Peel Thunder
Hmmm...

1. Clarke is a future star and a great back up for Sandi. Gone are the days of having Johnson and Bradley giving Spider the chop out.
2. Faulks looked great in his first game. Composed and decision making wasn't too bad. Scrawny Fletcher type KPD.
3. Sandilands played okay and foot looked unscathed, kicked 2 sausages in the last
4. Mzungu knows how to run and carry plus lay a tackle (11) just needs to hone his skills by foot and stop the brain fades.
5. Fyfes 1%ers. Blind handball at the end of the first that set up Silvagnis goal, spoiling certain opposition marks, diving at the ball at contests.
6. Last qtr effort was an improvement on last week. The scoreline could have ended up a lot worse. (just gotta do it for 4qtrs now!)
7. Barlow - what an Aussie battler. He didn't give up the whole game and earnt that goal in the end. Only 5 games back from a broken leg and looks like he nearly back to his best.
8. No major injuries means the injury list might finally be under 10 (did Lower pull up ok?)
9. Mundy and McPhee to return this week!!!

1. No injuries
2. Colombo was good in his first game
3. Mzungu was good defensively again, and was also consistently willing to attack the packs and drive forward hard.
4. Silver was good down back again.
AND most of all
5. Clarke had another great game - if we can keep him, Griffo and Sandi fit and on the list we will be scary deep at ruck. Zac's also getting better when run down forward and through the middle.

No other positives, really sad that in my time back in Perth of the three games I've seen (GC, Hawkers, Carltank) we've shown such little spirit in two of the three. Hang on, maybe that's a positive for the rest of you, with me going back East maybe the BpG jinx will be lifted and you'll get to see some commitment at the next Subi game? :confused:

No one will overestimate us again in 2011.

If the rest of the year continues it's current path we will finish at least 13th.

Chopper will be a different player in '12.
images

Faulkes - Was really impressed with his game. I reckon he will be a great pickup. Looks like he'll be able to play small or tall but may struggle with the gorillas. Also very composed under pressure.
Sandi got through unscathed.

That's about it....

Only watched the first half, but Silvagni is a seriously handy player. Really smart. Faulks and Clarke look good too.

ive tried to stay all positive all yeah, and ive been able to.

but now, scrap the year, scrap everything to do with this year.

look for 2012

Faulks great debut
Clarke having more influence
Fyfe's mark over Judd in the last
ballas effort to win the game on his own
Mick B. just because.
Silvagni's floater/helicopter goal in the first quarter.

Only watched the first half, but Silvagni is a seriously handy player. Really smart. Faulks and Clarke look good too.

'd agree with that, I thought SNOS looked really good. He's such a consistent player and keep in mind (like many of our players), he's missed so much of the (pre-)season but has been switched on every game he's played.

Faulks looked like he belonged, even if his opponent (Walker mostly) got a bit of it.

Clarke, really looking forward to his next few years.

MZu works hard, does some good things. The shanks could be an issue, but he's still getting it right more often than not, I suspect there's a bit of upside to come from him yet.

After a no-show 1st 1/4, I thought Balla had a really good game and worked his butt off.

Silvagni - has refused to lose his position where ever he plays and has been brilliant in dispiriting performances of late. People underestimate what character that takes and how hard that is to do repeatedly! Immense mental strength.

Clarke - is starting to show at AFL level what he did in glimpses at WAFL level. Is coming along brilliantly.

Faulkes.

Pretty much only Silvagni
Seemed to be the only guy who actually cared an was willing to put his body on the line at every opportunity.

Clarke's chase on Yarran - causing him to forget to bounce it he was so under the pump, resulting in a free kick to us. Crazy good.

I'm obviously the only one that Faulkes was ordinary. Give him another look before I make up my mind.
Barlow was amazing, I actually felt sorry for him, running around everywhere trying to marshall the troops, diving on everything, flying for marks when it appeared no one else gave a **** today.
Clarke is a ripper, Silvagni is much better than I thought.

1. Faulks - good first game. Didn't look lost and looked like he belonged
2. Silvagni - our best player today. Been brilliant this year. You can tell he absolutely hates losing.
3. Zac - another good game from him.
4. Suban tackle on some Carlton player in the goal square and then his second effort spoil to rush the ball over the goal line. One of the rare inspiring moments of the game.
5. Hinkley - probably the last we'll EVER see of him.

Some of his (Faulkes) disposal was ordinary, bordering on panicky.

This, and his positioning at times was a little suspect. Hopefully he'll settle in but he looked out of his depth at times to me, I'm sure it looks different from TV, can't bring myself to watch a replay.

This is such a classic case of everyone looking for another hero, in a few weeks time if he doesn't turn into McPharlin 2 the usual suspects will suggest delisting him. Meanwhile Mzungu who hunts the footy and racks up the touches should be delisted because his disposal isn't yet perfect at AFL level :rolleyes:
I wonder how many games Faulkes will get before the groupthink turns on him.

from my perspective
Your list has been smashed up this season
We went into the game confident we were the better equipped and better skilled team
Your talls were always going to trouble us and they did when the ball went to them
There are plenty of positives for Freo in that your kids are getting a good run
With all of your troubles you are only just out of the 8
At full strength this game plan that got blasted by your fans will look much more impressive
Keep the faith Freo.

^^^ Cheers mate. Shame the Blues fans in block 310 yesterday weren't as good spirited. Absolutely the very worst drunken, arrogant rude aholes we've had in our section all year.
Swearing in from of children, trying to pick a fight. Disgusting.

Chris Mayne playing in the middle of the ground. At last Harvey has seen that he is no KPF. I think he could be a very good mid, in time.

(BTW i am aware he was on Judd who was probably BOG, but good to see Mayne doing something different)

^^^ Cheers mate. Shame the Blues fans in block 310 yesterday weren't as good spirited. Absolutely the very worst drunken, arrogant rude aholes we've had in our section all year.
Swearing in from of children, trying to pick a fight. Disgusting.
I think it went both ways a bit. Saw ordinary sights from both sets of fans (worst behaviour by ground staff but- what a bunch of Nazis)
Had a drink thown at me because we were singing the song whilst leaving the ground. But I must say I have no reports of fights or arrests for a change. That never happens after a WC game I can tell you. There were a lot of Vic Blues over and I think as it was the only Carlton game in Perth this year the local Blues let it all go a bit. By and large we got sunburnt and got home safely and will look forward to locking horns again