Port Adelaide. The real deal or pretenders?

Old Man Jenkins

Sep 4, 2011
Port played terrible against Richmond and still won. In previous years under Hinkley, they would have lost that game, along with the Melbourne game the previous week.

The Hobo

Oct 10, 2004
Port Adelaide
Until we get a big gorilla defender and possibly a better ruck, we are at risk against certain teams.

Lycett can do a job, but is vulnerable at times. Has cost us too often in big games.

Aliir does a good job when given the freedom to intercept. We have nobody else to play on the big tall forwards though. It's all well and good when our midfield is on top, but if they get beaten and we come up against Curnow and McKay, Hipwood and Daniher, Hawkins and Cameron etc. it will be a bloodbath.

The game against Essendon was a classic example, where our midfield were soundly beaten early on - we were lucky that Essendon didn't have dominant forwards to push the dagger in.

The Hobo

Oct 10, 2004
Port Adelaide
Port played terrible against Richmond and still won. In previous years under Hinkley, they would have lost that game, along with the Melbourne game the previous week.

Our midfield is carrying us. The pressure they're putting on the ball carrier is allowing our defence to cover, and the sheer number of inside 50's is allowing our forward line to score enough to win. The forward line is obviously very undermanned right now, so I don't have too many long term concerns there.

But defensively, we are at full fitness and still highly vulnerable.

Cyclops

Oct 25, 2001
Northern Suburbs
IOM Gyms, Preston Nth End
I think Port play hard footy in the guts. That's finals winning footy, and they have enough talent too, they just rely more on system than chaos where talent shines.

Always liked Hinkley as a coach, and thought the reaction to the Pies loss was bizarre, those games happen and it was round 2 FFS. We were the same vs Brisbane.

A much more even side than Brissie, their burning best is not as good as the Lions at their best, but Port play better away which is crucial with the absurd Viccentric finals and I feel like they don't drop their bundles.

Everyone needs luck to win but Port are very reliable and need less luck than almost everyone. Top 4 for mine: didn't have them there preseason but they win away which for non Vics matters so much.

Romeoh1

Apr 27, 2021
Reckon this port mob is a bit different from the past few years- tougher, bit classier, playing as a team, more resolve. I like them and fancy them to go a fair way. Should get home finals if they keep this up.

Old Man Jenkins

Sep 4, 2011
Frig me.

Not this old chestnut again...
Carlton and St Kilda were both 8-3 this time last year. Do you think Port are similar to those sides, or do you think they're the real deal?

I know Port supporters are keeping a lid on it as they remember missing finals in 2018 after being 11-4, but something about them feels different this year.

Geelong and Sydney declining this year has made the top 4 race interesting. It feels similar to 2017 where the declines of the 2016 grand finalists opened up the top 4 race.

Ken Hinkley has to be under as much pressure as Mark Williams was in 2004 too. It felt like only a flag would save Williams that year and it should be the same for Hinkley this year. Clarkson in 2013 was similar too where it felt as though only a flag would save him.

Angus Young

Oct 3, 2008
Keep winning but it's just not that impressive.

But that's all you need to do at this stage.

Setting themselves up well.

Hobbes

Jul 20, 2006
Oxfordshire, UK
Glenelg
On current form, they won't threaten the premiership. These small wins will be great for making the top 4, but don't really impress when it comes to the flag.

Of course, they may pick up some steam as the season progresses.

Fadge

Mar 4, 2007
Carlton and St Kilda were both 8-3 this time last year. Do you think Port are similar to those sides, or do you think they're the real deal?
I stated after round 5 that Port were in it up to their necks this year. Their start to the season was more difficult than anyone's, and with 6 further wins on the trot since then, that assessment has been trumped.

'Wins not that impressive'.... we heard that about Collingwood all of last year.

After Collingwood and Brisbane, they are the next best team in it (and they've already beaten Brisbane comfortably this year).

Port, when they're on, are the second best team in the league (behind a full cylinder Collingwood). Dynamic, explosive and dangerous. Weak in the ruck with Lycett's form having fallen off a cliff and lacking a top tier defender their only two weaknesses.

More than an outside chance for the premiership if they can not drop the soft games that they did early in the season. Finding form now when others are dropping off.

davos44

May 24, 2008
SA Redbacks, Adel United
Port have some interesting games for the rest of the season.
Based on their draw they should make top 4 but it will come down to the following:

Bulldogs at Marvel
Geelong at KP (hard for every team except GWS, why is that a thing?)
Adelaide at AO
Essendon at the MCG
Collingwood at AO

They go 3-2 in those and they should be fine (one of the losses will be to the Crows for sure).

They are the real deal though, however Marshall needs to have a strong back half, Aliir cannot get injured and they should probably avoid a home prelim final.

Mar 4, 2015
Port Adelaide
Central Districts
Keep winning but it's just not that impressive.

But that's all you need to do at this stage.

Setting themselves up well.
This.

We really arent playing an attractive game, but we're getting the 'W's.

Still dont think its our year but if we get deep in September and it suddenly clicks, we may give it a real shake.

Apr 2, 2014
Adelaide, South Australia
Port Adelaide
Port, when they're on, are the second best team in the league (behind a full cylinder Collingwood). Dynamic, explosive and dangerous. Weak in the ruck with Lycett's form having fallen off a cliff and lacking a top tier defender their only two weaknesses.

More than an outside chance for the premiership if they can not drop the soft games that they did early in the season. Finding form now when others are dropping off.

Losing to Collingwood & Adelaide are regarded as soft games to you? Yes we got out of jail against some soft sides but most games we won have been against hard fought teams.

Every team will have a lull point during the season. Collingwood hasn't yet but has been aided by numerous MCG games which could mask issues that haven't surfaced yet. Lucky for them, their entire finals series is likely to be played at the MCG.

We will drop games soon as we have a much harder fixture to come but banking these wins early means we can reset for August & September.