Autopsy Positives and Negatives vs Geelong, Rd 6 2021

Our game plan is around corralling so the opposition kick high over the coraaling player to let Gov, Barrass and co to intercept.

Problem is, decent opposition have worked that out and dont panic kick and use it against us.

Who would have thought? :huh: :think:;)
I think I have posts back in 2016 or 2017 where I talk about coralling and the need to actually lay plenty of tackles for it to work.

If you are exposed as not actually applying pressure the concept of "implied pressure" becomes laughable.

Other teams know we are really poor at coming in and laying effective tackles when our intensity is not extreme. Buys plenty of time to effect a better disposal and then that starts cutting us open.

Our defence on transition is basically non-existent and other teams take the corridor with impunity far too often.

frenchconnection

Aug 16, 2009
Wembley downs
Yeah the way we’ve lost is a big yikes but we’re still 3-3 which most would have taken at the start of the year, especially given who we’ve lost along the way. Really need to pull together till the bye though and try to stay in touch.

Not sure if we can recover from the injuries, we’ll be doing well to have an even record by the bye.. which makes the first 2 losses even worse. 5-1 now with 6 games till the bye I’d have been happy with a 3-3 taking 8-4 into the bye with players returning. F*ck sake.
Could have done without the loss of percentage That will more than likely hurt at seasons end should we make the finals.

Strongside

Aug 23, 2020
Dallas/Ft. Worth Metroplex
Cardinals, Sooners
+

None

-

All out failure. Just a brutal display from center clearances to lack of ANY adjustments from the box to the match long panty drop on the inside. I drank a couple of beers and re-viewed the 2nd Q looking for any rational explanation to hang a hat on. I found total capitulation...just a shameful loss...injuries or not. Freo awaits..what say you Eagles?

Opposite Kids

Nov 21, 2016
Positive - major losses at the start of the season - not as emotionally invested now in the season after having high hopes. Win the next 3 and we are a sneaky chance. Rather not make the finals than to do what we did last year.

Negative - same issues for the last 3 years - Inconsistent, now exposed lack of midfield depth, one dimensional.

Jul 26, 2007
Darwin
Positive - major losses at the start of the season - not as emotionally invested now in the season after having high hopes. Win the next 3 and we are a sneaky chance. Rather not make the finals than to do what we did last year.

Negative - same issues for the last 3 years - Inconsistent, now exposed lack of midfield depth, one dimensional.

Not sure weve had 13 players out injured in the past 3 years.

Including Gov in that 13.

Jk, Gov, Hurn, Yeo and Shuey.

That is our entire leadership group. No wonder we lacked leaders out there.

Then add Ryan, Rioli, Cameron and Petrucelle. There are ALL our best small forwards.

Nine of our best 22.

Desperately need Williams to come in for Vardy = 10.

Mighty Eagles

Mar 31, 2007
East Perth
Not sure weve had 13 players out injured in the past 3 years.

Including Gov in that 13.

Jk, Gov, Hurn, Yeo and Shuey.

That is our entire leadership group. No wonder we lacked leaders out there.

Then add Ryan, Rioli, Cameron and Petrucelle. There are ALL our best small forwards.

Nine of our best 22.

Desperately need Williams to come in for Vardy = 10.

Every side has injuries on a weekly basis. A team never fields its best 22.

We were caught out - again - to be soft. Who in our midfield stood up when momentum was against us? Compare that to when Judd, Cousins et al were in our side, they'd never drop off the way the likes of Kelly, Redden & co did.

We're just not that good. Simple.

ziad

May 2, 2009

We were caught out - again - to be soft. Who in our midfield stood up when momentum was against us? Compare that to when Judd, Cousins et al were in our side, they'd never drop off the way the likes of Kelly, Redden & co did.

Glad I came here - I always thought Redden was as good as Judd, etc. Ponder the early eagles without Judd, Cuzz and Kerr. Then slip out Le Cras from the forward line and Glass from defence. (As a start)

Mighty Eagles

Mar 31, 2007
East Perth
Glad I came here - I always thought Redden was as good as Judd, etc. Ponder the early eagles without Judd, Cuzz and Kerr. Then slip out Le Cras from the forward line and Glass from defence. (As a start)

We're all allowed to miss the point, but no need to spell it out so blatantly like you have.

shooshka

Oct 7, 2011

Comparing Judd, Cousins etc to Kelly, Redden isn't fair though is it.

The reality is this midfield is more like the 2008 version where Judd and Cousins are taken out.

RogersResults

May 7, 2009
Wagga Wagga
You guys did have a number of key players out, just as my Pies have now too, makes it hard. Geelong r damn near unbeatable down at that little shithole of a ground, they know every blade of grass, their fans are fanatical, probably biggest home ground advantage in the League, actually. Least a 6 goal better team down there. They never lose there.

May be of interest:

1987-2021 Round 6.
Geelong: Win percentage in Geelong 75.2%. Elsewhere 56.0%
West Coast: Win percentage in Perth 70.5%. Elsewhere 42.8%

Geelong: Average winning margin in Geelong 46 pts. Elsewhere 38 pts.
West Coast: Average winning margin in Perth 42 pts. Elsewhere 30 pts.

Geelong: Average losing margin in Geelong 23 pts. Elsewhere 29 pts.
West Coast: Average losing margin in Perth 28 pts. Elsewhere 38 pts.

Jul 26, 2007
Darwin

Mate everyone has injuries. No sh!t Sherlock!

But at some stage there is a tipping point. 13 players out isnt a small number especially when 10 are best 22.

Who did the Cats have out? Danger, Higgins? Thats pretty much it for best 22 players unavaialble.

Jk, Hurn, Yeo, Ryan and then Gov early. That is 5 All Australians. Plus Shuey.

Then we have four small forwards out, that means we are using the 5th and 6th ranked developing small medium forward or playing somone out of position.

Yes the the team on the day were terrible, weak and embarrassing. But lets not pretend that our current list of unavailable players is normal and the same average for other teams.

Rowan18

Feb 20, 2018

Have a scan through some of our match results in 2006 and 2007. Yes, that midfield was good, but the team was arguably more inconsistent than now. We love the stories of the comebacks against Geelong and Carlton (the next week) in 2006, but why did those teams trouble us in the first place? They missed finals and we won the flag?

Mate everyone has injuries. No sh!t Sherlock!

But at some stage there is a tipping point. 13 players out isnt a small number especially when 10 are best 22.

Who did the Cats have out? Danger, Higgins? Thats pretty much it for best 22 players unavaialble.

Jk, Hurn, Yeo, Ryan and then Gov early. That is 5 All Australians. Plus Shuey.

Then we have four small forwards out, that means we are using the 5th and 6th ranked developing small medium forward or playing somone out of position.

Yes the the team on the day were terrible, weak and embarrassing. But lets not pretend that our current list of unavailable players is normal and the same average for other teams.
Not being good enough is something we can all cop. Nobody expects X'On to produce Yeo output.

Giving up is not. The team completely checked out after Geelong got rolling.

Jul 26, 2007
Darwin
Not being good enough is something we can all cop. Nobody expects X'On to produce Yeo output.

Giving up is not. The team completely checked out after Geelong got rolling.

Being unable to stop roll ons is both coaching and players. The coaches have been trying for quite some time to come up with a plan........how hard can it be to flood a zone infront of the ball and across half back?

Yeah I dunno. It's almost like we "over-react" and completely lose any semblance of structure or appreciation of the basics. When we actually win the ball no one is where they are supposed to be and we end up getting panicked, rushed or caught with the footy. Everyone flies for the spoil/mark. Our players keep throwing themselves on the ground, desperately trying to win the footy. Our transition completely collapses and when we do break through to attack our only hope is a Joe the Goose as no one is forward of the footy.

It really is a shambles for an AFL team.

Jul 26, 2007
Darwin
Yeah I dunno. It's almost like we "over-react" and completely lose any semblance of structure or appreciation of the basics. When we actually win the ball no one is where they are supposed to be and we end up getting panicked, rushed or caught with the footy. Everyone flies for the spoil/mark. Our players keep throwing themselves on the ground, desperately trying to win the footy. Our transition completely collapses and when we do break through to attack our only hope is a Joe the Goose as no one is forward of the footy.

It really is a shambles for an AFL team.

Like four defenders spoiling one forward and then watching the ball get crumbed by three spare forwards.

That is under 14's football. Dumb....dumb......DUMB!

The wily weagle

Oct 16, 2014
He has a massive engine, maybe one of the best in the comp. However, he doesn't get a lot of contested ball and when he gets the footy, more often than not, he just bombs it forward rather than looking up for a target.

You have hit the nail on the head. And this is a classic west coast fundamental:

We value running power over everything else. Over physicality. Over contested ball. Over tackling.

I completely understand that fitness and running power are a huge part of the game, but at the same time, this is football and not track and field.

There are other factors at play (contested ball/ground ball/tackling) which we need to place greater emphasis on.

The wily weagle

Oct 16, 2014
Remember that game a season or two back against Melbourne when Yeo laid 20 tackles on his own?

Thems were the days 😔

Nev57

Sep 15, 2013
subi
gotta say that was terrible to watch,im thinking we rely on our stars way too much and when the stars are out injured our system doesnt hold up ,further to that ,theres something not right with Nic Nat ,he was good in first few games but his form has faded in last few games,so with star players out,nic nat out of form,gov going down,there was no leadership out there and out second tier players struggled,they dropped their bundle and simmo doesnt have a plan b
iwhy didnt he get oscar back to help barass ? it also hilights our lack of pace in the midfield,they got smashed ,time to start blooding a few young guys ,if theyre up to it

Mighty Eagles

Mar 31, 2007
East Perth
Am I the only one who is over the Tom Cole experiment.

Soft as butter. One of the many who gave us and didn't maintain his attack on the ball or intensity when momentum shifted Geelong's way on Saturday.

Rowan18

Feb 20, 2018
Am I the only one who is over the Tom Cole experiment.

Soft as butter. One of the many who gave us and didn't maintain his attack on the ball or intensity when momentum shifted Geelong's way on Saturday.
I think he would have been better playing on wing than Duggan. Duggan has much better attack on the ball but poor decision making with ball in hand. Cole isn't hard enough at the contest, but would be fine in space up the ground.

navi_

Sep 15, 2019
Cole got a few runs on the wing late last season (the game before and the st kilda game from memory) and didnt do a lot

Kinda agree though, he's too short to play on talls but to slow to play on medium/small forwards so hes a bit of a liability when there isnt pressure on the ball coming in. Reckon he'd be less exposed playing in the middle/wing or hff

Not sure about Tom Cole as soft. He and Nelson are the real pieces of s**t back pocket prick types that people clamour for, but now that we’ve got some people don’t like the ones we’ve got.

Plenty of mongrel between the two of them imo.