Prediction - Gold Coast Suns will fold by end of 2022 season.

I’ve worked with a lot of cane toads over the distance and this holds so true

Every 3rd person goes for the broncos even if they live on the GC/North Queensland
And when they’re winning ( broncos + SoO ) you can’t shut them up , ridiculously obnoxious and massive amounts of insecurity with regards to state pride .

But when things are not so rosy (like now - broncos sh*t/got Smoked in SoO)
They’re quiet as church mice.
- Tho they ll usually then jump on the next winningist thing related to Queensland, no matter how tenuous the link is

For a long time Qld only ever had 1 team for each code, Broncos vs all those teams in nsw, plus losing Origin every year for years. Tended to make Qlders see it as a Qld win whenever they did win. When they lost, then the team made Qld look bad. Which people felt let down by.
In terms of Aussie rules, Qldrs were very aware of how the Bears were viewed by the vics and how much of an after thought they were seen as plus there was the thinking that anything from interstate was garbage 'And who do these Mexicans think they are trying to impose their aerial ping pong??'

This bizarre belief that Qldrs are the "flakiest" sports fans simply doesn't hold true. Never has.

My point is that everyone everywhere is prone to bandwaggoning. Qldrs do not, and never have had, a monopoly on such a thing.

And our terrible pollies are usually a reaction to the 'so open minded their brains fall out' nonsense you see in places like Vic land 😀

Our terrible pollies cater to their audience, a 1950s misogyny and racist utopia group who can't be dragged into the present. That's another story however.

You know what's depressing for Suns fans?

In 2017, they finished 17th but Brisbane finished 18th. Even in 2018, they were neck and neck: Brisbane won 5 games compared to GC winning 4 games.

Look at the turnaround in the years since, with the Lions playing finals 3 years in a row. What enabled the Lions to do that while the Suns have gone nowhere?

Did you even read my post?
Yes.

We don't go in for watching perpetual losing because why would we when we know there can be better ways to spend our time rather than watch a team that stays rubbish for YEARS.
And that's why other states call us flakes.

If it's not from spite because Warwick Capper pissed on your sandcastle when you were holidaying in Surfers as a kid, then I fail to see the appeal of winding up the Suns - especially if you're a fan of a club like St Kilda or North Melbourne. If things are so dire that the AFL turns around the Titanic on their long term plans for growth of the game (because it's an existential threat to the league) then we won't be staying at 18 clubs for long. That road leads to a consolidated league with tight margins and maybe 10 clubs playing - say one in each state outside Victoria, five in Melbourne plus Geelong.
The Warwick Capper stuff is conspicuously specific.

The frustration with the Suns is that they just don't seem to improve. Tons of draft picks and they're still rubbish. It's one game a week that's not worth watching for neutrals. I think a lot of folks may feel the competition is being diminished as a spectacle because of the Suns' presence. I understand the financial imperatives but it's still tedious that they've been so bad for so long.

In 2017, they finished 17th but Brisbane finished 18th. Even in 2018, they were neck and neck: Brisbane won 5 games compared to GC winning 4 games.

Look at the turnaround in the years since, with the Lions playing finals 3 years in a row. What enabled the Lions to do that while the Suns have gone nowhere?
The right coach and off-field staff. And the luck of having Charlie Cameron request a trade home.

If you say so but there's a definite aversion to trying to be like the other states.

Nah, every state contains microcosms in common.

For a long time Qld only ever had 1 team for each code, Broncos vs all those teams in nsw, plus losing Origin every year for years. Tended to make Qlders see it as a Qld win whenever they did win. When they lost, then the team made Qld look bad. Which people felt let down by.
In terms of Aussie rules, Qldrs were very aware of how the Bears were viewed by the vics and how much of an after thought they were seen as plus there was the thinking that anything from interstate was garbage 'And who do these Mexicans think they are trying to impose their aerial ping pong??'

This bizarre belief that Qldrs are the "flakiest" sports fans simply doesn't hold true. Never has.

Eta: There's no insecurity about state Pride in Qld. We know we're better than the rest of yooz :)
And it's a bit rich for westralians to be having a go about Qlds supposed state Pride insecurity when "VICBIAS!!!" is a thing.

At some point the myth that the location of the 17th/18th teams added any real value to the TV rights deal, as opposed to the value the mere existence of those two new teams provided by adding a 9th game did, will eventually be busted. It is laughable to suggest 7/Fox would’ve paid a cent less over the last 5 years if GC/GWS were launched in Tasmania and WA instead (especially after seeing the first 5 years of GC and GWS ratings).

I do think Gold Coast’s future is somewhat more secure than what it was even 6 months ago with SE QLD being awarded the 2032 Olympics, and the plan to use exisiting stadiums for those games. The AFL never misses an opportunity to get their hands on public money, so I wouldn’t put it past them to try and get a piece of that for both Brisbane and GC’s facilities. But if the money provided by the Tasmania govt is threatened if they aren’t provided their own team, the AFL may have no choice to expand to 20 teams. That really wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world as that is the most obvious way to grow the TV rights (especially if a 10 game round includes guaranteed Thursday/Monday night games). A 20th team based in either WA or the NT would also open up other possible sources of government funding (both at state and federal level), especially if there is a heavy indigenous presence in the administration of that team. A 20th team based in the NT would almost surely solve the AFL’s problem with a lack of indigenous coaches.

People really forget how well Gold Coast did at the start.

The Suns averaged crowds of more than 18k at Metricon in their first season. Some of it may have been novelty factor in the first season, but they were getting smashed and still managed impressive crowds. For comparison, GWS has almost 11k for their first season (8k if you take away Canberra games and the opening Sydney derby at ANZ). It shows the support was there.

Fans on the Gold Coast have undergone a decade of heartbreak without any pre-existing success to win over a rusted support base. If the Suns had tasted the finals success of GWS, they could've have been averaging crowds of 20k and the conversation would be around expanding Metricon.

The Suns will taste success some time in the medium future, the crowds will jump on a winner, slowly get rusted on, and this thread will look ridiculous in hindsight.

Add the booming participation, the Suns aren't going anywhere (nor will the Giants).

People really forget how well Gold Coast did at the start.

The Suns averaged crowds of more than 18k at Metricon in their first season. Some of it may have been novelty factor in the first season, but they were getting smashed and still managed impressive crowds. For comparison, GWS has almost 11k for their first season (8k if you take away Canberra games and the opening Sydney derby at ANZ). It shows the support was there.

Fans on the Gold Coast have undergone a decade of heartbreak without any pre-existing success to win over a rusted support base. If the Suns had tasted the finals success of GWS, they could've have been averaging crowds of 20k and the conversation would be around expanding Metricon.

The Suns will taste success some time in the medium future, the crowds will jump on a winner, slowly get rusted on, and this thread will look ridiculous in hindsight.

Add the booming participation, the Suns aren't going anywhere (nor will the Giants).

Seemingly easy to forget their record membership too...

Is a re-branding such a bad idea?

Get rid of the "Suns" and call them the Sharks like they were originally meant to be. Get rid of the McDonalds colours, the lame song and Stewart Dew. Bring some swagger to the football club, a new image.

There is too much failure and misery ingrained into their current image. It's time for a makeover.
My understanding is the AFL chose to start a whole new brand because Southport are a bit like Port Adelaide, in that they were so successful at local level that fans of other Gold Coast-based state league clubs hated them, especially those who grew up playing against their juniors. The seniors at least haven't played against any other Gold Coast clubs (besides the Suns) since 2013, so it's possible the hatred has become dormant, but I'd imagine the juniors are still playing against the other clubs.

Is a re-branding such a bad idea?

Get rid of the "Suns" and call them the Sharks like they were originally meant to be. Get rid of the McDonalds colours, the lame song and Stuart Dew. Bring some swagger to the football club, a new image.

There is too much failure and misery ingrained into their current image. It's time for a makeover.

This is a pretty good idea imo.

The Suns themselves were never the first option - the plan was to transplant North up there and you can see why, at least they'd have the husk of a club and culture to build on.

The Suns have been a failure, but footy itself is booming up there by all accounts.

Rebrand is a good option.

Brisbane have smart experienced football people running there club from the president down to the coach . The suns have tony cochraine Neil Craig and Stuart dew in key positions

in ten years time, the population of the gold coast will be about a million people - same as it was in perth when the eagles started in 1987.
that's a lot of people, so much potential.

Reminds me of some of the logic of playing AFL games in China just because of the billions of people, surely at least some will watch?

But yes you’d think there would be potential to have a sustainable team there.

I think if they’d had the same level of success as Giants the Suns would of got bigger crowds than the Giants have.

Reminds me of some of the logic of playing AFL games in China just because of the billions of people, surely at least some will watch?

But yes you’d think there would be potential to have a sustainable team there.

I think if they’d had the same level of success as Giants the Suns would of got bigger crowds than the Giants have.

We were, in 2014 we were averaging over 16k per game when we were our most successful *sigh*. Giants were averaging under 10k the same year. Brisbane were 19k

Bulldogs, St Kilda and North were all under 25k for comparison.

Yep, agree with a lot of this. I was thinking a few months ago that the Suns should've done what they could to lure both Selwood and Cotchin to the Gold Coast for 2022. They're both the contemporary versions of Luke Hodge going into the Brisbane Lions group. Imagine having those two leaders of men injected into their system of youngsters for a couple of years while they can still compete onfield.

But they didn't, so the best they can hope for now is Charlie Constable and Josh Caddy, instead of their respective club captains.
lol yeah nah, we don't need more diving, sooking flogs bringing drama into our locker room. We had our fill with GAJ and Lynch.

We were, in 2014 we were averaging over 16k per game when we were our most successful *sigh*. Giants were averaging under 10k the same year. Brisbane were 19k

Bulldogs, St Kilda and North were all under 25k for comparison.

And 2019 is the only year GWS crowds have been higher, and that's the year they made the grand final.

To still be getting 11k through a wooden spoon season shows there is already the base there that will show up for anything.

This is a pretty good idea imo.

The Suns themselves were never the first option - the plan was to transplant North up there and you can see why, at least they'd have the husk of a club and culture to build on.

The Suns have been a failure, but footy itself is booming up there by all accounts.

Rebrand is a good option.
It would be magnificently stupid to rebrand them now and chuck out what little history they do have. What would be the point? It will matter very little what their song is or what colours they wear once they get it together on the field. Mucking around with their name and jumper at this point would be to treat their fans like idiots.