Potential Draftee Watch - Version 2008

Back from a few days away and was looking forward to reading your effort Rizzo.

Interesting selections and can be rationalized pretty well.

I still reckon that if Swift is available at pick 15 they will take him with the hope that either a Lisle or Post will fall to our second pick. I reckon there is every chance one of them will.

The Egan situation will undoubtedly change our draft strategy but I'm not sure it will be from the first round.

Well here's my six degrees of a seperation:

Mate I lived with for the last couple of years mentioned to me at the start of this year that his cousin was a gun ruckmen entering his final year of TAC, but that he was injured and ergo could do bugger all. I promptly forgot the kids name and assumed he was from up the same way my mate was (ie NSW border).

Well, bumped into said mate today who, with a triumphant grin, asked me if I'd seen the paper today because his gun cousin was in it. Turns out said cousin is in fact none other than J Trengove.

Interesting comment by the Bulldogs today in that they will go tall with their 2nd and 3rd picks which are both before our 2nd pick.

If we are to get a quality tall in this draft we may well have to use our first pick on a Johnston or McKernan (convinced now that Trengove will be gone).

We then could possibly take a James Strauss, Matthew Broadbent or Ash Smith with our second pick.

Just typing while thinking...........

Interesting comment by the Bulldogs today in that they will go tall with their 2nd and 3rd picks which are both before our 2nd pick.

If we are to get a quality tall in this draft we may well have to use our first pick on a Lewis Johnston or McKernan (convinced now that Trengove will be gone).

We then could possibly take a James Strauss, Matthew Broadbent or Ash Smith with our second pick.

Just typing while thinking...........

You're on the money :thumbsu:

These are the two I reckon we should go after

9 days and counting.... I'm already excited, I love the draft! :D

Noticed there was a mini phantom draft in the Herald Sun today (only first two rounds done) and they had us picking up Steele Sidebottom with our first pick, and Nathan O'Keefe with our second.

Like the sound of Jayden Post. Read the summary on him in the Inside Football draft special, and I know their coaches usually talk them up a hell of a lot, but he sounds like a freak, especially having a 35 possession, 18 mark game for a guy 196cm. Do you think a guy like him would be on our radar?

Noticed there was a mini phantom draft in the Herald Sun today (only first two rounds done) and they had us picking up Steele Sidebottom with our first pick, and Nathan O'Keefe with our second.

Like the sound of Jayden Post. Read the summary on him in the Inside Football draft special, and I know their coaches usually talk them up a hell of a lot, but he sounds like a freak, especially having a 35 possession, 18 mark game for a guy 196cm. Do you think a guy like him would be on our radar?

Don't really think that Sidebottom is the type of player we need. Also have doubts that he would have the same impact in senior football. Would prefer to take McKernan if the cards fell as they did in the HS draft.

Don't know enough about Post to make an informed comment. His Youtube video though is impressive!!

Don't really think that Sidebottom is the type of player we need. Also have doubts that he would have the same impact in senior football. Would prefer to take McKernan if the cards fell as they did in the HS draft.

Don't know enough about Post to make an informed comment. His Youtube video though is impressive!!

Got a link to the youtube video?

I think we can pretty much lock in O'Keefe as a cat. We are very interested in him. Don't think we will use a second rounder on him though.

Is that a good thing or bad thing?? I haven't seen much of him at all, although I'm still hopeful Johnstone lasts to pick 15 *fingers crossed*

Is that a good thing or bad thing?? I haven't seen much of him at all, although I'm still hopeful Johnston lasts to pick 15 *fingers crossed*

Mate, I love Lewi as well praying to god we get him! hehe.

Nathan is a gem. Rate him very highly. He came in at number 10 in my to 30 talents ahead of a lot of talent.

FYI:
Rizzo’s top 30 talents of 2008

1. Lewis Johnstone
2. Daniel Rich
3. Hamish Hartlett
4. Steele Sidebottom
5. Jack Watts
6. Nick Suban
7. Jack Ziebell
8. Shaun McKernan
9. Michael Hurley
10. Nathan O’Keefe
11. Matthew DeBoer
12. Nicholas Natanui
13. Mitch Robinson
14. Ranga Edwickirama
15. Matthew Broadbent
16. Jordan Lisle
17. Chris Hall
18. Tyrone Vickery
19. Stephen Hill
20. Ayce Cordy
21. David Zharakis
22. Scott Blessing
23. Mithcell Friall
24. Sam Blease
25. Paul Cahill
26. Clancee Pearce
27. Jamie Sheehan
28. Ryan Shoenmakers
29. Sam Hughes
30. Jarrod Blair

Some others
Chris Yarran
Tom Rockliff
Tom Salter
Tom Lynch
Jordan Roughead
Jordan Jones
Rhys O’Keefe
Tom Scully
Michael Walters
Aaron Cornelius
Kade Klemke

Post definitely would be, based purely on the fact he's a key defender.

I guess the O'Keefe thing looks done and dusted - it's an interesting decision. Replacement for Nablett?

Mate, I love Lewi as well praying to god we get him! hehe.

Nathan is a gem. Rate him very highly. He came in at number 10 in my to 30 talents ahead of a lot of talent.

FYI:
Rizzo’s top 30 talents of 2008

1. Lewis Johnstone
2. Daniel Rich
3. Hamish Hartlett
4. Steele Sidebottom
5. Jack Watts
6. Nick Suban
7. Jack Ziebell
8. Shaun McKernan
9. Michael Hurley
10. Nathan O’Keefe
11. Matthew DeBoer
12. Nicholas Natanui
13. Mitch Robinson
14. Ranga Edwickirama
15. Matthew Broadbent
16. Jordan Lisle
17. Chris Hall
18. Tyrone Vickery
19. Stephen Hill
20. Ayce Cordy
21. David Zharakis
22. Scott Blessing
23. Mithcell Friall
24. Sam Blease
25. Paul Cahill
26. Clancee Pearce
27. Jamie Sheehan
28. Ryan Shoenmakers
29. Sam Hughes
30. Jarrod Blair

Some others
Chris Yarran
Tom Rockliff
Tom Salter
Tom Lynch
Jordan Roughead
Jordan Jones
Rhys O’Keefe
Tom Scully
Michael Walters
Aaron Cornelius
Kade Klemke

If the H/S phantom draft turns out to be spot on the money, that'd mean we'd have 3 of the top 15 talents on your list. :thumbsu:

With two in the top 10 :thumbsu::thumbsu:

While I hope we get Johnston, getting Sidebottom at our pick would be highway robbery. A Selwood esk mistake by the other clubs. The kid has huge amounts of talent.

Perhaps we could have a little comp to see who gets closest to predicting the draft from a cats perspective. We could put 2 scenarios in - 1. Your ideal draft (realistic) and 2. How you think our draft may actually pan out.

Here goes for me:

Ideal Draft:

pick 15 - Jackson Trengove - KPP who can play forward or back - replacement for Egan
pick 33 - James Strauss - Solid HBF who can replace Milburn
pick 39 - Jarrod Post - another project tall KP back with Scarlett/Harley towards the end of their careers
pick 49 - Sam Wright - dynamic, one touch HFF. Adds some creativity and x-factor to the forwardline

Actual Draft:

pick 15 - Tom Swift - gun U16 midfielder - if fit would provide an awesome midfield with Selwood, Ablett, Bartel etc for years
pick 33 - Matthew Broadbent - solid, dependable, versatile backman. Milburn replacement.
pick 39 - Nathan O'Keefe - the KPP of our draft. Good hands. Lots of upside.
pick 49 - Luke Rounds - bottom aged midfielder. Super quick. Will be given time to develop.

Had a bit of a play with some smokey's and tried to find a way to get Johnston..

Here is what I came up with:
1. Melbourne - Jack Watts
2. West Coast Eagles - Nick Natanui
3. Fremantle - Stephen Hill
4. Port Adelaide - Tyrone Vickery
5. Essendon - Daniel Rich
6. Carlton - Michael Hurley
7. Brisbane Lions - Tom Swift
8. Richmond - Shaun McKernan
9. North Melbourne - Jackson Trengrove
10. Adelaide - Hamish Hartlett
11. Collingwood - Steele Sidebottom
12. Sydney - Tom Lynch
13. St Kilda - Jack Zeibell
14. Western Bulldogs (Ayce Cordy – Father/Son)
15. Geelong - Lewis Johnston
16. Hawthorn - Jordan Lisle

Had a bit of a play with some smokey's and tried to find a way to get Johnston..

Here is what I came up with:
1. Melbourne - Jack Watts
2. West Coast Eagles - Nick Natanui
3. Fremantle - Stephen Hill
4. Port Adelaide - Tyrone Vickery
5. Essendon - Daniel Rich
6. Carlton - Michael Hurley
7. Brisbane Lions - Tom Swift
8. Richmond - Shaun McKernan
9. North Melbourne - Jackson Trengrove
10. Adelaide - Hamish Hartlett
11. Collingwood - Steele Sidebottom
12. Sydney - Tom Lynch
13. St Kilda - Jack Zeibell
14. Western Bulldogs (Ayce Cordy – Father/Son)
15. Geelong - Lewis Johnston
16. Hawthorn - Jordan Lisle

Blease and Hill are two that come to mind that I would love to see taken before our pick that would allow one of Johnston/McKernan/Trengove/Swift to fall.

By the way Yarran will almost certainly go top 10 (or before our pick anyway) to help your cause!!

Blease and Hill are two that come to mind that I would love to see taken before our pick that would allow one of Johnston/McKernan/Trengove/Swift to fall.

By the way Yarran will almost certainly go top 10 (or before our pick anyway) to help your cause!!

No doubt about yarran going top 10. I was just having a bit of a play around, putting Swift and Lynch in early. Just to see what would happen.

You could Put Yarran to Rich, McKernan to Syd with Lynch missing the first round (High possibility)

No doubt about yarran going top 10. I was just having a bit of a play around, putting Swift and Lynch in early. Just to see what would happen.

You could Put Yarran to Rich, McKernan to Syd with Lynch missing the first round (High possibility)

I reckon we will end up with a good first pick. We really only need one of Blease or Hill (neither who I want) or anyone else for that matter to go before us for a highly rated player to fall to us. The irony will be if Johnston does fall to pick 15 and they take someone else!!!

Although my opinion changes daily (or hourly!) I think that Swift or McKernan may be the one. Wouldn't be unhappy with that though.

I reckon we will end up with a good first pick. We really only need one of Blease or Hill (neither who I want) or anyone else for that matter to go before us for a highly rated player to fall to us. The irony will be if Johnston does fall to pick 15 and they take someone else!!!
Exactly. There seems to be 14 players that are 1st class. One of these players have to slip to our pick. I think Swift is becoming less likely by the day and Johnston more likely by the day. I think Johnston will be a Swan or a Cat.

I just really hope we don't pick Blease at 15. He is my least favourite of the highly rated players.

IDEAL DRAFT
Pick 15 - Swift/Johnston/Trengove. I would be stoked with any of these 3.
Pick 33 - Ash Smith
Pick 39 - Matthew Broadbent
Pick 49 - Casey Sibosado

ACTUAL DRAFT

Pick 15 - Lewis Johnston. I'm really starting to think that this will be the likely outcome. Going from the latest rumours and drawing up a few scenarios, Johnston to Geelong is looking good. From other teams, he seems to be losing support which is great for us.

Pick 33 - Dan Hanneberry. If we go tall early, I'd assume we'll go with the best midfielder second.

Pick 39 - Nathan O'Keefe. He is the talk of the town at the moment.

Pick 49 - Riley Milne. If they haven't picked a tall defender by this pick, expect Milne to be looked at. Local Jordan Jones could also be considered.

IDEAL

15 - Jackson Trengove (Key Defender/Ruck) - Key Defender/Ruck who missed most of 2008 with injury but was prominent early in the year. Hasn't escaped notice and is said to have a bit of 'go' about him. If recovered, a seriously good get.

33 - Matthew Broadbent (Half Back Flanker/Midfield) - Small-mid sized HB/midfielder, good by both hand and foot. Can find his own ball but can also link up and run the lines. Good thinker. I'm biased but I reckon Broadbent is top 25 material so 33 would be a win.

39 - Paul Cahill (Key Forward) - Quick on the lead, good hands & can get up the ground. Claims he needs to work on his defensive pressure in the forward line which might be a bit of a concern for recuiters in this day and age but I think that is outweighed by what he brings as tall forward.

49 - Luke Shuey (Midfield) - Inside mid with good hands who gets others involved through quick thinking and hitting the target. Good tank and I personally think he is a bit better than 49. So in my humble opinion this would be a great get.

ACTUAL

15 - Aaron Cornelius (Key Forward) - Honestly, I'm not a huge wrap for this kid but I have to footnote that comment with the fact that I haven't seen anything of him this year. Other people rate him pretty highly and that gets him over the line. Is he a Pick 15?? Probably not in my book but I doubt he'll last to Geelong's next pick so best grab him while he is still around. He gives Geelong another solid key forward prospect.

33 - Michael Walters (Small Forward) - A bit of a forgotten man behind team-mates Natanui and Yarren. One of the Swans best in their Colts GF triumph. A small forward who was named in the 2008 AA team after the National Championships this year. A toss up between Walters and Smith (I don't think Smith will last to 39 but I have fudged that pick a bit).

39 - Ashley Smith* (Midfield/Half Back Flanker) - Just a quality footballer. I've been amazed at the lack of buzz around Smith until recently (thanks to the Draft Camp). Seems that a few people have finally cottoned on to how good this guy might just be. Has some speed and is a terrific user of the ball. Has played half-back as well as midfield. Probably won't even last to this pick but if he does, may as well snap him up and send thanks those who passed over him.

49 - Matthew Martin** (Key Defender or Key Forward) - Hardly mentioned but already tipping the scales at close to 100kg this kid could be the replacement for Egan. Played senior footy in the SANFL. 49 might be too high but then again, Geelong needs a defender and this is their last pick in this draft so why not take a chance?

* If Smith is gone (likely) insert Dan Hannebury (midfielder).

** Casey Sibosado to also be considered here

Walters still available at 33 and Smith at 39! Pivot, I would be creaming my pants if that happened. I'd expect both to be gone by pick 25.

There seems to be no love for Cornelius at the moment either. Emma Quayle doesn't seem to rate him and some other reliable media sources also have him down further. I'm starting to think he could well slide to our second pick. He would have to get past the Doggies 2 picks though.

Walters still available at 33 and Smith at 39! Pivot, I would be creaming my pants if that happened. I'd expect both to be gone by pick 25.

There seems to be no love for Cornelius at the moment either. Emma Quayle doesn't seem to rate him and some other reliable media sources also have him down further. I'm starting to think he could well slide to our second pick. He would have to get past the Doggies 2 picks though.

I tend to agree with you regarding Smith and Walters however we all know that some people tend to shy away from the small forwards until a bit later in the draft (Rioli may change that of course) so Walters might slide a bit. Slide to 33 or 39?? Maybe not.

I seriously doubt Smith will be around at 39 - he is too good a prospect but you never know your luck in the big city. Hannebury wouldn't displease me at 39 though.

ideal
15 swift/mckernan these are the two that i like out of the hyped up first rounders, i was also trying to be semi realistic so no trengove
33 cornelius - if he can bulk up a bit might be a handy player, dont know if i would be so keen on him with our first rounder though
39 whole raft of players i'd be happy with here, luke shuey, james straus, rhys okeefe, dayne beams, nick suban. availablility the issue here, possible everyone of these guyts will be gone by here. if one falls just snap them up

49 nathan okeefe - know absolutely nothing about him but word is around here that were keen on him. if wells and co rate him thats good enough for me. put him in the back end of the draft though because i'm hoping we can get some talent with our earlier picks. casey sibsado also if available

actual
15 lewis johnstone / cornelius
33 luke shuey, james straus, rhys okeefe, dayne beams, nick suban
39 nathan okeefe
49 Rhys stanley - alright just changed my mind i think i want him at this pick if available, a lot of people will have a cry because we have enough rucks, but really other than ottens there not all that good, dont know if he will turn out any different but i'd be willing to give him a go

Potential Draftee Watch - Version 2008