Political Discussion part #2 - Let’s go out for 10 Big Macs at the Engadine Maccas!!

This is getting out of hand. We can no longer talk about serious issues because of these crazy bastards. Every hard working Australian who is concerned about the future of their children, housing prices, the environment should despise today's leftist. They are destroying the fabric of western society. Countries like China, Japan etc, countries that practice zero diversity themselves, must be sitting back rubbing their hands watching us implode. So if you say something the left disagree they will go out of their way to destroy your life. Free speech has been replaced with fascism. Who would have thought today's brown shirts would be lefties.

BTW if you are stupid enough to think that overseas workers haven't replaced young Australians check out the IT industry in SA. You will be shocked. The 457 worker was supposed to be the icing but instead they are being used as the cake. We are destroying our children's future.

This is getting out of hand. We can no longer talk about serious issues because of these crazy bastards. Every hard working Australian who is concerned about the future of their children, housing prices, the environment should despise today's leftist. They are destroying the fabric of western society. Countries like China, Japan etc, countries that practice zero diversity themselves, must be sitting back rubbing their hands watching us implode. So if you say something the left disagree they will go out of their way to destroy your life. Free speech has been replaced with fascism. Who would have thought today's brown shirts would be lefties.

BTW if you are stupid enough to think that overseas workers haven't replaced young Australians check out the IT industry in SA. You will be shocked. The 457 worker was supposed to be the icing but instead they are being used as the cake. We are destroying our children's future.

Ein volk, ein reich, ein ScoMo

"Leftists should be ashamed of pointing out huge and rising inequality, mass state sanctioned bigotry, rampant corruption, the rate of environmental destruction, the general failure of neo-liberal capitalism, and the rise of neo-fascists globally, and of wanting to do something about it; they should be silent in their shame"

Brb looking for the worlds biggest eye roll with wank motion emoji

Last edited by a moderator:
Australia has had a right wing Federal ruling party for most of the last two decades so it's somehow the "left's fault", but go off I guess. Amazing how conservatives still manage to whinge on the regular despite having considerable media influence and political power.

"Leftists should be ashamed of pointing out huge and rising inequality, mass state sanctioned bigotry, rampant corruption, the rate of environmental destruction, the general failure of neo-liberal capitalism, and the rise of neo-fascists globally, and of wanting to do something about it; they should be silent in their shame"

Brb looking for the worlds biggest eye roll with wank motion emoji

Actually you're a brilliant example of todays leftist -

ashamed of pointing out huge and rising inequality - I'm assuming your professor will be taking a pay cut soon? When socialism kicks in give me half of everything you own?

mass state sanctioned bigotry - what absolute garbage. Countries such as Australia, US, England etc are the most diverse and welcoming of minorities on the planet. The fact millions of people risk their lives to get to these countries speaks volumes. Perhaps you should look outside your privileged life and head to the middle east, Africa etc - there you will see real bigotry and inequality.

the rate of environmental destruction - year right, like the left give a s**t about the environment. Your open door policy and a "big Australia" (35 million) would be disastrous for this countries environment. "Lands overrated, loving me some urban sprawl". Labor is just as complicit as the incompetent Libs in the Murray - Darling disaster.

neo-fascists globally - the left have got this covered. You're quite happy to ruin someones life if their opinion falls outside your warped definition of what's right and wrong.

Reneweconomy really?

oh please spare me.

I did say someone that didn't have a horse in the race yeah?
I guess you didn't read the article. The guy who did the modelling made a bunch of highly unrealistic cost assumptions and left out key details to be analysed. He also has a history of doing this. This is not just the 'editors opinion'.

Jesus man, the only one imploding is you.

Actually you're a brilliant example of todays leftist

ashamed of pointing out huge and rising inequality - I'm assuming your professor will be taking a pay cut soon? When socialism kicks in give me half of everything you own?

mass state sanctioned bigotry - what absolute garbage. Countries such as Australia, US, England etc are the most diverse and welcoming of minorities on the planet. The fact millions of people risk their lives to get to these countries speaks volumes. Perhaps you should look outside your privileged life and head to the middle east, Africa etc - there you will see real bigotry and inequality.

the rate of environmental destruction - year right, like the left give a s**t about the environment. Your open door policy and a "big Australia" (35 million) would be disastrous for this countries environment. "Lands overrated, loving me some urban sprawl". Labor is just as complicit as the incompetent Libs in the Murray - Darling disaster.

neo-fascists globally - the left have got this covered. You're quite happy to ruin someones life if their opinion falls outside your warped definition of what's right and wrong.
Ok ignoring that bar 6 years of a centre left party being the elected government, since 1996 till now we have had a conservative government in charge.....not leftists at all.....but we’ll ignore that.

Rising inequality- how does raising concerns about economic inequality lead straight to socialism?
Nobody is advocating for that are they? In fact I would assume most people understand in a democratic free market economy, some will do better than others, the concern is when the Some are doing very well purely at the expense of the others, the most obvious example being flat wage growth and soaring company profits.
Just as you complain “sensible” people can no longer debate topics without fear of persecution from leftists you have immediately taken a genuine concern of the majority of the population and are attacking leftists for questioning it. This topic is not left or right, it’s a mainstream concern, or at least should be considered as such by all “sensible hard working Australians”.

I do not know who you are or where you sit in the world, but if inequality is not re balanced the middle class will one day disappear. If your happy with this then I can only assume you are one of the privileged few who are benefiting from this inequality, or that you actually do not understand the debate.
If balance in economic oppurtunity is not restored then “hard working” Australians will just have to continue to work harder to live and their children will be consigned to a life of economic exclusion.
Is this a good thing?

How is being concerned and wanting some redress on this issue socialism?
Your point is complete fantasy.

Bigotry - We have toxic debates centred around people’s worth based on colour and religion and granted this has always happened. But we now see these debates played out openly by our political leaders and media outlets just about everyday.

But again ignoring that and debating just your point, can you explain how we are a “minority” and why you consider our bigotry ok because other countries are worse?
You are advocating that our xenophobic rhetoric is ok because look over there....You need to understand the difference between bigotry and persecution and then acknowledge both are toxic to all societies.

Your arguments are based on extremes, just as you criticise leftists for doing you have no middle ground in your arguments.

Ok ignoring that bar 6 years of a centre left party being the elected government, since 1996 till now we have had a conservative government in charge.....not leftists at all.....but we’ll ignore that.

Rising inequality- how does raising concerns about economic inequality lead straight to socialism?
Nobody is advocating for that are they? In fact I would assume most people understand in a democratic free market economy, some will do better than others, the concern is when the Some are doing very well purely at the expense of the others, the most obvious example being flat wage growth and soaring company profits.
Just as you complain “sensible” people can no longer debate topics without fear of persecution from leftists you have immediately taken a genuine concern of the majority of the population and are attacking leftists for questioning it. This topic is not left or right, it’s a mainstream concern, or at least should be considered as such by all “sensible hard working Australians”.

I do not know who you are or where you sit in the world, but if inequality is not re balanced the middle class will one day disappear. If your happy with this then I can only assume you are one of the privileged few who are benefiting from this inequality, or that you actually do not understand the debate.
If balance in economic oppurtunity is not restored then “hard working” Australians will just have to continue to work harder to live and their children will be consigned to a life of economic exclusion.
Is this a good thing?

How is being concerned and wanting some redress on this issue socialism?
Your point is complete fantasy.

Bigotry - We have toxic debates centred around people’s worth based on colour and religion and granted this has always happened. But we now see these debates played out openly by our political leaders and media outlets just about everyday.

But again ignoring that and debating just your point, can you explain how we are a “minority” and why you consider our bigotry ok because other countries are worse?
You are advocating that our xenophobic rhetoric is ok because look over there....You need to understand the difference between bigotry and persecution and then acknowledge both are toxic to all societies.

Your arguments are based on extremes, just as you criticise leftists for doing you have no middle ground in your arguments.

I reckon the whole 'free speech' panic is really just a grievance at actually being held accountable/challenged for the things you say (and do).

Hear Hear.

Isn't it refreshing to have at least one measured, logical opinion on Australian TV. Although, you better check yourself Joe as the crazies will becoming for you next.

Public figures who don't follow the far leftist narrative on today's society are incredibly courageous IMO, especially if they are white men. (*Besides those from the far right).

Honestly how did the Labor Party come up with this bloke as leader, all through this campaign he's been a walking, talking disaster. His ineptness on full display in last night's leader's debate especially around financial figures, he's certainly no numbers man.

Why haven't the Labor party replaced him yet
Lol. It seems Jan has been asleep for the last 5 years. Hasnt she been following the "whire men are evil" narrative being spewed out by the media, the left, Hollywood etc.

You should post a Kathy Griffen quote next.

Why is it the left's go to when a Muslim extremist commits a heinous terrorist act to often suggest they must be suffering from some form of mental illness, didn't see that excuse run up the flagpole by those same people when a right wing extremist committed a heinous terrorist act in New Zealand? Call all terrorist extremists for what they are....cold blooded killers.

Regardless of whether they're white, black, brown or rainbow coloured, if you commit a terrorist attack, then you're a killer.

Also, regardless of whether they're white, black, brown or rainbow coloured, you surely have to have some kind of mental illness/derangement in order to commit such an act. It doesn't excuse the behaviour though, and either way you're going to end up under heavy, segregated security for the rest of your life.

Why do Political parties of all creeds try this s**t on, the Libs caught out recently on the same subject putting up a Lib stooge in their ads and now only a couple of weeks later Labor caught out putting up a Labor stooge in their ads. All Political parties taking the public as fools.

I saw a Fed’s ad a few days ago that generically suggested that people look at some website to see what infrastructure projects are being funded right now. “A message from the Australian government”. It’s disgusting that this is allowed. At any time messaging like that is reprehensible, a few months from an election and it’s doubly as bad. The government shouldn’t send messages that are paid for by taxpayers that aren’t immediately important. Both major parties do it and there’s no doubt that the incoming Labor government won’t legislate something sensible because, like every government before them, state and federal, they’re the beneficiaries of the lack of reasonable limitations on government advertising. I’m so sick of the majors. There’s no way that I’d vote for either at any election. Even worse, our town council rolls along those same lines. No wonder the NT is so broke.

Isn't it refreshing to have at least one measured, logical opinion on Australian TV. Although, you better check yourself Joe as the crazies will becoming for you next.

Public figures who don't follow the far leftist narrative on today's society are incredibly courageous IMO, especially if they are white men. (*Besides those from the far right).

It’s weird, that nut job was clearly radicalised either OS or in NZ. Muslims come out and state how overt the anti-Islam sentiment is is NZ. But their PM blames Australia and despite all the obvious evidence, the extreme left fall in line because they somehow equate these murders with our border protection policy.

Funny story, we had one of the most incompetent governments here in the NT that were guaranteed 2 terms, but they completely own goaled. So bad were they that they ended up turning a massive majority into a 2 member opposition. That’s how bad they were.

The funny bit is that despite that government’s penchant for self wounding, the idiotic anti-fracking group used that election as being proof that “nearly all” Territorians are against fracking. It was everywhere, Territorians are against fracking as evidenced by that election.

Not only is the Labor government on the nose for sending us broke, they’ve also just passed fracturing legislation. They’re not far from being booted out by a 2 member opposition and have legislated fracking.

So where are the anti-fracking dimwits and their universal support from the electorate? Well, they’re just crazies, like all far right, left, religious and otherwise full on idiots.

Why is it the left's go to when a Muslim extremist commits a heinous terrorist act to often suggest they must be suffering from some form of mental illness, didn't see that excuse run up the flagpole by those same people when a right wing extremist committed a heinous terrorist act in New Zealand? Call all terrorist extremists for what they are....cold blooded killers.

This maniac didn’t target asylum seekers, he targeted Muslims. He’s a religious zealot, they’re all dangerous. Religion has been the greatest disaster to befall the human race. Actually, not all religions, Christianity is the primary culprit. Anti-science, anti-spherical Earth, money hungry, hypocritical dickwads. The Catholic Church has set our culture back hundreds of years. They were the first morons to state that every non-human animal was placed here purely for our sole enjoyment. Christianity has a s**t load to answer for.

Lol.

You realise that in the early years, Christian monks were literally the only scientists in the western world. Similar to Islam in the middle east.

The earth being a sphere has been accepted since the ancient greeks. Literally no one except some halfwits now believe otherwise.

Lets not forget that Christian monks gave us beer as we know it today.

Have they been watching Utopia for ideas?

There have been enough federal and NSW state government commissioned feasibility studies into an east coast fast rail line since the 80s to make the sleepers for it. Every election a new promise and a new study is rolled out by one of the two majors, every post-election it disappears because it's still too expensive for any of them to stomach. How people aren't wise to this by now I'll never know. I suppose the only saving grace this time is that they aren't promising to build it, just to acquire the land for it.

I saw a Fed’s ad a few days ago that generically suggested that people look at some website to see what infrastructure projects are being funded right now. “A message from the Australian government”. It’s disgusting that this is allowed. At any time messaging like that is reprehensible, a few months from an election and it’s doubly as bad. The government shouldn’t send messages that are paid for by taxpayers that aren’t immediately important. Both major parties do it and there’s no doubt that the incoming Labor government won’t legislate something sensible because, like every government before them, state and federal, they’re the beneficiaries of the lack of reasonable limitations on government advertising. I’m so sick of the majors. There’s no way that I’d vote for either at any election. Even worse, our town council rolls along those same lines. No wonder the NT is so broke.

Have been hearing these kinds of ads on radio and seeing them in the papers for the last few months. As far as I know the Federal Election hasn't officially being called yet, so this clearly seems like an abuse of tax payer funds for electioneering under the guise of providing public information. Have already started to receive mailouts from the local Liberal MP, and not just the usual election related propaganda but pleas for donations and volunteers. It also feels much more obvious than previous years - I don't remember this sort of thing going on even under the Abbott and Turnbull governments. Given all the talk about the Liberal having problems with fundraising, I think Morrison will delay calling the election as long as possible to avoid having to pay for campaign costs as it seems like the party can't really afford it.

Some of the other stuff I've seen makes me think that even in safe seats the Liberals are not having great internal polling results. Last weekend had to catch the tram into the Melbourne CBD. Went through Kew and Canterbury, basically Liberal heartland and saw heaps of billboards of the Kooyong MP Frydenberg. At the last election he won with a primary vote of 58%, so you'd hardly think he'd be under any serious threat and there'd be more marginal electorates where the funds would be better spent.