Potential list changes for 2011

Re: List changes for 2011

Crows 1st round draft pick(10 or 12) for Travis Varcoe

No way...we are keeping him.

Back to our board stuff, I thought the kids (menzel, taylor hunt, laidler) were all good tonight and should play some senior footy at stages next year.

I think that tonight also showed we do have some talent coming thru - and it is not wishful thinking on Cats fans behalf.

Sure the twos have had bad performances this year - but I believe we will improve with a few less injuries that have robbed the young team of cohesion and some experience.

Next year we just might see the emergence of a couple of players and some further development of other players.

Even if our picks will be high this year - we already have quite a bit to work with by the looks of it. Just need to get some pre-seasons into some of the boys to get a few a bit stronger.

Wells has certainly been a major contributor to our success over the past 4 years and may well be so for another few. We just have gun admin/assistants at the present.

Crows 1st round draft pick(10 or 12) for Travis Varcoe

We got him at 15 and have 3 years development into him. He's just starting to play some really good football. Why would we then trade him?

His brother is also on the list this year.

He's as important to us as Dangerfield is to you guys.

Our team was starting to look too top heavy.
The 3 players that came in this week gave us a little more zip with plenty of run.

Pace is something we can never have enough of at the drafting table

I was hoping we have a go at Bock if Ablett left the club.

Well it has been announced Bock will go the the GC next year.

Now let's keep Ablett.

Dean Cox is the player I'd like to chase. Gun ruckmen would make us unstoppable for a few more years yet.

Good idea - especially of Blake goes - but not sure If Ablett stays we can afford him. And in preference - give me Ablett !

I think if we have a look at the list we have for a moment this is what needs to happen minimum IMO.

We need at least one small forward to come on from Menzel, A. Varcoe or Motlop. Quite possible.

We need at least one midfielder form T. Hunt, Mitch Duncan or Christensen. Quite possible.

We need at least one back man from Drum, Gillies or Laidler. Again quite possible.

Now comes the more hopeful. That Mitch Brown makes it at CHF and Dawson Simpson comes thru to be e decent ruckman.

I do not think we really have any other known genuine prospects - although one could obviously still bob up (like Vardy).

We look a bit short on big men to me. Hard to come by and if Dawson Simpson will not be ready for a while or may not make it Cox from WC maybe an option here.

So with just a bit of luck - we may end up with a quite a competitive team for sometime to come.

A fair bit then relies on Mooney, Scarlett and Ottens staying and playing well. And Hawkins needs to become more consistent - so at least one young decent big man besides Taylor is in the side for sure.

I can see us getting a faster - but smaller side over time if we can't get Brown and Simpson up - or a good tall recruit in the near future.

On TAC Cup Stars (channel 9 1-2.00 pm Sunday) Plough will discuss GFC's list.

Interesting to hear an outsider talk about our drafting over the past few years, who he thinks is on the up and who may go.

News.... sorry if this has been already mentioned.

I saw Mooney on the Sunday Footy Show this morning, and he said he was going to sign on for 1 more season soon.

So take him of the 'possibly retiring this year' list.

Mooney said he was surprised they offered him another contract, and I must say that I am too. Would have thought they'd at least wait until the Ablett dust had settled, but then, maybe behind the scenes it has?

Mooney is great value to me. Much maligned, but lets not forget that he has played well in finals (bar 08 GF!!) and he is continually happy to act in the best interests of the development of the younger brigade - he will gladly step aside should a mitch brown come on leaps and bounds. I would imagine he plays on a minimal dollar contract next year.

I have to admit i take great offense to outsiders criticisms of Mooney - he has a fantastic attitude and has been an integral part of our success.

Mooney is great value to me. Much maligned, but lets not forget that he has played well in finals (bar 08 GF!!) and he is continually happy to act in the best interests of the development of the younger brigade - he will gladly step aside should a mitch brown come on leaps and bounds. I would imagine he plays on a minimal dollar contract next year.

I have to admit i take great offense to outsiders criticisms of Mooney - he has a fantastic attitude and has been an integral part of our success.

Well said!

I was happy to hear it from him, he's up there as a 'spiritual leader' for me.

And although his season this year has been slowish, his body is holding up pretty well - so happy days!

Also keep in mind that Mooney has previously played quite well in defense and in the ruck.

If Mitch Brown does come on next year Mooney could be a handy tall elsewhere.

Wouldnt surprise me if he signed for peanuts either.

You can question his ability but you can't question his heart and attitude, fantastic club man and the team love him.

Agree. His signing is good news as no way is Hawkins or Brown ready to take his role.

Its really should be no surprise if the club resists the temptation of pushing guys like Corey and Rooke out the door, Bomber has a history of loyalty to those that have served him and the club well.

Athough he has never looke brilliant back there , I' m sure he will give Corey a chance in the backline. Also , the way Milburn has played this year , I'd be surprised if he doesn't go around again , likewise the chance of a very unique milestone would be something Bomber would encourage. Rooke is the one who may just not be up to it anymore but look at how long they gave Egan ,can they really push Rooke out so quickly? I doubt it

So , if they can keep the 'names' together by chopping the like of Djekkura and Gamble , I think they will.

Also keep in mind that Mooney has previously played quite well in defense and in the ruck.

If Mitch Brown does come on next year Mooney could be a handy tall elsewhere.

True, although I don't know if at his age he can play either.

If his body holds up it is fair to give him one more year, which makes me definitely think Blake will be battling to get a senior game (given the 5 talls thing) unless Ottens retires at the end of this year.

Good idea - especially of Blake goes - but not sure If Ablett stays we can afford him. And in preference - give me Ablett !

I think if we have a look at the list we have for a moment this is what needs to happen minimum IMO.

We need at least one small forward to come on from Menzel, A. Varcoe or Motlop. Quite possible.

We need at least one midfielder form T. Hunt, Mitch Duncan or Christensen. Quite possible.

We need at least one back man from Drum, Gillies or Laidler. Again quite possible.

Now comes the more hopeful. That Mitch Brown makes it at CHF and Dawson Simpson comes thru to be e decent ruckman.

I do not think we really have any other known genuine prospects - although one could obviously still bob up (like Vardy).

We look a bit short on big men to me. Hard to come by and if Dawson Simpson will not be ready for a while or may not make it Cox from WC maybe an option here.

So with just a bit of luck - we may end up with a quite a competitive team for sometime to come.

A fair bit then relies on Mooney, Scarlett and Ottens staying and playing well. And Hawkins needs to become more consistent - so at least one young decent big man besides Taylor is in the side for sure.

I can see us getting a faster - but smaller side over time if we can't get Brown and Simpson up - or a good tall recruit in the near future.

Very good analysis. The small forwards will be fine so long as Varcoe A and Motlop can stay out of the injury room. We have some good mids who are obviously still young enough (selwood bartel etc) and I can certainly see Taylor Hunt and Varcs playing well on the wings, along with Duncan. We may need to draft one more inside midfielder, assuming the club is planning to get rid of Djerrkura (I'd love to keep him personally). The backs are ok although the jury is still out.

I would agree the rucks are the worry area and I agree with you re Cox. Obviously we would love to get someone younger, but wooing Clark or Leunberger here will be tough, and I reckon there'll be a feeding frenzy around whichever of Jacobs or Hampson Carlton get rid of, so a bidding war would rule us out, and Coxy is indeed still top class.

Personally I'd rather keep Blake, but let's remember keeping him is good, getting a suitable replacement is good, the only untenable situation for the club is to lose him and get no adequate replacement. Therefore I hope what we do, assuming he needs to be re-contracted, is to put the contract offer to him early to avoid a decision being made at the last minute in trade week, where that untenable situation might eventuate because you run out of time to organise said replacement. I know that will be hard because we will want players to focus on playing finals not contracts, but I'm sure Balme is smart enough to be working on a plan to handle it.

I think we should go for Troy Selwood to replace Ling as a tagger.

Djerrkura leaving means we really need to use one of our three picks (assuming we only take 3) on an inside midfielder this year, because while we have heaps of talent, Duncan, Cowan, Christensen, Taylor Hunt etc are all outside midfielders IMO.

I also think it means we need to look at the tagging issue because I believe it's a role Djerrkura could have done-Hogan is the only other option but I don't know if he can build his body up enough for that (Djerrkura is a tank compared to Hoges) so if we can get someone in cheap in trade week who might be able to play that role (not necesarily Troy Selwood, I'm just talking about the concept in general) I think that would be a good idea.

I would agree the rucks are the worry area and I agree with you re Cox.

:confused:

Ottens, Blake, West, Simpson, Vardy. Don't think the Cats are at panic stations just yet.

Brian Cook said on SEN last year that the Cats had a firm policy of not trading for players who were unlikely to play 100 more games.

I know its absolutly not going to happen, just dreaming here. But if Ablett does go I noticed one Matthew Pavlich is unsigned (probably putting the squeeze on freo or weighing up a GC offer).....but get him down here.