Autopsy Post Hawks vent thread

• Thread starter Thread starter swannies

First game with Simpson as coach that has made me really angry. Still angry today. Usually I just get disappointed after a loss and play video games until I forget about it.

I hope there is finally pressure on Simpson to the point that it affects his home life. A win against Fremantle is not going to be enough, I won't be happy unless we win the next three.

I've given him time but there are still pussies in the team on game day and pussy efforts that I shouldn't be seeing any more. Have barely been five games in the last year worth watching a replay of.

Just seeing Richmond and Geelong do well is a further kick in the nuts. Not smiling.

Simpson was a good player but i always thought he was soft,ditto Cox ditto Longmuire.Do people tend to coach like they play? My mate has business dealings with the Eagles and early in the season he was chatting to some Eagles officials and they were cockahoop about the coming season.My friend dished up our reservations about the sides size and speed but was poo pooed.they said wait till you see our rapid ball movement and foot skills.We recruited big bodies thinking the club is in premiership mode.The Eagles and any supporter who [ used to ] think this are deluding themselves.Give up on Jetta, yes hes got the goods but other than the odd cameo i doubt we'll ever get to see them.Was Giles injured or dropped?? if he was dropped id flog the match committee with a wet lettuce leaf.Ambush coming [ known to all ] and a tough response required and the one bloke who will have a crack is out. We have a squad minus NN and Lycett and plus Mitchell,Barass and Nelson which is the same blokes that lost a GF,a GF replay a final AT HOME and now another GF replay to a depleted aging rival who are [ not were ] on the ropes.Even if we beat the Dorkers this weekend [ and i think we will ] we are sliding down as they are clawing up.Even at EP we are not setting the world on fire.Too much emphasis on learning systems and not just playing footy?? We blew our chance to trade out Darling and players like him.This club needs some serious work or we are destined for years in the wilderness.

When Adam Simpson's side is competitive in contested situations, the Eagles can cut teams up with their skills and have been able to make their opponents chase. West Coast's uncontested disposals differential has skyrocketed this year, increasing from -22.2 per game (AFL No.15) last season to +27.6 (AFL No.4) in 2017. But in both defeats to Richmond and Hawthorn at the MCG, the Eagles have been smashed in the contest and lost the overall possession count.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2017-04-26/on-trend-the-stats-that-show-how-your-team-is-playing

Pretty much confirms what we all already know. We are currently 4th in uncontested possessions (GC, Melb & Bulldogs above us) and 14th in contested possessions (NM, Freo, Carlton & Brisbane below us). Compared to say Adelaide who are 1st in contested possessions and 7th in uncontested possessions and have a more balanced gameplan than ours. Simmo needs to weed out the weak links to sort this shit out.

Still pissed. I hope teams continue to thrash the hawks making us look like idiots for all our talk of "it was just a matter of time before this quality side bounced back" etc

Yeah winning against poor sides like Freo at home doesn't change anything. Glad we got it as it was a must win. Next few weeks we have Port GWS and Bulldogs so get ready Eagles because now you will really feel pressure.

I don't feel good about what's coming ahead.

Yeah winning against poor sides like Freo at home doesn't change anything. Glad we got it as it was a must win. Next few weeks we have Port GWS and Bulldogs so get ready Eagles because now you will really feel pressure.

I don't feel good about what's coming ahead.
We need to win at least 2/3.

We do well in Adelaide against port so we are a chance if our pressure starts to happen. We also have a slight psych edge on GWS having never lost to them and also being a home game we are a chance. If those two go ok you just never know I guess but I can't see us doing it.