not a bikie gang member or terrorist threat, why does he have her restrained and manhandling her?

The dog must be about the most placid dog you could imagine in the circumstances. He's wagging his tail while his owner is being abused by some dickhead.

Then she rightfully states that she wishes to not make any further statements and wants to speak to a solicitor, and he roughly manhandles her across her own property again.

Thieves' knocked off mopeds by police in London
Met Police officers are ramming into suspected moped thieves to knock them off their bikes, even during high-speed pursuits.
Dashcam footage released by Scotland Yard shows police pursuing suspected thieves across London.
However, the Independent Office for Police Conduct (IOPC) is investigating three crashes, although none involves the specialist Operation Venice team set up to tackle scooter crime.
The Met says drivers are specially trained and aim to end pursuits before riders or members of the public are injured.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/...n-police-cars-ramming-crackdown-a8648516.html

Police in London say tough tactics used against suspected violent thieves on mopeds, including chasing them and knocking them off their bikes, have helped reduce crime.
The Metropolitan police said there had been a 36% reduction in thefts that involved mopeds or scooters since the tactics were adopted last year.
These include providing officers with a special marking spray to fire at suspects, using remote-controlled spikes to burst the tyres of bikes, and using police cars to knock suspects off their bikes.
Officers had been reluctant to chase mopeds, some driven at high speed by suspects as young as 14, amid fears of injury or death.

But Insp Jim Corbett said those who thought they would not be chased if they took off their helmets were in for a surprise: “A big myth that we have is that if people remove their helmets they think they are not going to be pursued.”
He said officers were told by one person they caught: “I took my helmet off as I thought you would stop chasing me.” That person, who was later jailed, rode on to the pavement. Officers deemed him a danger to the public and used “tactical contact” to knock him off his scooter.

WHAT THE ****!

What the hell is this?!? Is there an explanation anywhere?

Edit: never mind, found the story. The kangaroo was injured so the cop was called to put it out of its misery. Didn't do a very good job mind you, just looked to be inflicting further misery on the poor roo.

lol FMD that's embarassing. But cops should aim for people's legs still....

It would have been more humane if the idiot hit the poor critter with the butt of the pistol!

You have to search long and hard to find me being complimentary about the internal military arm of the state, but I do commend S.A. Police on this initiative:

A voluntary breath testing station at festivals, instead of waiting up the road to ambush people. Well done.

upload_2018-11-25_13-22-36.png

lol FMD that's embarassing. But cops should aim for people's legs still....

Haha, I was going to make a similar gag about aiming for the legs.

Kangaroos are tough *ers to be fair, but you'd reckon 5 shots at point blank range should be enough. It's not like the target was moving at all, either.

It reminded me of Me, Myself & Irene where he tried to put the cow out of its misery.

Kangaroos are tough ******s to be fair, but you'd reckon 5 shots at point blank range should be enough. It's not like the target was moving at all, either.

It reminded me of Me, Myself & Irene where he tried to put the cow out of its misery.
They are tough animals for sure. Muscle all over and pretty hard heads based on watching a bulky, fully grown man take 2-3 full swings with a sledge to euthanize a big red when I was young. Haven't gone shooting any before so don't know the ins and outs of them.

The roo in the video was moving slightly and swaying around, but really, not that much. And old mate couldn't have been more than 5-8 metres away... No idea how he struggled so much. I mean one or two misses when you're aiming for a relatively small head sure, but geez... Don't think he can even make an excuse about sights being out because I think they are non-adjustable on those pistols lol

Without looking them up right now, I believe the stats actually say otherwise. More white people are shot by police than black on a per capita basis.
Nope. On a per-capita basis, there are indeed more black people being shot than white - the Black Lives Matter mob are quite correct on this statistic.

However, what they're ignoring is that the crime rate (and subsequent blacks pulling guns on police officers) per capita is more or less in correlation with the statistics on blacks being shot. IOW, the number of black people being shot while in the pursuit of nefarious activity (and by accident... or youtubable wtf moments) is more or less in keeping with their (black) participation in said activity.

Yes, there are more black people being shot per capita than whites. However, there are also more blacks involved with crime than whites - particularly in those areas which are deemed high crime areas. And, of course, blacks are toting more guns.

The cops have it pretty much right, in terms of proportion, even when they do something horrendously wrong.

It would have been more humane if the idiot hit the poor critter with the butt of the pistol!
Possibly.
Can anyone identify what weapon that was being used, though? It sounded a bit... NTTAWWTy.
I've tried shooting a roo with a .22 rifle before, and it just doesn't work.

I can't even figure out why they were trying to shoot it, to be honest. Can anyone think of a single scenario where you'd tackle a roo in that fashion? I mean what did it do, prevent a footy match from starting?

Nah. I'm calling shens. In fact, if I'm ever going to rob a bank, I want the guy chasing me down to be using that gun... and driving that Prius.

Possibly.
Can anyone identify what weapon that was being used, though? It sounded a bit... NTTAWWTy.
I've tried shooting a roo with a .22 rifle before, and it just doesn't work.

I can't even figure out why they were trying to shoot it, to be honest. Can anyone think of a single scenario where you'd tackle a roo in that fashion? I mean what did it do, prevent a footy match from starting?

Nah. I'm calling shens. In fact, if I'm ever going to rob a bank, I want the guy chasing me down to be using that gun... and driving that Prius.

https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/factbox-victoria-polices-new-pistol-20100429-ttao.html

Kangaroos are tough ******s to be fair, but you'd reckon 5 shots at point blank range should be enough. It's not like the target was moving at all, either.

Our dogs found a young kanga at the back of our place, they were standing back barking , and the poor little Kanga was sitting back on its tail aggressively boxing at them with its front paws.
Getting closer and it had been hit by a car, one of the back legs had a clean break and was hanging on a sickening angle ,so it was essentially walking on its fractured stump. s**t we think footy players are tough.
We called the wildlife rescue number, and the local vet, on her day off turned up really quickly , put a tranquilliser into it and waited until it lay down. Then gave the poor thing the injection.
Far better to have experts do this sort of thing.