Possible Future AFL Expansion Discussion

They've got crowds of over 8-10,000 to practice matches so it's fair to expect similar numbers for an actual regular season matches.

Foxtel aren't against the move.

More importantly the FFA are about to lose control of the A-League and power go to the clubs not governing body. This will happen this year as FIFA have demanded it, don't do it and the national side could be suspended from competing costing a WC spot. They've done it before and Australia is a little fish so they done care if we are offended

Why would the franchises controlling the a league increase the likelihood of a franchise being awarded to a city that the tv deal explicitly gives no more money for?

Do you actually have the list of games (practice or otherwise) played in tassie? I betcha, beyond maybe the first game, they weren't getting "crowds of over 8-10,000". I bet you they were getting less and less with each game

Perhaps its your comprehension ....
Well no. It had no bearing to my post

Jesus, you do just argue with everyone for the sake of it

They've got crowds of over 8-10,000 to practice matches so it's fair to expect similar numbers for an actual regular season matches.

Foxtel aren't against the move.

More importantly the FFA are about to lose control of the A-League and power go to the clubs not governing body. This will happen this year as FIFA have demanded it, don't do it and the national side could be suspended from competing costing a WC spot. They've done it before and Australia is a little fish so they done care if we are offended
Once control is given to the clubs, they will vote to axe the salary cap and do all sorts of weird s**t that will give monetary power to a few teams all from Sydney and Melbourne, and severely compromise the A-League. There are some seriously dopey arguments floating around the soccer community right now about promotion, relegation, ending the cap, competing with Europe, etc, all exacerbated by this FIFA ruling. Should this happen with a brand new Tasmanian side onfield, it will take no time at all for that team and a few other non-big city teams to fold, no matter how much interest they generate at home at the start...

Why would the franchises controlling the a league increase the likelihood of a franchise being awarded to a city that the tv deal explicitly gives no more money for?

Do you actually have the list of games (practice or otherwise) played in tassie? I betcha, beyond maybe the first game, they weren't getting "crowds of over 8-10,000". I bet you they were getting less and less with each game
Can't verify this either, it comes under "don't follow soccer but I do regularly look at how things in general are going in my old home state", but I do believe they were getting some decent numbers for A-League games at York Park and wherever they played in Hobart. Tassie has had a recent history of this - there were some well attended NRL practice matches at North Hobart, and they got 4000 to show up to the Romania v Namibia rugby world cup match in 2003, plus there have been some other events up north in particular where the locals have made a strong showing...I wouldn't be surprised in the slightest if these figures were true...

Once control is given to the clubs, they will vote to axe the salary cap and do all sorts of weird s**t that will give monetary power to a few teams all from Sydney and Melbourne, and severely compromise the A-League. There are some seriously dopey arguments floating around the soccer community right now about promotion, relegation, ending the cap, competing with Europe, etc, all exacerbated by this FIFA ruling. Should this happen with a brand new Tasmanian side onfield, it will take no time at all for that team and a few other non-big city teams to fold, no matter how much interest they generate at home at the start...

I guess the NBL gives a good example of that. The Hobart Devils handed back their license 1996. They weren't broke but I'm told they felt they soon would have been in order to compete with the clubs from the big cities.
As It turned out, a lot of those clubs killed themselves off with over their spending. The AFL wont allow that to happen. But even with the draft & the salary cap designed to 'equalise' the competition, a lot of clubs obviously cant keep in the game without massive handouts.

I guess the NBL gives a good example of that. The Hobart Devils handed back their license 1996. They weren't broke but I'm told they felt they soon would have been in order to compete with the clubs from the big cities.
As It turned out, a lot of those clubs killed themselves off with over their spending. The AFL wont allow that to happen. But even with the draft & the salary cap designed to 'equalise' the competition, a lot of clubs obviously cant keep in the game without massive handouts.
"Massive" is a relative term. In terms of club operations, sure, millions is heaps. But in terms of AFL business, its bugger all. I'm a footy socialist, greater good for the many through sharing and all that. It escapes the notice of many that the teams regularly under the pump are the ones often delivering the product sold to the corporates - the contributions of the Big Four, for example, have been outshone regularly by the Dogs, Saints and the Roos, particularly in the late 90's era when big tv rights became an important factor. The biggest handouts by far are for the two new sides, but without them the rights wouldn't have gone up by a billion dollars last time. All 18 clubs deliver and contribute to the product, so I have absolutely no problem with the notion of forking out a couple of million if North or whoever need it. It's their money - they earned it, it goes into the pool, and then they draw on it. The product is diminished if any of those teams aren't there, the sum being greater than the parts and other great cliches. So the AFL must be a shining example of socialism at its finest, because it will never be the NFL...and if you axe teams, the fans won't jump ship - it's not the same as driving to the next suburb for Maccas...

The second we start getting all Joe Hockey about footy, and start singling out leaners and lifters, it's f###ed...they all must stay.

There are other examples of your first point, too. I lived on the Gold Coast during the Chargers years, which in 1997 was the only good story to come out of the Rugby Super League war...finals for the only time ever, then a slump when all the big guns returned for 1998 and Rupert Murdoch was running up and down the corridors of ARL headquarters with an axe. At that point, the Chargers voluntarily pulled the plug with $4m in credit in their bank account...

So the afl giving larger distributions to poorer clubs you refer to as "massive handouts"?

Are you familiar with how horizontal fiscal equalisation works?

So the afl giving larger distributions to poorer clubs you refer to as "massive handouts"?

Are you familiar with how horizontal fiscal equalisation works?

HFE applies to the disbursement of finances to states in a federation. Its about maintaining health & education standards across the nation. So its about lives & opportunity.

However In footy it allows for the reward of mediocrity in the market. Clubs may work hard to maximise their playing groups performance. But it reduces the value of working to increase corporate or member support.

HFE applies to the disbursement of finances to states in a federation. Its about maintaining health & education standards across the nation. So its about lives & opportunity.

However In footy it allows for the reward of mediocrity in the market. Clubs may work hard to maximise their playing groups performance. But it reduces the value of working to increase corporate or member support.

Aaah, so not massive handouts in that context then. K

Biggest handouts in sport in Australia, so its relative I guess.

Relatively yuuge. ;)

I was referring to the h.f.e. Many Other federations don't redistribute revenue in this way. I wouldn't call it a "massive handout" wot Tasmania gets and has always got from the rest of the country but it is very much analogous.

"Biggest handouts in Australia sport"? I seriously can't work out whether you are trolling or just not near as bright as you think you are. The clubs with the highest afl distributions are the highest in Australian sport because the afl's revenues are the highest in Australian sport. Even without the centralised revenues of the afl, the clubs own revenues are by far the biggest in Australian sports - that is its members, crowds and sponsors

I was referring to the h.f.e. Many Other federations don't redistribute revenue in this way. I wouldn't call it a "massive handout" wot Tasmania gets and has always got from the rest of the country but it is very much analogous.

"Biggest handouts in Australia sport"? I seriously can't work out whether you are trolling or just not near as bright as you think you are. The clubs with the highest afl distributions are the highest in Australian sport because the afl's revenues are the highest in Australian sport. Even without the centralised revenues of the afl, the clubs own revenues are by far the biggest in Australian sports - that is its members, crowds and sponsors

The smaller states get money to maintain health & education services. Relatively the most goes to NT. ACT lives on Federal taxes, SA receive huge amounts 'via' the new navy building programs.

Anyway 'bright one' , so what If the AFLs revenues are the highest & the AFL distributions are the highest, Ipso facto, the fact remains they are the biggest handouts, I rest my case ;) It would actually be interesting to look up the relative amounts paid out by all the major sports organisations.

However my point is that some clubs are perennial recipients of quite large amounts of 'assistance', despite having a near century to establish themselves in the games biggest market. Also despite the fact we have have a salary cap & draft system to aid equality. Talking about total numbers of members become a mere pissing contest, because it means SFA in reality. The AFL look to even it up with payments & penalties on spending.

You can't hammer them mercilessly for that. A century ago, the business requirements for a VFL club looked nothing like they do today. If the rules of today applied to the Hawks of 1938, they'd be a forgotten blip - alongside every other team in the comp! You need to get to the mid-80's to see it get serious, and then maybe a decade afterwards to see actual results giving us meaningful data set against the environment as set up by the modern AFL...unlike the yanks, who were playing for money 100 years ago when they didn't even have a league or standardised rules and know everything about it, we're only just emerging from our apprenticeship into the world of professional football...Richmond were taking money from kids who'd raided actual piggy banks as late as 1990...

The paradox though is that the modern rules only started to count once a century of societal movement had already shaped the fan bases of each team - Collingwood's huge base was not driven by economic factors, it was socio-geographical, totally outside the control of the club. Hawthorn were gifted rapidly expanding eastern zones in the 1960's that turned them into a power team. Fitzroy and North were wedged into narrow streets which were turning into into run down lower class areas...great if you're an upmarket real estate developer 40 years later turning inner city run down holes into fashionable yuppie apartments, but no good if you want to build a football team with a fan base to match Carlton and Collingwood who you shared a border with around WW2. When corporatism became synonymous with footy, the level playing field had already been dead for years, and none of it was because of the historical economic brilliance of any particular club admins...

Onfield, those salary cap and drafting rules have seen every side except GC make the PF this century. Socialism for the win...

Thank you for the history lesson. It makes no difference to my basic point. Its clear that some of the clubs should never have gone national. They never had the capacity to compete except by massive support.
Even when the AFL started they really should have had a decent long term plan other than just to perpetuate the VFL.
The first moves should really have been to start two teams each in WA & SA. Certainly Sydney & Brisbane. With maximum 8 in Vic. Then add Syd2. SEQ2 then add WA3 with Tas1.
But thats politics.

Thank you for the history lesson. It makes no difference to my basic point. Its clear that some of the clubs should never have gone national. They never had the capacity to compete except by massive support.
Even when the AFL started they really should have had a decent long term plan other than just to perpetuate the VFL.
The first moves should really have been to start two teams each in WA & SA. Certainly Sydney & Brisbane. With maximum 8 in Vic. Then add Syd2. SEQ2 then add WA3 with Tas1.
But thats politics.

So basically dump 2 Vic clubs and add WA3 & Tas.

I love how you say "Clubs never had the chance to compete without massive support." then propose dropping 2 clubs and replacing them with a Tas club that would be SMALLER.

Then claim politics is the problem, when politics is the only reason a club from such a small and widely spread market as Tasmania is even considered.

But thats politics.
If you don't understand the history of a subject you will never understand it fully...

All of the old VFL clubs at some stage have had a struggle with the national league, and all of them have had times of brilliance. Everything you say above is sheer hindsight...

If you don't understand the history of a subject you will never understand it fully...

All of the old VFL clubs at some stage have had a struggle with the national league, and all of them have had times of brilliance. Everything you say above is sheer hindsight...

Somewhat tautological. If you dont understand, you never will !!!

I know the VFL to AFL story. But knowing that doesn't mean I cant wish it had happened differently. That apart, It should be run differently now.

But thats politics.
No, it doesn't matter how the league is set up, or what clubs are in it, finances are based on the median. In an era of equalisation, some clubs operate above the median, and will be `taxed`, some will be around the median, and some below, and be `supported`. If you got rid of the 4 poorest clubs tomorrow, and replaced them with richer clubs (if that was possible), you just move the median up. You are still going to have a handful of clubs needing assistance to reach that median (its what a median is).

An issue with expansion that appears to be little discussed, what is the benefit? To the league, I mean by that, not the region that gets the new team.

7 doesn't broadcast all games now, adding another game doesn't add to the value of the broadcast deal, if 7 do not broadcast it. Would Fox want another game to cover, or pay much for it? In an era of changing viewer behaviour, I do not see how 7 or Fox (or 9), would pay more for a tenth game.

GWS and GCS added value to the league by adding value to the broadcast deal, if more teams do not do the same, how does adding them stack up. Paying huge amounts of money to support a Tas team or a WA3 if it isn't bringing in more TV dollars seems problematic.

Canberra and Tasmania

puting a third side in any of the existing two team markets will just cannibalize what's already there

IMO wont cannibalise the WA market, possibly the only one, but there are not enough good players to start another team without diluting the player pool.

Canberra and Tasmania

puting a third side in any of the existing two team markets will just cannibalize what's already there

It'll make more money out of an existing market and allow a broader cross section of the community access to games.

Instead of 1 game/week, a 3rd team would make it 1.5 meaning people who haven't been paying to be on waiting lists for 20 years might actually be able to watch games live.

If you don't think being able to attend matters, then why bother with Tas/ACT teams? I mean, they can watch on TV too....

Canberra and Tasmania

That's not necessarily a bad thing in Perth. People (especially outside WA) underestimate just how massive West Coast are. The AFL wouldn't lose any sleep if 30% of their fanbase went to another club.

I just don't think too many people would switch in the first place.

Not sure where you get that idea from but its not on the agenda. The rules regarding marque players will be cleared up, along with player movement, but the salary cap with remain.

Canberra and Tasmania

Canberra won't work, its the most competitive market in the country for sport with Raiders, Brumbies and whilst GWS works for 4 games a year, 11 is a very different equation. To do it they would need to increase the capacity of Manuka Oval from the existing 15,000. Cricket is upgrading it to be of international standard so it can host test matches, but the Canberra government is not interested in increasing capacity beyond 20,000, this would mean the AFL would have to fund it.