30k Posts 10k Posts HBF's Milk Crate - 70k Posts TheBrownDog
Sep 13, 2000
Melbourne cricket ground. Australia
Horks
We've had the great films - How about some poor films saved by an individual performance (or you just fast forward to that part anyway)

Or even a Poor footy game saved by an individual performance (Darren Jarman in '97 prelim v Bulldogs springs to mind)

Anyway one film is "My best friends wedding" which is the usual formula stuff except for the guy playing the *** guy who plays a couple of good scenes.

Or perhaps the Oscars that year saved bu Cuba Gooding Jr. (not a film I know)

Lets Go.

BSA
Except the movie where she played Lindy Chamberlain, bloody ordinary accent & performance, I can't even remember the name of the movie, that's how bad it was.

------------------
Mantis

Funny thing with Yanks and the Australian accent, was watching an interview on telly not long ago (The Panel or something like that) with an Australian actor who was doing an Australian voice over for an American TV commercial.

Half way through the producer came and told him that he didn't sound Australian enough and replaced him with an American with a fake Australian accent!!!

Fair Dinkum mate, put another prawn on the barbie and crack a few tinnies!!!

Cheers

Gonzo

Evil Angels is the one you have in mind sandie

Dunno - haven't seen it, not likely too either.

Gonzo - that reminds of what the American media are up to here in Sydney at the moment. Its the first time since NBC Today have done a show out of Australia since 1987 and guess what they are talking about ?

Cute Kangaroos
Cuter Koalas
Interview with Paul Hogan
Lots of really strange sounding "Good-day maaate"
Oh they keep wondering why Kangaroos aren't hopping down George Street as well.

Sheesh - even when we want to move away from the good old Aussie stereotype the rest of the world won't let us !

Off topic but:
Everyone in Australian inbound tourism is still talking about the Hoges campaign because they have produced NOTHING of any worth since then. There is nothing out there to REPLACE the Hoges/'roos/koalas image.

Australia got 5 million inbound tourists last year. The same number as BULGARIA!

But the ITOA (inbound tourism body) is still patting itself on the back for their wonderful successes.

BSA

There are some gullible ones out there!!

Tell them about the bar game where you go out and grab a kangaroo off the street (cos they are everywhere you know) - jump on it's back, put your feet in it's pouch and hang on!!! - if you last 15 seconds the barman (by law) has to give you a free beer!! - they lap it up!!

Or the Drop Bears - a vicous breed of Koala that falls on you intentionally from gum trees when you walk underneath them!!

Try doing it with a straight face!

Cheers

Gonzo

Ya can just see it can't ya.

A Yank, half smashed (well, maybe not smashed!), running out of the pub, into the street hoping to catch a kangaroo just to get a free beer. How dumb are they??

It would be a bloody good laugh!!!!!

Also, I think we have gone SLIGHTLY off the topic. Sorry Pess!!

[This message has been edited by CJ (edited 13 September 2000).]

F-ck man, that's REALLY embarrassing.

I hope you guys won't hold that against me
wink.gif

For the record, I do a decent Aussie accent, though it's taken me about two years of practice. I seem to do it best when reading footy scores or doing an impression of Gerard Healy.

yeah sorry Stealth Bomber

nothing against Americans at all but you guys do tend to have a rather, um, unsophisticated sense of humour sometimes.

Your failure to appreciate sarcasm, satire and irony in humour is a bit of a worry but you are not nearly as bad as you were before The Simpsons though ! (thank you Matt Groening)

No worries guys....a lot of Americans ARE that stupid.

A recent question on our version of "Who Wants to Be A Millionaire" was "What is the capital of Australia?"

A) Canberra
B) Sydney
C) Melbourne
D) Adelaide

The guy had no idea, so he asked the audience. 81% thought it was Sydney, 16% Canberra. He chose B and was obviously incorrect. Was an $8,000 question IIRC.

That's another thing that upsets me...people here think Sydney is the ONLY city in Australia.

Unfortunately, most of us have a LOT to learn. Most Americans think the world revolves around the US. I'm hoping the Olympics help a bit....it's quite nice to see all the attention Australia's getting over here lately. Our public TV network had a really great six-part series on modern Australia last week, covered things like the political issues (one nation, immigration, lost generation, republic debate).

I think too many of us over here refuse to open up our minds to new things. So many of us tend to be stubborn and arrogant in our patriotism.

Being open-minded has helped me discover a new sport that I'm as passionate about as any other. And I've found beer that doesn't taste like urine.

I feel like I'm picking up on things. I wonder how many Yanks know what Bloodstained Angel or Shinboners actually means.

Anyway, you guys don't have to stop criticizing the U.S. just cause I'm here...frankly most of what you don't like about it bothers me too.

For the record, I love the Simpsons too. Best show ever made, although in the last three years it's been lousy.

Whew, sorry bout the length of this post. Felt like getting on a soapbox
wink.gif

[This message has been edited by Stealth bomber (edited 14 September 2000).]

I like Matt Lauer and Katie Couric shes a yummy mummy she has fantastic legs!! but they have no idea about our great country. Its hilarious they only got two of our major citys pronounced correctly.

Brisbaine
Melborne
Aidellade

And were not Aussies to them were ossies hahah dumbass americans.

biggrin.gif
no offence stealthy

Mel-boooorrne hahahah i love it stealthy. I didnt see your prior post but i just read it can you beleive the idiot who didnt know the capitol of our country. EVERYONE knows the capitol of your country ever seen ID4 hehe.

Although on our version of who wants to be a millionaire a couple of weeks back we had a question who was the first president of the United States of America and the idiot picked Abraham Lincoln hahahahhah So i suppose some of us aussies r still living in the bush!

For those who dont know it was George Washington.
biggrin.gif

Amazonia, is not a city.

Brasilia, may be the capital.

US papers and CNN.com etc have interesting articles on Australia, always interesting to see. Americans just can't see other countries outside their own view of the US.

One jounalist referred to the 'fiction' of multiculturalism in the opening ceremony. Obviously he's had a good look around Sydney.

Another one where the journalist is asking all the hosts at the village what the names are of the birds in the trees.

She is shocked that evryone can name all the varieties of birds.

Anyone know the city in the world with the most nationalities living in it?

Pess, I agree with Don,

Capital is Brasilia
Non-city is Amazonia

Don, the city wouldn't be Sydney by any chance would it?

Poor films saved by great performances