Game Day Praccy v GoDeez - every streak starts with a first win -22/2/25-Arden St-10am-hot day

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

I must say people on this thread really need to get a grip it’s a practise game on February 22nd with 36 degree heat. Some people have no idea it’s frustrating. I wish these games Weren’t televised for the simple fact there are to many nuffies commentating on football who just shouldn’t. The real winner is getting kms into to legs, trying different things and no injuries. If you think these players were going at 100 % compared to round 1 your dillusional. Just happens Melb attacked it a diff way. Also for the record GWS lost by 51 pts does that mean they are going to finish last? Get a grip

I must say people on this thread really need to get a grip it’s a practise game on February 22nd with 36 degree heat. Some people have no idea it’s frustrating. I wish these games Weren’t televised for the simple fact there are to many nuffies commentating on football who just shouldn’t. The real winner is getting kms into to legs, trying different things and no injuries. If you think these players were going at 100 % compared to round 1 your dillusional. Just happens Melb attacked it a diff way. Also for the records GWS lost by 51 pts does that mean they are going to finish last? Get a grip you losers
If I could like a post more than once this is the one!

I must say people on this thread really need to get a grip it’s a practise game on February 22nd with 36 degree heat. Some people have no idea it’s frustrating. I wish these games Weren’t televised for the simple fact there are to many nuffies commentating on football who just shouldn’t. The real winner is getting kms into to legs, trying different things and no injuries. If you think these players were going at 100 % compared to round 1 your dillusional. Just happens Melb attacked it a diff way. Also for the record GWS lost by 51 pts does that mean they are going to finish last? Get a grip you losers
Like this minus the ‘losers’ comment.

Up until that last quarter it was ok. I won’t buy in to the our best vs their VFL. I don’t think playing their best team makes us lose by more. Good teams help bring you up to their level. I heard we are still the youngest list in the AFL and as such, we cannot handle any ground that isn’t Marvel under a roof. We aren’t big enough or physical enough. Under the roof at Marvel we will be okay this year. Glass 1/2 full.

Saw some nice things and not so not things.

Umpiring was crap, but hey they need the hitout as well but there times that there was just no flow to a game...whistle and eveyone looks around.

Darling in the forward half takes the heat off Larkey and Zurhaar whilst Konstanty showed some great defensive forward pressure...and Paul Curtis is Paul Curtis - still need a crumber front and centre of these packs if we keep kicking to a contest.

Midfield mix needs to be sorted by round one and, like many have noticed, it's still a one street with a reluctance to run the other way..not as bad as 'North Ball" but that Pickett run was too easy - and when the hell will theses mids just bite the bullet and kick for goal rather than centre it, l know they want to kick it to a person in a better position but man have a ping.

Defensively, that needs to be sorted too and further strengthens my belief that Chom is a marking, leading forward pretending to be a back and the sooner he moves forward the better, Corr's time is limited so is LMac.

Players should be heavily fined for blindly kicking when not under pressure - that is one fault that continues.

Didn't like the last quarter, the team looked like they had enough and wanted to go onto Macaulay Rd and find a Mr. Whippy..didn't like that at all compared to how the Dees ran out the game.

Match practice, high heat, high winds, players playing in different positions but there was some improvements...i think we can all expect a better hitout and what should be close to rd 1 team come the Bunbury game - god help this forum if we lose that!
:handpointup:this!

Like this minus the ‘losers’.
Stating the facts mate. Would you rather sit here on February 23 losing to Melbourne by 8 goals or an acl injury to our number 1 draft pick this year
I know which one one I would take this time of the year. Just go ask a Carlton supporter right now. That’s why I get frustrated reading some of the comments on here

I sometimes feel like we are the boxer that tries to land a punch first, however most of the best boxers are those that counter punch (see Mayweather). We try to get the ball moving and then our forward line is more crowded than a Bunnings carpark, and in goes the long bomb to no one. Once it’s turned over it’s scary how quickly it whips back to the oppos open forward line with plenty of room for their forwards to work in. And bang goal. This has been going on for years, we are legitimately the easiest side to counter punch against. It’s beyond frustrating.

Stating the facts mate. Would you rather sit here on February 23 losing to Melbourne by 8 goals or an acl injury to our number 1 draft pick this year
I know which one one I would take this time of the year. Just go ask a Carlton supporter right now. That’s why I get frustrated reading some of the comments on here
I’m not disagreeing with you overall, I agree, but don’t agree with calling people ‘losers’ because they have a different opinion.

I was busy yesterday and relied on reports here. A bit surprised today when I finally checked who was playing for Melbourne how many names I recognised, I had the impression they rested pretty much all their senior players. More fool me, it might be preseason but a game day thread is what it is - come for extreme opinions, not for sober assessment.

Also, obviously no one talking with confidence about what will happen in round 1 or the season ahead knows how good or bad it will be. Supremely pointless arguments.

Philadelphia 76Ers Basketball GIF

I think my main issue with the performance is… we aren’t exactly a team who can just ‘turn it on’. We haven’t flicked a switch for almost a decade, where we - as supporters and them as a playing group - have confidence where we can say ‘Right, we’re 4 goals down; time to turn up’.

It was a good opportunity for us to play our actual brand of footy and beat an opposition… instead, we kinda got pantsed across most areas of the ground.

Sucks to be honest, and just symbolic of our club atm.

I think my main issue with the performance is… we aren’t exactly a team who can just ‘turn it on’. We haven’t flicked a switch for almost a decade, where we - as supporters and them as a playing group - have confidence where we can say ‘Right, we’re 4 goals down; time to turn up’.

It was a good opportunity for us to play our actual brand of footy and beat an opposition… instead, we kinda got pantsed across most areas of the ground.

Sucks to be honest, and just symbolic of our club atm.
Agree. The last 2 times we saw them against opposition we lost by over a combined 220 points. It would have been nice to not start with another circa 50 point belting.

I must say people on this thread really need to get a grip it’s a practise game on February 22nd with 36 degree heat. Some people have no idea it’s frustrating. I wish these games Weren’t televised for the simple fact there are to many nuffies commentating on football who just shouldn’t. The real winner is getting kms into to legs, trying different things and no injuries. If you think these players were going at 100 % compared to round 1 your dillusional. Just happens Melb attacked it a diff way. Also for the record GWS lost by 51 pts does that mean they are going to finish last? Get a grip you losers
It's just the constant negative results. I was doomsday to... but upon reflection no one else outside this thread is. The media don't care about the result because it's meaningless... is it concerning? Yeh prob until you do realise we shut up shop at 3qtr time and before that had the wind against us double the amount of time and had the better of play. Albeit against vfl... but it's a praccy

After sleeping on it and watching the replay. The players didn’t really take it serious and just used the game as to get some kms in the legs. And is that horrible? Not totally. I see the same mistakes but it’s only because we were in 4th gear.

Like a lot of people have said it makes no difference what form we have in the preseason.

And tbh we had most of our players on the bench in that 4th quarter. No Larkey, LDU etc

I feel a bit better but we have to be able to flick the switch. I am back to backing them in, there is no way Parker etc will allow that slack BS to happen in the real stuff. Same with Caleb and Jy.

Back em in 💙

The problem with this take is, it assumes everything at North was status quo prior to this match.

It wasn't. It was about as far from status quo as you can be and still exist in this competition. Five years of ongoing shit. I don't want to have to wheel out the W/L record again.

GWS:
Function as a normal footy club, with normal peaks and troughs
Have normal fitness standards
Don't see a win as some sort of miracle

We:
Function as a group of individuals that somehow manage to magnify each other's weaknesses on a weekly basis
Have famously poor fitness standards
See a win as some sort of miracle, and are utterly incapable of playing to win a game deep into the fourth quarter

This isn't conjecture, this is observable evidence. With all this in mind, it seems alarmingly likely that GWS' result was the result of coasting and not giving a shit, and that our result was the continuation of a now years-long trend, regardless of whether we were in second gear or not. If we tried harder than we did, and Melbourne had all of their absent stars playing, the result would've been about the same. Because it was the same old weaknesses being exploited.

What you are doing is semi-blindly expecting a turnaround, based on 3/5 of **** all evidence. What many on here are doing is extrapolating from what we already know about this group of players. I think the 'losers' can be excused if they're a little concerned at how little we showed

It was 36 degree heat for melb too but I just posted the same. The players don’t care. They want the real stuff.

The problem with this take is, it assumes everything at North was status quo prior to this match.

It wasn't. It was about as far from status quo as you can be and still exist in this competition. Five years of ongoing shit. I don't want to have to wheel out the W/L record again.

GWS:

We:
Function as a group of individuals that somehow manage to magnify each other's weaknesses on a weekly basis
See a win as some sort of miracle, and are utterly incapable of playing to win a game deep into the fourth quarter

This isn't conjecture, this is observable evidence. With all this in mind, it seems alarmingly likely that GWS' result was the result of coasting and not giving a shit, and that our result was the continuation of a now years-long trend, regardless of whether we were in second gear or not. If we tried harder than we did, and Melbourne had all of their absent stars playing, the result would've been about the same. Because it was the same old weaknesses being exploited.

What you are doing is semi-blindly expecting a turnaround, based on 3/5 of **** all evidence. What many on here are doing is extrapolating from what we already know about this group of players. I think the 'losers' can be excused if they're a little concerned at how little we showed
So north come out this week and beat west coast by 5 goals everyone here will say top 8 bound. Make up your minds. Don’t base a year of 23 rounds off a practise game in February is what I’m trying to say.

If that's what you're trying to say, say it. There's no need for the other stuff.

No, we won't say top 8 bound. But if we lose by three goals, with someone making an effort to rove contests inside 50, players in the forward two thirds who at least attempt to catch their players as they run through the middle, and forwards who lead at the ball instead of calling for the lazy kick, I'll be more than satisfied.

No one is basing anything off one practice match. Those concerned are basing it off five years of absolute uncompetitive crap, and then after what seemed to be a fairly positive pre-season, all of the same bad habits reappearing the first time we play someone in a non-North jumper.

If you want to write it off as just a meaningless hit out that's fine (that's probably the more palatable option), but I think we both know we're not just going to turn it on when the real stuff starts. A team at our level should be taking preseason games seriously and using them to find some form and confidence.

GWS:

We:

This is just absolute perfection.

North media team said he kicked one goal.
I'm sure I counted at least two. One from a mark he didn't drop where Lever let him go and another from 50m after a 50. Maybe the heat got to me...

I was optimistic based on the reports and the pics that we were the fittest we've been in years. Anything from yesterday to be concerned or it was the case of deliberately taking the foot off the gas in the last quarter. Being with teams for 1.5-2 quarters last year was no problem it was what came after that that was.

I gave up on preseason hype a while ago.

12 months of sustained competitive footy is required before I start buying into the future.
F*ck…some of us might be dead before we reach that base camp.

Simply, the club needs to just improve. The cattle are there. The coach (apparently) to get us to improve is there.

Just get it done. We have been pus for more than half a decade. Jesus wept…

I must say people on this thread really need to get a grip it’s a practise game on February 22nd with 36 degree heat. Some people have no idea it’s frustrating. I wish these games Weren’t televised for the simple fact there are to many nuffies commentating on football who just shouldn’t. The real winner is getting kms into to legs, trying different things and no injuries. If you think these players were going at 100 % compared to round 1 your dillusional. Just happens Melb attacked it a diff way. Also for the record GWS lost by 51 pts does that mean they are going to finish last? Get a grip
GWS have a decade of competitive football and deep finals action to justify experiments and trialing things to make adjustments to their game plan.

We have been so spectacularly poor over the last 6-7 seasons, that we in no way have that luxury. The patience is running thin.