smithy

Sturt, Carlton, Liverpool
Looking at the recent Ports greatest side ever list,, it looks a very good side but there has got to be a doubt about one player.
Russell Johnston looks out of his league in that side,, he was an average player at best.
Surely Port have had a better ruckman than him in their history.
PS........Carl Dilena sends his regards........8-)
All the best
Smithy

PSS....Was anyone at that great game in 1988 in front of 37000 fans?.... I realise North vs Centrals was also on but there fans where hardly out in force that day,, what a day, what a result,, pity about the finals series...... I await a response from Uncle Steve in regards to the Elim Final 8-(

Originally posted by smithy
Looking at the recent Ports greatest side ever list,, it looks a very good side but there has got to be a doubt about one player.
Russell Johnston looks out of his league in that side,, he was an average player at best.
Surely Port have had a better ruckman than him in their history.
PS........Carl Dilena sends his regards........8-)
All the best
Smithy

PSS....Was anyone at that great game in 1988 in front of 37000 fans?.... I realise North vs Centrals was also on but there fans where hardly out in force that day,, what a day, what a result,, pity about the finals series...... I await a response from Uncle Steve in regards to the Elim Final 8-(

Russell Johnston was not only a great ruckman but a fantastic captain and the nicest footballer ive ever met.
I remember in the week before the 89 grand final, we showed up late to watch them train, and Johnno came out and said gday and he let us into the players rooms and showed us around etc. He is a fantastic bloke.
If you watch the way he plays, he is VERY VERY similar to Matthew Primus. You look at how he runs, how he kicks, how he rucks and positions himself, its like Primus modelled his game on Johnno.
If anyone deserved to be in that side it was Russell Johnston.

Also, i was at that game in 1988, that double header where sturt won by apoint. Simon Tregenza in his third game of football and a snap shot for goal with about 5 seconds left and missed which left us a point down. The crowd was awesome that day. Johnno that was just an unfortunate incident, he wouldnt hurt a fly but it did look very bad! Carl Dilena got decked by Lesie and Abernathy also that game.

Now that you mention it,, Primus is very similiar to Johnston.
I am not doubting that he is a nice guy,, I perceive him to be like that as well,, and yes I remember Dilena did have to be re-built even before Johnston charged him, but as far as complete ruckmen go,,, I would of thought Port wouldve had a more complete ruckmen than Johnston in their history.
Macca,, since you where at that match and I agree,, it was very very electric, what are your thoughts of Sturt if they hadn't sacked Merv Keane?
I have my opinion but from an outsiders point of view it would be nice to hear your/anyones opinion.
Personally I think we had a premiership side in the making as most of the side in 88 where below 23 y.o.
People blame the downfall of SFC in the 90's on the sacking of Keane but I think if you go further back and question the downfall of John Halbert who took us to 2nd then 7th and previously had a good record with the Bays.
Where were the board members who sacked Halbert when they appointed Higgins for christ sake!!!!!!!!!!!

ALL the best
Smithy

Port have never really had a real dominant ruckman who could sustain that for more than 3 or 4 years. These are the ruckman Port have had in my lifetime (im 19 years old):
Russell Johnston, David Hynes, Craig Lum, Shane Lawson, Geoff Phelps, Wes Fellows, Brett Chalmers, Daniel Jacques, Damien Brown, Darryl Poole, Darren Mead, Tom Gilligan (thats all i could think of off the top of my head).

Out of those i would say Johnston was easily the best, with Chlamers second then Meady and POoley equal third.

Lloyd Zucker (who Fos Williams rated as his greated ruckman in his era) is in the greatest team on the bench i think. He was ruckman in the '6 in a row' era. There was also Chris Natt who was a fair ruckman.
But Russell Johnston, was captain for 5 years, he won a best and fairest, and as a Port supporter i definatly thought he was the only choice for ruckman.

I had no idea about the Keane sacking. I was at that match, but keep in mind i was 6 years old at the time :)
All i remember about that match is Johnston getting Dilena, the crowd booing, then Tregenza having that shot for goal in the last minute and missing. Ive seen hihglights of the game on one of my dads sports videos tho. Was a great game.
I dunno about a premiership side in the making. Im looking at the 1989 list right now and it isnt very impressive, there are a few good players tho.

having a look you had a 18 year old Bruce Lennon, Damian Kitschke, a very old David Frost and John Paynter, Shane Radbone, John Richter, you had a fair full forward in Ian Willmott (quite a good forward in his prime), the magarey medallist of a year or two earlier in Greg Whittlesea, and ou had Kym and Scott Russell. But past that was just nothing really. Compared to other clubs who had 15 or 16 regular contributors, Sturt only had 6 or 7 back in that time. Your right it was a very young side back in the late 80s, and it had potential to do better than 9 wooden spoons in a row, but the potential defendly wasnt converted into talent.
The main factor would of been the constantly changing coaches in the late eighties early 90s.
I mean it really doesnt help when you change coaches every year.

Macca 19:Compared to other clubs who had 15 or 16 regular contributors, Sturt only had 6 or 7 back in that time.
I shall excuse your youthfulness Macca since you did name 10 sturt players,, but for those a little older,,,8-( during the 88 season we had other very good players, drafted by the team in brackets in 1988 season only like Mcwilliam(Essendon) Welsby( geelong) Dilena (fitzroy) Underwood(Essendon) Radbone ( not sure) Field ( St Kilda). So to add to your 10 names are 6 other draftees from the 88 season and it looks like we had a great team in the making, although I do appreciate (1) your age and (2) your diplomatic approach to other teams.
All the best
Smithy

ps...maybe we can meet for a beer at Alberton next time we meet?

I remember channel 9 showed the game in full.
Does anyone have a copy of that game I can borrow?

I await a response from Uncle Steve in regards to the Elim Final 8-(

Huh? :confused:

What's to say?

during the 88 season we had other very good players, drafted by the team in brackets in 1988 season only like Mcwilliam(Essendon) Welsby( geelong) Dilena (fitzroy) Underwood(Essendon) Radbone ( not sure) Field ( St Kilda). So to add to your 10 names are 6 other draftees from the 88 season and it looks like we had a great team in the making
A good point Smithy. Do you realise that at the start of the 1991 season, there were more players from Sturt in the AFL than from any other SANFL club? This fact (combined with the internal strife re Mervyn Keane) goes a long way to explaining Surt's downfall.

On the topic of the original post, i.e. Port's greatest team:

One thing caught my eye - Hodges in a forward pocket. WTF??? Did Hodges ever play in a forward pocket? Certainly Hodges never made his name in the pocket - he was never a regular pocket player. Once he had made a name for himself at full forward he rarely left the position. Once I saw him shifted to CHF, and once to full back(!), but never to the pocket.

It's obvious why the selectors did it; they wanted to choose both Tim Evans and Hodges in the side. But really, how can you take the side seriously when they've shunted a definitive full-forward into a pocket - especially when he never held down that position?

On that note, North Adelaide has also published a "greatest team", though with much less fanfare. I don't recall seeing any obvious misplacings in it. Their choice for full forward was obvious - the great Ken Farmer. They should have picked an "alternative" team of the biggest cult heroes, then Grenville Dietrich might have got a guernsey :)

Re: Re: Ports greatest team

Originally posted by Uncle Steve

Huh? :confused:

What's to say?

A good point Smithy. Do you realise that at the start of the 1991 season, there were more players from Sturt in the AFL than from any other SANFL club? This fact (combined with the internal strife re Mervyn Keane) goes a long way to explaining Surt's downfall.

On the topic of the original post, i.e. Port's greatest team:

One thing caught my eye - Hodges in a forward pocket. WTF??? Did Hodges ever play in a forward pocket? Certainly Hodges never made his name in the pocket - he was never a regular pocket player. Once he had made a name for himself at full forward he rarely left the position. Once I saw him shifted to CHF, and once to full back(!), but never to the pocket.

It's obvious why the selectors did it; they wanted to choose both Tim Evans and Hodges in the side. But really, how can you take the side seriously when they've shunted a definitive full-forward into a pocket - especially when he never held down that position?

Hodges in the pocket was a logical decision. To not put both Evans and HOdges in the same team would of been stupid. Many teams of the century, All Australian teams have two full forwards on the ground at the same time. Just like the Dunstall/Lockett combination in the 1989 SoO match...Evans/Hodges would of been awesome to see.

In 1989 they had Dunstall at FF and Stoneham at FP in the All Australian (did stoneham ever play in apocket?)
1990 Longmire - FF, Kernahan - FP (did Kernas ever play in a pocket?)
1992- Dunstall - FF, Lockett - FP
1993 - Ablett - FF, Modra - FP (Modra DEFINATLY didnt play FP in 93)
1994 - Ablett - FF, Dunstall - FP
1995 - Ablett - FF, Lockett - FP
1998 - Lockett - FF, Lloyd - FP
1999 - Lloyd - FF, Richardson - FP

Its a fair reason to have Hodges and Evans in the same side working in tandem with each other. Adelaide used to play Hodges and Modra in teh same side. Essendon used to play Salmon and Lloyd in the same side.

Macca 19:Compared to other clubs who had 15 or 16 regular contributors, Sturt only had 6 or 7 back in that time.
I shall excuse your youthfulness Macca since you did name 10 sturt players,, but for those a little older,,,8-( during the 88 season we had other very good players, drafted by the team in brackets in 1988 season only like Mcwilliam(Essendon) Welsby( geelong) Dilena (fitzroy) Underwood(Essendon) Radbone ( not sure) Field ( St Kilda). So to add to your 10 names are 6 other draftees from the 88 season and it looks like we had a great team in the making, although I do appreciate (1) your age and (2) your diplomatic approach to other teams.
All the best
Smithy

ps...maybe we can meet for a beer at Alberton next time we meet?

Underwood was a good player. DIdnt see any of Mcwilliam. Welsby just came across as a thug to me, he is one of the only players ive seen just come up and deck Mcintosh (and it was for no reason either)

Beer sounds good mate!!!!

Originally posted by Macca19
Port have never really had a real dominant ruckman who could sustain that for more than 3 or 4 years. These are the ruckman Port have had in my lifetime (im 19 years old):
Russell Johnston, David Hynes, Craig Lum, Shane Lawson, Geoff Phelps, Wes Fellows, Brett Chalmers, Daniel Jacques, Damien Brown, Darryl Poole, Darren Mead, Tom Gilligan (thats all i could think of off the top of my head).

Even going back a decade or so further than that, Paul Marrett and Leon Milde were honest toilers at best, and no match for the likes of Rick Davies, Terry Moore, Dexter Kennedy, Peter Carey, Matt Rendell, etc (I think they were of the same era as most of those blokes).

I used to think that was one of the reasons for Port's long premiership droughts of 1966-1976 and 82-87, but of course they did play in 7 losing grand finals in that time :mad:

Cain Ackland is probably the most talented 'local grown' ruck prospect Port has had in the last 40 years, but of course that means he doesn't stay with the Port Magpies for very long...

No mention of Chris Natt ?????
Not saying he should of got picked but maybe a mention from the Port faithful.
Smithy

No mention of Chris Natt ?????
Not saying he should of got picked but maybe a mention from the Port faithful.
Smithy

I mentioned him!!!!

I said a bit above "There was also Chris Natt who was a fair ruckman."

Macca - I have followed Port since the early 1970's and think I can comment on the ruckmen over this era. I agree that we have not had that many dominant ruckmen.
Firstly to your list:
Craig Lum only played a handfull of league games.
I dont recall Shane Lawson playing any.
Geoff Phelps was not a ruckman. Played forward mainly but his best footy was at CHB, however only got a run when Phillips was out.
Tom Gilligan - now there is a big sook from the past !
1970's we had Keith Spencer and Paul Salmon. Both about 190cm. They were OK. Recruited Ian Verrier from West but he never lived up to expectations. When we finally broke through in 1977 we had Jack Spry (came from North and played a few seasons - great incident from this game when he humiliated Graham Cornes) and the last game of Randall Gerlach. This man was a cult hero. Mainly CHF but ended in the ruck. Chris Natt was usefull but not dominant. 1979 saw Natt suspended for the GF and Sticks Dolan (from Norwood) played his one good game for us. Dexter Kennedy was recruited from West in 1983 and was OK.
David Hynes played some great big games for us. Had to stand up when Russell Johnson unfairly suspended for the 1988 GF and in 1990 Johnno injured early in the match. Chalmers played some good GF's. However Poole in 1996 and 1999 the best GF's I have seen from a Port ruckman.
PS My Dad claims Lloyd Zucker was the best ruckman he has seen and he was a West Torrens supporter when Zucker played. Dad is now normal and supports the Port Adelaide SANFL and AFL sides.

NOD: David Hynes played some great big games for us. Had to stand up when Russell Johnson unfairly suspended for the 1988 GF and in 1990 Johnno injured early in the match.

Are you for real?????? you cant honestly expect people to take you seriously after that comment??????????

Did you see the match or the incident?
I shall give Macca credit in his un-biassed views but that is ridiculous what you said..........

Smithy

Originally posted by Nod

Macca - I have followed Port since the early 1970's and think I can comment on the ruckmen over this era. I agree that we have not had that many dominant ruckmen.
Firstly to your list:
Craig Lum only played a handfull of league games.
I dont recall Shane Lawson playing any.
Geoff Phelps was not a ruckman. Played forward mainly but his best footy was at CHB, however only got a run when Phillips was out.
Tom Gilligan - now there is a big sook from the past !

Craig Lum played over 50 games for us. Shane Lawson played about 4 or 5. Also Poole didnt play in the 96 GF. Was suspended in the Prelim for jabbing Rowe in the face. Meady however played the best game of his career SANFL or AFL, he dominated against the taller Robert Schaefer.

You are correct. It was the 1995 GF when Mead was injured just after half time. Poole came on and dominated.
The 50 Craig Lum games crept up on me. However has been an excellent servant for the club since retirement.

Are you for real?????? you cant honestly expect people to take you seriously after that comment??????????

Did you see the match or the incident?
I shall give Macca credit in his un-biassed views but that is ridiculous what you said..........

Smithy

Yes I am for real. I saw the match and have watched the incident many times on video. The Sturt player was unhurt. Johnson received 5 matches (which included a GF). In my opinion it was the most severe penalty in relation to incident the tribunal has ever handed out. I am sure many agree with me.
Try and look at it objectively and not let your anti Port prejudice cloud your vision !

NOD: THis is the first paragraph of the first post of this topic posted by myself...

Does this look like I am a Port basher and cant have a diplomatic converstion about other clubs????? I dont think so.
Sure,, when the Blues play Port your team is the ****** ******** of the earth, but when I come on here, its for footy discussion as previous posts have proved.
Smithy

Smithy I think you care about the port team of the century about as much as I do, like who gives a ????, Sturt's team of the century would kill Ports, Russell Johnston, ha that's a laugh, Rick Davies, Doc Clarkson and all the great Sturt ruckman would stitch him right up.

Thanks for telling me about this site Smithy, my first time here.