Post 1996

Apr 3, 2000
Oh what a day... especially sitting behind some swan fans that felt they had it won at quarter time... Oh what a day...

Floss... last qtr mark and goal...
King... attack on OBrien
Freeborn... game of his life
Stevo Rock Carey Mick Arch Laids Schwatta Crocks Doc all got what they had worked for... for so long...

The best day at the footy ever...

Small favour to ask Rooboy96...

For post #1999, can you post it on the Bombers' board reminding them who won the flag that year. After that, you'd also have to cut and paste the entire post, and email it, with special decorative-bordered email stationery, to Dan24.
biggrin.gif

Originally posted by Rooboy 96:
Oh what a day... especially sitting behind some swan fans that felt they had it won at quarter time... Oh what a day...

Floss... last qtr mark and goal...
King... attack on OBrien
Freeborn... game of his life
Stevo Rock Carey Mick Arch Laids Schwatta Crocks Doc all got what they had worked for... for so long...

The best day at the footy ever...

Firstly, Congrats to Rooboy96 for reaching the coverted 1996 posts...well done champ!

I remember that day like it was yesterday.
Two months before the Mighty Shinboners prevailed I excepted an invitation to MC a mates' wedding, not checking the dates, it fell on the bloody GF Saturday!!
mad.gif

I copped most of the game at the pub before the wedding and actually bet one of the wedding guests $200 at quarter time we'd still get up.(We looked gone at that stage and he wasn't even a Stinkin Swanite - loser).
smile.gif

Anyway, after the wedding and 5000 Scotch-n-drys, I went out to the night clubs with my NM gurnsey on under my jacket and partied with our fellow WA roos supporters for 2 days. 1996...........the greatest year of our lives!!!!

PLEASE NOTE: When the Shermanator isn't writing posts on this forum you can catch him in Hobart giving the Thorpedo a few tips on his freestyle action.

Pure class, Rooboy, but I do fear it will come back to haunt us both, especially if we get done tomorrow night.

And congrats for post 1999 and post 2000, see you and Shinners in the club soon!
biggrin.gif

This is post 1996 for me.

What can I say? I never expected to see my beloved North Melbourne in a Grand Final, let alone win a Premiership. But I have a few memories.....

1. Mick Martyn accepting his premiership medal. I reckon every single North fan had that moment from the 1994 preliminary final in their mind as Mick was called to collect his medal.

2. The four Adelaide fans in front of me. They wanted Sydney to win, but were warm in their congratulations when North won. Even towards the end when North went to a 5 goal lead and I was thinking, "we're going to lose anyway", they kept on telling me, "don't worry, you've won". We chatted about Blight and the axing of Jarman/McDermott/McGuinness and all agreed that Port would win a flag before Adelaide ever did. When Adelaide won in '97, I hope they were there at the G to see it.

3. Leaving the stadium arm in arm with a South Melbourne fan. They never expected to see the Bloods in a Grand Final, but there seemed to be a friendliness between the fans (a sharp contrast to the 1995 Grand Final where there seemed to be a heavy air of hostility between the Geelong and Carlton fans). They were gutted that they lost, but respected our win. Richard Colless, Kelvin Templeton and the administrators at the Swans, take note.

4. It didn't occur to me to go to Arden Street to celebrate the win. I just went home in shock, but with the constant thought, "We're the premiers, we're the best team in the competition".

Oh what a great day, first of all some druggie at Rushall station gave me a Wayne Carey trading card (I knew I was going to have a good day after that, I thought he was going to mug me instead).

Got to the G to see our reserves win (Poor Smithy and Matty Armstrong, I really felt for those 2 guys that day).

We had seats on the fence in the Northern Stand, close to the Sydney race, but even closer to the North Melbourne Cheer Squad.

When Freeborn dobbed those 3 goals in before 1/2 time I knew we had it won.

I remember crying after the final siren, but not hanging around the G for too long as I had a NMFC Grand Final dinner to attend at the Tennis Centre.

The boys turned up shirts hanging out, no ties, looking worse for wear (this was after their first stint at Arden Street).

Lucky for us, we had a table next to most of the reserve players and also Simmo.

I know those boys can knock back brews, but I never seen someone drink 3 bottles of red win in one sitting!

It was onto Arden Street after that, I can't remember much else............hic......

Watching in a pub in Hobart

Was the only North supporter in the place (everybody had jumped on the Swans bandwagon)

Copped heaps of shit from them until the last quarter - turned around and the place was empty - bastards!!!

Can remember a passage of play late in the last quarter when we were about 20 points up, Schwatta, Arch and Belly combined to easily clear a ball from the defensive area - just thinking to myself "we've bloody got this!!!"

Best commentary was a Sandy Roberts line - "round the body goes Freeborn and here comes North Melbourne!!" as he slotted through his third (might have been his second)

Had to wait 2 weeks for the video to come out (hey it was Hobart!!) before I could sit down and take it all in!

Cheers

Gonzo

Shrapnel said:
anyone coming up to 2005?

We have to stop at 99 first :p

Post 1996