News Possible NBL team

• Thread starter Thread starter Babylove

Narrow minded = YES........guilty as charged.

This is a FOOTY forum.......by the way how many Premierships have the Hawks got in the last nine years?

Also how is their Netball/Basketball/AFLNW team going?

Big problems at Hawthorn with Kennett in charge.......lol

Like I mentioned
Box hill hawks hawthorns women's team in vwfl
Missed out on awfl licence
CEO sacked because of this amongst other things

Rubbish Perth wildcats make huge profits , now it's on fta and rates which. It does the nbl will be able to sell the rights one day
More and more aussies connect with nba , it's cool
The most profitable league in the world is nba basketball
It will make us plenty
So you're saying we should put a team in the NBA, and skip the NBL?!

Like I mentioned
Box hill hawks hawthorns women's team in vwfl
Missed out on awfl licence
CEO sacked because of this amongst other things

Number of Premierships in nine years?

So you're saying we should put a team in the NBA, and skip the NBL?!

Funny
4 nbl. Teams played serious games against Nba teams recently AND AQUITED THEMSELVES WELL
Kids connect with that
Keep up man Ben Simmons will be Australia's BIGEST STAR , thon maker will be up there
Lets support it
It will pay its way

Mate have to disagree , but of course you will find we will partner with some associations to grow our brand
All major football clubs for over 30 years have fielded euro league basketball teams and stand on their own two feet providing great passion
Real Madrid,Barcelona , galatarsary , Csk ,and Bayern all have teams and all these teams thrive
Intact Barca credit the cross sport idea as a responsibility
Perth wildcats , new zealand and cairns have always been profitable , now perth have talk of a bigger stadium , 15000 members
Crowd figures are on par with NRL and bigger than super league , also sco we have our own court still at the centre
If you know bball the tigers stink , poached juniors for years and really 60% of supporters couldnt stand em
My club ( played seabl) was the giants second team and ironically we played at the glass house
I love the game of both sports and have played both
My old man never saw me play bball sco
Rekin he would have if I was representing the pies
Now tha bball is on tv fta it won't disappear again
It's a BRILLIANT move
We're gonna be huge
Afl , vfl , awfl, ,super netball, nbl,and thee wnbl
BUSY SOCIAL CLUB
All helping each other
BIGGER THAN TEXUS
Get on sco get on
Aren't all those teams in Europe?

See, that's your personal opinion. But, the reality is that 90% of people think differently. Participation rates, media interest and attendances demonstrate this. These are the factors that the club should be focusing on.

Yep, participation is higher, but that's hardly surprising given there's 11 a side versus 5 a side, basketball tends to preclude those vertically challenged individuals who'd be welcomed into soccer teams, and bleeding heart parents who fear for the wellbeing of their kids steer their children toward soccer rather than footy or rugby.

Strangely enough, the Australian Sports Commission found that in 2016 5.8% of adults play soccer, 3.4% play basketball, well short of the > 2/1 you'd expect given the 11/5 team disparity.

Happy for you to cite total attendance figures for A-league relative to NBL, last seasons will do. As to media, don't read or watch anything about either so I'll take your word for it.

And of course none of that changes the fact soccer is as boring as bat shit.

Look
Our finances are fine
Since the nbl started to be run as a business ,privately owned most are doing ok
It becomes an event
We're i the entertainment. Business
It's the most participated sport in australia
You don't like it
Stiff
For the whole club to succed we need the social club to be used and embraced , were invested
Whether you or me like it or not its us or storm, cats a smoky
Imagine the derby against united
What a atmosphere
It will be the hottest. Ticket In town
It's going to happen

SIX years! They might win another premiership by then.

That's what the best football teams do when they don't get involved in a bullshit sport like basketball when they are a FOOTBALL Club.......but what would they know Darkyprotector? ;)

Aren't Hawthorn 1 of the team's pushing for the next release of AFLW licenses? If so, who's to say that they aren't also 1 of the teams (apparently) interested in an NBL franchise. Russell suggested there were half a dozen interested AFL-NRL clubs after all. Would having a club like Hawthorn also expressing interest make Collingwoods (alleged) interest more pallatable?

Look
You don't like it
Stiff
For the whole club to succed we need the social club to be used and embraced
Whether you or me like it or not its us or storm
Imagine the derby against noted
It's going to happen
Good bye

Basketball? Really? I always thought soccer had the most numbers.

Yep, participation is higher, but that's hardly surprising given there's 11 a side versus 5 a side, basketball tends to preclude those vertically challenged individuals who'd be welcomed into soccer teams, and bleeding heart parents who fear for the wellbeing of their kids steer their children toward soccer rather than footy or rugby.

Strangely enough, the Australian Sports Commission found that in 2016 5.8% of adults play soccer, 3.4% play basketball, well short of the > 2/1 you'd expect given the 11/5 team disparity.

Happy for you to cite total attendance figures for A-league relative to NBL, last seasons will do. As to media, don't read or watch anything about either so I'll take your word for it.

And of course none of that changes the fact soccer is as boring as bat shit.

Participation has nothing to do with the number of players that can fit in a team, it's about the number of people who turn up to play.

If more people turned up to play basketball, those people wouldn't be turned away because "we already have five". More teams would be fielded. But alas, more people don't turn up.

If anything, the lower player number requirement for basketball lends itself to higher participation. It is a lot easier for a bunch of mates to get together and form a basketball team to enter into a local league. This happens all the time, but is very difficult to do in soccer because you need more players. The option to create a team in a social league also isn't there because leagues aren't set up for it, so you lose out on those players who don't want to play in a "serious" team, but will join or create one for social enjoyment. Despite this, soccer has much higher attendance because it is a more popular sport and more people like it.

Basketball? Really? I always thought soccer had the most numbers.

You are correct, but I think he was talking about soccer.

Look
Our finances are fine
Since the nbl started to be run as a business ,privately owned most are doing ok
It becomes an event
We're i the entertainment. Business
You don't like it
Stiff
For the whole club to succed we need the social club to be used and embraced , were invested
Whether you or me like it or not its us or storm, cats a smoky
Imagine the derby against united
What a atmosphere
It will be the hottest. Ticket In town
It's going to happen

Actually, according to the Australian Sports Commission basketball is the 11th ranked participation sport, doesn't make the top 10 for adult men or women. Soccer is 6th for adult men, doesn't make the top 10 for adult women.

I'd argue the opposite. Played basketball till I was late 40's and while I don't watch it as much now as I did during its heyday (lack of time rather than interest), still find it more attractive to watch than soccer which is as boring as bat shit.
Agree 100% Basketball much better to watch than Soccer.

Participation has nothing to do with the number of players that can fit in a team, it's about the number of people who turn up to play.

Of course, and they'd obviously get the same numbers turning up week to week if another 6 had to sit on the sidelines watching because it was only 5 a side, silly me.

They could probably field two teams, so yes, silly you.

I love how you quote about ten percent of my post, because if you quoted the whole thing it would be even more obvious that your position on the issue is nonsense.

If more people turned up to play basketball, those people wouldn't be turned away because "we already have five". More teams would be fielded. But alas, more people don't turn up.

If anything, the lower player number requirement for basketball lends itself to higher participation. It is a lot easier for a bunch of mates to get together and form a basketball team to enter into a local league. This happens all the time, but is very difficult to do in soccer because you need more players. The option to create a team in a social league also isn't there because leagues aren't set up for it, so you lose out on those players who don't want to play in a "serious" team, but will join or create one for social enjoyment. Despite this, soccer has much higher attendance because it is a more popular sport and more people like it.

You are correct, but I think he was talking about soccer.

No worries, I'll quote your whole post. i disagree. Soccer players wouldn't be turning up in the same numbers to sit on the sidelines and watch or accept being relegated to a 2nd string team. Team numbers absolutely affect participation numbers. As does the capacity for short fat people to play which you'd conveniently overlooked from my previous post because it made your argument look way too myopic.

Not too many short fat people succeed in soccer either.

Also, we're not talking about the NBA or EPL here, we're talking local grass roots participation. Most people at those levels choose a sport based on which sport they enjoy playing more. Height has very little to do with it.

Myopic? Your point is that less people choose to play basketball because each individual team has less players in it. That is nonsensical.

We just don't need our finger in every single sporting pie.

To be honest I'm still not entirely comfortable with how netball has been hijacked by rich, powerful AFL clubs with elite facilities and resourcing at their fingertips...

See, that's your personal opinion. But, the reality is that 90% of people think differently. Participation rates, media interest and attendances demonstrate this. These are the factors that the club should be focusing on.
90% of people like the premier league. Most of them like the champions league/ world cup. A few fanatics like more boring major leagues in Spain and Italy. The thing about Australians though is that our passion for sport is largely about watching the best play. The a-league sets a terribly low standard imo. The sport in this country is doomed because Australians don't care for watching two teams of spuds playing off each other in a sport that is inherently boring. At least in the boring euro leagues you can say your watching some of the best. The players in the A-league or so horrible that I'm confident that you picked 11 players from the AFL and trained them up for 12 months they'd win the A league in a canter.

We need cap space for Mayne when we re-contract after a stellar debut year at Collingwood.

Pendles transitions to be inaugural Captain of Collingwood “Behind Bars” NBL team.

Aren't Hawthorn 1 of the team's pushing for the next release of AFLW licenses? If so, who's to say that they aren't also 1 of the teams (apparently) interested in an NBL franchise. Russell suggested there were half a dozen interested AFL-NRL clubs after all. Would having a club like Hawthorn also expressing interest make Collingwoods (alleged) interest more pallatable?

I don't have an issue with the women's football team jackcass.

I only used Hawthorn as an example for Darky of a successful football team.......I don't want my team being involved in anything other than football.

How did Eddies plan go to become BIGGER than Manchester United??