Pre Season Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter KTLK

why would you want watts when he was already traded from adelaide to the saints b4 he was delisted. surely 2 clubs wouldnt let a top 20 pick go 4 no reasin

To be fair the Crows didn't want to let him go - he wanted to come back to Victoria. I'm surprised the Saints delisted him. It says he either has injury or attitude problems. The Dogs will probably take a punt on him, I doubt we will.

Kepler Bradley just got delisted from the Bombers. Maybe worth a look at for a role in the backline? He's shown a lot more than Ferguson I suppose and is still rather young. Added height back there? He's also full of mongrel apparently, always getting into tussles at training and whatnot or so I've heard

no doubt bradley will get picked up, he was a top ten pick, i just really really hope it is isnt us. Ugly kick and looks so uncordinated. Watch this years anzac day match and tell me how good u think he is then. One of the worst games by a backman i have ever seen in my life. Having said all this it wouldnt shock me if we did pick him up looking at our current list and shortness in the backline........but i sure dont want him

Mark Johnson has been delisted as well... while there are some *******s being floated around I reckon Johnson still goes alright. Would be worth a glance but not sure if it would be worth it.

well my hatred of mark johson just over rights any type of respect or admiration i have for him as a player. i just cant even watch him with out wanting to punch the t.v. brendon fevola and mark johnson just cant stand either of them

the difference with davey edwards and priddis is that they all dominated the vfl and wafl respectively. davey was the best first year player and tore it up in the vfl, edwards kicked over 100 goals in the vfl and priddis won the wafl b and f by so far it wasnt even close.............no disrespect to valenti but has he ever done anything like any of these guys have?

He was runner up in the JJ liston trophy VFL equivalent to the Brownlow and won the fothergill medal i believe is the BOG award between the state teams. Has had a better year than Davey's year at port melbourne. Worth a go on the rookie list.

If bradley slips thru to pick 3 in the PSD then worth gettin i believe. I doubt however he will last Carlton desperatley need a KP back unless a big name player comes into contract dsipute and may allow carlton or richmond to pick them up. i.e. the nick stevens saga.

Fergus Watts for me.
Is under DB's criteria regarding age, and is another KP player which is what we really need. If DB is such a great teacher of the game as were all being told he is, then a forward line containing Newton at CHF and Watts at FF could dominate for 10 years under hes guidance.
What the????? To say Fergus Watts could be our next full forward for the next 10 years??? He could not get a game at the Saints..... Just cause Dean Bailey is a good teacher of the game you cant turn Sh*t into Gold! Even talking Newton up lets just take baby steps, we are very quick to (MFC Supporters) get sweept away in the next "big thing". For example I think Brad Miller falls under this umbrella, I think he is a good player yet most supporters hate him, Why? cause we thought he was going to be a super star, he is a good player not a star! Lets hope he gets a full season at CHF and not get thrown from end to end each week.

The draft, We do not want to take over Richmond and Carlton reins over the worst drafting of washed up hacks. Jason Cloke, Mark Johnson, Lance Whittnal, Keppler Braddley. We dont need or want any of them! Look at Richmond, Kent Kingsley - Hardly got out on the park, paid for an ankle op, lasted a year and retired. Trebt Knobel - See above. As for Carlton were do I start, Mick Martyn, Mick Maguine, Mick Mansfield, Cain Ackland (3 year deal...ahahah).

Invest in youth not washed up has beens, it never works!!!

What the????? To say Fergus Watts could be our next full forward for the next 10 years??? He could not get a game at the Saints..... Just cause Dean Bailey is a good teacher of the game you cant turn Sh*t into Gold! Even talking Newton up lets just take baby steps, we are very quick to (MFC Supporters) get sweept away in the next "big thing". For example I think Brad Miller falls under this umbrella, I think he is a good player yet most supporters hate him, Why? cause we thought he was going to be a super star, he is a good player not a star! Lets hope he gets a full season at CHF and not get thrown from end to end each week.

The draft, We do not want to take over Richmond and Carlton reins over the worst drafting of washed up hacks. Jason Cloke, Mark Johnson, Lance Whittnal, Keppler Braddley. We dont need or want any of them! Look at Richmond, Kent Kingsley - Hardly got out on the park, paid for an ankle op, lasted a year and retired. Trebt Knobel - See above. As for Carlton were do I start, Mick Martyn, Mick Maguine, Mick Mansfield, Cain Ackland (3 year deal...ahahah).

u make sum good points and i agree with u about things like washed up players and the names u have mentioned along with carlton, but the three points i have highlighted:

1) Fergus watts couldnt get a game at st.kilda?? The saints had reiwoldt, kozi and gherig there the last 2 years watts has been at st.kilda. 3 pretty bloody handy players who would easily slide into melbournes best 22 wouldnt u agree? Watts in some ways remind me of craig bolton from the swans. He couldnt get a crack at brisbane with mal michael, justin leppitch and the scott brothers there, he just needs to be given a chance

2) i personally dont hate miller because i thought he would be great. I just dont like the way he goes about his footy anymore. Seems like he doesnt try or lacks the energy to have a proper go like he used to. I mean 2 or 3 years ago even when he wasnt getting the ball he had an influence on the game. He was hard and uncompromising. He is now a shell of what he used to be and that is what personally frustrates me the most.

3) Invest in youth i agree. But to say watts is a has been is very harsh. He just needs a chance he is only 22 years old. I mean if we can offer both jamar and miller contract extensions surely a guy who was a first round pick is only 22 years old, and hasnt been given a go yet deserves a chance

Deemolish very vaild point you make about Fergus Watts I stand corrected:thumbsu:
I am just gett worried when I see posts about "should we get Lance or Cloke" and people even suggetioning trading for Ryce Shaw!!

Thanks Mate

I did i bit of research into Darren Pfeiffer.. he looks pretty good and young too i think we should target either him or bradley.

Don't get me wrong i still think Kepler Bradley is a dipstick but he might be worth a gamble on, we wouldn't be giving anything up or him.

Either of those two guys will be intersting recruits in the red and blue.

They could be, didnt say that they were certanties.
And wouldnt picking up Watts be investing in youth? as hes only 22.
Look at it this way. GT got him off Adelaide who were reluctant to let him go, and I for one dont consider GT as being a good coach more of a player manager. Where as DB is said to be a very good teaching coach, and might very well get the best out of Watts.

Fergus Watts is much better value than Kepler Bradley. Im very suprised Fergus was delisted though his dad is part of the administration at St.Kilda.

Fergus would be a great addition to our forward line....correct me if im wrong but i think he captained Vic Metro a few years back.