Possible SA recruits

• Thread starter Thread starter DJ75

Wayne's-World said:
Do we know for sure he qualifies?

Is he Stephen Coppings Son?
Yes he is Stephen's son and yes he qualifies as well.( it took hours of googling and other links to find out for sure)
your guess is as good as mine as to why nobody knows nothing?

Benet Copping

Details:
Club: Parkside/Sturt
DOB: 7 October 1986 Hgt: 191cm Wgt: 75kg
Position: Centre Half Back
Natural Foot: Right

Honours:
AIS/AFL Academy 2002
South Australia 2003, 2004
National Draft Camp 2004

Strengths: Copping is a skinny centre-half back who has shown glimpses of promise without really dominating a game at any stage. He is a very good reader of the play and a good mark. He is also confident in his disposal and will use his left foot.

Although used in defence at the carnival, Copping can play forward if required. He will be a much better player once his puts on some weight.

Weaknesses: Didn't really have a huge impact in the carnival, and is yet to break in Sturt's senior side. Definitely needs to hit the weights room.

Footydraft.com comment: Benet is the type of player who could go on to be a very good AFL defender in 5 years time, or he might not even be drafted. The potential is definitely there along with the footy smarts, but he hasn't quite put it altogether yet.

Round 1

1. Richmond - Brett Deledio (Mur)
2. Hawthorn - Ryan Griffen (SA)
3. Western Bulldogs - Richard Tambling (NT)
4. Richmond - Lance Franklin (WA)
5. Hawthorn - Jarryd Roughead (Gip)
6. Western Bulldogs - Ryan Willits (Nor)
7. Collingwood - Ben Eckerman (SA)
8. Adelaide - Angus Monfries (SA)
9. Carlton - Fabian Deluca (Eas)
10. Kangaroos - Cameron Wood (SA)
11. Fremantle - Ruory Kirkby (Ben)
12. West Coast - Jordan Lewis (Gee)
13. Melbourne - Ben Sharp (Oak)
14. Essendon - John Meesen (Gee)
15. Sydney - Chris Egan (Mur)
16. Geelong - Danny Meyer (SA)
17. St Kilda - Heath Grundy (SA)
18. Brisbane Lions - Alan Toovey (WA)
19. Port Adelaide - Dean Polo (Gip)

Round 2

20. Richmond - Ryan Bain (Oak)
21. Hawthorn - Ivan Maric (Cal)
22. Western Bulldogs - Thomas Murphy (San)
23. Collingwood - Chad Gibson (SA)
24. Adelaide - Ryan Jackson (Nor)
25. Carlton - Benet Copping (SA)
26. Kangaroos - Scott McMahon (SA)
27. Fremantle - Beau Wilkes (WA)
28. West Coast - Adam Hartlett (SA)
29. Melbourne - Earl Shaw (NSW)
30. Justin Sherman (Tas)
31. Clinton Young (NB)
32. Jordan Russell (SA)
33. Jarred Moore (Dan)
34. Byron Murphy (VFL)
35. Matt Little (Cal)

Not worthy of some discussion :confused:- has anyone seen him play - thoughts?

Just watching Sturt Vs Eagles Final and Monfries has been very impressive in the first half. On a couple of occasion he got out of the congested pack and fired out a clean handball that set up a goal. Beautiful balance and neat kick. His skills in close are very impressive

Would be very happy if we got him with pick 8. Some of those pack moves were Francou-esque like.

Don't know how much coverage there was of the first game on the ABC today but watching at the ground a guy you guys could look at with a later pick perhaps thrid round is Jordan Russell from Westies.
Played on the wings tidy skills fairly smart decison maker as well still only 17-18 and looked comfortable already at that level.

I just hope we get some benefit from the Father & Son rule.

Also, I reckon there should be a Brother & Brother rule, where you can use the same pick as the F&S rule (ie. 3rd then 2nd round) to get a brother of a current player on your club list.

Kane McGoodwin said:
Also, I reckon there should be a Brother & Brother rule, where you can use the same pick as the F&S rule (ie. 3rd then 2nd round) to get a brother of a current player on your club list.

Matty Lloyd, Michael O'Loughlin and Shane Crawford just got cold shivers :D

kretchy said:
Don't know how much coverage there was of the first game on the ABC today but watching at the ground a guy you guys could look at with a later pick perhaps thrid round is Jordan Russell from Westies.
Played on the wings tidy skills fairly smart decison maker as well still only 17-18 and looked comfortable already at that level.

Russell has been very good for us and was again today, as was another draft prospect, Henry Slattery. In the Under 19's final yesterday, both sides had kicked 3 goals at half-time. Adam Hartlett kicked 5 from full-forward in the third quarter.

redandblack said:
Russell has been very good for us and was again today, as was another draft prospect, Henry Slattery. In the Under 19's final yesterday, both sides had kicked 3 goals at half-time. Adam Hartlett kicked 5 from full-forward in the third quarter.
Adam was disappointed with yesterdays game!! he did kick 5 in one quater but didnt do jack for the rest of the day and was quite upset with himself but still got 3rd best!!

Stiffy_18 said:
Tell us mate, just how good is this kid?????? Is he as good as he is being hyped up????

don't know. I'm sure he'll be good but there's been a hell of a lot of hype.
Started the year in the 17's, ended up playing some games in the magoos.
I guess he can't be too bad :)