Autopsy Post Mortem vs Essendon

66 - 43 inside 50s. We had 23 more..... The difference again is Essendon kick their easy set shots, we burn ours again.

Got to laugh at the people blaming Buckley, do you really think that having Clarkson or Roos as coach is really going to make us kick the ball at goal any straighter? Delusional.
We're a side devoid of confidence at the moment especially in terms of goal kicking. Buckley is big on self motivation and to an extent I can understand that players should be able to find this themselves, but for mine coaching is as much man management including installing confidence and bringing out belief as it is teaching skills and tactics. Buckley doesn't necessarily need this skill set if it exists elsewhere within the footy department, but if our performances are any indication we seem to lack that person/s.

We are still trying to play as if it's 2010 and it just doesn't work. I've defended Buckley for years but I can't in good conscience do that anymore. He finally has the team he wanted in the injury-free state he wanted and what it gets us is gallant, brave, close, unlucky, almost, et cetera ad nauseam.

Also hello Carlton spud. 22 years and counting, champ. Tick tock.

Another wasted game where we were just as much our enemies as the opposition.

That's what makes me really sad - the poor skiils, decisions, clangers, feeling like i don't enjoy watching the team play.

"too many passengers"... "we lowered our colours"..."he'll learn from that"...

I can hear it all now. Again.

One word: disappointed.

We lose games instead of our Opposition Beating us

66 - 43 inside 50s. We had 23 more..... The difference again is Essendon kick their easy set shots, we burn ours again.

Got to laugh at the people blaming Buckley, do you really think that having Clarkson or Roos as coach is really going to make us kick the ball at goal any straighter? Delusional.

Perhaps not, but maybe we'd move the ball a little better going inside 50 instead of bombing away half the time. When we don't bomb in we're marking it out wide majority of the time. Plus once the ball gets inside 50 it gets rebounded just as fast and usually results in a score. That's because the players don't want to work hard defensively, Fasolo, Broomhead, WHE, Moore and Cox are witches hats. None put on any pressure, if that's not a mental thing I don't know what is. It's up to the coach to drill it into the players to get that effort.

Jamie was good and Wells showed some glimpses of what he can bring to the team, and Howe was great again (saves our bacon over and over). Other than that not a lot else to say.

I am really struggling with Bucks now, hard to argue he's anything other than a dead man walking.

Actually Jmac, the reason Buckley is not successful is

#1 He hasn't got his team yet
#2 Injuries
#3 Umpires
#4 Inability to convert goals

So you see.. none of it is really Bucks fault ....

Having fun?

Sorry mate but that's not why we lost. We press forward, we retain the ball, we get multiple entries into our forward line. Problem is that our forward line is congested and we turn it over. The opposition then scores easy goals. Every team knows how to play us.
That's coaching and is the reason why Bucks is not successful

If we kicked goals instead of behinds or fumbles the ball wouldn't go to down the other end so easily.

Is Adams injured as well? Can't understand why he was barely used in the middle on a wet day which is his kind of in and under day

If we kicked goals instead of behinds or fumbles the ball wouldn't go to down the other end so easily.

Is Adams injured as well? Can't understand why he was barely used in the middle on a wet day which is his kind of in and under day
There are a lot of things I don't understand about today

Frontal pressure. Generate your forward entries by turning the ball over with insane numbers around the ball, look up and there are 30 players in front of you to slice through with surgical precision.

Daniel Wells tried to do it today and failed miserably.

Gone in 10 minutes.

Missed sitter on the 3 Q time siren, Game plan breaks down under heat and costly turnovers concede 3 easy ones early in the last. Game Over. Story of the year in a nut shell.

Effort is there, game plan and structures thou were like watching chalk and cheese. Problem is the club with the year long contract last year and the dodgy manoeuvrings over summer to shake things up have left Buckley in a no win position.

Bad start with a toughish draw and you are shovelling it up hill for the season.

Positive. It was our largest losing margin for the year. Maynard, Schade were great, Elliot return in full swing.

Eventually the wins have to come. Tick tock.

FWIW throwing the pieces around with WHE and Reid in the last appeared the move of a desperate man.

Duly noted. Too little, too late.

The other aspect that frustrated me today was the lack of communication between our players. Often we spoilt or bumped each other out of the contest (marking or ground level) without killing the ball, which left Essendon players out the back unopposed.

I know, happened heaps. 2 defenders fly for a mark, knock each other out of it while 2 bombers wait on the ground for the cheap possession spill

Don't worry nahnah scodog has your back!

Not much to analyse out of that one... but.

- Wells really added something different to the stoppage mix because he does something none of the other core mids do. He remains on the move.
- Crisp much improved. Giving him the run with on Heppell really released him after it appeared he was just playing out time until JDG returned.
- Elliott was much better second up.
- Howe is in AA form. Aside from last weeks gaffe he hasn't put a foot wrong this year.
- No injuries

Beyond that there wasn't much else to say. The way we overpossess the ball means everyone looks both good and bad in patches. The sooner we break the shackles and develop a game plan that suits the group the better, but when that will be is anyone's guess. It's just frustrating that blind Freddy could see who would hold the key to them today yet we didn't adjust to suit...

FWIW throwing the pieces around with WHE and Reid in the last appeared the move of a desperate man.

Wow Sco you got all those positives from that game?

You're are a better person than me..........two unaceptable games in row.........somethings got to give!

It's time to pull the pin.............

Don't worry nahnah scodog has your back!

Not much to analyse out of that one... but.

- Wells really added something different to the stoppage mix because he does something none of the other core mids do. He remains on the move.
- Crisp much improved. Giving him the run with on Heppell really released him after it appeared he was just playing out time until JDG returned.
- Elliott was much better second up.
- Howe is in AA form. Aside from last weeks gaffe he hasn't put a foot wrong this year.
- No injuries

Beyond that there wasn't much else to say. The way we overpossess the ball means everyone looks both good and bad in patches. The sooner we break the shackles and develop a game plan that suits the group the better, but when that will be is anyone's guess. It's just frustrating that blind Freddy could see who would hold the key to them today yet we didn't adjust to suit...

I really like what Wells brought to the game. However having seen the game live, to say he stayed on the move is massive hyperbole.

Don't think I have ever seen a midfielder walk or stand with hands on hips as much, in any team, ever.

I'll give him the benefit of the doubt given his recent injuries, however seems like a player who relies on skill over work ethic.

The other aspect that frustrated me today was the lack of communication between our players. Often we spoilt or bumped each other out of the contest (marking or ground level) without killing the ball, which left Essendon players out the back unopposed.

So true. I noticed this a few times. Also the amount of times a free Essendon player was in the F50 left alone!

It's like our players don't think.

Autopsy Post Mortem vs Essendon