Political Discussion part #2 - Let’s go out for 10 Big Macs at the Engadine Maccas!!

I can't tell if there's been a genuine uptake of unsavoury candidates or that many people have been more alert in investigating said candidates' social media.

There’s always been an attempt to discredit the competitions by digging up dirt. Social media is making it much easier if someone is inclined to find something that they want.

I see Creasey's gone

That's a lot, a lot more than i remember - Liberals have 12 all by themselves, like WTF?
Labor 6
One Nation 2

Nothing yet for UAP (they don't quit til after they're elected) and of course the Greens, who i believe tried a bit harder of vetting candidates this time

Theyll all still appear on the ballot sheet to since theyre already printe, so unless youre alert you can still vote for them. For the senate it wont matter so much and i think most of the prob is with the senate candidates

With this Creasey fellow gone, will the Liberals be consistent in demanding John Alexander also resign a second time?

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-11...apologises-for-rape-jokes/9183556?pfmredir=sm

The Liberal candidate for a crucial by-election in Sydney that could threaten the Federal Government's majority has apologised after a video of him telling racist jokes emerged. In the video, which was posted on YouTube in 2011, John Alexander can be heard telling a joke about rape and making racial quips to fellow customers at a Brisbane pub in the 1990s.

I'm sure this would please some here, as JA was considered to be a staunch Turnbull supporter and closet socialist :p

Mass candidate resignations aside, feels like it's been another bizarre week.

#IlikeBillShorten was apparently trending on Twitter, in response to a journo saying he was unpopular with the public.

The awkward first debate with grown men perched on tiny stools came and went, with new allegations that the audience questions were manufactured.

https://www.watoday.com.au/federal-...e-questions-manufactured-20190501-p51j6t.html

"They said, we're going to look at them [the questions] now and when they came back and they said, 'did anyone put down a question about the franking credits?' Mr Ashworth said. "And not one person put their name up. And they changed and said, who wants to read a question?

George Christensen had his moment of madness (probably filmed in Manila) and has had his video removed for breaching copyright.
https://www.buzzfeed.com/peterholmes/ironic-and-disturbing-sony-has-dragged-george-christensen
A YouTube video posted by Queensland conservative politician George Christensen has been removed after a claim was lodged against him by the body representing Australian singers, musicians and songwriters.

Shorten gets a grilling by Leigh Sales on the ABC - ScoMo gets his turn next week.

The interview was preceded by a segment, best described here: "Old fart whines about franking credits from his yacht"
https://www.macrobusiness.com.au/2019/05/old-fart-whines-franking-credits-yacht/

Shorten has his Hewson cake moment, but with Big Macs.
https://www.theaustralian.com.au/co...e/news-story/11af974c4da4ce9496ac0b4710a9bb4b

But not to be outdone, Morrison literally fails the pub test.

Last edited by a moderator:
Digital footprint starting to become a real player. Pollies finally getting found out for being twats either now or earlier in life.

A friend of mine from work ran in a seat for Liberal at the last state election.

I gave him some advise which was to go and do a pre-emptive delete of all activity on his Facebook and Twitter accounts before he went for pre-selection just to make sure there was nothing that could come back to bite him.

People unfortunately go phishing through accounts looking for anything they can use against them.

A friend of mine from work ran in a seat for Liberal at the last state election.

I gave him some advise which was to go and do a pre-emptive delete of all activity on his Facebook and Twitter accounts before he went for pre-selection just to make sure there was nothing that could come back to bite him.

People unfortunately go phishing through accounts looking for anything they can use against them.

No offesne but if *you* had to give him that advice, they're dumber than i thought

Surely the first thing a party does these days is ask if you're eligible, and if you are tells you to scrub your social media.

Actually, they probably don't check if you're eleigible first.

That would have been perfect as a video grab - is it on camera, or is it just an anecdote that was overheard?

Hilarious. You shake your head at politicians, they can get undone by something as simple as this.

Mod Notice
I know with the upcoming election that tensions and emotions are high, but this doesn't excuse abusing each other.

Friendly banter is fine, but directing inappropriate profanity/abuse at each other is not.

We've let things go for a while and have been fairly liberal (no pun intended) with the moderation of this thread, but if things continue down this path then we'll have to consider thread bans/infractions/locking this thread.

Your comment has been noted and in the interests of everyone I will refrain from further commentary.

My tensions and emotion will instead be taken out at the gym (and those maggots in lime green on Sunday). It will probably be better for me as well.

Can we just fast forward to the 18th when Labor win about a 10 seat majority, everyone starts to undermine Shorten from Day 1, Morrison exits politics to become the head of a finance board, and we see the end of this absolute farce of an election campaign?

Mod Notice
I know with the upcoming election that tensions and emotions are high, but this doesn't excuse abusing each other.

Friendly banter is fine, but directing inappropriate profanity/abuse at each other is not.

We've let things go for a while and have been fairly liberal (no pun intended) with the moderation of this thread, but if things continue down this path then we'll have to consider thread bans/infractions/locking this thread.
Wood have thought infractions & bans should be enough as locking this thread would ruin it for most who are civil.

And of course you Bwoocey and your other mate would have done just the same with Shorten.

I didn't even watch it, that's how much I cared about it.

If I did, I would have watched it and applied critical thinking to determine who won, not sat there like a fanboy claiming politician A or B won even if they didn't.

All I will say is that if Shorten did beat Scomo at the Rupert's Liberal stronghold then it's definitely game over for the Liberals.

The Left.

All the result of millionaire climate activist and renewables investor not to mention Labor cheerleader Simon Holmes a Court posted the gentleman's address online. Holmes a Court should be held to account for his disgraceful behavior and so should his supporters....one very prominent supporter in this very thread.

https://www.theaustralian.com.au/na...d/news-story/cce9bdbe6fca0fd3061c85b64d26d510
Climate economist Brian Fisher’s home egged
That’s a disgrace, what a dickhead

People are idiots for sharing that type of confidential information online.

Absolutely zero excuse for it at all, maybe he should be heading over there with a bucket and some rags and spending his weekend to help clean it up.

That's utter ********, Every question was from the audience and nobody was using scripted notes and as is always the case moderated excellently by one of the most unbiased journalists in Australia David Speers, probably the equal of the ALPBC's one and only unbiased journalist Leigh Sales in that he never plays favourites and is quick to pull up any Politician that's trying to pull the wool over the public's eyes. Troy Bramston is in a similar vein as well even though he is a former Labor staffer and was Krudd's speech writer both when he was opposition Leader and Prime Minister. And once again you like your lefty mate seem to think you're superior and the only one capable of critical thinking like a lot of the left even though you admit you didn't watch it.

Why do you keep making posts addressing people as a collective?

"You and that other guy", "your lefty mates" etc? You seem to view everything in a groupthink perspective.

I come here and give my own opinions on things. I've called out Labor before, I was critical of them on here about their original plan (which was stupid) to bring in a user pays model for the mortgage broking industry and I am critical of their stance of nuclear power as well.

There is more to politics than just political tribalism, echo chambers and groupthink.

How come you haven't called out your fellow left leaning poster Kirky for exactly that then?

You seem to be overlooking the fact that I'm responding to your response to me.

Show me a post where Kirky has replied to one of my messages and has referred to me in a collective sense and I will.

I didn't even watch it, that's how much I cared about it.

If I did, I would have watched it and applied critical thinking to determine who won, not sat there like a fanboy claiming politician A or B won even if they didn't.

All I will say is that if Shorten did beat Scomo at the Rupert's Liberal stronghold then it's definitely game over for the Liberals.

I haven’t watched any, I cannot stand watching Bill and ScoMo drone on and on. There’s something not quite human about them.