Opinion Potting our own players

I used to bag RoJo so hard. Then again in 06 I was young and confused. Now later on I see the role he played, and how important as a cog he was to the elite Eagles midfield. To this day I'm still not afraid to pot our own players. Ebert was my no.1 target, absolutely loathed him and his poor disposal, but I did give him credit where he deserved it.

Think a lot of potters are happy now, with Masten finally gone up that next level to be playing consistent football.

some times reading haters comments on our players pisses me off when they don`t have a good understanding of the game ,never been involved at a footy club or played the game but are armchair experts ..

Same goes with the G.O.B's who haven't played in 30 years and don't understand the new tactics used, like the zone and the press.

"Man up...what are you doing standing in space!?"

Lol.

I'd rather be upfront and honest about our players and their deficiencies than sit back and think the sun shines out of everyone's asses.

There's nothing wrong with always wanting your team to be better, and if that means taking certain players to task, then so be it.

There's a difference about being upfront and honest, you can be that in a measured way, than just potting a player because they're that player. That's what I mean by potting, like the loud mouthed ah behind me who can't stand anything Masten does and tries to get the rest of the group around him to agree with him. Now that doesn't mean I agree with absolutely everything Chris Masten does, but you don't bag them out simply because you don't like their hair or whatever.

Yeah I start doing this when a player makes the same mistake, or starts to create a pattern of stuff ups.
For instance Mackenzie's kicking a couple of years ago. It was after he kicked that ball that Jack intercepted and put through the winner for the Swans in '09 (?) that he was visibly nervous when kicking the ball in a game. Never was a great kick but he was not that bad. I was so annoyed at the coaching staff every time he kicked a clanger (there were quite a few through the rest of '09 + '10). Knew it wasn't his skills but having the confidence to know that every time he kicks the footy he is not costing his team the game.

On RoJo I will put my hand up and say I had quite a bit of annoyance at this guy. I understood the team things he did and the effort, but a pet hate of mine is a player not improving poor foot skills over the course of their career. Some of his kicking (specifically 10 - 12m out in front shot on goal in the '06 prelim) was deplorable and always left me saying "these guys are paid $XXXXXX dollars to kick a piece of leather, at least get that right". Ebert also killed me in this department. It's not that they should all eventually be able to kick like Hurn, but they should get to stage like Glass where they are solid.

Funny the hatred on Masten still exists. People bring their prejudices towards a player and they never change for some people. They hang on every Masten kick and wait for it to miss a target and bag him out, but if he kicks it and hits someone on the tit, the comments usually relate to "how good of a lead was that, even Masten couldn't miss him" or sum such. IMO unless this guy becomes Judd he will play with that through his whole career.

Of current players specific gripes I have are; :D
Mitch Brown needs to play like 100kg KP player, he often does not use his size in marking contests
Matt Priddis needs to stop clearing choppers for take off
Josh Kennedy needs to stop people getting in his head about his twinkletoes
Ash Smith needs to stop looking all Deer in the headlights at some contests
P Giddy has to learn to do better than Rugby punt for distance (he is getting slightly better)

There's a difference about being upfront and honest, you can be that in a measured way, than just potting a player because they're that player. That's what I mean by potting, like the loud mouthed ah behind me who can't stand anything Masten does and tries to get the rest of the group around him to agree with him. Now that doesn't mean I agree with absolutely everything Chris Masten does, but you don't bag them out simply because you don't like their hair or whatever.

Ahh ok. My post above probably isn't the response you were looking for.
The prejudices part maybe is. They have it and they aint gonna change it.

Yeh i think the recent swift debates have made my position on this pretty apparent.

I think it is really irrational and pathetic that people want to "attack" (see the poster above, member since 2007) their own team's players.

The "well, doesnt mean we all have to worship them" justification doesn't really hold either. Being optimistic about a developing player isn't balanced out by proclaiming they will never make it and should be delisted, especially not after being named in the bests.

Some people really try to be part of a group that says 'we told you so', and i guess it's a lot easier to be part of a group of vultures and 'happy to be proven wrong'.
/rant

Happy bye week everyone

Ive got a guy that site behind me at the home games and just yells "move it quickly" all day long. we are in the 3 tier stand and from there you can see the whole ground and how our set ups work, so he should be able to see that sometimes holding up the play to allow players to move forward of the ball is needed, just seems like some people go to the game and criticize all day, why would you go to the footy to hang shit on your own team?????

I won't pot a player unless they deserve it, unfounded potting is just stupid

That's a flawed argument, though.

Supporters only pot players if they think it is deserved. Whether or not they deserve it can not be put down to scientific fact; it's all subjective.

Rarely do I put down our players. Have no issue with just about any of them. Things about the way they play might like Smith's workrate this year, or the fact that Swift still looks like a teenage girl in his 4th year in the system.

I would also like to see Lynch dropped. His form has been abysmal however with Kennedy down and no other replacement in sight, he gets the nod for now.

That's a flawed argument, though.

Supporters only pot players if they think it is deserved. Whether or not they deserve it can not be put down to scientific fact; it's all subjective.
Don't you start talking sense in here thorne89

As others have said it is simply human nature to get upset with your own teams players when things don't go well. What I dislike most is the "supporters" who develop a "set" against a particular player and will NEVER give him any credit when he plays a good game !

In real life sometimes you pot people to bring them back to earth, in the hope they are a little more grounded.

Sometimes after your criticism/advice has taken root the person can really blossom.

Please don't tell me you really believe that potting people actually makes them better people. :confused: You have to do it in a positive manner, not yell them down. Trust me, I coach Y6 football and cricket and as much as some of them annoy/frustrate you, going and telling them they are a spoilt little brat who always gets their own way is not the way to get more out of them.

As others have said it is simply human nature to get upset with your own teams players when things don't go well. What I dislike most is the "supporters" who develop a "set" against a particular player and will NEVER give him any credit when he plays a good game !

:thumbsu: I don't see the point why so many people bagged Swift and Masten last week when they are named in best in the team plus Maten has had a great year so far IMO ok maybe 1-2 off games but he's been great plus you can own up to those games unless you play 15 odd bad games then 7 good ones although you would be dropped if that happened. Who knows what goes through some supporters minds though :p.

Please don't tell me you really believe that potting people actually makes them better people. :confused: You have to do it in a positive manner, not yell them down. Trust me, I coach Y6 football and cricket and as much as some of them annoy/frustrate you, going and telling them they are a spoilt little brat who always gets their own way is not the way to get more out of them.
I will trust you because you coach year 6 football.

Ignore the gist of the post and look at it more as a vehicle for many bad puns.

:thumbsu: I don't see the point why so many people bagged Swift and Masten last week when they are named in best in the team plus Maten has had a great year so far IMO ok maybe 1-2 off games but he's been great plus you can own up to those games unless you play 15 odd bad games then 7 good ones although you would be dropped if that happened. Who knows what goes through some supporters minds though :p.
I think there are some posters who would prefer to see Koby in the side.

Yeah Koby and Swift have been great in the WAFL this year and will be a toss up between them if it comes down to an injury or susp. There will be no easy winner there unless one of them are injured or rotten luck and both are injured. Tom wasn't great today as I went to Leederville Oval and watched the game but you can't have a good game every week unless you're some footy freak player. The skills considering the weather that I saw I was blown away by. Personally I would prefer Koby but him and Tommy have been performing pretty well lately. Swift played a good game I reckon as it was his 1st AFL game this year against Brissie and to be named best in team considering the amount of games he's played this year was actually pretty good but looks like he's not playing against Carlton as he was playing for Claremont.

I will trust you because you coach year 6 football.

Ignore the gist of the post and look at it more as a vehicle for many bad puns.

Sorry D&M, should know you better than that. :oops:

Opinion Potting our own players