Potential Draftee Watch - Version 2007

• Thread starter Thread starter rizzo

Re: Potential Draftee Watch

ok guys back, just gotta defrost a little bit. It was soooooooo cold at skilled, and it poured. Fair to say i put the body on the line for bigfooty haha. Ill start writing some stuff up now, so should be done soon.

NSW/ACT Rams

Ranga Ediriwickrama - 71kg - 179cm - 10.9.90

Wells has done it again with this scholarship player. Ranga was close to the best on the ground, and put in a dominate display. He has a light frame, so he is an outside player imho.

However he makes up for this being lightning quick. The amount of ground he covered today was extreme. His engine is huge, he didnt come off until 3QTR time.

Disposal was ok, seems to rush it a little and kicks it higher than most.

Seems pretty versitle, played of half back as well as up forward for a while.

The kid will be a gem.

Taylor Walker - 81kg - 188cm - 10.9.90
Best on Ground for mine. Totally dominated the game today. He presented well and in the wet his hands were safe. Very hard to read his performance, as he is division two. However i would be surprised if he isn't taken in the first 3 rounds.

No sure where he will play at AFL level. Seems a bit small for his position. Seems a bit similar to kent kingsley in his size/style. However he is under Adelaides wing. Dissapointing.

Aaron Bruce - 86kg - 188cm - 14.12.89
This bloke is such a dashing player. Really love the way he plays in defense. Reminded me a lot of milburn to be honest. Peels off his player well and ran the lines. Really hope we take a good look at this guy. Isn't enough to make KP, however he will be a handy player.

Scott Reed - 78kg - 192cm - 3.10.90
Tall and lanky, but deceptive. Plays off a wing, and was sensational. Really runs hard. Surely had a background in rugby league or something. Seems a little like Tom Williams from the Dogs. I think this kid will make it, loved his disposal, and was good at ground level.

Bit of a question today on his intensity, seemed to be off packs a little bit to much for my liking.

Max Wilson - 100kg - 199cm - 7.5.90
Not really sure what to read into this kid. Might be to young for the draft, however he is massive. 100Kg 17 year old just oozes potential.

Despite his weight/height he was agile and did well around the ground. The problem for him is that he has a shocking engine. Goes about 10-15mins before needing a rest. However a preseason will fix that.

Doubt he will go in the draft, but a rookie potential for sure.

Others that rate a mention:
  • Craig Bird - Was pretty good, going to sydney though.
  • Luke Bruest - Sensational hands. Was so clean and crisp. Made it look dry today. His disposal was pretty good. Just drifted out and in of the game a bit to much.
  • James Wilsen - Tall and lanky ruck that i thought was pretty good. Seems to have a good hit out. Not that fit.
  • Simon Davies - Always at the bottom of the packs. Tried so hard, not sure whether he will make it. But deserved a mention for his efforts.

Northern Territory

Cyril Rioli - 74kg - 178cm - 14.7.89
Classy classy player. Really good small forward today. Loves to be sneaky and really ran hard and gave them an option today. Has something magic about him and is deceptive in his strength especially for his size.

Really will make it at AFL level. Doubt he will be in the top batch, however he will go.

Austin Wonaeamirri - 76kg - 176cm - 2.10.88
I didn't rate him originally but he began to impress me more and more as the game goes on. Very short, so i'm not sure if he will get looked at by recruiters. However he was good on the half back line. His disposal was is a little in accurate, but he is fast and hard.

He runs fast and his aggression at the man and the ball is second to none.

Charlie Sharples - 67kg - 180cm - 16.2.89
This bloke is a definite smokey. Very light framed, but pretty tall. He reads the ball well out of the pack and has a bit of dash and flair. Seems like the perfect rookie option. Not sure where he would fit in at AFL level. Maybe as a presenting HFFer.

Marlon Motlop - 76kg - 182cm - 15.5.90
This bloke is a Daniel Motlop clone. Sensational on the lead and on the ground. If he doesnt take it on the lead he will kill you on the carpet with his lethal accuracy. I just love the way he puts his presence on a game. He played at FF and in the center and was in and around it all day. His hands are so clean, and he is excellent below his knees. Really shows he will be a dangerous player. Told everyone at the ground he is ready for the next step. He will go early second round/ late first round.

Cameron Stokes - 74kg - 174cm - 2.7.89
This kid is a beauty and reminds me of our own stokes. His attack on the man and the ball is second to none. Saved a few goals with his tackles. He makes his opponent feel every hit, and always goes for the hips. Isn't express fast, but he is quick. His disposal by hand and foot is accurate, and his decision making is pretty good. Defiantly won't be a midfielder at AFL level. See him playing the exact same role as Matty Stokes does for us. Really hope Geelong takes a look at him late in the draft as he has a lot to offer us.

Good work Rizzo. Hope the thawing out process doesn't take too long.

Happy to hear about Ranga. Good signs.

Queensland

Aaron Rolfe - 177cm - 79kg - 2.10.89
He is a very impressive player. Loved the way he was so hard at the football. His disposal i thought was also very good today, in a team that really struggled with it. He pushed down the ground well and really gave them an option. Not sure whether he will go in the draft, but would be a very handy rookie. Needs to put on some bulk to really make him competitive in contests.

Sam Ried - 185cm - 75kg - 7.11.89
High possesion winner. Really liked him. Will be drafted in the draft you would imagine. Like the way he doesn't give up. Hes second and third efforts are very good. Think he needs to work a little bit on his kicking, and decision making. Couple of times he didn't see the free man. Other then that has a lot of upside.

Joseph Daye - 194cm - 79kg - 2.2.90
Ill be the first to admit that he didn't show much today, but its just a gut feeling i have about him that makes me think that he could be special. Seems to be in and out of play, and really did struggle with his right foot. He is also very thin. (Ok i no your all like well rizz what makes you think he will be a player). He reminds me very very much of what Franklin looked like when i saw him at the carnival. Daye is very agile and is an athlete. He has solid hands. I think he will be a late choice, but a team who takes him has a lot of upside. Really want Geelong to look at him for this reason. The way he pushed up the ground today was very nice. Really looked to give them an option.

Mitch Enright - 179cm - 74kg - 8.2.89
Not a bad little player this kid is. Pretty short and light, but gets a mountain of the ball. His use of it was very effective, and i think that he is a rookie type. Will need to get some muscle on before he is close to senior footy and really represents the real "rookie" type player. Disposal by both hand and foot was also pretty good. Conditions made it hard, but he did well.

Good work Rizzo. Hope the thawing out process doesn't take too long.

Happy to hear about Ranga. Good signs.

Nothing a nice warm bed and a cup of milo isn't fixing. Thank god for wireless internet i say!

Tasmania

Sam Cornish - 183cm - 81kg - 2.3.89
Thought he was pretty good today, playing on Motlop. Gave up a heap of speed and was very clever in the way he positioned himself. Worked the lines well and forced Motlop out to the sides. Given that he isn't used to playing on the last line i think it makes his effort even more impressive.

Aaron Cornelius - 191cm - 80kg - 29.5.89
Love this kid. Really looks like he will be a very good player. Has a nice lead and timing is very good. I feel with some better delivery he will be a very dangerous player. There are somethings you can teach, and some you can't. He still has a lot of learning to do, but has everything that you can't teach a player in his arsenal. Needs to bulk up. if he gets to the 90kg weight range he will be a very very sold player

Jay Bowden - 184cm - 74kg - 16.1.89
Was great as a leading forward today. He is deceptively quick, and really looks strong overhead. Another player who wont play a key position in the AFL, however could be a very dangerous Brett Ebert type player. Has strong hands and times his leads pretty well for a youngster. Given a few years and some hard work will be a very handy player.

Tom Collier - 192cm - 86kg - 25.3.89
Didn't notice his today, but i was over listening to some recruiters talk about him. Said he runs like a midfielder and has a really good engine. Most seem to think that he is a first round potential. But as i say i didn't see him, and not ever sure if he got a run today.

Tom Bellchambers - 199cm - 91kg - 9.7.89
Sensational Ruckman. Really like this kid. He has a lot of upside. Made the contests pretty well and only had limited rest. Disposal is ood for a ruckman, as is his agility and all that type of stuff. His height is another bonus. Really bit and strong. Still needs to fill his frame out a littl bit IMHO. Would be around a 2nd year option. Won't be ready first year. His tap work looked pretty good to.

So, i think really there isn't a stand out division two player that you can say will be drafted for sure. I think this i the type of year division one and two will rule, at least for the first two rounds anyway. Definatly a lot of project players in the ranks.

I will do my report about division one after the footy on friday, so keep an eye out saturday morning. Hopefully that gave you all some insight.

The recruiters: WA v Vic Metro

2:45 PM Thu 5 July, 2007 | Back

By Matt Burgan

Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network
News

* The recruiters – part two
Thu, Jun 28, 07
* The recruiters – part three
Thu, Jun 28, 07

DIVISION ONE of the 2007 NAB AFL Under-18 Championships kicked off in Perth and Adelaide last weekend. During the matches, afl.com.au had exclusive access to one AFL club's recruiting department.

Western Australia performed brilliantly with a 47-point upset win over Vic Metro at Subiaco Oval on Saturday, while South Australia easily accounted for Vic Country at AAMI Stadium on Sunday.

Throughout the matches, we got an insight into the club's recruiting process and their thoughts on the best prospects for the draft.

First we'll look at the WA v Vic Metro match. We'll refer to the two recruiting staff simply as "Recruiter 1" and "Recruiter 2". Check back later for the club's assessments of SA v Vic Country.

WESTERN AUSTRALIA
Chris Masten
Recruiter 1: I was pleased with Chris Masten’s game today. He was busy from the first contest while also being quite creative. Chris didn't just win the ball and clear the contest, he also brought other players into the game through his clean disposal. He worked at the same pace throughout the match, displaying real consistency across four quarters.

Recruiter 2: Chris played a very good game. He was quite elusive and has excellent skills on both sides of his body. I was impressed that he found so much of the ball against good opposition.

Rhys Palmer
Recruiter 1: Rhys performed extremely well. He was hard at the contest and led by example from the first bounce. He actually seemed to enjoy the contest, which was a positive sign. While he has a very good left foot, it was his overall work-rate and commitment that stood out today.

Recruiter 2: In simple terms, Palmer was a ball magnet. He basically attracts the ball and worked really hard at stoppages around the ground despite attention from several opponents.

Jarrhan Jacky
Recruiter 1: Jarrhan played a very good game. He probably played above what our pre-championship expectations were of him. We knew he that had good skills, but the fact he was able to maintain them over a full game – and not just play well for four or five minutes per quarter – was particularly pleasing.

Recruiter 2: Jacky proved to be an elusive forward for Western Australia. He kicked the ball nicely and regularly found space inside forward 50m. A good game from him today.

Daniel Rich
Recruiter 1: Although he is ineligible for the national draft in 2007, he will no doubt be a player who will attract interest leading into next year's NAB AFL Under-18 Championships. He's a very similar player to Rhys Palmer – they both enjoy contested situations. He's naturally aggressive and brings other players into the game. He led by example today.

Recruiter 2: He's got some similarities to Palmer and continually wins the ball in a contested situation. I really like the way that he goes about his football and thought that he had an outstanding game.

Patrick McGinnity
Recruiter 1: He was hard at-it and played in a similar vein to the traditional Victoria Metro midfielder. He refuses to give-up the ball with any ease. While he is not the flashiest player going around, he definitely has the level of commitment required for us to follow him in future matches

Recruiter 2: An impressive type of player who was in and under at most opportunities. He rarely lost a one-on-one contest – a player who like Rhys Palmer, set the tempo for Western Australia.

Chris Yarran
Recruiter 1: While still ineligible for this year's draft, he is a very talented player. He has very good kicking skills and proved to be a very dangerous forward at all times. No doubt, he will be a player to watch in 2008.

Tayte Pears
Recruiter 1: Pears was particularly good overhead in a marking contest. He appears to be a very laid back player, but was good across the whole game. He negated his opposition extremely well and provided rebound from defence on a number of occasions.

Recruiter 2: An unobtrusive type of player who was worth noting and showed a genuine commitment to his role in defence.

Alex Rance
Recruiter 1: A rangy type who can play on both taller or shorter opponents. He was quite competitive and impressed me with his athleticism and ability to run off his opponent. There appears to be some scope for improvement with his decision-making ability.

Recruiter 2: Alex Rance was very steady in defence – he seemed to be the cornerstone of Western Australia’s backline.

Cale Morton
Recruiter 1: The brother of Mitch and Jarryd Morton, who are already AFL listed players, which means that he will probably get more attention than other players. Having said that, he played really well today – his apparent lack of body strength was not really evident.

Recruiter 2: I was quite impressed by Cale Morton today. He played up the wing and in both attack and defence. He seemed to be a good kick and was clearly among Western Australia’s best players in this match.

Nicholas Naitanui
Recruiter 1: Nick has outstanding athleticism and although he still has some things to learn about the actual game, he is very much a player to watch in 2008 (he is ineligible for the national draft in 2007). Naitanui covers the ground easily and when he knows how to better play four quarters, he will be a genuine talent.

VIC METRO
Matthew Kreuzer
Recruiter 1: I was quite pleased with Kruezer today because I thought he was one of the few players in the Victoria Metro team that played up to his ability. He runs hard around the ground for a big man and contests well– he is a genuine player of the future.

Recruiter 2: I thought that he battled hard throughout the game despite little support from his teammates. He was one of the few Victoria Metro players who didn’t do himself any disservice in this match.

Addam Maric
Recruiter 1: Addam performed very well against the odds. He played up to his ability although we would like to see him play more regularly through the midfield. He has good kicking skills and his kicking efficiency is excellent. He only needs limited possessions to have an impact on the scoreboard.

Recruiter 2: He continually finds the ball and was one of Victoria Metro's few players to make an impact on the scoreboard. Unfortunately, he went off with a shoulder injury late in the game. I hope he recovers for the next match.

James Polkinghorne
Recruiter 1: He didn't quite have the impact that we probably thought he would have. He has been one of the more consistent performers in Victoria this year and that's why we thought he would have been a better performer in this match.

Recruiter 2: He was in and out of the contest quite a bit. While he worked hard in the centre square, he had his effectiveness limited through poor support from his teammates. He laid some good tackles but wasn't quite as dominant as we had probably expected.

Jack Grimes
Recruiter 1: Jack Grimes played quite well - he certainly led by example as captain. Both he and his Northern Knights teammate, Matthew Kreuzer, would be able to say that they applied themselves in the manner that you expect at this level. He read the play well and chipped in with two goals. Overall, we were satisfied with his contribution to the game.

Recruiter 2: Grimes had an impact at various times during the game, so it was good to see him play well at this level. It was a pity that some of his teammates didn’t follow his example.

Trent Cotchin
Recruiter 1: Trent Cotchin has had a lot of pre-championship publicity, but there was no doubt that he was disappointing in this match. We would've expected him to start the match much better than he did – it was quite surprising that he started out of the centre square and only had limited time playing on the ball. This was a game that he will want to put behind him – I have no doubt he'll play much better in the next two matches.

Recruiter 2: Cotchin had a game that he would probably rather forget. There isn’t much that you could say about his performance today that resembled his form leading into the championships. Let’s just reserve our assessment until after next

NSW/ACT Rams

Scott Reed - 78kg - 192cm - 3.10.90
Tall and lanky, but deceptive. Plays off a wing, and was sensational. Really runs hard. Surely had a background in rugby league or something. Seems a little like Tom Williams from the Dogs. I think this kid will make it, loved his disposal, and was good at ground level.

Bit of a question today on his intensity, seemed to be off packs a little bit to much for my liking.

Thanks for that, he is a Collingwood scholarship holder

Excellent work Rizzo . Perhaps after the Champs you might do a bit of a Phantom draft order for us.

Yep mate, no problems. Was already thinking something along those lines :thumbsu:

Thanks for that, he is a Collingwood scholarship holder

Seems like there are a few good players floating around on scholarships!

South Australia

Tom McNamara - 189cm - 84kg - 29.4.90
He looks like a very lean but agile tall defender. Looked pretty handy when the metro players were leading. He positioned himself fairly well and didn't look that out of his depth. Conditions didn't suit the talls, but i think he showed enough. Should last to our pick, and i think the boys will have a peak at him. Will need to baulk up a bit however. Won't hold a key position i wouldn't think.

Brad Ebert - 187cm - 86kg - 2.4.90
Pretty classy looking player, who really is looking to be a top 5 player. Was always near the ball and his disposal is very clean. Very tall for a midfielder, and he carries himself fairly well. Liked his engine and made the packs pretty well. Not sure whether he will be in or outside player yet, seemed to be comfy outside the pack, but when he needed to go he did. Top 5 i think.

James Wundke - 196cm - 87kg - 2.3.90
Tall as and very thin. Was impressive, however didn't dominate, as he was up against probably one of the best rucks in rep footy you would think. I was impressed with his work ethic and his ability to read the footy. Was happy to help push back when needed to. Not really sure where he would fit in with so much ruck talent. It would be very possible he slips right down with players like bellchambers and Kruezer going pretty early. Could be a bargain pick for any team.

*Wasn't much to write home about considering they only scored 4 goals. So probably didn't get a good look at who was that great. Metro destroyed them.

Vic Country

Guy O'Keefe - 184cm - 76kg - 5.12.89
This bloke is going to be a very good player. Was a key contributer to the Country engine room. Loved the way he was so aggressive at the ball. His disposal wasn't to bad. Seemed better by foot then hands. Reminds me a tad of a moloney type player. Seems to run the lines really hard, and commanded the ball in the packs. Pretty good pace, wouldnt call him a speester, but he is no slouch.

Toby Thoolan - 195cm - 92kg - 23.2.90
Had to stand up with Henderson and Tarrant out for them. I liked the way he presented. Won't be first two rounds, but would be a very handy player late in the draft. Lead his opponent to the ball and was pretty clean below his knees. I think the most impressive thing was that he could lead with pace from center half forward. Seemed to miss some pretty easy marks, but that wll come with experience.

Scott Selwood - 184cm - 81kg - 27.3.90
He is no Joel, but he ain't no dud either. Seems pretty stocky. He drifted in and out of the play a bit i found, but he did well when the footy was in transfer. Loved the way he positioned himself around the ground. He seemed out of play, but he read it so well that the ball actually went to where he was running. The recruiters will like that. Not speedy, however his reading of the play makes him look quick. Has good disposal by foot, really penetrating kick that broke lots of lines.

Ryan Normington - 189cm - 84kg - 22.8.89
Not in the Cotchin, Selwood, Palmer league but he was a pretty honest player. Seems to have a lot of potential, who is a less classy selwood type player. He has good positioning, but i found his disposal to be a little bit shonky. That can be worked on. Recruiters will look at him very closely at the end of the year, and i can imagine him sneaking into a late second round pick.

Matt Austin - 186cm - 74kg - 30.3.89
Pretty hard at it type of player that rotated between the midfield and a half forward line. Smokey if there ever was one. Could go anywhere between round 2 -4. Liked him, but was IMPRESSED to say that this guy will hold a place in the top of the league. Was strong for his size, and has a lot of power going through his legs.

Ben McEvoy - 199cm - 90kg - 11.7.89
FREAK! top 3 for mine. Love the way he plays his football. Quick, Agile and superb disposal. He is so versitle for his size. Played Key Defense, Key Forward then dominated in the ruck. Needs to work on his tap, but his positioning was sensational. Loved the way he got to the backs. Defensively he was very good, positioning was good. He is a geat lead, really times it well. As i said, if he goes later then top 3 he is a bargain.

Lochlan Henderson - 196cm - 90kg - 14.12.89
Didn't play, but is a highly touted ruckman. He is a first rounder.

Robert Tarrant - 196cm - 92kg - 25.4.89
Again was missing, but is a hard leading FF, who reads the play well and is a great timer of a lead.

Victoria Metro

Patrick Veszpremi - 181cm - 83kg - 1.9.89
Like him. Seems to be a very classy player with a sick last name. Liked how he gets into the packs, and gets the ball out. Has a great handball. Sometimes i think he can drift out of the play a little bit. Does well at the clearances, and did well reading the oppositions ruckman.

Matthew Kreuzer - 199cm - 92kg - 13.5.89
Really dissapointing. Thought he would really dominate today, however he was pretty poor. Thought he looked lost around the game, and seemed to be out muscled, by the SA ruckman. Could have been a poor day, so maybe shouldn't read into it that much. However after seeing both him and a few rucks, he would be highly up their. Think his listed weight is a little two low. He seems very thin and lanky.

Addam Maric - 179cm - 80kg - 18.4.90
Small player who is a bloody sneaky type of player. Love the way he is so sneaky. Very quick reminded me a lot of steve milne at the saints, however he is a higher possession type player, maybe a less bulky chappy? Pretty good kick/handpass but wouldn't say his disposal is sensational. Question over his height? maybe keeping him down in the pecking order.

James Polkinghorne - 181cm - 82kg - 21.1.89
Like him. Seems to a half back flanker at heart. Think he would be a Corey Enright player. Disposal was ok, the conditions might have held him down again. However he was handy for them. Will be around the higher type picks maybe a late first rounder? Think he will be up there come draft day.

Rhyce Prismall - 189cm - 86kg - 6.4.89
Can see why he wasn't drafted last year, and really didn't do much to say he will this year. Was very dissapointing and i think will be licky to hold his spot for next week. Seemed to be easily covered by his opponent and he couldn't break away from that. He lead to totally wrong areas at times, and gave very few second efforts. Although, i still think he will be drafted. Just no where i think a few thought he would be after last year.

Scott Simpson - 194cm - 91kg - 19.10.89
Like him as a tall defender. Will be around later in the draft so i think the staff will look at him. Seems to be more a negating type defender rather then a play setter, but did really well for the metro's today. He has a great thump on him and is no slouch when tracking his player on the lead. Keep and eye on him.

Jack Grimes - 187cm - 76kg - 11.5.89
Pretty talented kid here. Will look to be top 5, but may stretch to top 10. Like his in and underness. His disposal by foot is quite touch and go. Sometimes good sometimes horrible. He is a one touch player and is great below his knees. His awareness means he gets high amounts of touches. Has a great engine to, so this means he gets to a lot of contests.

Trent Cotchin - 184cm - 81kg - 7.4.90
He is a classier version of Grimes. They are pretty much the same type of player. Cotchin is a bit more dynamic in that he has the ability to go to various positions. His disposal is top notch. Top 3 for me. Probably pick 2. Reminds me a bit of Luke Hodge.

Darcy Daniher - 192cm - 89kg - 21.9.89
Good tall defender, i think he is going to the dons f/s. However we can make a challenge if we want. Seems to be an athletic type player, who i can imagine to turn into a Tom Harley type. Looked so strong over head, which is what you want for a defender, Id imagine that there will be a bit of bidding for this kids services come the end of the year. The dons may be forced to give up a decent pick to taake him.

Western Australia

Chris Masten - 179cm - 78Kg - .2.5.89
The kid is a ball magnet, reminds me of Simon Black. His endurance was pretty good and he is a running machine. Loves to get under the packs. I think he has a bit of a question mark over his disposal at times. Mainly when its tight. Will be top 10, but possibly will be pushed out of the top 5 because of a few other stars floating around.

Rhys Palmer - 180cm - 79tKg - 13.2.89.
Say Hello to the Mr number 1 pick. The bloke is a freak. Runs hard, has a big long penetrating kick. He is a goal kicker, and a bloody good one at that! Love the way he will break a pack, run and bounce then level up and nail it from 50. Maybe a bit of Judd about him. Not as quick though. Everything i saw about him was impressive. His possessions are all quality. Actually i can't remember seeing him have a clanger!

Daniel Rich - 185cm - 77Kg - 7.6.90.
Smokey who i thought was pretty good. A little bit taller then most of his teammates in the middle. Love the way he follows the ball. Not the biggest disposal getter, but he makes room for the likes of Masten and Palmer to run into. Presented well off the HFF later in the game. His goal kicking is a bit shonky.

David Myers - 190cm - 85Kg - 30.6.89.
Tall Defender with plenty of potential. He is very highly rated around the traps, with his agility and disposal. Seems a little thin though so won't be ready for senior footy straight away. That being said he wasn't scared to run up the ground and be a link man. Decent decision making and kis overhead skills are pretty good as well.

Cale Morton - 192cm - 75Kg - 18.1.90.
Like this kid to! played up forward for most of it, however he is VERY VERY lean. Will need to spend 12 months in the gym to be ready to play senior football. Wasn't muscled off the ball easy, but i think he will be more the athletic Lance Franklin type forward. Loved his pace for a bigman. He gave some pretty impressive second efforts to! Will be a first rounder i would imagine. He has huge upside.

Nathan Naitanui - 194cm - 70Kg - 4.5.90.
I said Morton was lean, this bloke is a stick! he was playing in the ruck and got killed, however i think that he has the potential to be molded into a key defender. He has a VERY impressive verticle leap and that will help him. Maybe bit of Brennan about him. It wouldn't surprise me if he wasn't drafed, but i think his leap will be an asset. The weight will come on after a lot of time in the gym. His pace was also very good and he had a fairly good engine. If we want a player that has the potential to be an athletic defender who has a lot of upside then i think we will look at this boy!

Thats it boys! i donno if i will go next week. Hope you enjoy what i have done so far!

Yeah, brilliant mate, thanks heaps.

Ben McEvoy - 199cm - 90kg - 11.7.89
FREAK! top 3 for mine. Love the way he plays his football. Quick, Agile and superb disposal. He is so versitle for his size. Played Key Defense, Key Forward then dominated in the ruck. Needs to work on his tap, but his positioning was sensational. Loved the way he got to the backs. Defensively he was very good, positioning was good. He is a geat lead, really times it well. As i said, if he goes later then top 3 he is a bargain.

Yeah, I'm itching to claim him early as my boy for this years draft. Hope he can slip out of the top ten (a distinct possibility..)

His ruck skills aren't top notch (yet), but I guess that's why I think he'd compliment Blake well. Modern day, prototypical tall who works hard around the ground, is athletic, versatile, and can dispose of the ball dependently. The modern day demands of a ruckman around the ground are pretty damn crucial to the overall structure and gameplan of a side, and McEvoy is the type of kid who looks like he can fulfill those demands as a ruck.

Yeah, I'm itching to claim him early as my boy for this years draft. Hope he can slip out of the top ten (a distinct possibility..)

His ruck skills aren't top notch (yet), but I guess that's why I think he'd compliment Blake well. Modern day, prototypical tall who works hard around the ground, is athletic, versatile, and can dispose of the ball dependently. The modern day demands of a ruckman around the ground are pretty damn crucial to the overall structure and gameplan of a side, and McEvoy is the type of kid who looks like he can fulfill those demands as a ruck.

Hes a gun! Had him in my top 3

Again top effort Rizzo.

Interesting that you rate McEvoy so high. If Geecat rates him Ive no doubt hes got talent. Although I heard Shifter the other day and he had Henderson and Morton close to top5 so who knows , it seems pretty open. I liked Morton the other day , really impressed me.

I really think we may look at a 188/192 kid thats quick for our backline. Take Wojo out and our backline is hardly lightning. A Dasher type with Wojos pace mmm not that Im asking for much

Just to clarify on SSelwood- Not a dud nut but not a top kid? R1,R2 or maybe not to nominate?

Wont go top 10 i wouldnt think. Maybe mid - late first round. That being said his brothers stocks may make him a top 10 option

Hes a gun! Had him in my top 3

Watching him in last years championships it was apparent the kid had a tonne of ability. The footage I have seen of him this year just confirms that. If he was to slide to our pick it would be terrific.

Cale Morton - 192cm - 75Kg - 18.1.90.
Like this kid to! played up forward for most of it, however he is VERY VERY lean. Will need to spend 12 months in the gym to be ready to play senior football. Wasn't muscled off the ball easy, but i think he will be more the athletic Lance Franklin type forward. Loved his pace for a bigman. He gave some pretty impressive second efforts to! Will be a first rounder i would imagine. He has huge upside.

The Franklin comparison is an interesting one. Looks to me like he'll settle in a half back/winger position, where he can rebound and dictate play in a Grant Birchall-sense.

I still have queries.