blue gunslinger
Hall of Famer
so how do you know what their efforts in the 2nd half were like other than the score?

BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
I would have loved to have known you during the period between 2002 and 2007.Positive for me was turning off the TV at half time, first time I have ever done this, felt ****ing empty.
I would have loved to have known you during the period between 2002 and 2007.
Have a sook.
Well the hammering from the Hawks failed to deliver anything to cheer about, so I don't hold great hopes.Hendo starting to work into it, looking more comfortable.
Judd will be Judd just a champion, carrying the team.
Hammo His second half was very good, actually tried unlike a few others.
Garlett tried hard all day against the odds.
Maybe it is also a positive that we got smashed? I am clutching at straws, but maybe in the long term it could do us some good, we still have seven games to go and this hammering will hopefully fire them up.

when I watched the replay last night it was a shame I knew the resultI would have loved to have known you during the period between 2002 and 2007.
Have a sook.

All this...If we are going to be constructive, this is the one I saw it. Bear in mind I recorded it and fast forwarded some sections of the game as the avalance occurred.
1. Walker - did some good things. Saw a pearler of a pass into the forward 50, and he runs and runs and runs. Problem is he is being an uncontested king, preferring to run away from traffic to provide an option and his disposal is not sharp enough to do that full time. Suffers from poor decision making like many of his teammates. I believe his run is all important, like Wojo from the Cats, but he has to be more prepared to get dirty.
2. Russell - has fallen away during this lean period. Not to the level of his previous whipping boy status, but is not exactly beating his man as consistently. Like many players, they look bad when the team is travelling bad. Is strong, is courageous, dominates when confident. Still a keeper.
3. Murphy - still a gun player, but is not coming along as the leader I thought he may be. Does not seem to inspire those around him, but seems pretty happy when he does something good. Could be a champion but perhaps coasting a little.
4. Gibbs - see Murphy above. We should be getting lifts from these guys, but always get the impression they are leaving something in the tank passion wise. Can't single them out as they are still better than most in the team, but sometimes if those you look to for inspiration aren't offering any, then it permeates the team. At the very least, the class players should be showing the others how not to panic.
5. Judd - still doing a power of work, still trying to drag us along, but we can't deny that some of his disposal is starting to hurt us, and it is not just the pressure disposal. Tonight we were in the game early in general play but were butchering chances and going forward haphazardly. Someone needed to provide the lift. The Judd miss on the run, followed by the set shot miss from the fortunate free after the kick, really deflated me. If ever we needed to exert scoreboard pressure to capitalise on our opportunities and give us a much needed boost, that was it.
6. Simpson - not going to bag Simmo too much. One of our few willing workers who puts his body on the line every week. He is entitled to the occasional quiet game. Loved the long goal shortly after hurting himself in a contest.
12. Robinson - yes he is tough as nails, but I don't think we were soft tonight. Tonight was about our poor skills and decision making AND going to ground consistently while our opponents ran forward unopposed. Robbo was a major culprit in this regard. We just lacked balance and poise all game.
13. Yarran - saw someone bagging him, but I liked plenty of things he did. Was willing to go back and help out in defence. Second year player who will be up and down, but as long as he continues to show us his class regularly, I have no major concerns.
17. O'hAilpin - Was never going to shine basically double teamed with Lake being one of those against him. However, Lake exposed him for judgment time and time again, and he is equally responsible for holding the ball in the forward line. Seems to have lost a bit of pace. Is he right?
18. Bower - not match fit. Has the ability but not thrilled with his output tonight.
19. Betts - Dogs planned for him and he didn't work hard enough to overcome that plan. Pretty easy to negate our most dangerous forward when no other forwards are taking the focus off him.
22. Hampson - liked the mark he took. First time I have seen him at full extension like that. Not doing anywhere near enough though.
23. Henderson - very hard worker. Has some brain fades as in kicking too close to man on mark but didn't drop his head and can only get better. Have some high hopes for him long term.
27. Armfield - plays well most weeks, and playing well when we are under siege is a real positive. He was very good today. Backs himself with the ball and crunches opponents when they have the ball. Not the greatest skills but you can not fault the way he goes about things.
29. Scotland - the most indecisive I have seen him. Usually one of our cooler heads but he was all at sea today.
32. Thornton - seemed to be zoning off his opponent even when they were threatening. Not a good game. Game seems to be too quick for him.
33. Houlihan - really struggled to get into the contest and make things happen. Not really the player to lift the team when they are down.
38. Garlett - never gives up. One of a few who was truly pressuring the Dogs. A vital part of the team, even if the flow of the game is not always to his advantage.
39. Jacobs - I thought he went okay. Good honest player is Sam. Showed something with that first snapped goal.
40. Jamison - decision making was ordinary in this game. Is usually very assured. Got found out on the lead and not very strong in contested situations. Strain seems to be showing.
44. Carrazzo - not sure what role he had out there but pretty much all the Dogs were running riot so am not sure how effective he was. Decision making was painfully slow. Hesitation was our biggest enemy in general and this was a poor game from Carrots. Part of our leadership group but if a message needs to be sent again, he is a candidate.
45. Joseph - he's a trier but is just not doing enough. Not sure whether a footy brain is a major part of his kit bag. Just seems to reactive at times.
Overall, a lift across the board is needed.
Fantastic post.Sorry guns, just sick and tired of some people on here who continue to make excuses and then run down people who say something against Carlton, I don't give a shit what people on here think of me or the names I get called, I ****ing love Carlton and always will, but I demand more than just mediocre.
or it is those who have got over the emotional let down, had their outburst of frustration and now can move on in a mature fashion. But thanks for your helpFantastic post.
People who howl down others for posting criticism of the club, no matter how warranted, are inevitably those who accept mediocrity, and will be satisfied with ineptitude continually plaguing the club.
Hahaha... don't you see the problem with that. They get emotional, let off steam, then go back to their thinking that the world is perfect again and nothing needs to change. My post had nothing to do with emotions or otherwise. It's a common theme after a win, loss or draw. It was the same when Fevola was at his worst... many people could see that he was a terrible influence on our club and posted accordingly, while others with their navy blue glasses couldn't accept criticism that all wasn't perfect.or it is those who have got over the emotional let down, had their outburst of frustration and now can move on in a mature fashion. But thanks for your help

My point was yes alpha should be allowed to vent his frustration - nobody is saying he should not. But we have heard his point of view across several threads now and I know alpha can offer more than a swear filtered post.Hahaha... don't you see the problem with that. They get emotional, let off steam, then go back to their thinking that the world is perfect again and nothing needs to change. My post had nothing to do with emotions or otherwise. It's a common theme after a win, loss or draw. It was the same when Fevola was at his worst... many people could see that he was a terrible influence on our club and posted accordingly, while others with their navy blue glasses couldn't accept criticism that all wasn't perfect.
But you go on living in your world... satisfied with second-place, and I'll have mine.
And you bait him by responding. If you want him to stop harping on about it, stop feeding him.My point was yes alpha should be allowed to vent his frustration - nobody is saying he should not. But we have heard his point of view across several threads now and I know alpha can offer more than a swear filtered post.
Am I wrong?![]()
alpha and I are cool mate. Just worry about yourselfAnd you bait him by responding. If you want him to stop harping on about it, stop feeding him.
On Judd's kicking ...
or it is those who have got over the emotional let down, had their outburst of frustration and now can move on in a mature fashion. But thanks for your help
Anymore excuses? I am going to start a excuse thread for Carlton and our posters, we continue to make excuses for them. What is the point of making a effort for 10 minutes? When you don't have the skills and you know after 10 minutes we will play like insipid gutless football?