Autopsy post mortem v hawks

The score flattered us, but it was nice to see that we fought to the end.

Need Cunnington back as soon as possible.
I also was glad to see us fight to the end. Under Brad, there was no way we would have come back, we would have been beaten by even more.

Annoys me how little presence brown has for a key forward
somethings wrong between the ears atm, one of his great features in the past was being able to jump at the ball and take it at its highest point with 2 hands, all he is doing atm is flapping around the perimeters, the lack of contested training is possibly the culprit as he was leading like he was by himself in space and McEvoy simply owned him.

Getting BigFooty 504 errors. I thought this post mortem thread might have exploded :)

I see it differently to most here. The last half of the 4th quarter was interfered with far less than much of the earlier parts of the game by poor standards of umpiring - they paid less of the soft 50/50's to hawthorn and our blokes got some that they should have had paid all night. Not to say North were being completely ignored as we did get a few frees throughout the game and we got away with a few not paid as well, but there were some crazy frees to hawthorn that just didn't make sense - especially in Q2 and Q3. Goldy could have had a dozen, and even BBB should have had three at least. The one he was paid was the softest of all and I thought he was hardly touched on that occasion.

Anyway it seems that the die is cast and we aren't going to be the umpires favourites any more than we have been in any previous years that I can recall.

Funny thing is, if the umps pay the first couple of ruck scrags and push-outs by the full back, the players adjust and the game improves. It's when these cork-head whisle-blowers let a few go that the players know they're able to get away with it and the game is basically ruined - it's even worse when they seem to pay the frees one way and not the other. That's when the frustration and doubt creep in and the team on the wrong end of the pineapple starts to really stuff up everything they try.

So the way I see it, the composure that returned to North late in the game is a good sign. In years gone we'l let that slip by 10 goals plus by displaying a shitty attitude.

BBB is not fit. His softness is also becoming glaring.
JZ is cooked. Needs a decent spell. Is not a captain.
i don’t mind that Curtis took the kick. Will be a star this kid.
TT either needs a spell or a decent rocket. Last Q was good, but where the hell were u for the other 3?
Lukey MAC tried his guts out.
Atts gets stage fright when he goes near the ball. I’ve never seen a fast player who actually wants the ball less.
Jasper looks a bit hesitant still, so he ends up in no mans land.
I‘m a Rhyce fan, but what is going on? Flipped the script in the last Q and we were flying.
Big fan of Kyron.....getting better every game.
Ahern ain’t fit enough.....by a long way.
Hawks kicking kept us in it really.
Cant knock Jed‘s endeavour......he goes hard at the footy.
Zurhaar needs to assess his boots......was like he was wearing roller skates. Change those wheels mate.
Walker was brilliant.
Taz see Walker.
Polec could actually be our best player, but the softness is hard to cop. That boot is gold though.
Goldie was molested all night. Umps think this is ok.
Mahony composure is almost bizarre to watch, not used to seeing that......keep him in.
All in all, keep the kids coming in. Take a long hard look at the experienced players.
Wish Perez was ready......we need decent users coming off the back flank.

Funny how we play better when our captain isn’t on the ******* ground.

He should not be a leader of this football club when he makes such ridiculous decisions whenever the ball is in his hands.

He is borderline best 22

the kick out of bounds on the full was the dumbest shit I’ve seen

then that kick in the 3rd into our forwardline just a bomb, straight to 3 hawks

Bye bye jack

Somewhat surprised at the Brown criticisms. Our ball movement was horrendous, especially into 50 and he was quite often double and triple teamed. Not sure what he's supposed to do when the ball is bombed on his head and he's got 3 blokes grabbing him

There's a simple explanation mate. They don't know much about footy.

That 3rd quarter made me want to pour acid onto my eyes
That was a brutal 3rd qtr. I thought we hung in there well.

Cunners is our only AAA+++. Take him out and i am not confident in most games.

We were outclassed, but stuck it out tonight.

somethings wrong between the ears atm, one of his great features in the past was being able to jump at the ball and take it at its highest point with 2 hands, all he is doing atm is flapping around the perimeters, the lack of contested training is possibly the culprit as he was leading like he was by himself in space and McEvoy simply owned him.

McEvoy and Frawley pushing in the back all game. Only late the umpires paid a couple, but agree, I want to see some mongrel from key forwards if things aren't going the right way. Reckon X will bring some and hope he stays in while Souva is out. If Souva is out for a while, are we a chance of seeing a Durdin or McKay play and Maj swing forward??

The last 7-8 minutes was the footy version of ‘fools gold’. I’m not going to get sucked in by that crap. We are an average mid range side that gets the occasional win against a decent opponent when they’re having an off game and we’re at near 100%. The first 3 and a half quarters I thought I was watching suburban footballers hacking the ball forward. Walker impressed me tonight, just does his job. I’m also glad Shaw is giving games to new players. Hopefully a few of them replace the likes of Atley, Ziebel, McMillan who overall have just had average careers.
It’s been a strange season so far so who knows how everything will pan I guess.

Where would we be without Robbie Tarrant. Scary thought
I was really worried when he went down and I thought the worst. I just hope he didn't get a jab and then we find out during the week he has broken ribs.

Really disappointing but Hawthorn’s system and pressure would have beaten most sides tonight.

We’re a work in progress missing some pretty key personnel. We learn from it on move on.

Positives - Jy again, was everywhere late and nearly got us over the line.
Walker. What a bargain. Can’t believe he’s only 27.
Taylor. Doesn’t need the game on his terms to make an impact. Wants the ball in the big moments.
Kyron. Is building nicely. Adjusting to the speed of the game now.

Autopsy post mortem v hawks