Mega Thread Port Forum 'General AFL Talk' Thread Part 16

I have no issues with the crows having a CBD HQ (after all, they are Adelaide, we are Port Adelaide), provided that:

- their base isn't at Adelaide Oval, as the venue needs to remain neutral.
- they don't get additional access to Adelaide Oval
- they pay for it out of their own pocket OR, if public funds are required, Port receives an equivalent amount of funding to be used to re-develop Alberton.

That they haven't already moved to Thebarton for me is the strangest and most absurd part of all of this.

It has SANFL heritage, it is damn close to the city, it has history and character and it has been redeveloped.

Not to mention it could host the reserves side.

That the then state government funded the Adelaide Oval redevelopment with public money, then handed the keys to the motley assortment of crooks and thieves at the SANFL was and will always remain a disaster.

I'm happy for their to be a SMA at the AO, but in it's current format needs to be turfed out and re governed so it's a fairer outcome for all parties..

eg 2 Port reps, 2 AFC reps, 2 SACA reps.. etc..etc..etc.. with no current club board members/club officials allowed to be on both.
The SANFL should be having little say on how the oval is run and where funds raised goes, remember they wanted to stay at West Lakes and didn't want to move.

They have been hugely successful. It was big as G'day LA, but became bigger when Olsen went to NY and made it G'day USA. I don't know if its still the case, but the week's promotional activities was the biggest annual foreign nation promotion in the USA, with about 15,000 people participating in events in LA and NY. I think its been rebadged as Australia Week.

With so many Aussies involved in Hollywood it got huge free publicity as the Aussies in Hollywood invited plenty of influential Hollywood types and the media couldn't help but cover it. Then when it went to NY Murdoch got behind it big time so his Fox Network and his papers and magazines gave it plenty of publicity as well as other USA and Oz media outlets promoting it. Think they played a couple of games of footy around it in LA when Olsen was Consul General there. My mate the Airport Economist when he was Chief Economist at Austrade attended one of the early ones and wrote a few articles about it over the years.

It was Olsen's government that developed the Clipsal / (insert new sponsor) 500 and the Tour Down Under to replace the Grand Prix tourism impact.

Underestimate Olsen at your peril. Someone wrote in here they had worked with him and said that he is well connected and will use all his network and scheming to get things done. The guy might be a crook and a campaigner but he knows how to get things done, be it by fair or foul methods. The giant might wake up whilst he is in charge.

I've had meetings with Olsen and Whicker in the same room. As slippery as you get.

I'm happy for their to be a SMA at the AO, but in it's current format needs to be turfed out and re governed so it's a fairer outcome for all parties..

eg 2 Port reps, 2 AFC reps, 2 SACA reps.. etc..etc..etc.. with no current club board members/club officials allowed to be on both.
The SANFL should be having little say on how the oval is run and where funds raised goes, remember they wanted to stay at West Lakes and didn't want to move.

It should be a scandal that the 2 AFL clubs were never given representation on the SMA board. The crows got a proxy seat via Hurley, but they have railed against us getting a representative right from the start.
Perhaps sneaking Hurley in was the crows plan from the start. "Deny Port by denying both clubs, but we'll sneak Hurley on there to be the Crows rep and we win".
Short circuiting Port Adelaide has always been the crows maIn MO, so I wouldn't put it past them.

That they haven't already moved to Thebarton for me is the strangest and most absurd part of all of this.

It has SANFL heritage, it is damn close to the city, it has history and character and it has been redeveloped.

The city is where it's at, they will be in the city for sure.

I would if I was them, their heartland is West Lakes, why move to another suburb location?

If I wanted to make sure my club owned the state and was seen as 'Adelaide's team / states team' it has to be in the city, somewhere a stones throw from their rightful oval.... Port can live down the end of Port Rd.

That way any visitor to the state, local kid, gets a visible / tangible link to an AFL team, it would be great to market that and male sure they are seen as number 1.

That's what the will do no doubt.

It should be a scandal that the 2 AFL clubs were never given representation on the SMA board. The crows got proxy seat via Hurley, but they have railed against us getting a representative right from the start.
Perhaps sneaking Hurley in was the crows plan from the start. "Deny Port by denying both clubs, but we'll sneak Hurley on there to be the Crows rep and we win".
Short circuiting Port Adelaide has always been the crows maIn MO, so I wouldn't put it past them.

It's probably we need to be more proactive now, Olsen will get whatever they want done. Certainly beyond KT.

Olsen is the Chairman, not the CEO.

As PowerBaz posted above, for them it is the CBD and environs or bust. No point moving to another suburb with no connection to AO or the CBD. They may as well stay rent free in their existing Taj Mahal.

Olsen is the Chairman, not the CEO.
Phew, I'm glad they don't have a CEO that has been investigated for dodgy property deals!

We'd be in real trouble of them succeeding then!

The city is where it's at, they will be in the city for sure.

I would if I was them, their heartland is West Lakes, why move to another suburb location?

If I wanted to make sure my club owned the state and was seen as 'Adelaide's team / states team' it has to be in the city, somewhere a stones throw from their rightful oval.... Port can live down the end of Port Rd.

That way any visitor to the state, local kid, gets a visible / tangible link to an AFL team, it would be great to market that and male sure they are seen as number 1.

That's what the will do no doubt.
They should have done it years ago, would have worked out better than a CBD hub, but your assertions are correct now.

PSmfQOK.jpg

Port Adelaide: No change.

Richmond: No change.

Brisbane: No change.

Geelong: No change.

fetchimage

Collingwood has bid farewell to midfielder Tim Broomhead (age 26 from Port Magpies) and defender Matthew Scharenberg (25 from Glenelg), who will not be offered contracts for 2021.