Possible ruck solution

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Essendon couldn't afford his salary. He would be on higher money than Solomon.

I see hawks want a player for Rawlings. How about:

Goodwin to Hawks
Rawlings to Kangaroos
Solomon and Pick 25 (from Hawthorn) to Richmond
Ottens to Adelaide
Pick 9 to Essendon

Might need a bit of sweetening here and there but I would be thrilled with that.

Then

Perrie to Western Bulldogs
Pick 19 to Adelaide

Goodwin for Rawlings is a fair deal, don't think Hawthorn should be giving up an extra pick, make it Essendons 2nd round pick then its fair

Second one looks fair enough

Originally posted by macca23
Essendon would be having their normal salary cap problems IMO, thanks mainly to a back end loaded Hird contract which is rumoured to be close to a million dollars for 2004. On top of that Mercuri is on at least $400,000 and isn't up to it any more.

As for the poll, I'd take Charman in a heartbeat for pick 14 if we could. He really does have a future.

As much as it would hurt to lose Goody, if we could do a trade - which I doubt - for Ottens, then we should as players like Ottens are rarely available.
Like you Macca, I reckon the Dons are still tight cap-wise. The know that they couldn't even offer Solomon anything close to what the Tigers are offering (mind you, nor should they!) So can't see them getting close to fitting in Ottens.

Mind you, we have problems fitting it Ottens too, though if we had to offload a gun player like Goodwin to make the deal happen, we should be OK (certainly have more room thean the Dons).

Even though Ottens would come at more of a cost than Charman, I think he would be worth it, as he solves 2 problems, by giving us a player who can play in the ruck & up forward.

Whilst Charman is worth pick 14, I'm not sure whether it would be the right thing for us to do. Like Dave, I'm leaning towards drafting a young KPP. However, if we were able to offload some players for draft picks (obviously in a 3-way deal), then it may be worth considering.

If you really do have a shot at Ottens then you must do whatever it takes to make it happen. It will take more than Goodwin to get him (if you're being dinkum).

Pull this off and it would be the biggest coup for AFC since the McLeod deal.

For all that, I don't believe Ottens will be available, at least not this year anyway.

For that reason I would still be concentrating on Motlop.

Back to the original topic...

I would be very surprised to see Charman leave the Lions. He is a Queensland boy who is happy playing in Qld. The fact he hasn't signed yet (if true) is just an indication that he's trying to squeeze a bit more dough out of them. When it gets serious he will re-sign.

OK I really want to get rid of Ben Marsh this year and unless we get someone better than big sook, he will stay.

I am thinking who could be a bargain pick up that is better than Marsh and is competative at AFL level.

How does Ricky Mott sound??????

By all reports he had a great year in WAFL and Fremantle have elevated him off the rookie list which means he can be traded if they get the right offer.

They need a bit of help in the midfield so I was thinking if we can get Mott for Gallagher, I would take it.

Thoughts??????

OK I really want to get rid of Ben Marsh this year and unless we get someone better than big sook, he will stay.

I am thinking who could be a bargain pick up that is better than Marsh and is competative at AFL level.

How does Ricky Mott sound??????

By all reports he had a great year in WAFL and Fremantle have elevated him off the rookie list which means he can be traded if they get the right offer.

They need a bit of help in the midfield so I was thinking if we can get Mott for Gallagher, I would take it.

Thoughts??????
Stiffy, you are not coming around are you... ;)

The SANFL GF did the Crows a favour & showed him for the dud he is. Heck if he can get outshone by Schoeller & Diabrowski (?sp of both), then either of them would be better on our list!

Marsh is clearly not up to AFL standard, so time to take a chance on someone else if we can't trade for an established player.

Stiffy

Even though Brisbane may not have signed Charman, I do not think he will be traded. With the identified salary cap issues Brisbane would be more likely to trade McDonald and keep Keating and Charman. If Adelaide want to take McDonald from Brisbane like when Matthew Clarke was traded for selection 6 (i believed we drafted Luke Power), I am sure that Brisbane would be more than happy.

This would also free some room in the salary cap.

Cheers

Originally posted by SDG72
Stiffy

Even though Brisbane may not have signed Charman, I do not think he will be traded. With the identified salary cap issues Brisbane would be more likely to trade McDonald and keep Keating and Charman. If Adelaide want to take McDonald from Brisbane like when Matthew Clarke was traded for selection 6 (i believed we drafted Luke Power), I am sure that Brisbane would be more than happy.

This would also free some room in the salary cap.

Cheers
Adelaide would be stupid to trade a 1st round pick for McDonald.

Kane

Adelaide just need to draft youth, after there drafting of more... experienced players they should trust there recruiters. This would start to give them the balance they need.

Good Luck:)

Originally posted by SDG72
Kane

Adelaide just need to draft youth, after there drafting of more... experienced players they should trust there recruiters. This would start to give them the balance they need.

Good Luck:)
Yeah, I agree with you.

We should hold onto our early picks to draft a couple of good talls for the future, unless there is a good young gun (eg. Ottens) available (unlikely though).

We need to ensure our squad is balanced - both by age & position.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
PS. On Mott, pretty sure he is on Freo's rookie list, so they can't trade him (even if they put him on the full list).
Actualy they can. I read the rules the other day and they can trade him as they promoted him before trade period.

Since this is the case would u trade Gags for him?:)

Stiffy, you are not coming around are you... ;)
Hey the only time I disagree with you is when you say we should get rid of Marsh regardless of whether we get a ruckman inn trade week or not;)

I am not his fan at all. In fact the sooner we get rid of him the better BUT if we don't get a ruckman by 2pm friday Marsh is most likely to stay and Reidy confirmed this the other day on 5AA.

Actualy they can. I read the rules the other day and they can trade him as they promoted him before trade period.

Since this is the case would u trade Gags for him?:)
Geez, I wan't aware of that rule. So we could trade Skipworth then.

In answer to your question, yes I would trade Gallagher for Mott, as we have plenty of players like Gags, but lack ruck depth. Mott has also showed that whilst he is no superstar, he is capable of holding his own in the rucks. We should consider all options to rid ourselves of our Marshmellow.

Geez, I wan't aware of that rule. So we could trade Skipworth then.
Yes but we can't trade any of our other rookies

In answer to your question, yes I would trade Gallagher for Mott, as we have plenty of players like Gags, but lack ruck depth. Mott has also showed that whilst he is no superstar, he is capable of holding his own in the rucks. We should consider all options to rid ourselves of our Marshmellow.
Why doesn't that answer surprise me??????:p:)

Originally posted by GoalsFrom50Out
Scoullar and Dabrowski.

Scoullar and Arnold were the Centrals ruck team that nullified Mr Marsh.

Dabrowski was the Bloods ruckman and I dont remember him doing that much.