Roast Poor Umpiring

• Thread starter Thread starter RichosGuns

Towards the end I was saying bad words and wishing bad things on the umps.

Best thing was, they had no bearing on the win you blokes had :)

Enjoy it. Savor it. Bottle it up over next couple weeks and then unleash it on the crows in AAMI...thats where the umps will test your will to live!!!

Great win.

Would be guessing the umpires won't be siring any time in the near future then.

Perhaps I should clarify...only saw 10mins end of 3rd and then final quarter after having a birthday dinner for me lil bro.

Im a magpie and was cheering my guts out for the Tigers.

Those last couple frees were weak as piss but the backline stood up for you guys, was excellent to see :)

I thought the umpiring was pretty solid. Didn't pay too many soft one's either way and the only time they were noticed was in the last quarter when Nick Reiwoldt got his free's. You can't in any way pretend the 1 that resulted in him goaling was dodgy.

I just wish NMFC were going 30% as well as the Tigers, I certainly wouldn't be complaining about a free kick differential of 7, I'd be out all night Hookers & Blow stylin.

yeah I'm with you mate. Umpiring for the first 3 qtrs was pretty spot on. barely noticed them. Last qtr they might have been a bit more trigger happy, or the players were a bit more desperate...who knows? The tension in the game doesn't help with peoples perception of poor decisions. when your 4 points down every tackle is high, or holding the ball. every dropped mark is chopped out. Everytime someone falls to the ground its a trip ect.

That Maric ruck decision, and Kingy's spoil were terrible calls, and to a lesser extent the Griff 50. While it was to the letter of the law a penalty against Griff, there were 5-6 far WORSE instances of taking a player out after a mark, than Griff's that weren't paid. And the goal one of the Saint's kicked from the goal square where Morris had his head taken off TWICE was deplorable. To miss it once, I'll let it slide, but TWICE?...

Overall, I didn't notice the ump's until about halfway through the third.

Pitiful umpiring tonight. As a complete neutral I couldn't help but smile over some of the decisions that were paid against both sides tonight. Some really obvious and blatant free kicks that went unpaid and a lot of dodgy ones pulled out.

A few of the calls really reminded me of the St. Kilda game a few weeks ago in which we got done. At one point Andrew Walker was being held and the umpire said when Walker remonstrated "... but Andrew, he tapped the ball away with the other arm." Eerily similar comments to Richmond players when they asked why frees went paid or unpaid.

Felt for Jake King.

He is a bloke trying his best with limitations knowing that he is not going to be able to do what others do.

He has to rely on harrassing and putting pressure. That is what Hardwick has stuck with him for.

Must make it very hard to know how to go about it. The marking spoil that got paid against him was a great effort and well executed. The umpire just assumed that he wouldnt be able to pull it off without infringeing.

You talking about the one where he was running with the flight of the ball, had his eyes on the footy the whole way, got nothing but hands on the ball, and free kick against?

Maybe it's my understanding of the rules but that had me ****ed as to why it was a free against Jake :confused:

Free kicks 22 St Kilda and 16 to Richmond.

Those 3 that all resulted in St Kilda goals in the last quarter were hugely momentum changing.

6 against.That's good for us lol. :D

The umpiring was head scratching no doubt. The thing is both teams got hammered at times. There were some blatant frees/marks that were taken that were called play on. Then there were some that weren't there that the umpires, especially Stevic(9), would pull out of their clacker.

The thing is that as bad as the umpiring was it didn't have an effect on the result.

Couple of soft free kicks for goal drew them back into the game, where was the free to morris for head high contact in goal sq, what does king and nahas have to do to draw a free for high contact, i reckon they get paid one in 10 at best 5/10 for umpires last night

King and Nahas need to change their names to Shuey or Hams so they can get a head high free:p

Over in the St Kilda board there's a few cluess twats there calling Tiger players 'duckers' and all sorts of other crap. They're just as clueless as the umpires.

There were some shockers last night, as there always is week in - week out. Some of the stuff they miss, and some of the stuff they pay just defies belief. It couldn't be the case, but sometimes you'd swear that they try and get some teams back in the game. I know it can't be true, but bloody hell it looks like it sometimes.

Anyway, here's a howler that resulted in a goal to St Kilda. How is this not a high tackle?

vlcsnap2012060210h35m28.jpg

hmm forum shrinks it, here's the full size. http://img708.imageshack.us/img708/3976/vlcsnap2012060210h35m28.jpg

He has Morris in a f**king headlock!

We got some odd ones. They got some odd ones. Balanced out.
The Essendon game was MUCH worse than this one for umpiring.

So many soft ones to nick r just so soft, umpiring was a fuking disgrace all game, tried to hand them the game gave them alot of goals from direct frees but still couldnt beat us. Suck on that AFL :thumbsu:

That Morris tackle was certainly high hard to miss that I was fuming at that stage, seriously whats the deal? unbelievable.

The question has to be asked how the Umpire missed it. The play came from the centre of the ground, so the umpire would have been following the flight of the ball and he would have been approximately around the 40-50m area in front of the goals.

How he missed that is unbelievable.

Couple of soft free kicks for goal drew them back into the game, where was the free to morris for head high contact in goal sq, what does king and nahas have to do to draw a free for high contact, i reckon they get paid one in 10 at best 5/10 for umpires last night

THe one that got me angry was when Milne pushed him square in the back and it was called play on, in the next 30 secs of play it ended up with Morris getting tackled by 3 players in the goal square and St Kilda kicking a goal to hit the front.

The push in the back was that blatantly obvious that it was borderline cheating. :thumbsd:

Over in the St Kilda board there's a few cluess twats there calling Tiger players 'duckers' and all sorts of other crap. They're just as clueless as the umpires.

There were some shockers last night, as there always is week in - week out. Some of the stuff they miss, and some of the stuff they pay just defies belief. It couldn't be the case, but sometimes you'd swear that they try and get some teams back in the game. I know it can't be true, but bloody hell it looks like it sometimes.

Anyway, here's a howler that resulted in a goal to St Kilda. How is this not a high tackle?

vlcsnap2012060210h35m28.jpg

hmm forum shrinks it, here's the full size. http://img708.imageshack.us/img708/3976/vlcsnap2012060210h35m28.jpg

He has Morris in a f**king headlock!

THis was the play I was talking about in my above post ... just prior to this Milne gave Morris and massive push in the back and the umpire called play on.

As I said borderline cheating.

My favorite was the 'no 15 play on' that resulted in a st kilda goal. Not only was the saints player tackled with prior opp. But he was 360d. That's holding the ball.

(at this stage, up by 20 in the last) saints ran into an open goal and it started their run. Nearly swung the game IMO.

Thoughts?