Pre-season Supercoach study...how many hours?

• Thread starter Thread starter larrikan

i planned to do it over coffee this morning...lmao...taking laptop with me...worked on it from 7 pm to 3 am last night with a bottle of red....i have just woken up with Petrenko in my backline....wtf...where did he come from...better have the same rule I have for poker....no drinking and playing...lol
Hilarious.

Boys, how are we all? Don't get me started on *stares blankly* bloody supercoach, right? I just hit 'auto-select' which didn't give me the best team BUT it allowed me to get back to the pile of work on my desk, knowhatimean?

Well if you have a look here - http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/misc.php?do=whoposted&t=680981 you may be able to tell I have the biggest addiction of all. Since I have joined (about 2 weeks ago) I have been averaging 17 posts a day :eek:. I run my own business and I actually told I client I was 'to busy at the moment' just just so I could go back to running my SC team, lol.

I finished in the top 100 in '08 and I was in the top 1000 at about round 14 when I had to stop playing due to family health problems, I still finished 5128th last year.

In '08 I actually got the 4th top score in 1 round, and now I am hungry to be back up there again and get my name in that Herald Sun. :)

I have been averaging 17 posts a day :eek:. I run my own business and I actually told I client I was 'to busy at the moment' just just so I could go back to running my SC team, lol.
:eek: Funny thing is the more time i've spent on my team the more concered i've become about it. :(

Woul've spent about 3-4 hours a day the last week and haven't really acheived anything.

.......so many ways that sentence could have ended. **shudder**

Yeah mate true, true. I know I am the tall poppy syndrome around here and Fodzilla is totally obsessed with me and my team (hey he has great taste, I finished 280 odd last season) but talk about boarderline obsessive! :p

Well I hope you don't like winning then :thumbsu:

Hey mate you might like a copy of my team just like Fodzilla does. Some handy players in the lineup this year and tons of superstars. Will even give you both my trading tips throughout the season as I have been to "Tradeaholics Anonymous" this year to cure my itchy trigger finger! ;)

Truth be hold I did make some ripper trades last season. Off the the top of my head Newman, Grimes, Dal Santo, Mitch Clark, Mcintosh, Riewoldt and O'keefe. Also one of the only few to start off with Broughton on day one when everyone else jumped on him after he played 2 games.

Yes I really am a hack! :thumbsu:

What are you talking about? He's almost a shoe-in for top spot, all I have to do is avoid his inevitable trigger-happy trade blunder and I'll do a Bradbury on him. We'll leave PK floundering in our wake.

Ah yeah, PK who I made chop liver of in the preliminary final last year in Div 7. Not a bad effort beating overall number 2 from a supposed trigger happy trade cowboy hack hey mate?

ROFL! :D:thumbsu:

Now after answering my fan club I'll answer the original question.

Have spent way, way too many hours on dam Supercoach. Work, home, 4am mornings, different formations, to have Duddy Franklin or not to have him, trying to fit GOddard and Mitch Clark in, etc all while my Dreamteam gets 5 mins total of my time and will finish ahead of my Supercoach team like it did last year at 270 odd and it was the same as my Supercoach team bar 3-4 players. LOL :o

I don't want to know.

It'd be a sickeningly high number.

Good to hear iwr. Sounds like youve been keeping your preseason under wraps though looking at your bigfooty posts this season. Just keeping the boys focused on the task at hand? Ps I want to win my pineapple back this year, what say you

It would be upwards of 3 hunge, personally I blame Canada wtf else is there to do here during winter

More than I will ever admit to. Heck, I've been trawling these boards since October.

Wait, 5 months, 30 days a month, couple of hours a day...

Hmm, I'm gunna need to win the prize to break even with the time I've sunk in I reckon. :)

When I started this thread...i already had you, monty & co. in the straightjacket category @ the supercoach anonymous mental facility...it's the borderline junkies who might be able to be saved I was interested in..lol

I am actually amazed at the time spent on this for a) a single $50,000 prize b) a weekly $1000 and c) a car - wtf my new obsession...at least win the fkg car!

When I started this thread...i already had you, monty & co. in the straightjacket category @ the supercoach anonymous mental facility...it's the borderline junkies who might be able to be saved I was interested in..lol

I am actually amazed at the time spent on this for a) a single $50,000 prize b) a weekly $1000 and c) a car - wtf my new obsession...at least win the fkg car!

It's not just the prize though, it's a game and a hobby all rolled up with the sport that I love.

Ticks a lot of boxes. :)

I thought I was bad, you blokes make me look very well behaved. I will have to direct the husband to this thread.
Cheers for that! :D

Pps Anyone else colour coded and broken the sc spreadsheet up into different tabs according to position? Or is it just me....

I'm colour blinded, but great idea...LOL

I have written reminders in my "NOTES" telling me not to sideways trade, only trade on Fridays and to check breakevens etc etc, because I know when the season starts I will want to be trigger happy with my trades like Judd Magic (I love to trade too). It is bordering on obsessive LOL.

F*** the missus, I have been praying for the Lock-Out for several weeks now.

LOL Judd_Magic - I vaguely remember you did a weird trade and then cracked it..was it the Petrenko trade?

GOLD about your priorities and lockout..LOL

i planned to do it over coffee this morning...lmao...taking laptop with me...worked on it from 7 pm to 3 am last night with a bottle of red....i have just woken up with Petrenko in my backline....wtf...

I did the same but with beer (instead of bottle of Red) and (because my eyesight without reading glasses isn't good) I woke up with Fraser instead of Jolly as they are similar price, same team and position...LOL

Well into 3 figures. Easily.

If Supercoach had a little timer to check how long in aggregate you have been logged on, that would be interesting.

Reading this thread is wasting time I could be spending reading other threads for last minute info.

I'm colour blinded, but great idea...LOL

LOL Judd_Magic - I vaguely remember you did a weird trade and then cracked it..was it the Petrenko trade?

GOLD about your priorities and lockout..LOL

Nah it was the infamous Tex Walker for Macaffer trade when it should have been Hentschel for Macaffer.

Both Walker and Hentschel were on my forward bench, I was hungover at work when I made the trade and all I could see was two red, yellow and blue blurs on my forward bench.

For some reason I thought I was trading out Hentschel, didn't even notice the screen where it says do you want to trade out Walker for Macaffer. LOL! That week Walker scores 133 and I thought I had made the worst trade in history. :o

Nowhere near as I'd originally planned, but like a school exam, I'm cramming like a madman.

Feeling satisfied now for all the research with Barlow/Shuey/Bastinac...sorry I dropped Banner after a hammy scare? but I have too many other injury risks although atm pretty happy with how Waters and Malceski did...fairly happy with 2325 beginning after all those hours....lets see how hours of planning for trades go now.