Port chasing Leon

Meh..goodluck Leon:thumbsu:

But seriously the guy can play.AA 2009 and 2011:thumbsu:

But he didn't win a flag with this great club.

I have watched him closely ever since he has been with us,And know matter what anyone says he was the home and away champ,Final's time he was average.
People say he only hung around for so long because of Mick.Now Mick has gone that is why Leon left...WTF??

I would say Thomas was Mick's number 1 son for the last few year's.Mick's ritual before every game was a kick to kick with Thomas.....not Leon:confused:

What did Thomas decide to do for the next 2 year's?....stay or go?

There seems to be this trend where people severely underate experienced players. Even building teams need to have a good core of experienced players otherwise there is no structure for the younger players to learn. I think that this is the single biggest challenge for the expansion teams. With Port losing Brogan and Cornes getting in some experience is critical for them. I think they made a mistake last year by not playing senior guys like Cornes more.

I could understand the argument if it were going to cost a team high draft picks or quality players but the team that picks up Leon will be getting him for a pittance. He'll be the bargain of the off-season.

Exactly right, it's why GWS are getting guys like Power, Brogan and Cornes to play with them for a season or two. Davis being at Power is hardly going to cost their young players development, and in fact should help them be better players. When he doesn't cost much to get, there isn't much downside in a player like Leon.

If Port do pick him up,it'll be interesting to see where they play him.
Half back flank, forward pocket,maybe they might even run him through the middle at times??

He'd be starved of opportunities up forward and judged harshly if he doesn't do something magic every time they enter the 50, definately up the ground.

Leon forgets,it was his team mates that got him his form,that got him All australian,he didnt do it all on his own merrits,have his fancy dash,and all that,was created by his team mates,helping him out,

Let him go to port,enjoy no finals next season.

He will regret leaving,something tells me

If Port want him, they can have him. No threat to us whatsoever.

I just think it's sad that a man who apparently loves the club can't even return a phone call, or better MAKE a phone call, to let them know that he will not be renewing his contract.

Clearly not the man we thought he was.

I just think it's sad that a man who apparently loves the club can't even return a phone call, or better MAKE a phone call, to let them know that he will not be renewing his contract.

Clearly not the man we thought he was.

Isnt that what his manager is for? People need to get a grip. He is going home for family reasons, he gave good service to the club.

Mate it is all very well saying he has a manager and that is what he is there for,well I am disputeing that but it is still poor form not to return calls,if he was going why did he not just come out and say so.

We know he has been a fine player over a long period,But Shellz is not the only person who thinks less of Leon over this,this whole business has a funny smell about it first we are told he has sign up and then Bt dropped his little bombshell and just on the quiet would it not have been more genuine to tell the club first and not leave them hanging.

If you study his Leons actions carefully it is not really surprising he has gone down in some people,s opinion of him.

Mate it is all very well saying he has a manager and that is what he is there for,well I am disputeing that but it is still poor form not to return calls,if he was going why did he not just come out and say so.

We know he has been a fine player over a long period,But Shellz is not the only person who thinks less of Leon over this,this whole business has a funny smell about it first we are told he has sign up and then Bt dropped his little bombshell and just on the quiet would it not have been more genuine to tell the club first and not leave them hanging.

If you study his Leons actions carefully it is not really surprising he has gone down in some people,s opinion of him.

why does he have to return a call immediately when he has told his manager im going home and he is away on holiday. He talked with Buckley when he got back. There is nothing wrong with that.
BT talked shit, it was never over what was offered.

Ah but the EAGLES are after him too !

I reckon Scott Burns has gotten in their ear !

If he goes to the eagles he'll paly the wirrupunda role and he will paly in finals maybe in a premiership side.

In the west leon will probably play the best footy in his career and it will come back to bite us,so pray he ends up at Port Adelaide.

Yep - that is part of the role of the manager but I think for someone who has been apart of the club for so long he could have had the decency to let the club know personally... and probably incredibly selfish but even a short note on the website to the supports who stuck by him over the last 11 years through the highs and the lows explaining that he is moving for family reasons etc. I know Leon is not the type to do a press conference or video message but at least an explanation... then again if he doesn't have the balls to tell Collingwood personnel he ain't coming back what chance do us supportes have?

Shying away and letting your manager do all the work does not personify a great person. At least not to me.

I will dearly miss Leon. It will kill me watching him play in a jumper other than the black and white stripes. I don't think he is a 'dog' as he has been labelled, I just think that he is not the club man that I thought he was. It's a shame that it's ended this way but Collingwood is bigger than one individual player.

Yep - that is part of the role of the manager but I think for someone who has been apart of the club for so long he could have had the decency to let the club know personally... and probably incredibly selfish but even a short note on the website to the supports who stuck by him over the last 11 years through the highs and the lows explaining that he is moving for family reasons etc. I know Leon is not the type to do a press conference or video message but at least an explanation... then again if he doesn't have the balls to tell Collingwood personnel he ain't coming back what chance do us supportes have?

Shying away and letting your manager do all the work does not personify a great person. At least not to me.

I will dearly miss Leon. It will kill me watching him play in a jumper other than the black and white stripes. I don't think he is a 'dog' as he has been labelled, I just think that he is not the club man that I thought he was. It's a shame that it's ended this way but Collingwood is bigger than one individual player.

That sums it up. Most of us love Leon & what he produced & contributed to the club, yet we are perplexed & disappointed with the methodology of his departure.

I don't see the fit personally. Leon is very skilled and can play in a variety of positions, midfield small forward and now small back, but surely Port is looking to rebuild?

With all due respect, Leon isn't the kind of player who will make a crap team suddenly into a finals contender.

Good luck to him wherever he ends up. His wife has family in Adelaide so that's an absolute bonus over being in Melbourne but I do think his personal preference is to get back to WA and his family. If he plays AFL or WAFL, good luck to him. He made the decision to leave for family reasons, being able to pick up some games and cash while being close to family would be icing on the cake and I don't begrudge him that at any way.

2 years at [insert club name here] won't change his achievements at Collingwood anymore than it did for Len Thompson, Dermott Brereton or Doug Hawkins.

I don't see the fit personally. Leon is very skilled and can play in a variety of positions, midfield small forward and now small back, but surely Port is looking to rebuild?

With all due respect, Leon isn't the kind of player who will make a crap team suddenly into a finals contender.
There would be more to it than that. Port are a young side so if they got him for nothing he could provide them with on and off field mentoring and also allow other players to play better football around him. How many times do you hear about young footballers struggling because they have no support around them?

FYI Leon is in Adelaide today to have a chat with the Power to see where everyone’s at. My take is that if Leon wants to play for Port – we will pick him… Not too many other dual All Australian’s floating around in the PSD so we’d be mad not to!

We got the balance wrong last year and paid the price.

On the other hand they are so crap that they need good players immediately who can play in 2012, to protect whatever kids they may have already from exposure to senior footy before their time. You cant simply fill the list with 19 year olds, you need players across the age spectrum no matter where your list is at.

Its not as if Davis is going to take a spot that could have gone to a youngster. They have gazzillions of youngsters already. All he is really doing is replacing Chad Cornes, and hes a significant upgrade on Cornes and probably cheaper.

I'd love him at Port, he gets to continue his career in a state he is happy to live in, and he wont cause us any trouble by being at good sides like Freo or the Eagles.

Win win I reckon. Good luck Leon. You'll be good for the Power, they could get three years out of you.

Port chasing Leon