Football God

Nov 26, 2007
melbourne
Man utd, miami dolphins
Boys and Girls, let ther swear filter do its job on this one.

Outstanding boys dominated the whole game, was getting a litle nervous in the 2nd but we did it like we did too carlton... its was a ****ing landslide!!!

Clokey... mate... ****ing superstar! he is the key to us winning one of the best if not the best in form forward in the comp.

Jolly and Wood- In the end they did everything they did to stop Sandi and did it excellent well done boys!

Dawes- im liking it, im really liking it he is a keeper helping out clokey do less work

Dids, Pendles, Daisy, Davis, Ball, Sidebutt, Beams, Maccaffer (and others) - did their jobs and killed it good young side standing up in a important game

Harry played quiet i thought but did well on he litle dirty ****ing hobbit

If we play like this next week we will romp geelong, simple.

thoughts?

anyway guys, put input in here. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Wow, this may take a while.

Let's start with the obvious, Travis Cloke, was brilliant early, and even better later in the 3rd quarter, was just ****ing magnificent.

Nathan Brown deserves an early mention, PAVLICH IS HIS BITCH, PAVLICH IS HIS BITCH.:D

Dane Swan, well he's Dane Swan, just keeps going like the energizer bunny, you simply can'tstop ****ing Swanny.

Toovey, killed Ballantyne, absolutely wiped his arse with him, and embarassed the little terd who tried to start fights all night.

Ball, well how the **** did we get this bloke with pick 30, you would be happy if we gave away 4 draft picks for him, awesome.

Didak, just got better as the game went on, kicked 3, could have kicked 6, but gave 3 off, just another brilliant game from Dids.

Ben Johnson, simply put, has never played better football, is in career best form.

I could go on for days, about Thomas, Reid, Dawes, Anthony, Pendles, etc etc but I won't, because this was just a magnificent team performance.

The stand out of the night was;

THE COLLINGWOOD FOOTBALL CLUB. (SIDE BY SIDE).:D:D

**** YEAH.:thumbsu:

we played 2 fantastic quarters and thumped them.. we were too strong and skilled for them.. if i hear any excuse out of freo ill laugh...

* collingwoods team today was massive 4 days older (average age) than consistently labelled "young freo team"!

Clokesta - what a behemoth.. mostered them and looks a very scary prospevt for other teams...

Dawes - i love this kid.. is a very good mark (was robbed of a gem too), provides a contest, runs, tackles, shepherds, basically, does all we could want.. super impressive and i cant wait till he's played 30-40 more games..

Didak - class, class, class... if he isnt elite (as a mid) he is right on the cusp..

Swan - This guy has to be top 5 in the AFL... a star.

jonno- wow.. clock has turned back - mr reliable in front of goal and gee he runs hard...

Ball - gees this bloke is like a new player at the pies. make no mistake this guy is making life for our mids much easier.

Daisy - where are all his nay sayers now! well done daisy..

whole team deserves praise.. as a unit we are simply brilliant.. credit to MM!

Keep it in check...Freo had to fly all the way across the country on a 6 day break...

HANG ON!!! Isn't that what we did?!?!?! And came away with the big big bikkies :thumbsu:

And I know I dont post much in here, but you wont ever find this comment in any of my previous posts...

...HOW GOOD WAS TOOVEY TONIGHT!!!!...

there I said it!

Seriously, I was bloody nervous about this game but we are just playing awesome footy at the moment. I love the way we are withstanding mini comebacks and holding under pressure. We are hot at the moment.

Cloke was brilliant, looking really strong and always looked like he'd beat his opponent one on one. 5.1 is brilliant from him, and the .1 was probably his easiest oppurtunity.

Swan = gun. So bloody important and is just a jet, all over the ground. Love the fact that supporters of other teams don't rate him. Funny.

Ball. JESUS CHRIST. He was in everything. Goes harder at the ball than almost everyone on the ground. 11 contested possessions, 5 centre clearances, 1 goal, 10 ****ing tackles, 6 inside fiftys. Does so much without the ball as well. I absolutely love seeing this bloke in black and white. Adds leadership, hardness, tackles and gets his hands on first. Not the worst pick 30.

I'm going to go lurk on the Fremantle board.

1. Davis - Put in. I thought he looked dangerous, it'll click soon. I think when Dick returns he'll find himself up the ground.

4. Didak - His class was important during the 2nd and 3rd.

5. Maxwell - Standard Maxwell game. Copped a couple of hard knocks for the team.

8. O'Brien - Quiet. His opponent snuck away from him a few times. Ballantyne cheated a fair bit though.

9. Anthony - Clearly low on confidence. Still looks out of touch. Chased.

10. Pendlebury - Need I say anything.

11. O'Bree - Very solid. Covered a lot of ground.

12. Ball - I'm glad Ross Lyon doesn't rate hard at it, tackle obsessed midfielders.

13. Thomas - Some really critical touches. had a lot of influence.

16. Brown - Solid in defence. Was pretty happy with his defensive efforts.

17. Beams - Really solid. Covered a lot of ground, worked hard. Always moves the footy forward.

18. Jolly - Was really solid for what he was up against and made the hit outs he was lucky enough to get count as well as the footy he was able to get bar 1 horrible turn over.

19. Wood - Shows signs. A lot of work to be done.

20. Reid - Coming along nicely now.

22. Sidebottom - Closer attention this week. Handled it.

26. Johnson - Critical play maker, showed it again.

30. Macaffer - Plays his role. I thought he was very solid tonight. May be an unlucky omission.

31. Dawes - Continues to improve. Unlucky not to kick a couple but he presented well, took some nice marks and was surprisingly good at ground level.

32. Cloke - BOG.

34. Toovey - Controlled Mayne.

36. Swan - See Pendlebury.

39. Shaw - Wasn't at his best and Freo did what they could to make him accountable, but was still willing to put his body on the line and contest hard.

Pre season, I was extremely worried about our forward structure as were most posters...

WOW...Dawes changes everything...Freo had to match Tarrant on him leaving Cloke to throw everyone around...then Taz to Cloke ( to late the horse has bolted ). The players are confidently looking for the BIG guys over the opposition zone..the crumbers are walking into open goals...ffs we are impossible to match up on.

This is all happening with huge depth and players like Davis with improvement to come. I am all for this rotation/resting to manage a premiership team.

As for Luke Ball...his addition to the team is immeasurable...irony is he is more likely to win a flag than his former team mates...lol

Defensively, we will have to tighten up a bit against Geelong. I was all for leaving Presti in Melbourne for the Geelong game but how unlucky are Reid or Brown going to be getting omitted?

Getting very excited about the Brown Reid Cloke Dawes KPP era...

My summary.

Had a beer pre match.
Texted Snag when the siren went, as she was at a family function.

Texted Snag when we got the first goal.
Texted Snag when we got our 2nd goal.
Had another beer.
Texted Snag when we got our 3rd goal.
Texted Snag when we got our 4th goal.
had another beer.
Texted Snag when we got our 5th goal.
Texted Snag when we got our 6th goal.
Chucked the beer and grabbed a scotch.
Texted Snag when we got our 7th goal.

Had another scotch during Qtr time.

Texted Snag when we got our 8th goal.
Texted Snag when we got our 9nd goal.
Another scotch.
Texted Snag when we got our 10th goal.
A beer now for some variety and a scotch.

Texted Snag that it was half time.

Texted Snag when we got our 11th goal.
Texted Snag when we got our 12th goal.
Scotch.
Texted Snag when we got our 13th goal.
Texted Snag when we got our 14th goal.
Texted Snag when we got our 15th goal.
Kahlua and milk.
Scotch.
Texted Snag when we got our 16th goal.
Texted Snag when we got our 17th goal.
Scotch.

3 Qtr Time.
Scotch and a smoke. (shit I needed that)

Texted Snag when we got our 18th goal.
Texted Snag when we got our 19th goal.
Scotch. Really big wee.
Texted Snag when we got our 20th goal.
Swore at us because we kicked a few points.
Scotch and after game smoke.....ahh...better than sex, well right now anyway.
Texted Snag to point out we were the real deal then sat down to watch the HDD recording. Thanked Freo supporters for the excellent early trolling this week and now another scotch.
Sang the song to the cat. cat meowed it back... Good damned cat that.
Life's a beach and then you have anther scotch.

Most of the team stuck to their tasks and in the end a job well done, however we are far from playing flawless footy again the mistakes we made which led to goals ... we sometimes struggle to kick-out after a point and lots of other stuff ups but thats why its May and not September there is a lot of upside to come......very excited:thumbsu::)

My summary.

Had a beer pre match.
Texted Snag when the siren went, as she was at a family function.

Texted Snag when we got the first goal.
Texted Snag when we got our 2nd goal.
Had another beer.
Texted Snag when we got our 3rd goal.
Texted Snag when we got our 4th goal.
had another beer.
Texted Snag when we got our 5th goal.
Texted Snag when we got our 6th goal.
Chucked the beer and grabbed a scotch.
Texted Snag when we got our 7th goal.

Had another scotch during Qtr time.

Texted Snag when we got our 8th goal.
Texted Snag when we got our 9nd goal.
Another scotch.
Texted Snag when we got our 10th goal.
A beer now for some variety and a scotch.

Texted Snag that it was half time.

Texted Snag when we got our 11th goal.
Texted Snag when we got our 12th goal.
Scotch.
Texted Snag when we got our 13th goal.
Texted Snag when we got our 14th goal.
Texted Snag when we got our 15th goal.
Kahlua and milk.
Scotch.
Texted Snag when we got our 16th goal.
Texted Snag when we got our 17th goal.
Scotch.

3 Qtr Time.
Scotch and a smoke. (shit I needed that)

Texted Snag when we got our 18th goal.
Texted Snag when we got our 19th goal.
Scotch. Really big wee.
Texted Snag when we got our 20th goal.
Swore at us because we kicked a few points.
Scotch and after game smoke.....ahh...better than sex, well right now anyway.
Texted Snag to point out we were the real deal then sat down to watch the HDD recording. Thanked Freo supporters for the excellent early trolling this week and now another scotch.
Sang the song to the cat. cat meowed it back... Good damned cat that.
Life's a beach and then you have anther scotch.
Did you atleast call snag when we sang the song, it was really loud tonight :cool:

Most of the team stuck to their tasks and in the end a job well done, however we are far from playing flawless footy again the mistakes we made which led to goals ... we sometimes struggle to kick-out after a point and lots of other stuff ups but thats why its May and not September there is a lot of upside to come......very excited:thumbsu::)

For God's sake roll around in it for an hour or so.

We have not been a game clear on top of the ladder in any round since 1990.
Save it for tomorrow morning.

Sydney plays the Dogs.
Carlton play Port.
Geelong play Brisvegas.

It does not get any better anytime in round 8...ever.

It was a beautiful night in Perth...the grass was a bit spongey ...but the air was crisp and a small group of magpie supporters took over the area behind the goals at the city end.

For most of the night, I didnt hear a thing except for Collingwood chants.... a few odd heave ho's in the second quarter but that dribbled out by the final change.

BOG for Freo was the bloke blowing the whistle.... outstanding game but no support. Great team effort by our guys...great to see Clokey kick a few. Toovs never stopped trying. In fact, the whole team put in again.

I cant tell ya what happened at the other end of Subi. It's about 400metres from where i was sitting and i forgot my telescope. This place needs a decent stadium but thats another story..

Possum never forgets.:mad:
The Toovey Death Stare

animal2.jpg

What a fantastic win, here are my opinions.

1. Davis - Much better tonight, defensive pressure was excellent. Found some footy further up the ground as well which was good.

4. Didak - Simply put, he gets the job done when we most need it!

5. Maxwell - Did exactly what Maxy does every week. A typically selfless performance by the skipper.

8. O'Brien - Made a couple of mistakes early but got better as the game progressed. Nowhere near his best game.

9. Anthony - Faded in & out of the game a bit. Took some good marks pushing up to the wings.

10. Pendlebury - Continued his hot form of the last few weeks. Crowley tried to rough him up but it failed. His decision making in traffic is invaluable.

11. O'Bree - A really good performance. Seemed to find the footy in space on the flanks a bit and was involved in a couple of scoring chains as a result.

12. Ball - If anyone questions you about Luke Balls worth to Collingwood, show them the footage of the 1st quarter. He's not quick or flashy and he can't kick it 60, but i'd rather nobody else in the comp playing for us as an inside mid. Outstanding in the last 3 weeks!

13. Thomas - Daisy was very good again. He is finding that perfect balance between the flashy stuff and the tough stuff.

16. Brown - Did what he needed to do, by stopping Pav when he went forward. Could not really ask for more than that.

17. Beams - My only criticism on Beams was that he missed a couple of shots on the run. Other than that, another impressive performance.

18. Jolly - Was never going to completely beat Sandilands, but competed well and did some good things around the ground. Is getting better with each week.

19. Wood - Poor early, but i thought he was really good in the last quarter.

20. Reid - Another good game for Reid, very happy with his progress. His foot skills running out of defense were really good.

22. Sidebottom - Did some nice things, but i thought he was pretty quiet overall. Another good tackling display.

26. Johnson - Close to career best form. Continually provided run as we've become accustomed to Johnno doing.

30. Macaffer - He was good in patches, but didn't really have much impact. Did nothing to really warrant being dropped, but may struggle to hold his spot.

31. Dawes - Its all about presence with Dawes. He makes life so much easier for Cloke. Used his bulk again last night and is providing us with a much needed 2nd big bodied target. Has become a necessity to our structure IMO.

32. Cloke - Could be a career changing performance. He is so strong and just pushed blokes off the footy all night. His effort in out bodying Tarrant to kick his 3rd goal was exceptional. When he is on, we win!

34. Toovey - a couple of early skill errors were his only blemishes. A fantastic performance by Toovey. Was hardly beaten all night.

36. Swan - You know every week what you'll get with Swanny. He will gut run all night and continually put himself in great spots to win the footy. Last night was no different. I almost take it for granted now that he will perform like that.

39. Shaw - Was a little disappointing to be honest. Worked hard all night but it just didn't seem to happen for him.

1. Davis - Threatened to take the game by the balls I thought. Deserves his spot each week simply because of the pressure he creates with his chasing/tackling. He will click eventually but I think his game has come full circle. A younger Davis was an enigmatic, selfish and inconsistent goal sneak. He is now a team player.

4. Didak - Gun. Starring each week whether he has a tagger or not now. His defensive side has improved immensely also.

5. Maxwell - Worked hard, some crucial interceptions. Did some dumb things too and seems to do them early in games.

8. O'Brien - Beat Ballantyne, who scored his goals late when the sting went out of the game. No mean feat because Ballantyne is a very dangerous footballer. His best defensive game for a while but doesn't look fluent ATM. Making too many mistakes and I don't know why.

9. Anthony - Defensive game much improved. Needed to get stronger in the off-season and post surgery, has come back weaker. He will be fine.

10. Pendlebury - Obviously playing well but a bit patchy still. He's coming in and out of matches at the moment but when he's "in" it's like he's the only player on the field. This guy is brilliant and I think he's doing well but just hasn't exploded yet this season. He will.

11. O'Bree - Played well. Is too slow though and considering the position he's playing should be straight out for Wellingham when fit.

12. Ball - Freak. Stupidly brave and a lot more creative than I thought he was.

13. Thomas - Crowley started on him and that says heaps about his improvement. Played very well again. His run has been critical to our improved form.

16. Brown - Did very well. Pav got all of his touches in the midfield (when Brown wasn't on him) and his two goals were opportunistic. Beat Pav 1 on 1 every time in our defensive 50. He is just solid, very happy with him.

17. Beams - Very good....again. Can't believe how consistent he is considering his level of experience.

18. Jolly - Well beaten but tried hard and influenced the contest when he could. His mark in front of Pav on the 50 was as strong as it gets.

19. Wood - Has the goods but needs to improve. Definitely a better option than Fraser because he can release Jolly forward and his goals were handy too. He looks so dopey sometimes but is in fact quite agile for his size and could become a quality around-the-ground ruckman.

20. Reid - His kicking and closing speed are breathtaking. Simply looks like he belongs. Unless he drastically loses form he should play every game for the rest of the season (unless he has no matchup).

22. Sidebottom - Started slowly but found a way to work himself into it. Great signs.

26. Johnson - Stupid consistent this season. Will finish top 10 in the Copeland.

30. Macaffer - Contributes but I'm not sure he has a defined role in the team. Long term option and very useful already but not in our best 22 when everyone's fit and firing just yet.

31. Dawes - His work rate is fantastic and he is fantastic below his knees considering his size. He doesn't always clutch them marks but ALWAYS creates a contest, isn't outmarked and at least forces a spillage. He has improved the side.

32. Cloke - Brilliant. He is absolutely HUGE these days and is playing like it. He bullied everyone he played on and even made Tarrant look weak/small at times. Had McPharlin, Tarrant and McPhee at different stages and smashed them all. We're witnessing something special with this guy right now. That said, McPhee is seriously one of the worst players I have ever seen. However he has lasted this long at the highest level has me stumped. Me and my dad were laughing at him all match.

34. Toovey - Contributed. Sloppy with his disposal but he is starting to back himself a bit more and I am getting more confident in his run. His closing speed is ridiculous.

36. Swan - Fantastic. He started poorly I thought and Crowley got on top of him for a while but he is simply untaggable. Worked over ever single one of his opponents and by the end of the game was in the best few on the ground. After Ablett, Swan is the most consistently brilliant player in the competition and his clearance work has gone up a level this season.

39. Shaw - Poor game from Heater. He was really messy I thought. He tried his arse off but it just didn't come off for him last night.

I think our win was better than the margin shows. They got on top of us in the second quarter but we completely blanketed them until junk time after that. I love it that when we are challenged, we re-assess, take control back and blow teams away. Our defensive performance was better than the points against will show as well. As I said, we switched off (not saying this is a good thing, annoyed me actually) when the game was won but the whole second half was a practical lock-out until then.

Our development is amazing. The number of youngsters we've brought in over the last 4-5 seasons who have been able to play a meaningful role is really impressive. We are flying!! Bring on the felines!

Not only that... what impresses me most is the low failure rate we have had with our recruits. Its a credit to all involved and right now those efforts are showing in the depth we have.

A few years ago it was "who could we bring in to replace ****"

Now every position seems to be well covered and/or under pressure by that player to perform.

A great place to be

Review Post your summary here!