Port Adelaide - Can They Hack It In The Big Time League?

in 2019 port adelaide had about $58m in revenue, which was mid table about equal with geelong, and MORE than adelaide. the bottom 4 clubs were dogs, saints, roos and suns with between $44-46 million in revenue.

so the question is NOT whether port can make enough money to remain viable, because they clearly can (more so than adelaide perhaps). the question is wtf are they doing with it all to be that far in debt. Especially since theyre one of the few clubs (probably only alongside brisbane) which has little to no excuse to do financially worse this past year.

perhaps koshie needs to concentrate more on running the club well instead of being a bigot on breakfast tv and doing his best discount eddie mcguire impersonation.

Excellent contribution. This is the real question.

They will fold you and the AFL will brand the Tassie team as the Roos.

Same as Fitzroy.

No mention of moving you.

You will be left to wither on the vine.

Your precious Arden St facilities will be turned into apartments.

The shin-boner spirit will be an unfashionable bootleg moonshine in some hipster distillery.

No hope for you.

You seem quite unhappy and frankly disturbed.

Why?

They were the best set up of all for COVID.

Good run onfield, had crowds, still financial basketcase

Their previous financial problems are completely relevant.

Looks like South Australia simply can't support two teams
It’s because a large majority of Port Adelaide fans live in the Salisbury and Elizabeth area whilst claiming Centrelink.

$3mil of the $4.275mil debt increase is due to timing.

We collect auto membership renewals on 17 October - but in 2020 the season was still going, we had just lost the PF a couple of days earlier, so 2021 memberships weren't offered until 24th November. Move the collection of that $3mil to 17th October and the overdraft is reduced by $3mil. Its why Koch confidently says debt will reduce by $2mil in 2021 because he expects a normal season and auto renewals back to 17th October, but was too piss week to explain the timing issues re membership date changes. Put as much bad news into 2020, so that there is extra wriggle room in 2021 and say look how good we did to bounce back is his sort of MO.

Good post.

Thanks for the contribution

Because we have a far better football department.

Port Adelaide's focus is on winning games of football. If we go into debt to do that, so be it. Football clubs are non-profits, they're there to win. Revenue is far more important to a football club than profit is.

This is the mentally that almost collapsed the VFL in the 80s.

Football clubs are non for profit, yes, true, but in the 21st century that isn't enough.

Football clubs need to administer qualified personnel to ensure they implement a sustainable business model that gives its members a highly competitive football team on field, but a well run organisation off field, with diversified assets, increased cash flow and reducing debt.

If Port Adelaide are spending more than they are making, that will eventually be their downfall, because although Port Adelaide are in 12 million in debt and North are 'staying afloat', it is indeed North Melbourne with the additional premiership over Port Adelaide since PAFC's addition to the AFL competition.

So long story short, yes, you are bragging about your spending and how it is essential for success, clipped North Melbourne cause they are poor, however North have won 1996 and 1999 to Port's 2004 flag. So whilst North have reduced their debt, Port have increased it with nothing to show.

Football clubs like West Coast, Collingwood, Geelong are behemoths because they are exceptionally run organisations. Their sole purpose isn't to win premierships, but have a positive presence and impact on their community.

Although I agree with your initial point, you didn't explain yourself well and are living in fairyland if you don't think football clubs need to implement sustainable business models.

The fact that Port are 12 million in debt during a successful era is frightening, the tide always turns, and when the ladder flips (it always does...) Port will have a massive debt with no success. Disastrous.

Because we have a far better football department.

Port Adelaide's focus is on winning games of football.

I reckon you're a good shout this year, but that prelim final choke against Richmond at home.

Not sure money can buy what is required to fix that.

Perhaps this has something to do with the larger debt after how last season went.

With last year being Ports 150th, a lot of work and development was happening at the club through 2019 in preparation for the year. Then COVID happened and a large sum of money had already been spent on the developments which would have been done so accounting for a normal year

A WORLD class, multi-purpose training and sports science precinct planned for Alberton Oval could up and running by the time Port Adelaide Football Club celebrates its 150th anniversary in 2020.

The proposed development was announced today by Port Adelaide Chairman, David Koch and SA Premier Jay Weatherill at the JLT Cup pre-season match at Alberton Oval.

It includes:

• Construction of an Aboriginal Centre of Excellence
• A new high performance centre
• Development of a secondary training and rehabilitation field
• A new Port Club containing a visitor centre and museum
• Upgrades to the Fos Williams Family Stand.
• Development of a Premiership Walk at the entry to the oval and facilities

Facilities will include a new swimming pool, gymnasium and a function centre which will also be available to the local community, while spectator amenities at the ground will be upgraded.

Considering in 2019 Port made a net profit of over 500k and also paid back over 1M in debt back to the AFL, it’s not too concerning to see this years debt has its reasons.

Good post, thanks for the info.

Football clubs are non for profit, yes, true, but in the 21st century that isn't enough.

Football clubs need to administer qualified personnel to ensure they implement a sustainable business model that gives its members a highly competitive football team on field, but a well run organisation off field, with diversified assets, increased cash flow and reducing debt.

If Port Adelaide are spending more than they are making, that will eventually be their downfall, because although Port Adelaide are in 12 million in debt and North are 'staying afloat', it is indeed North Melbourne with the additional premiership over Port Adelaide since PAFC's addition to the AFL competition.

So long story short, yes, you are bragging about your spending and how it is essential for success, clipped North Melbourne cause they are poor, however North have won 1996 and 1999 to Port's 2004 flag. So whilst North have reduced their debt, Port have increased it with nothing to show.

Football clubs like West Coast, Collingwood, Geelong are behemoths because they are exceptionally run organisations. Their sole purpose isn't to win premierships, but have a positive presence and impact on their community.

Although I agree with your initial point, you didn't explain yourself well and are living in fairyland if you don't think football clubs need to implement sustainable business models.

The fact that Port are 12 million in debt during a successful era is frightening, the tide always turns, and when the ladder flips (it always does...) Port will have a massive debt with no success. Disastrous.

Brilliant post.

First of all, Port entered the AFL comp in 1997. One isn't a higher number than one. And it's pretty plain for all to see that Port are more likely to achieve a second in the near future than North are.

Secondly, there was a little thing called COVID-19 which went on last year that you may have heard of. 2020 was the first big loss we've had since the AAMI Stadium days. The club was in debt but financially stable and sustainable pre-COVID, and I expect it will continue to be financially stable post-COVID.

Aside from last year's heavily COVID affected loss, the debt is mostly left over from the AAMI Stadium days. Our AAMI Stadium deal was unsustainable and would've killed the club if something wasn't done about it. Pre Adelaide Oval move, we absolutely were in serious trouble, and I was genuinely worried about the future of the club. Post Adelaide Oval, with the exception of the extreme circumstances of last year we have been and will continue to be fine.

Mister M and Tzatziki_Man is this the Same North poster that Started that Legendary and (in)famous thread That North Saved the AFL from being Broke because North were getting crowds of 15-20,000 in a 55,000 seat docklands ground?
Yes, according to the OP St Kilda will fold shortly, Port will fold shortly, the big clubs will suffer due to spending cuts in a post-Covid environment and North saved the league. He’s across everything.

Time for an honest discussion about Port Adelaide as an AFL club.

Port have needed bailouts before. Is another justified?

Why can small Melbourne clubs like the Dogs and North get their debt down to zero but Port's balloons again?

Is Port Adelaide a great SANFL club that frankly belongs in the SANFL?

Is South Australia naturally a one team state?

Is the game better off acknowledging that small states like South Australia and Tasmania can only support one team and moving the pieces on the board to reflect this by taking Port's licence and giving it to Tassie?

We might be able to deal with the FIXture with less teams & its not Adelaide that is the problem.

As for debt, explain how the Dogs & North got down to zero debt. Port are guilty of spending money they dont have.

As for South Australia it generally produces more players for the player pool than it takes out & that is with 2 teams.

Remember the deal brokered by the AFL to make Port pay the SANFL for its licence. Remember that, WA refused to even look at that effort from the carpetbagger from Melbourne.

Time for an honest discussion about Port Adelaide as an AFL club.

Port have needed bailouts before. Is another justified?

Why can small Melbourne clubs like the Dogs and North get their debt down to zero but Port's balloons again?

Is Port Adelaide a great SANFL club that frankly belongs in the SANFL?

Is South Australia naturally a one team state?

Is the game better off acknowledging that small states like South Australia and Tasmania can only support one team and moving the pieces on the board to reflect this by taking Port's licence and giving it to Tassie?
Thread discussing the viability of Port Adelaide as a club .... Started by a North Melbourne fan!

Now that is what you cal irony!

Because without the money N0rf get from their Tassie games they'd already be Fitzroyed.

Deal with Port issue raised, the point you raise has been well ventilated in the Tas thread & the Tas Premier has said 'no more' until he gets an acceptable AFL proposal.
Port will get it right, no need to duck & weave.

Deal with Port issue raised, the point you raise has been well ventilated in the Tas thread & the Tas Premier has said 'no more' until he gets an acceptable AFL proposal.
Port will get it right, no need to duck & weave.

This should help with keeping costs down and hence servicing our debt...

Two season partnership is a very short turnaround.

Geelong - Ford
West Coast - Hungry Jacks
Carlton - Hyundai

The clubs with stability have long term, healthy sponsorships. I wouldn't be gloating about a last minute deal for a short two seasons. If we had Port's sponsorship revenue available, we could make a better judgement.

North Melbourne's sponsorship with Mazda, ironically enough, is long-standing and very lucrative for North but obviously must support Mazda who have been partners for decades now.

Thanks to The Wookie for this great work. Screenshot_20210217-164654_Samsung Internet.jpg

Two season partnership is a very short turnaround.

Geelong - Ford
West Coast - Hungry Jacks
Carlton - Hyundai

The clubs with stability have long term, healthy sponsorships. I wouldn't be gloating about a last minute deal for a short two seasons. If we had Port's sponsorship revenue available, we could make a better judgement.

North Melbourne's sponsorship with Mazda, ironically enough, is long-standing and very lucrative for North but obviously must support Mazda who have been partners for decades now.

Thanks to The Wookie for this great work.View attachment 1060448

I don't suppose Port (given the $12m debt result) would go against the grain of that table, but we did secure KFC as a long term additional joint major partner late last year, ie after the 2020 result.

in 2019 port adelaide had about $58m in revenue, which was mid table about equal with geelong, and MORE than adelaide. the bottom 4 clubs were dogs, saints, roos and suns with between $44-46 million in revenue.

so the question is NOT whether port can make enough money to remain viable, because they clearly can (more so than adelaide perhaps). the question is wtf are they doing with it all to be that far in debt. Especially since theyre one of the few clubs (probably only alongside brisbane) which has little to no excuse to do financially worse this past year.

perhaps koshie needs to concentrate more on running the club well instead of being a bigot on breakfast tv and doing his best discount eddie mcguire impersonation.
Port's revenue is larger than Adelaide's because they own a hotel and pokies operation (Prince of Wales Hotel and the Port Club). The Crows only have an e-sports team and a baseball team as outside-football interests which I strongly suspect are loss making (not that anyone from the club would comment). In 2019 Port had total revenue of $58M vs the Crows $56M, which included $7M from licensed venues.