Review Port Adelaide vs Crows - Trial Match 1 @ Alberton

• Thread starter Thread starter RossFC

Was Jordan Dawson rested at half time, watched some replay and don’t remember seeing him.

You asked the question and I gave my honest answer, that's all I can do.
For whatever reason, the only DBJ game that stands out for me was his first.

But I understand he is pretty much the only senior player up forward at the moment and has a leadership role.
To quote a term I hate, he just isn't "box office".
I'd pick a Stephenson over a DBJ every time.

It's like saying, what are your top 5 Kane Cornes moments.
I can't think of a single one.
This article was the one that surprised me the most. Also when you consider he played a few games in defence during that time. It shows his effectiveness is beyond what we remember at times.
If Luko was to pull numbers like that over the next 2 years we would all be happy.
In summary though I reckon we have bigger problems than DBJ

DBJ has had match winning moments for us. That Hawthorn goal with 7 seconds to go. The tackle on Oscar Adams (I think) in the dying moments of the farewell game for Boak against Suns. His first game as a small forward where he came on as a sub against Swans was also one where his cameo was important for us.

He doesn't do the flashy stuff but is largely consistent. If he could kick better, he'd be a very good small forward.

I'll respectfully disagree on your statement regarding defensive forwards. The modern game needs a balance of both defensive forwards and also ones that can create and do magical things (like the Rioli, Pickett types).

Our issue is we don't have one now after Rioli retired. If DBJ was playing a tagging role on an opposition defender every game, then I'd agree with your statement, but that isn't the case.
Another DBJ moment was when he caught Dangerfield holding the ball in a Covid final at the AO. Was especially gratifying as it was in DBJ’s AA year and with Dangerfield being the AA captain that year you would think that he would know the tackling capabilities of his AA teammates

On that form I reckon Benny Barrett could add more than Durdin
I understand this is a hyperbole but Barrett has looked classy and silky in the first two trial matches. The new regime may be having an impact on the Small Forwards considering Berry’s Intraclub showing also.

Drew has been best on for us in both games.

It was difficult to get a sense for what we were trying to do outside of a slower and more careful build up from defence. Carr has already flagged this as something he's keen on.

Hunch is we're going to struggle to get as many inside 50s this year but we'll have better defensive support compared to Kenball

So why did they draft him?
Or are we all in on anyone who’s from SA no matter what sort of player he is.

Eat his existing contract and cop a future second in a draft they rate.

If he comes good or vastly improves it’s a bonus.

You asked the question and I gave my honest answer, that's all I can do.
For whatever reason, the only DBJ game that stands out for me was his first.

But I understand he is pretty much the only senior player up forward at the moment and has a leadership role.
To quote a term I hate, he just isn't "box office".
I'd pick a Stephenson over a DBJ every time.

Fair enough, was his first the one where we played the dons when they were missing half their team for doping bans and he kicked a goal with blood streaming down his face?

I don’t mind DBJ, I think he has played plenty of good footy for us, I’d absolutely no questions asked have him over Stephenson.

He is a meat and 3 veg type operator most of the time, you need these players but every now and then he does pull some pretty crafty shit out of his arse at crucial times.

He is capable of having moments.

Kane on the other hand wasn’t a moments player but he was an incredible role player, so whilst he didn’t have many single moments he had plenty of games where he was given a job and did it with an A+. His blanketing job on Simon black in the 2004 gf nearly got him a norm smith. He wasn’t just a tagger though, could win plenty of his own footy but was never an elite finisher or classy by foot, but rarely made a mistake.

But back to DBJ, he seems to be like someone that the coaches would like, similar to Drew, ultimate team mate that will give his all and do whatever is asked. Overall, I think he is underrated by a large portion of our supporter base.

1. Tackle on Simon Black early in '04 GF
2. Outside 50 goal on the run goal v GC
3. Against the flight mark v Sydney
4. Goal v WC in the 07 QF
5. His demolition of morell Sacred Heart v Daws Road High 2000

His shock jock media career has made people forget that he was a very very good footballer.

5. His demolition of morell SHOC v Daws Road High 2000

His shock jock media career has made people forget that he was a very very good footballer.
Remember him routinely destroying some of the games best midfielders also. Sam Mitchell comes to mind.

5. His demolition of morell SHOC v Daws Road High 2000

No worries gra gra wrinkles

The team has been amongst the best in the home and away season under Hinkley.
The inability to step up a notch when finals come has been the problem.
It’s basically the same list that was one game from top spot in 2024 and we had a much harder draw in 24.
To not make the top 9 this year would be very disappointing to say the least.
Imo the team has relied on a handful of top players who are exhausted at the end of H&A.

This will happen when a team is not good enough to go all the way, they rely on a handful of players.
If those players are down or shut down with the added pressure finals brings you will look a pretty average side as we have looked in finals.
Hopefully with the players we bring in over the next couple of years that will all change.

Another DBJ moment was when he caught Dangerfield holding the ball in a Covid final at the AO. Was especially gratifying as it was in DBJ’s AA year and with Dangerfield being the AA captain that year you would think that he would know the tackling capabilities of his AA teammates
DBJ does so many good things for the team - he's often the one laying a block or tackle, chasing etc etc.

He has one major weakness - his aerial ability. This is why he moved out of defence in the first place, even players smaller than him easily outmark him.

Aside from that - he's a very good role player that every team needs.

Posters that went on about McEntee for years are now experts on blocking, chasing and tackling. You cant make this shit up
DBJ also gets the ball and kicks goals sometimes.

5. His demolition of morell Sacred Heart v Daws Road High 2000

Making Barry Hall look silly, swinging at thin air, after an adroit evasive manoeuvre.

Posters that went on about McEntee for years are now experts on blocking, chasing and tackling. You cant make this shit up
The problem is when that's the only thing you do. As mentioned above, DBJ gets the ball and kicks goals too.

He was our third leading goalscorer in 2025 with 19
He was our third leading goalscorer 2024 with 28

If you can't work out the difference between DBJ and McEntee, maybe football isn't right for you.