Potential Draftee Watch - Version 2007

• Thread starter Thread starter rizzo

Re: Potential Draftee Watch

The Franklin comparison is an interesting one. Looks to me like he'll settle in a half back/winger position, where he can rebound and dictate play in a Grant Birchall-sense.

I still have queries.

even at 192cm? Interesting. Dont think he would have the engine to do that consistantly.

Engines can be acquired, I'm talking moreso on the talent he's got, the game he plays, and the potential he has. He's a tall, outside wingman who reads the play well enough to get the ball and create play with his good skills.

The height factor will probably only add to his case a nice mismatch type (think along Mackie lines).

Engines can be acquired, I'm talking moreso on the talent he's got, the game he plays, and the potential he has. He's a tall, outside wingman who reads the play well enough to get the ball and create play with his good skills.

The height factor will probably only add to his case a nice mismatch type (think along Mackie lines).

Or Mark Bolton :p:p

Division one of the 2007 NAB AFL Under-18 Championships kicked off last weekend in Perth and Adelaide.

Western Australia performed brilliantly with a 47-point upset win over Vic Metro at Subiaco Oval on Saturday.

In this sixth part of our series, an AFL club's recruiting group talks us through Sunday’s match, in which South Australia easily accounted for Vic Country at AAMI Stadium.

The match
We probably weren't as surprised by this result as much as by Western Australia defeating Vic Metro a day earlier. While we didn't think that this particular Vic Metro team were as talented as it may have been promoted entering the championships, we still expected them to beat WA.

Although two or three Vic Country players had been well publicised, the recruiting staff from various AFL clubs probably didn't think that overall depth was there in the team this year compared to other years.

Conversely, South Australia had a more even spread of talent, which meant that they relied less on certain key players to have a major impact on the match. There were about eight or nine boys who played up to their ability or beyond original expectations, while the same could be said about only two or three Vic Country players.

SOUTH AUSTRALIA – player assessments

Hamish Hartlett
Recruiter 1: Most AFL Clubs will have identified Hamish Hartlett through the NAB AFL Under-16 Championships last year and he has carried that good form into this year. He uses the ball nicely on both his left or right side and makes the right decisions under pressure. Although he is ineligible for the 2007 NAB AFL Draft, he is a player that clubs will look forward to watching again next year.

Recruiter 2: A player of definite ability who simply understands how to play football. Hamish has genuine class and looks right at home playing against older boys despite being an under-age player in these championships.

Matthew Wright
Recruiter 1: There is not a lot of Matthew Wright in terms of size, but he extracts the best out of himself. There are always a number of ‘smalls’ who play well in these championships and he was one of them. He was busy around goal and used the ball nicely.

Recruiter 2: A real surprise packet in this match. He was particularly dangerous around goals and showed real poise under pressure.

Casey Carr
Recruiter 1: He's a genuine half-forward flanker who has the ability to play through the midfield. While his natural style is to play outside the contest, he does show some willingness to work inside the corridor on occasions. I am sure that he is a player that will be followed by clubs during the championships.

Recruiter 2: Casey Carr was a player that I didn’t know a lot about but who impressed me at various times during this match. He is a good size and appears to be quite versatile.

Zac Miller
Recruiter 1: Zac started the game particularly well. He took Victoria Country on early and his opponents didn’t quite know how to play on him. He's one of those players that's got some energy in his game and when he's on, he's extremely dangerous. The difference between his good and bad can be quite large but if he can get greater consistency into his game then he will certainly be a player to watch.

Recruiter 2: Zac displayed some good qualities in this match. He showed a greater urgency than I had seen in his play previously. While not dominating across four quarters, I was quite happy with what he did do today.

Brad Ebert
Recruiter 1: He was definitely a player entering the championships that everyone expected to be a genuine talent. He comes from very good football stock – he is the cousin of Brett and nephew of Russell Ebert – and pleasingly, he played up to his ability today. While he mainly played up forward, he displayed genuine leadership and direction to his team. Brad has a good future.

Recruiter 2: There is no doubt that most people would already be aware of Brad Ebert. Brad is a natural footballer with excellent kicking skills and leadership qualities. He is a player we would expect to figure prominently throughout the championships.

James Wundke
Recruiter 1: James is an AIS boy who, while being slightly built, has very good athleticism. He tends to play mainly in the ruck for South Australia because they lack genuine ruckmen, but he's still probably better suited to a key position. He's a player with a good attitude and someone we would expect to further improve with maturity.

Recruiter 2: Showed some talent and, while not a dominant player, he still did enough to suggest he was worth following across the championships.

VIC COUNTRY – player assessments

Nick Suban
Recruiter 1: Not eligible for this year's draft, but he has good skills. He is a left-footer and has a really good work-rate. He puts his body in and gives a lot of drive through the midfield or out of defence. Nick will be one to follow next year.

Recruiter 2: Nick Suban is a natural footballer who just knows how to give his all. He has good skills. While ineligible this year, he should be a genuine player again at the 2008 championships.

Chris Kangars
Recruiter 1: Kangars played okay in defence for Victoria Country. He's quite athletic and while he needs to read the play better, he does provide a good contest. He can play tall or short and presents himself at the contest quite well. He does have to work on his kicking, but at least he was one of the boys who tried hard against South Australia.

Recruiter 2: I like Chris Kangars. He works hard and seems to be improving with every match. A player to follow during these championships.

Scott Selwood
Recruiter 1: We all know that Scott has ability but he had a poor game today. He entered the championships with some expectations because he is the youngest of the Selwood clan (Adam, Troy and Joel). He's a really good type of boy but he played below his ability against South Australia. He has the skills but just has to work harder for longer.

Recruiter 2: There is little doubt that Scott is a player to watch – the bloodlines confirm that point. While disappointing today, I expect he will still perform okay in the next two matches.

Haelen Kay
Recruiter 1: Haelen gave Victoria Country a bit today, particularly early in the game. He was the one forward that looked talented enough to kick a winning score. He marked well overhead and kicked nicely. I was impressed by him today.

Recruiter 2: Showed a bit in this match. While no forwards dominated for Victoria Country today, he did show signs of worrying the opposition with his quick lead and agility.

Ben McEvoy
Recruiter 1: Ben is a player that we all know about because of his good form at under-16 level and this year in the TAC Cup compeition. He can play either ruck or various key position, which makes him quite an attractive player. He probably does his best work in the ruck because of his athleticism and competitiveness.

Recruiter 2: I like Ben McEvoy – he works hard and is willing to play in any position at any time. I expect that he will be a player to specifically watch throughout this year’s championships.

NSW/ACT Rams

Ranga Ediriwickrama - 71kg - 179cm - 10.9.90

Wells has done it again with this scholarship player. Ranga was close to the best on the ground, and put in a dominate display. He has a light frame, so he is an outside player imho.

However he makes up for this being lightning quick. The amount of ground he covered today was extreme. His engine is huge, he didnt come off until 3QTR time.

Disposal was ok, seems to rush it a little and kicks it higher than most.

Seems pretty versitle, played of half back as well as up forward for a while.

The kid will be a gem.

Taylor Walker - 81kg - 188cm - 10.9.90
Best on Ground for mine. Totally dominated the game today. He presented well and in the wet his hands were safe. Very hard to read his performance, as he is division two. However i would be surprised if he isn't taken in the first 3 rounds.

No sure where he will play at AFL level. Seems a bit small for his position. Seems a bit similar to kent kingsley in his size/style. However he is under Adelaides wing. Dissapointing.

Aaron Bruce - 86kg - 188cm - 14.12.89
This bloke is such a dashing player. Really love the way he plays in defense. Reminded me a lot of milburn to be honest. Peels off his player well and ran the lines. Really hope we take a good look at this guy. Isn't enough to make KP, however he will be a handy player.

Scott Reed - 78kg - 192cm - 3.10.90
Tall and lanky, but deceptive. Plays off a wing, and was sensational. Really runs hard. Surely had a background in rugby league or something. Seems a little like Tom Williams from the Dogs. I think this kid will make it, loved his disposal, and was good at ground level.

Bit of a question today on his intensity, seemed to be off packs a little bit to much for my liking.

Max Wilson - 100kg - 199cm - 7.5.90
Not really sure what to read into this kid. Might be to young for the draft, however he is massive. 100Kg 17 year old just oozes potential.

Despite his weight/height he was agile and did well around the ground. The problem for him is that he has a shocking engine. Goes about 10-15mins before needing a rest. However a preseason will fix that.

Doubt he will go in the draft, but a rookie potential for sure.

Others that rate a mention:
  • Craig Bird - Was pretty good, going to sydney though.
  • Luke Bruest - Sensational hands. Was so clean and crisp. Made it look dry today. His disposal was pretty good. Just drifted out and in of the game a bit to much.
  • James Wilsen - Tall and lanky ruck that i thought was pretty good. Seems to have a good hit out. Not that fit.
  • Simon Davies - Always at the bottom of the packs. Tried so hard, not sure whether he will make it. But deserved a mention for his efforts.

If you do notice rizzo, james wilsen is with North Melbourne. He was given a scholarship 2 years ago or so. Any more inside info on the boy? Would be greatly appreciated!

I thinks a tad early to nail our exact tactical position.
The number of picks etc will really depend on a lot of variables

Does Grima get elevated? Probably !

Does Lonergan get elevated? Not sure

Do we lose an Out of contract player or two via the poaching of other clubs like a Thurley? Probably !

Do we trade players in our best 22 to get higher picks.! Probably not

Do we trade on of our players/draft picks for a player at another club. Maybe

Do we take any Father/Sons?What will they cost under the new bidding system? No idea !

Its all very early but its not too hard to imagine 5 names that could depart thru delisting/poaching/trading.

I do agree that we need to look at options for our Rucks and back talls but Im not convinced that we have to get them with early picks. Think Egan and Harley , they were not highly rated. Now maybe we have been lucky , so if the right players is there I suppose we should pick them but there are probably players not picked for the U18 champs that could develop into the type of player we need.

Its also debatable about the merits of using early picks on ruckman
David Hale , Hamish MacIntosh , Jason Laycock were all early picks yet although handy players they certainly aren’t dominating ruckmen in the AFL. Id say put a 20year old Ruck on the Rookie list and use our early picks more quality kids what ever his position
Er, Hamish is in the top 3 in his position in the AFL.

Havent you watched footy?

how do you rate mitch colvin and simon drums chances. drum had a BOG against NT i think very quality player never a flash player but is always consistant and can has always adapted and thrived at higher levels

Just to let you all know, i will be doing a top 30 (similar to wiz rates), plus another bunch of likely draftees. After that, i will wait till the end of the year and do a mock draft. See how i go. Expect the profiles to be up in say 2 weeks.

Here it is, my top 30 + a few others that will be there and abouts. This is a list of my top 30, and doesn’t represent where they will go. During the off season ill produce a mock draft for you all.

I’ve done a bit of a profile on the top 15.

1. Rhys Palmer – Just does everything so well. Really accomplished player.

2. Ben McEvoy – Can play either end of the ground and in the ruck. Will be a super player for many years. Really Good prospect.

3. Matthew Kruezer – Has a lot of development left, but has heaps of potential. Good tap, and some great versatility. Love the way he tackles, and his effectiveness below his knees.

4. Chris Masten – Pretty nifty midfielder, who runs and kicks. His second efforts are great and has a good goal sense.

5. Trent Cotchin – Is a super player, however his value will just be pushed out a bit by the likes of Palmer and Masten. No doubt will be a super player. He reminds me a bit of a Gary Jnr, so he will be hot property.

6. Cale Morton – He had a super carnival which would have improved his stocks. The Mortons are looking to be a good footy family. Just oozes class all round.

7. Lachie Henderson – Missed with injury, however he has been highly touted. He has big impacts on games, and will be a very good forward at AFL level.

8. Bradley Ebert – I like the way he attacks the man and the ball. Is a definite player to watch out for. Not sure if clubs may be put off with some performances, however for me looks like a great package.

9. Tayte Pears – He will be a pretty good defender, and someone that AFL scouts look for. Love the way he spoils.

10. Alex Rance – Can throw it up between Rance and Pears. They are both even in my books. Rance is a good player out of defence.

11. Jack Grimes – Gets a heap of the ball and reads the play very well. A question over his pace though.

12. Jarad Grant – Love this bloke. He is just a quality player. A lot of people don’t rate him. I think he will be super.
13. Tom Collier – Highly talented and a big ball getter. Runs so much for a big man. One to watch.

14. Scott Selwood – Really good player, who is as tough as nails. Just needs to work harder

15. Thomas Bellchambers – Really Strong ruckman, love his tap work. Would love to see him come up against Kruezer.

16. James Polkinghorne
17. Steve Gaertner
18. Ryan Normington
19. Levi Greenwood
20. Patrick Veszpremi
21. Cyril Rioli
22. Adam Maric
23. Patrick Dangerfield
24. Dave Gourdis
25. Guy O’Keefe
26. David Myers
27. Marlan Motlop
28. Robbie Tarrant
29. Sam Reid
30. Joesph Daye

Others
- Steven Browne
- Jackson Hall
- James Mulligan
- Scott Simpson
- Jay Bowden
- Chris Kangas
- Taylor Walker
- Aaron Cornelius
- James Wundke
- Tom McNamara
- Cameron Stokes

Here it is, my top 30 + a few others that will be there and abouts. This is a list of my top 30, and doesn’t represent where they will go. During the off season ill produce a mock draft for you all.

I’ve done a bit of a profile on the top 15.

1. Rhys Palmer – Just does everything so well. Really accomplished player.

2. Ben McEvoy – Can play either end of the ground and in the ruck. Will be a super player for many years. Really Good prospect.

3. Matthew Kruezer – Has a lot of development left, but has heaps of potential. Good tap, and some great versatility. Love the way he tackles, and his effectiveness below his knees.

4. Chris Masten – Pretty nifty midfielder, who runs and kicks. His second efforts are great and has a good goal sense.

5. Trent Cotchin – Is a super player, however his value will just be pushed out a bit by the likes of Palmer and Masten. No doubt will be a super player. He reminds me a bit of a Gary Jnr, so he will be hot property.

6. Cale Morton – He had a super carnival which would have improved his stocks. The Mortons are looking to be a good footy family. Just oozes class all round.

7. Lachie Henderson – Missed with injury, however he has been highly touted. He has big impacts on games, and will be a very good forward at AFL level.

8. Bradley Ebert – I like the way he attacks the man and the ball. Is a definite player to watch out for. Not sure if clubs may be put off with some performances, however for me looks like a great package.

9. Tayte Pears – He will be a pretty good defender, and someone that AFL scouts look for. Love the way he spoils.

10. Alex Rance – Can throw it up between Rance and Pears. They are both even in my books. Rance is a good player out of defence.

11. Jack Grimes – Gets a heap of the ball and reads the play very well. A question over his pace though.

12. Jarad Grant – Love this bloke. He is just a quality player. A lot of people don’t rate him. I think he will be super.
13. Tom Collier – Highly talented and a big ball getter. Runs so much for a big man. One to watch.

14. Scott Selwood – Really good player, who is as tough as nails. Just needs to work harder

15. Thomas Bellchambers – Really Strong ruckman, love his tap work. Would love to see him come up against Kruezer.

16. James Polkinghorne
17. Steve Gaertner
18. Ryan Normington
19. Levi Greenwood
20. Patrick Veszpremi
21. Cyril Rioli
22. Adam Maric
23. Patrick Dangerfield
24. Dave Gourdis
25. Guy O’Keefe
26. David Myers
27. Marlan Motlop
28. Robbie Tarrant
29. Sam Reid
30. Joesph Daye

Others
- Steven Browne
- Jackson Hall
- James Mulligan
- Scott Simpson
- Jay Bowden
- Chris Kangas
- Taylor Walker
- Aaron Cornelius
- James Wundke
- Tom McNamara
- Cameron Stokes

That's a great effort. Have you seen much of Rioli? He will be a good player I think.

Yeah seen a fair bit of him mate. Just have a query of the players that come out of division two. They aren't playing the top quality the likes of VIc/SA etc are. Which makes him rate lower in my opinion. If he can produce what he did at the champs his rating will move to around the 8 - 12 mark.

Oh okay. Just wondering as I haven't seen much of this current crop. I know that Rioli is playing in the APS competition but has suffered injury for majority of the year. Would be nice to see him play TAC Cup, but then again the only reason he is in Melbourne is because of the scholarship, so he is playing in a good competition anyway.

Also, comes from the same school as Nathan Djerrkura. Rioli also does not come under any F/S qualification. Maybe we could pick him up if available?

Oh okay. Just wondering as I haven't seen much of this current crop. I know that Rioli is playing in the APS competition but has suffered injury for majority of the year. Would be nice to see him play TAC Cup, but then again the only reason he is in Melbourne is because of the scholarship, so he is playing in a good competition anyway.

Also, comes from the same school as Nathan Djerrkura. Rioli also does not come under any F/S qualification. Maybe we could pick him up if available?

Depends. Im hoping a tall defender/Forward slips through. Steve Gaertner is one that could go under a lot of radars. He is so athletic, but has a lot to learn about the game (Tom Williams anyone?). He has good pace and endurance and has a great verticle leap. Not sure where he will go but will be on our radar

Hay Rizzo what do you know about Luke Potts he was in the vic metro side i used to play footy with his dad . Just for the record to a mad cats fan as well.

While I'm rapt in the kid as hard as a "Cats Head" , our boy Joel , Its been interesting to see our original pre-draft choice last year , Boak , has shown that he has some quality as well. In fact he looks probably more like the type of player most of us thought we needed, more of a running, outside player who can finish when in range of goals. Selwood is gold , no doubt but he is not that type of player and considering the guys on our list that are that type of player Im starting to think we are still light in real classy players who could do a job similar to Ricco of old.

So , who do we think is some of the best outside players in this draft with speed but more importantly the ability to finish of the work?

Not sure if you have seen many Falcons games but would Jack Steven from the Falcons fit this description?

Another couple names from the Falcons Id like some info/opinion on would be Staveniuter , Jull and Ledin

Would also be interested in some more thoughts on Jull from any of you guys that have seen a few falcons games of late.. What is his potential and if he is up there why has he been playing BFL seniors for the majority of the season and not TAC cup? Also anyone have much of an opinion on how Jordan Jones will go?

Jones not good enough seems to lack committment and has been down on form, been in and out of the falcons to much.

steven maybe a rookie spot has ability

what about players from the U18 GFL sides any smokey prospects

Talls
KPP
Smalls

any info on the leading goal kickers in the U18's 40 odd goals is a reasonable effort

thoughts

I'd be disappointed if we didn't address our needs down back (I'm looking at Rance or Pears) or in the ruck (I still like McEvoy) in this draft (or at the very least, just during the off-season).

Particularly in the case of ruckmen, this draft is laden with project talls who are more than worth the punt. Time to load up.

Agreed Geecat. Loads of tall talent there. Could get a bargain later in the draft to!

I doubt many will catch the game, but the TAC GF will see Murray pitted against Calder. Maybe one for the tape recorder, or those who get down early.

Ben McEvoy one to watch, for mine. Mobile, sticky hands, skilled by foot, beautiful reader of the play, and just under 200cm. He'll play the majority of the game up forward (Murray's ruck stocks are rich enough), but I've projected him out as a back-up ruck who can fill time in key positions at either end of the ground at AFL level (meaning he's pretty much the type of player we need complimenting Blakey in the ruck).

While I'm rapt in the kid as hard as a "Cats Head" , our boy Joel , Its been interesting to see our original pre-draft choice last year , Boak , has shown that he has some quality as well. In fact he looks probably more like the type of player most of us thought we needed, more of a running, outside player who can finish when in range of goals. Selwood is gold , no doubt but he is not that type of player and considering the guys on our list that are that type of player Im starting to think we are still light in real classy players who could do a job similar to Ricco of old.

So , who do we think is some of the best outside players in this draft with speed but more importantly the ability to finish of the work?

I think this is why we drafted Stokes, Varcoe, Hogan, Davenport and Bedford in the last couple of years, because they are exactly this type of player. Even Djerrkura is very quick and can play outside, although I suspect he naturally likes to be more in the clinches. We don't need more of them, we just need to give this lot some more time to develop. I reckon at least a couple (and hopefully more) of that group will turn out to be guns.

I agree with an earlier poster who suggested that we are in more dire need of ruckmen and KPPs, particularly key defenders. I would like to see Lonergan promoted to the senior list as a key defender, but I also think we are likely to delist at least two of Spencer, Playfair and S Hunt - all are experiments that have clearly now failed - and although we might keep one of them as injury insurance, none have a future at senior level. Add to that the fact that Scarlett and Harley are both 28+ and probably have no more than 3-4 more years each after this one, we need to start grooming the next generation of key backman. If we can draft a good one this year he should be just about ready to partner Egan by 2011.

The other possibility of course might be Scott Thompson from our VFL list. I haven't seen enough of him to make my own judgment, but I have heard enough on here and in the media to suggest that at 192cm and 21yo he could quickly develop into a very good rebounding tall defender.

I would also like to see us draft or rookie at least one more project ruckman, because although West looks like he is starting to develop we will probably only get one more year out of King and maybe 3-4 out of Ottens, and we all know how long it takes young ruckmen to develop.

I think this is why we drafted Stokes, Varcoe, Hogan, Davenport and Bedford in the last couple of years, because they are exactly this type of player. Even Djerrkura is very quick and can play outside, although I suspect he naturally likes to be more in the clinches. We don't need more of them, we just need to give this lot some more time to develop. I reckon at least a couple (and hopefully more) of that group will turn out to be guns.

I agree with an earlier poster who suggested that we are in more dire need of ruckmen and KPPs, particularly key defenders. I would like to see Lonergan promoted to the senior list as a key defender, but I also think we are likely to delist at least two of Spencer, Playfair and S Hunt - all are experiments that have clearly now failed - and although we might keep one of them as injury insurance, none have a future at senior level. Add to that the fact that Scarlett and Harley are both 28+ and probably have no more than 3-4 more years each after this one, we need to start grooming the next generation of key backman. If we can draft a good one this year he should be just about ready to partner Egan by 2011.

The other possibility of course might be Scott Thompson from our VFL list. I haven't seen enough of him to make my own judgment, but I have heard enough on here and in the media to suggest that at 192cm and 21yo he could quickly develop into a very good rebounding tall defender.

I would also like to see us draft or rookie at least one more project ruckman, because although West looks like he is starting to develop we will probably only get one more year out of King and maybe 3-4 out of Ottens, and we all know how long it takes young ruckmen to develop.

Really I can't disagree with any of your post Reg. The only thing I'd say is I'm not sure the quality of the hard ball players on our list is at the same level as the outside players. Byrnes , Prismall , Varcoe all used this year , all have something to offer but all have deficiencies that make them less than the perfect fit as our outside goal kicking mid. I just don't any kid like Thomas on our list. Davenport is getting better and may well become a player but he will never be a Riccardi. Maybe there is another Stokes out there , over looked and awaiting his chance.

Lonergan has shown he has the ability to play back at AFL level.At 197 he would add some height and versatility to our side. A player who can play on tall forwards and kick goals when switched is gear we haven't got. I wouldn't mind adding a young athletic tall to our list as well ,say someone like Kangas.
Thompson looks to be a Scarlett clone. I'm not sure what he would be worth in the draft but one would think a few clubs could do a lot worse. If he is still there late , we could do a lot worse.

I totally agree with your ruck idea. Put a kid on as a Rookie and give him time.Most ruckmen are so under developed at 18 so any kid over looked could well be a top player at 22 , especially if we pick a basketball convert. I know G like the big Mc , but he has nailed a couple big bags in the TAC as well as shown form as a ruckman. If he has an outstanding GF, he may well go earlier than our 1st pick