Social Science Pre-drinking, and techniques within.

• Thread starter Thread starter walshy93

Pre-drinks > Going out. I miss being under 18 and going around to mates' houses every weekend, getting pissed and having fun.
Yeah, it was only last year for me, but I haven't really been there since. Sitting around and drinking and just talking shit was a great part of being in high school. One guy would always throw parties as his mum left town every weekend – persuading your mates to come out despite them having no alcohol, watching your mates desperately texting girls to rock up (I had a girlfriend), and the small things were awesome.

On the other end of the scale: Sitting at home, refreshing Myspace/Facebook with your phone out, with no one going out and no ones house free.

2 shots of OP rum, it's strong and won't bloat the belly or fill me up. No need to over do it.

I'm either at a house party or going out, any longer than an hour pre-drinking and I don't wanna leave. Can't stand some of my mates who pre-drink for 4 HOURS then go straight to the "night club". I'd rather be at a pub or something beforehand.

Pre-drinking is the best part of the night.

6 pack and a few glasses of wine if I'm feeling classy. If not, I get on the Goose (goon and juice). Get drunk, bluff your way past the bouncer and enjoy riding it out the rest of the night without having to buy a single drink. :thumbsu:

Having seriously limited my drinking over the past two years I can tell you there's no bluffing bouncers/hiding their drunken state. People get seriously glassy-eyed when drinking and are constantly looking past people and the only way they get through is if they have girls with them or if they look to be no threat.

Lulz at every one saying how they have a better time drinking at home with friends.

Maybe just do that then?

Doesn't have the same atmosphere. There's a magical ingredient added when people come over for predrinks, knowing they're headed out. It's much more of a quiet night if you have a bunch of friends over for drinks.

Agree with most here that pre-drinking is usually better than going out. Sitting around with your mates, guys or girls, having a few drinks, maybe a few drinking games, watching the footy or cricket or whatever, is the best part. The whole point of clubs, is to dance for a few hours and look to pick up - and let's face it, a good 80-90% suck at trying to pick up. There's usually 1-2 in a group that are good at it, and the rest struggle big time and end up going home about 2am by themselves because the same mate picked up again.

Interesting question, think of one of your better nights out where you've actually gone out, and compare that to one of the better times that you've spent just at a mates house the whole time. They're a little different because we know we never have any attention of going out and they are during the day, but each year we go to the same mates house for both Australia Day and Boxing Day and have a fairly big day, and they are rarely topped throughout the year.

Don't think of it as pre-drinking. You're either drinking or your not. Saturday I started at 10.30am and went through to 4am. About 4 different venues were involved..it's more about who you're drinking with and having fun. Don't over-think it!

Interesting question, think of one of your better nights out where you've actually gone out, and compare that to one of the better times that you've spent just at a mates house the whole time. They're a little different because we know we never have any attention of going out and they are during the day, but each year we go to the same mates house for both Australia Day and Boxing Day and have a fairly big day, and they are rarely topped throughout the year.
To me, going 'out' is more of an event. As lame as it sounds, it's something you think about more. As a student, I'll live off two minute noodles and toast for a week to fund going out. But if I'm sitting around with some FIFA, the footy, two cartons and some mates, I'll blow my money on better food and compromise on the beer side. I dunno.

For people in a city, going out seems like such a chore. I've got about 15 drinking places in the space of 10 minutes travel

Pre-drinks is the most key part of an evening. There's nothing better than the buzz when you know you're about to head out on the rip.

It's all about getting it right there though. I tend to have to take it as it comes, because depending on tiredness I can range between 4-6 cans (.5l), the odd time when I'm really pumped it going much higher. Ideally, pre-drinks gets me into a way where I'm still well on my feet, but genuinely pumped, and you only need 2 or 3 drinks in the place to keep the buzz going. Nothing worse than overdoing it and just feeling a little bit sh*t, while getting sober somewhere is also absolutely horrendous. I'm not a big fan of paying ridiculous prices out in clubs, so the more I can get away with beforehand, the happier I am.

That said, going out without having drank can be pretty enjoyable, because you can just start trolling people and they have absolutely no idea.

A Gin and Tonic and a neat Bourbon before I go out keeps for a good buzz and then I don't need to spend too much on grog when out.

I usually drink a goon sack to myself for pres, saves money and is efficient.

We usually end pre-drinks with a ripper game of Roxanne:

For the uninitiated the game is simple: girls drink on "Roxanne", guys drink on "red light" (or just split up into two teams). Honestly, is there any better way to end pre-drinks than a song about hookers?

As others have said, don't think about it and just have fun.

Smash back a few beers and 3-4 Jagerbombs in the hour or two before we head out. About the right amount imo

I've always thought mixing straight stuff with coke or whatever is the best way. You don't need to go to the toilet as much, and usually by the time it hits you fully you're already inside and shouldn't have much trouble getting in.