Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 30

I have heard ex Socceroo goalie Mark Schwarzer tell the story that he was threatened with death if he saved a penalty. He just laughed it off and saved it. I can't remember if it was a club game or an international game.
In certain soccer countries if that happened I reckon you'd feel a shiver go right up ya skirt lol

Toys If they were appealing on any realistic basis, but all this is, is spitting the dummy and throwing the toys from the cot after it.

Obnoxious, entitled behaviour. If Port did it, I would be similarly dismissive.
episode 8 babies GIF

Out of form Finlayson missed out on a few minor round games which meant nothing in the end.
Top 5 player Rankine is staring at the prospect of missing a prelim and potentially a GF. In that situation, you do what you can to challenge the ruling.

I'm not arguing that their chances aren't poor or that their argument is a good one.
I’m sorry, but does a bottom 50 player causing concussion have any less risk of damage to the victim as when a top 5 player causes a concussion?

The quality of the player is irrelevant. The fact finals are approaching is irrelevant.

The AFL has never lessened a penalty because of finals (well, not outwardly anyway).

Not saying your comment fits this, but there have been some really ethically questionable commentary on Big Footy of late.

Waiting for the Crows to argue Ben Keays' incorrectly called point as mitigating circumstances for a 2 game reduction and, if that fails, calling the RiGhT iN fRoNt Of Me guy as a key witness in the appeal.

Nobody thinks their argument of finals games being worth more and so Rankine's suspension should be reduced has any merit and that is the basis of their appeal.

Dragging Rioli, Finlayson and Snoop Dogg into it just reeks of desperation and misdirection.

If Port Adelaide did any of that in the face of the homophobic comment I would be appalled. The club absolutely did the right thing after Finlayson immediately self-reported (which Rankine did not).

They lose maybe not self-respect because clearly they think this is an acceptable response, but they have diminished their standing in and outside the AFL bubble.
You ever been involved in a court case or known people that have Ford? A lot of the time the Good guys don't win. Anything to do with the law or lawyers should never be taken at face value. Much of the time the the Judge/Magistrate is not the smartest guy in the room.

The AFL has never lessened a penalty because of finals (well, not outwardly anyway).
The key word. They've downgraded, fudged, applied double standards and ignored past cases numerous times to get players off. Usually higher profile Victorian players (lets be real if Houston had been playing for Collingwood last year when he got suspended it'd have been at least 1, probably 2 weeks less). Adelaide has always liked to think they belong with the 'big boys' of the Vics, so I can see why they've tempted fate here (reprehensible as it is). This will tell them if they really do get some of that favoured club rule bending Port will never get. With how long this is taking, I'd guess VFL house is trying to find some reason to justify a reason to keep it at 3 weeks or less without them coming out looking bad. I don't think they can, so Rankine will miss more, but it wouldn't be taking this long unless they were trying to find a way.

You ever been involved in a court case or known people that have Ford? A lot of the time the Good guys don't win. Anything to do with the law or lawyers should never be taken at face value. Much of the time the the Judge/Magistrate is not the smartest guy in the room.

Maybe so, but this isn't a judge or magistrate, it's a multi-billion dollar organisation for whom image is everything and also reliant on government grants and favourable presentations to sponsors who, although you don't like it, are deeply interested in virtue-signalling. They don't want to alienate any potential market. And that's just from a cynical financial-only viewpoint.

Adelaide have already been told Rankine is getting a 5 week suspension. The AFL are just humouring them at this stage. The annoying thing is that this is already a de facto appeal and they may get the opportunity to do it all again. Although to what end I don't know because the AFL won't change its mind.

After the Wil Powell suspension, the AFL general counsel Stephen Meade said "It is extremely disappointing to be dealing with a similar incident in only a matter of weeks, We foreshadowed both publicly and privately that after what transpired at Gather Round if a similar incident was to happen there would be further consequence.

“There could be no clearer message – homophobia has no place in our game, nor in society. We want all people in the community to feel welcomed in our game and comments such as Powell’s only takes away from this. As a code, as a community, we all must be better.”

They're going to look weak and silly if they back away from that stand now.

Of course, I could be totally off the mark. We will see soon, the end game is coming.

Why do I get the feeling you misjudge yourself as the "good guy"?

Warwick Capper
Tony Lockett
Barry Hall
Buddy Franklin

Charlie Curnow???? The Swans love affair with trading in a big strong goal kicking KPFs continues.

Doing the same with CEOs as well:

Kelvin Templeton
Matthew Pavlich

Andrew Ireland and Tom Harley were more 3rd tall defenders than KPDs.

I get the hate for the Crows but careful what you wish for it will only get worse.

The only thing I will say is that the benchmark had been set and he crossed the line. Should have known better. We should be worried about opposition teams targeting our short fused players
Only if our short fused players are racist or homophobic.

The ALF is obviously considering it though, otherwise they'd just tell them to GAGF.

After the obvious heavy lifting they've done on the field for them this year I wouldn't be surprised.

No they are not considering it. They’re allowing the crows to make their case and cutting off avenues of appeal.

Reality is this process is making the crows look worse day by day they absolutely refuse to own responsibility.

We should lend them the ones we used for Ollie's appeal, Rankine will be banned for life by the end of the week.
The annoying thing about Ollie's suspension is the rules will definitely be changed next year. Can't remember which footy pundit it was today saying there was no metric, it either had to be 0 or 3 games for Ollie. There is currently no option for one game which will definitely be changed next year. So Ollie will unnecessarily sit out 2 games at the beginning of the season for nothing.

I mean Collingwood could be Foxing but there's stuff like this being reported .... "Magpies coach Craig McRae has revealed he has spoken at length to the victim of Izak Rankine’s homophobic slur, but says he won’t demonise the Crow for his error."....

Again no hetrosexual man is going to be this "Shaken" by being called a gay slur.
you really don't get it do you

I was thinking the same today, if someone called me that I’d most probably laugh at them.
I’m thinking most straight people would act the same way
I can see it being more offensive if someone who is actually gay got called a derogatory gay slur.
At the end of the day you’re never 100% sure on what everyone’s sexuality is so it’s best to STFU and give those sort of name calling a big miss.
It’s not the old days anymore.
Thinking it's an insult to call someone gay is what is really disappointing. Maybe a straight man wouldn't care or maybe if his father, brother, cousin, son was gay he'd be really offended that anyone would think being gay could be an insult.

The thing that's really disappointing in this situation is the lack of an apology from him - he's being painted as the victim when he's old enough and educated enough to know better.

Also Rowe "I would have just lied, I would have gone to the kid and asked him what he said and when he said it I would have said no you didn't you called him a flog - done - I would have just lied his word against mine". Timmy was speechless for a few seconds there, didn't even blink.
That is about it.

Everything you need to know about Rowe in a neat package.

Thinking it's an insult to call someone gay is what is really disappointing. Maybe a straight man wouldn't care or maybe if his father, brother, cousin, son was gay he'd be really offended that anyone would think being gay could be an insult.

The thing that's really disappointing in this situation is the lack of an apology from him - he's being painted as the victim when he's old enough and educated enough to know better.
Don’t think the player cares what he’s called.

It’s about offending the community.

That is completely out of bounds.