Game Day Praccy v GoDeez - every streak starts with a first win -22/2/25-Arden St-10am-hot day

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

I sometimes feel like we are the boxer that tries to land a punch first, however most of the best boxers are those that counter punch (see Mayweather). We try to get the ball moving and then our forward line is more crowded than a Bunnings carpark, and in goes the long bomb to no one. Once it’s turned over it’s scary how quickly it whips back to the oppos open forward line with plenty of room for their forwards to work in. And bang goal. This has been going on for years, we are legitimately the easiest side to counter punch against. It’s beyond frustrating.
That and we get hammered if we lose center bounces.

Seems we have a wider issue of just being punched in the head no matter what.

Surely you’ve got to have a think about if this all worth it for you. I don’t know you personally obviously, but it feels like following North Melbourne makes you miserable, and you’d be better served putting your time and energy into something else that makes you happy. Hoping those close to you are providing this advice.
If following North Melb has given you happiness over the past few years then I suggest you think about whether following a professional sporting team is for you. I hope those close to you are checking up on you from time to time.

I must say people on this thread really need to get a grip it’s a practise game on February 22nd with 36 degree heat. Some people have no idea it’s frustrating. I wish these games Weren’t televised for the simple fact there are to many nuffies commentating on football who just shouldn’t. The real winner is getting kms into to legs, trying different things and no injuries. If you think these players were going at 100 % compared to round 1 your dillusional. Just happens Melb attacked it a diff way. Also for the record GWS lost by 51 pts does that mean they are going to finish last? Get a grip
Anyone comparing us to GWS is the height of Bigfooty nuffiedom - I suggest you get a grip and start to talk to people who can help you understand the game a bit more. Your post is embarrassing.

If following North Melb has given you happiness over the past few years then I suggest you think about whether following a professional sporting team is for you. I hope those close to you are checking up on you from time to time.
Someone in the 'how did you get into supporting the club' thread said they fell in love with the club smack bang in the middle of this era of shite. Masochism of the highest degree, but I respect it greatly

Clarko needs to:
  • drag players who just dump kick and give them a gob full...it really is unacceptable and if you want to talk standards how about creating this one.
  • stop play and scream at his midfield for not running back - our backs get a lot of heat but the only reason why the ball comes back easily is because all these mids just don't track back and it was evident again yesterday.

I thing l wanted to watch closely yesterday against real opposition was how we transitioned from kick outs or that last man in defense, whilst better with Daniel , you know the the oppo is just going to apply a forward press and that second kick still seems to be a long kick down field to either a 2v1 or contest where the spillage seems to favour the oppo because, well, l don't know where are our mids at this time?

LMac..preferred we played Ben Hopkins yesterday unfortunately he's a VFL player - bite the bullet and play Hardeman instead of LMac and Goater instead of Tucker when he gets fit...Luke's been a great servant but he just sits on that ball then decides to just kick it down the line.

5 years of drafting mids certainly has it's advantages but the downside to that is they are all ball hunters, winners or gathers who either get drawn to a contest or goes forward - if there was one take way from yesterdays game was our mids need better work rates...that's not a fitness issue on my mind.

I just don’t understand why you and the other energy vampires don’t create a WhatsApp group or something so you can exist in an echo chamber of misery and dread and allow for more reasonable, balanced dialogue on this forum that takes into account both negatives and positive points of view.

Anyone comparing us to GWS is the height of Bigfooty nuffiedom - I suggest you get a grip and start to talk to people who can help you understand the game a bit more. Your post is embarrassing.
Again another north Melb supporter who is bi polar. It’s a practice match it shouldn’t be televised so people don’t read into it. Wait till round 1 when players are mentally going at it 100 % when the heat is really on. Your reply is embarrassing

I just don’t understand why you and the other energy vampires don’t create a WhatsApp group or something so you can exist in an echo chamber of misery and dread and allow for more reasonable, balanced dialogue on this forum that takes into account both negatives and positive points of view.
Exactly. I’m sick of these “Energy Vampires” and their “Echo Chamber of Misery and Dread” who just keep on repeating how we have finished bottom 2 over the last 5 years. Yeah and? That’s the past. And this past match simulation is akin to a dry root. It ain’t the real thing. These clowns need to get a grip. We played in extreme heat FFS and rested our stars in the last. Why can’t they be more reasoned and balanced. Not sure where this Doom and Gloom comes from. 😵‍💫

Again another north Melb supporter who is bi polar. It’s a practice match it shouldn’t be televised so people don’t read into it. Wait till round 1 when players are mentally going at it 100 % when the heat is really on. Your reply is embarrassing
Embarrassing indeed. And yes don’t televise these games. In fact don’t advertise them. Don’t let anybody know about them. Play these games in secret. Because it’s only a practice match and means nothing. Except when it meant something when we defeated a depleted Collingwood the year previous. Then bang it all over Social Media and promote the club. 😵‍💫

Com'on mate, it should be televised and of course it matters because it's against real opposition.

Granted the score is meaningless to a certain extent, but to supporters they want to see what changes have been made structurally and tactically from last year and from the coaches it's the same view but through different lenses.

In this modern age of very limited match practices against oppositions, it all matters.

After sleeping on it and watching the replay. The players didn’t really take it serious and just used the game as to get some kms in the legs. And is that horrible? Not totally. I see the same mistakes but it’s only because we were in 4th gear.

Like a lot of people have said it makes no difference what form we have in the preseason.

And tbh we had most of our players on the bench in that 4th quarter. No Larkey, LDU etc
I feel a bit better but we have to be able to flick the nswitch. I am back to backing them in, there is no way Parker etc will allow that slack BS to happen in the real stuff. Same with Caleb and Jy.

Back em in 💙
I Dont think they liked it in this game either...

But maybe that was the point? "Hey like/jack/Caleb this is what we've been doing, you'll see it for the last qtr."

And boom. Yeh thats bad "hey coach we can fix it by doing xyz"

Premiership number 5 (or 6 depending on how you're counting)

Here's a thought i find amusing... we smack them yesterday by 10 goals.

Come round 2, Goodwin swings a massive coaching master-stroke and we lose by 16 points... played our hand too early?

Maybe this was going on. Maybe it wasn't.

Maybe it was a match simualtion and we won't know and it doesn't matter lol

Almost everyone posting in this thread has been through 5 years of hell supporting this team but been supportive and backed the club in, how long can we accept the complete lack of care by these players?

I’ll only talk for myself but I’ve taken a back seat in terms of what I am paying attention too.

Too much fluff for too long with no results.

I don’t really care that we lost the scratch match.

Nothing means anything until the dogs game.

If we’re serving up shit like we ended last year there will be vitriol.

I gave up on preseason hype a while ago.

12 months of sustained competitive footy is required before I start buying into the future.
Yep pretty much where I'm at. Let's wait for a decent sample size at the midseason bye of the AFL season.
The concerns for me were that we weren't in front against an under strength Demons team going into the last quarter.
The actual last quarter, playing Maley and Goad you would have expected a bit of a drop off.

The general skill level wasn't great and it really showed that Sheezel, Daniel, Parker, Phillips and Colby are our best kicks.
Powell was a little uncharacteristic with his foot skills, so he's capable of better.
Basically it tells me so far we're likely still a bottom four team and will need to serious improve as the season goes on to start beating those Saints/Dees/Blues/Bombers type teams just above us.

I seriously doubt it’s the case, mainly because confused players or teams with disconnections in their system always look like they’re not trying. And I would say that is the most likely explanation for looking like we weren’t going at 100%.

I will say this though, if either the playing group or the coaching staff think it’s fine to just go out and get some k’s in the legs and not really try against an opposition side (practice game or no), then I’m done with the whole ****ing thing.

Kerch needs to play back again for me with Daniel on HB for run and skill.

LMac & Tucker need to go, would love Hardemann to crack into a spot.
Hardeman definitely needs a crack at some stage, but definitely not at the expense of both Lmac and Tucker.

We need some sort of experience down there so mabye for one, but definitely not for both.

Here's a thought i find amusing... we smack them yesterday by 10 goals.

Come round 2, Goodwin swings a massive coaching master-stroke and we lose by 16 points... played our hand too early?

Maybe this was going on.
Maybe it wasn't.

Maybe it was a match simualtion and we won't know and it doesn't matter lol
Yeah. I'm gonna be in Melbourne for that game so I'm hoping this is true.

Just got to watch the game tonight, couple of things stood out:

Some of the umpiring decisions were diabolical
Putting Goad into the ruck at the start of the last quarter gave them significant momentum. Of all the carry on here about him, he is still a long way off for mine.
I didn’t see much in Konstanty, I think Cooper or Ford offers more personally.
Would have liked to see K Dawson get a run today.

I’m not reading too much into the final score to be honest. They will be there or thereabouts this year.

Suns gone down

Come out and play Energy Vampires

Jimmy Fallon Lol GIF by The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon