Potential Draftee Watch - Version 2008

He certainly sounds like a Stephen Wells special - injured during U18 season having had an outstanding junior cv.

Trengove is the other that fits this description.

With Selwood, Ablett, Bartel, Kelly, Prismall all under 24 and Varcoe and Djerkurra both possibly capable of playing midfield roles the addition of Swift would make us pretty powerful for a while yet.

Perhaps a second round pick of Schoenmakers? Tested well at draft camp.[/quote]

Nice, but I'm pretty sure he will go first round (Adelaide hot on his trail)

Rizzo will he last to pick 15 i reckon he may be a top 10 pick. Thoughts.

If he doesn't get snapped up by Adelaide he may fall to our pick. All other top 8 teams are pretty well suited in terms of talls. The Bulldogs are the other threat, however I think they will have to use their first rounder on Ayce Cordy.

Thanks for all this info Rizzo, I have no idea about the draft haha.

No worries mate.

It's finally here. Lots of hard work and nutting out has gone into this list. From what I have seen so far, this is my list of top 30 talent. I have added some others who deserved to be there, yet didn't get a gig.

Rizzo’s top 30 talents of 2008

1. Lewis Johnstone
2. Daniel Rich
3. Hamish Hartlett
4. Steele Sidebottom
5. Jack Watts
6. Nick Suban
7. Jack Ziebell
8. Shaun McKernan
9. Michael Hurley
10. Nathan O’Keefe
11. Matthew DeBoer
12. Nicholas Natanui
13. Mitch Robinson
14. Ranga Edwickirama
15. Matthew Broadbent
16. Jordan Lisle
17. Chris Hall
18. Tyrone Vickery
19. Stephen Hill
20. Ayce Cordy
21. David Zharakis
22. Scott Blessing
23. Mithcell Friall
24. Sam Blease
25. Paul Cahill
26. Clancee Pearce
27. Jamie Sheehan
28. Ryan Shoenmakers
29. Sam Hughes
30. Jarrod Blair

Some others
Chris Yarran
Tom Rockliff
Tom Salter
Tom Lynch
Jordan Roughead
Jordan Jones
Rhys O’Keefe
Tom Scully
Michael Walters
Aaron Cornelius
Kade Klemke

watts wont slip past 4

I didn't say he would. This is who I think the best players are, not where they will go.

I'm doing a phantom draft after trade week.

Rizzo , along with Swift and Trengove another name seems to fit into the Wells type draft selection. Phil Davis. He got a mention in that Emma Quale article so.. have you seen any of him and if so what are your thoughts.

If not here are some thoughts by others , from the thread by Couch Coach :

Phil Davis - (KPF / KPD) 30 August 1990, 192cm 83kg. SA/North Adelaide/St Peter's College

"thesaint: phil davis at st peters is one of the best players in the competition, his ability to play in any position is better than any other, his athletic ability is fantastic for someone that is around 6'5."

"Footballman: phil davis is a fair gun, 2 bad he did his shoulder and is out for 6 months."

"albyplus: The injured Phil Davis from SA would have to be a serious consideration"
"Anonymous: Great call!
Has slipped under the radar which is very understandable as he only played about a half of footy in the Champs against Vic Metro with a shoulder injury. Looked the goods against Watts early in that game as a defender but can certainly be used up forward and even through the midfield even though he stands at about 192cms.
Given his shoulder injury and the strength of this years draft, Id say he might slip to a 2nd round pick but mark my words whoever takes him will have a gem."

"DJ75: Wait for Phil Davis. He will get drafted and due to shoulder injury this year may slip a bit. Before that was a lock for CHB in the State U18 team. Played two reserves games for North and kicked a bag of goals in each game."

"Robbo PAFC: Also SA Forward Phil Davis re-did his shoulder in the game yesterday."

"?? Phillips: Phil Davis (North Adelaide):
“At 193cm he’s very versatile, we can play him in key positions or through the midfield.
“He’s a St Peters boy so will play a bit of college footy as well this year.”"

Rizzo , along with Swift and Trengove another name seems to fit into the Wells type draft selection. Phil Davis. He got a mention in that Emma Quale article so.. have you seen any of him and if so what are your thoughts.

Phil Davis - (KPF / KPD) 30 August 1990, 192cm 83kg. SA/North Adelaide/St Peter's College

"thesaint: phil davis at st peters is one of the best players in the competition, his ability to play in any position is better than any other, his athletic ability is fantastic for someone that is around 6'5."

"Footballman: phil davis is a fair gun, 2 bad he did his shoulder and is out for 6 months."

"albyplus: The injured Phil Davis from SA would have to be a serious consideration"
Has slipped under the radar which is very understandable as he only played about a half of footy in the Champs against Vic Metro with a shoulder injury. Looked the goods against Watts early in that game as a defender but can certainly be used up forward and even through the midfield even though he stands at about 192cms.
Given his shoulder injury and the strength of this years draft, Id say he might slip to a 2nd round pick but mark my words whoever takes him will have a gem."

"DJ75: Wait for Phil Davis. He will get drafted and due to shoulder injury this year may slip a bit. Before that was a lock for CHB in the State U18 team. Played two reserves games for North and kicked a bag of goals in each game."

"Robbo PAFC: Also SA Forward Phil Davis re-did his shoulder in the game yesterday."

“At 193cm he’s very versatile, we can play him in key positions or through the midfield.

Haven't heard much about him, Only in a couple of discussions. Going by what is said there sounds a likely type. Injured players are Wells specialties haha.

Long time reader first time poster here, great thread.

I am looking forward to this draft because as i see it we are almost getting 2 first round picks. The Ranga is nearly as good as a first rounder if not early second add to that pick 15 plus our second rounder at 30 thats 3 picks in the top 30, not bad for a team that has been in the past 2 grannys and not traded much. Now lets just let Wells weave his magic.

Quote in Saturday's Age that Geelong are interested in Tom Swift in the upcoming draft.

Really? I must have missed that. I haven't seen Swift play but he really sounds the goods. I would be pretty happy if the Cats selected him. I really rate Trengove too. I saw a little bit of him last year and he was very impressive as a bottom ager.

All these injured guns could turn out being a God send for the Cats considering it's the last normal draft to cash in on.

I've haven't heard much of this Phil Davis, but he sounds good too. How late could he slip? Geelong third rounder?

Mitch Brown could be a quality late option for Geelong also.

hope someone can answer a couple questions for me (rizzo??)

was RANGA at the draft camp, or does he just not go because of the scholarship program??
has there been any reports from rival teams about ranga, ie - what they think of the kid?

was RANGA at the draft camp, or does he just not go because of the scholarship program??
has there been any reports from rival teams about ranga, ie - what they think of the kid?

To get to the draft camp you need to be nominated by a certain number of clubs (I forget how many, but its more than one), and because we have had Ranga locked up for a couple of years there is no point for other clubs to nominate him. So he wasn't there.

For the same reason, no-one else is really reporting on him either. What we do know is that he was NSW/ACT U18 captain this year, named rover in the All-Australian U18 team, and put in some exceptional performances in the U18 Champs. Seems to be rated anywhere from 10-25 depending on who you ask. Given we can take him with our last pick, even at the arse-end of that range he's a steal.

Looking like we could get some great value at pick 15. I think we could go either tall or small, depending on who's available.

For the talls I'm liking the sound of Trengove, Davis or rizzo's lovechild Lewis Johnston. Maybe Jordan Lisle. Cahill sounds solid too, but I'm thinking there's a good chance he'll be around for our second pick.

For the smalls I reckon Swift, Steven Hill or Sam Blease would be awesome. Swift sounds to me like the Joel Selwood of this draft, so if he slid as far as our pick we should snap him up. And for a line-breaking speed machine I would rather invest in Hill or Blease than go for Lovett from Essendon.

I've seen him in a few games, he is going to be an absolute steal at our 3rd round or last pick. This kid could be an elite midfielder in the future, if he continues to develop.

A few are raving about him, but since he is virtually drafted in the same manner as a father/son, they are not reporting on him. Not worth the effort it seems.

Yes Swift would be a good pick up plays a bit like Joel Corey big atheletic midfielder.

Also Schoenmakers looks very good as well, impressed at the draft camp after having a good championship. Nice left foot kick and moves nicely sidewards for his size.

Rizzo, what do you think of Blease? I've seen him play 3 games for Eastern and he barely got a touch in any of them. Just doesn't seem to get in the right positions on a consistent basis from what I saw.

Are we a chance to pick him up? Shows plenty of potential with his great skills and pace, but does he read the play well enough?

I must state that I thought his final game in the Champs was very impressive.

Rizzo, what do you think of Blease? I've seen him play 3 games for Eastern and he barely got a touch in any of them. Just doesn't seem to get in the right positions on a consistent basis from what I saw.

Are we a chance to pick him up? Shows plenty of potential with his great skills and pace, but does he read the play well enough?

I must state that I thought his final game in the Champs was very impressive.

Be interested to hear your thoughts on Leigh Kitchen (if he played the games you watched).

Sorry mate, I was only looking out for the names I recognised like Renton Blease etc Lol. What number was this Kitchen bloke? I don't recall him sorry.

Don't know his number as I haven't seen him play. Only picked up on him late in the season after I noticed his name appearing regularly in the local rag.

I read that he finished runner-up in Eastern's B+F behind Sloane and ahead of 3rd placing Renton.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/club_info.cgi?c=1-3020-27636-0-0&sID=56106

Write ups on BF state he isn't a great kick but was interested to see if you had noticed anything.

Don't know his number as I haven't seen him play. Only picked up on him late in the season after I noticed his name appearing regularly in the local rag.

I read that he finished runner-up in Eastern's B+F behind Sloane and ahead of 3rd placing Renton.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/club_info.cgi?c=1-3020-27636-0-0&sID=56106

Write ups on BF state he isn't a great kick but was interested to see if you had noticed anything.

Looking back on the results, he did play in the games I saw apparently. In one game he was named best. He is No.35 which sort of rings a bell, but not 100% sure. I've got a feeling he is short??

Sloane was pretty impressive from what I saw of Eastern. Just keeps running. Seems to have reasonable disposal too.

It's finally here. Lots of hard work and nutting out has gone into this list. From what I have seen so far, this is my list of top 30 talent. I have added some others who deserved to be there, yet didn't get a gig.

Rizzo’s top 30 talents of 2008

1. Lewis Johnstone
2. Daniel Rich
3. Hamish Hartlett
4. Steele Sidebottom
5. Jack Watts
6. Nick Suban
7. Jack Ziebell
8. Shaun McKernan
9. Michael Hurley
10. Nathan O’Keefe
11. Matthew DeBoer
12. Nicholas Natanui
13. Mitch Robinson
14. Ranga Edwickirama
15. Matthew Broadbent
16. Jordan Lisle
17. Chris Hall
18. Tyrone Vickery
19. Stephen Hill
20. Ayce Cordy
21. David Zharakis
22. Scott Blessing
23. Mithcell Friall
24. Sam Blease
25. Paul Cahill
26. Clancee Pearce
27. Jamie Sheehan
28. Ryan Shoenmakers
29. Sam Hughes
30. Jarrod Blair

Some others
Chris Yarran
Tom Rockliff
Tom Salter
Tom Lynch
Jordan Roughead
Jordan Jones
Rhys O’Keefe
Tom Scully
Michael Walters
Aaron Cornelius
Kade Klemke

Very interesting to see Scott in there! Do you think he'll get picked up? If so, what round?

Potential Draftee Watch - Version 2008