Game Day Practice Match up in QLD v the reigning premier

Didn't see any of it as I was getting my live goblin and pirate metal fix at the Gov, what's the TL;DR on this one?

Did Brissie look like they were playing hard? How did we go against their midfield?

I see we came from behind to win at the end, was it a case of practice match cue in the rack, or did we genuinely run the game out better?
Can't stand metal so I'm giving you nothing!

Pedlar wasn’t too bright there , also players up field weren’t organised enough

Fatigue only part of excuse there
Pedlar did his part of what should be a standard entry when you're in red time - straight up the line to keep it locked in boundary side.

Keays just had a brain fade, I think.

Give Milera first chance. He can offer more run rebound ball use than Nankervis which will help our transition game (which is better than our stoppage game). Nankervis is half handy but he more a small who plays tall, good ball in air, good overhead. Ball hits ground, not as good. He average MG, and he not heap dash agile and doesn't scream out handball receive great ball user. If he back, he depth - going left field, I'd even go so far say he could be physically, characteristically trapped - trade. Find develop a better Milera. Let's start getting bit less conservative, bit more ruthless; and list is pretty average. Asking a bit much I know, it's crows. 25 years and counting is no abnormality

Good to see some moemt more fwd half game tonight, some repeat entry. We leaking bit to oppo front half, dont get me wrong i love the counter pulling the trigger transition back half but we may need find bit more Plan B - some clean stoppage, some territory, some front half turnover - some fwd half score. Even if just to find another avenue to goal, be less predictable, for a breather, some situational, some balance etc etc. We can't always heavily lean transition or heaven forbid slingshot shot out the back. Game dictates that generally won't always happen, oppo won't always allow it to happen. Gws, Pies, Cats they got some stoppage (Peatling) or fwd half (Nibbler) stuff. I'd want to see what
Please write less.

There's not enough football to go around for Thilthorpe, Fogarty, Walker and Curtin to all succeed up forward. Someone will get ignored, or end up doing the unrewarded running to clear space for others.

Structure-wise hopefully we encourage Curtin into that mythical high half forward role, pushing up to the stoppages. Because he can actually play, this would become an asset.
My observation last night from the footage I saw, it seemed Thilthorpe played more up the ground, and Walker played deeper in the forward line.

Im not sure big Thilthorpe clears 40+ season goals this season the home and away season, if he plays more up the ground. You have Fogarty and Walker in forward 50 and maybe Cook plays a bit of forward this season.

Thilthorpe was one of the players I noticed looking much fitter this season and added much more muscle.

CBA breakdown

ROB - 25 CBA - 2 Centre Clearances - 2 Stoppage Clearances
Rankine - 21 CBA - 2 Centre Clearances
Crouch - 18 CBA - 2 Centre Clearances - 4 Stoppage Clearances
Dawson - 16 CBA - 1 Centre Clearances - 3 Stoppage Clearances
Peatling - 13 CBA - 3 Centre Clearances - 3 Stoppage Clearances
Soligo - 13 CBA - 1 Centre Clearance
Draper - 12 CBA - 4 Centre Clearances - 1 Stoppage Clearance
Thilthorpe - 6 CBA - 1 Centre Clearance

Peatling and Draper both looking very effective when they attended the centre bounce.

I can't believe some of the social media posts this morning and last night about the way some of our players reacted when the siren went. Josh Worrell copping it a bit too. its just a natural thing to some players. Worrell seems like a competitive player and a passionate player and it showed when he kicked that goal and when the siren went. trial game yes but there were a lot of great signs. some of the turn overs were frustrating and i am still a tad concerned about our KPD's but mids and forward line i am very happy with. No excuses this year.

I like players showing emotion, it shows that they care about their club, their future and especially if your a side that didn't make the Finals last year, every little small win, is a win.

Going into the last quarter last night generally thought the same old Adelaide from the past 2 seasons would bob up. In that , they would be usually OK in tight games for 3 quarters before dropping their baskets in the final quarter. Any win against a reigning premier heading into the main season is a good win.

CBA breakdown

Peatling and Draper both looking very effective when they attended the centre bounce.
I think if anything, I’d slightly lower Rankine’s CBAs and lift Peatling’s and/or Soligo’s. Peatling spent the 4th quarter on the wing and only had the one touch

But the general balance looks good

CBA breakdown

Having fast feet in there is extremely important and being low to the ground

It's social media mate. The place where everyone can share their opinion whether it's insightful or asinine. Totally believe those types of posts.

He is a competitive bloke who shows his emotions. Were they Crow supporters on social media? I'd find that confusing.

On motorola edge 30 pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

I think if anything, I’d slightly lower Rankine’s CBAs and lift Peatling’s and/or Soligo’s. Peatling spent the 4th quarter on the wing and only had the one touch

But the general balance looks good
Peatling was very good. I hadn't seen much of him before but totally impressed. Our other recruits played well. Good signs.

Thought Crouch had a decent game, especially in the first quarter but still think his lack of flexibility is going to catch him out going forward.
What Crouch has this year is genuine pace around him with Rankine, Peatling and Draper. Daws can also spend more time on the outside of the contest so Crouch being THE extractor will have options now and it SHOULD accentuate his strengths rather than him needing to be both an extractor and then an outlet. I suppose what I am saying is although still early days, we finally we look to have better balance in the midfield, something we have not had for years.

Reckon Darcy has him aerially covered.
bit harsh on TT with a few posts here Froggy. Darcy is likely the dominant benchmark contested marking beast - and has considerable reach advantage even over TT - so a pretty harsh comparison

Its like saying Rankine is good but he inst going to be as good as JHF

TT was almost the most dominant forward after a huge injury lay off last year, kicked 3 last week and still showed a decent amount last night

Pedlar did his part of what should be a standard entry when you're in red time - straight up the line to keep it locked in boundary side.

Keays just had a brain fade, I think.
More importantly - we 4, FOUR, tall forwards and the only option was long to Keays????
How?
Terrible set up.

Yeh, bit concerned.
Was my first look at Curtin live and I have to say I was underwhelmed. For a big body he doesn’t attack the contest strongly or early enough and for someone with big wraps on his kicking the few touches he had didn’t hit the mark. Doesn’t offer much by way of pressure. Just one match but hoping for more confidence, presence and ultimately impact from him. Right now if it was him or Draper or him or Nankervis I know where my vote would go.

CBA breakdown

Love those numbers for Peat and Sid. Pretty even mix of CBAs across the board too.

Game Day Practice Match up in QLD v the reigning premier