Predict how good will Tomic be...?

Read that article, his agent could possibly be the biggest tool on earth, along with his father, that quote from when they asked ferrero described if perfectly, no way you would not take a practice session from of the best players we've had.

Can't blame Tomic, he might of not even known about it but you really only see this going one way if this kind of crap keeps happening

I've seen the kid play at length - his serve and mobility are his biggest weaknesses, his forehand/backhand are decent enough to suggest that he may threaten the top 50-75.

Any higher than the top 50 and I would be very surprised.

Tomic has no big weapons
His big weapon is his tennis IQ... he's a very very clever kid.... and at 16 your weaknesses are more important than your strengths anyway... and for Tomic the foundation is already there, the court smarts are already there, the booming serve will come, the backhand is already world class, his court movement needs work but find me a junior who's court movement doesn't need work...

Will be an interesting few years following his progress but only a major f*** up along the way will stop Tomic from being an elite player.

Hes not Anglo so he will judged and scrutinised a lot harder.

I dont think it works like that mate. Anglo sportsmen cop just as much from the media as any other.

I really hope John Tomic just f*cks off for a while and lets his kid make some of his own decisions. That incident with the Hewitt camp is just really sad and I can gaurantee you it was his dad's fault. From hearing Bernard speak a little bit and knowing a little bit about his personality it wouldn't have been him.

Without wanting to overhype anything here, I think by the time this guy is about 21 he will be in top 10.

Just a prediction. Very impressive against Cilic.

He has lashed out at the Australian Open officials due to the fact he was forced to play until 2am in the morning.

Fair point to.

But yeah I believe he will be a top 10 player in 4 years

Was very impressed with him last night/morning. He seemed to defend well with his slices so if he can improve his attacking game he should easily be top 20 but hopefully more likely top 10. He has to get rid of his dad asap. But it won't happen and it might hold him back from his top game. His dad just looks angry and was going way over the top when Tomic won a set he needs to chill out.

he didn't need to sook like he did. he came across as bloke who thought he was robbed because he didn't get too play when he wanted to. whenever all the best players cop the a bad draw or bad schedualing. they never sook and complain like he did. they cop it on the chin and move on.

i would be betting his daddy will make a big rant about nothing in the next week or 2 about this

Wrote this on another thread already but oh well, he's privileged to be playing in such a great sporting event full stop, let alone at his age.

Take every match you get to play at that level as an honour and a great opportunity, don't whinge because it's past your bed time. And realise that the media is an enemy if you let them become one, not an outlet. They will take you down just so they can get a good story.

Hang on.

It might have just been 20 seconds of a 10 minute press conference that he discussed the scheduling issue. Just because the media blow it up as "Tomic SLAMS Australian Open Officials" doesn't mean he's having an uber sook.

What I take from his comments is that in his honest opinion, pitting an inexperienced 17 year old against a top 20 player in the world in a game starting at 1030 and finishing beyond 2am is absurd.

I certainly agree with that stance and don't mind him saying it.

Tomic pocketed a cool 31,000 AUD last night for playing tennis until 2am. He has no right to have a sook about his match finishing late.

I would kill to be able to play four hours of tennis and get thirty-one grand afterwards (would not give a s**t if the match started at midnight, 2am, 4am etc.)

Get up Tomic ya baby.

Tomic pocketed a cool 31,000 AUD last night for playing tennis until 2am. He has no right to have a sook about his match finishing late.

I would kill to be able to play four hours of tennis and get thirty-one grand afterwards (would not give a s**t if the match started at midnight, 2am, 4am etc.)

Get up Tomic ya baby.

Hang on.

It might have just been 20 seconds of a 10 minute press conference that he discussed the scheduling issue. Just because the media blow it up as "Tomic SLAMS Australian Open Officials" doesn't mean he's having an uber sook.

What I take from his comments is that in his honest opinion, pitting an inexperienced 17 year old against a top 20 player in the world in a game starting at 1030 and finishing beyond 2am is absurd.

I certainly agree with that stance and don't mind him saying it.

Of course, because he's 17 and an Australian national those responsible for scheduling the tournament should make allowances for him.

He's playing in the men's draw, in an open tournament. He signed up for and agreed to this, and as such, he should be subjected to the same rules/guidelines/scheduling/conditions as every other player in the tournament.

I don't see why he should get any special treatment just because he's the golden child of Australian tennis.

Of course, because he's 17 and an Australian national those responsible for scheduling the tournament should make allowances for him.

He's playing in the men's draw, in an open tournament. He signed up for and agreed to this, and as such, he should be subjected to the same rules/guidelines/scheduling/conditions as every other player in the tournament.

I don't see why he should get any special treatment just because he's the golden child of Australian tennis.

Top post cannons. What does everyone reckon Tomic would've said about the scheduling if he'd won in five?

he is the one who asked for change in match time. he came across as a bloke sooked over the top because he couldn't get his way.

He's an absolute knob, who does he think he is that he can expect to have the tournament scheduled around his every request. Having a cry about playing the night match on centre court? **** off back to the outside courts you piss weak nobody Tomic.

Predict how good will Tomic be...?