U19 Premier 2012

Our thoughts are with last years premiership captain matt Douglas and his much talked about and ongoing battle with fluctuant weight.. Hang in there lovehandles

Good to have you back Mackdaddy! It didnt stop him on the weekend getting in the best knocking off his older borther Josh.

I wish the premiership catain of 2011 all very best for 2012 in getting on top of these problems because if he does he could become a serious force to be wreckoned with.

Back to the 19 premier ccomp.. Xavs v Scotch this weekend. Should be a cracking game. The APS rivalry will continue this weekend down at Stradbroke Park.

Any one want to share any light on players to watch and players to shut down? Give your tip any why?

Purely looking at the recent form guide, Xavs surely start hot favourites.

Winning by 120 and 150 points no matter whoever the teams they played suggests that they are flying.

Scotch form is scratchy it seems, thumped by De La and then accounted for Blacks.

I'm tipping Xavs by 5-6 goals.

Nice to see the Blues get a win over ST Bedes Mentone over the weekend. Always good to have the uni sides up and about.

What's happened to Beaumaris, wheels falling apart. Ok they had a few players missing but only just got over the line against the Blacks.

Round 2

St.Bedes v Uni Blues - Bedes by plenty still 2 weeks left before the uni sides do anything
Blacks v Scotch - See above, plus Blacks are the worst side in Prem 19's
St.Bernards v OM's - OM's have not improved St.B look like they will be ok
Xavs v Fitzroy - Xavs by plenty
Dela v Beaumaris - This could be a cricket score win for Dela based on last weeks results

Round 3

De La Salle Vs St Bedes / Mentone Tigers – Best team in the comp give them the flag now!
University Blues Vs University Blacks – Not sure where Blues fit in but at the end of the day Black are the worst so they pick themselves
St Bernards Vs Beaumaris AFC – Beauy look shot injures, suspension etc. so I’m going with St.Bees
Old Xaverians Vs Old Scotch – Scotch have gone backwards a little this year Xav’s to be runner up in the end!
Fitzroy FC Vs Old Melburnians – They may well improve without old mate coaching and they would only need to be half going to beat OM’s

Round 3

De La Salle Vs St Bedes / Mentone Tigers – Best team in the comp give them the flag now!
University Blues Vs University Blacks – Not sure where Blues fit in but at the end of the day Black are the worst so they pick themselves
St Bernards Vs Beaumaris AFC – Beauy look shot injures, suspension etc. so I’m going with St.Bees
Old Xaverians Vs Old Scotch – Scotch have gone backwards a little this year Xav’s to be runner up in the end!
Fitzroy FC Vs Old Melburnians – They may well improve without old mate coaching and they would only need to be half going to beat OM’s

You've jumped the gun a bit havnt you about calling premiers and runners up.

it is only round 3:footy::footy::footy:

You've jumped the gun a bit havnt you about calling premiers and runners up.

it is only round 3:footy::footy::footy:

So who is even close to these 2? Scotch, Beauy and Mentone have gone backwards and none of the other sides have improved enough if at all?

Happy to say I'm not sure on Mentone maybe better than I think but the result on the weekend is a worry

Agree that it is way to early to make a call after 2 games. Many other factors to be considered - injures, senior calls ups, TAC etc. Nominating De La & Xavs as the pacesetters is hardly going out on a limb. They have been the dominant clubs for the last 3 years.

I really rated St Bedes in the pre season. Heard they had an exceptional group of U17s coming up so not writing them off yet. Beauy look a shell of the team they have been the last 2 years. In each of their 4 years in Premier Division even when they were going well they have been slaughtered at De La. Clearly don’t like travelling. I have said all along to watch out for St Bernards. Good depth and very hard to beat at the pit. Look certain finalists.

BTW for the info of ‘The Great Game’ Hugh Nicho played seniors last week and did very well. A few senior players returning so he may go back to the 19s but it won’t be for long.

Agree that it is way to early to make a call after 2 games. Many other factors to be considered - injures, senior calls ups, TAC etc. Nominating De La & Xavs as the pacesetters is hardly going out on a limb. They have been the dominant clubs for the last 3 years.

I really rated St Bedes in the pre season. Heard they had an exceptional group of U17s coming up so not writing them off yet. Beauy look a shell of the team they have been the last 2 years. In each of their 4 years in Premier Division even when they were going well they have been slaughtered at De La. Clearly don’t like travelling. I have said all along to watch out for St Bernards. Good depth and very hard to beat at the pit. Look certain finalists.

BTW for the info of ‘The Great Game’ Hugh Nicho played seniors last week and did very well. A few senior players returning so he may go back to the 19s but it won’t be for long.

bernards had 6 under 19's in the seniors last week so this just shows the depth they have at the u/19 level

cheats of contests, not accountable, goes in and out of games.

Your entitled to your opinion but my assessment, based on seeing a lot of him over the last few years, is vastly different to yours. I rate him very highly

As a small forward of course he is going to go ‘in and out’ of games. Can’t remember him being beaten too often at U19 level and he was certainly a handful for the Collegians defenders in the seniors on Saturday. Any 19 years old who has achieved what he has already, including playing Premier seniors as an 18 yo, a 19s Premier div flag and a comp B & F deserves some respect. I reckon MUF and RFS would have seen a bit of him. Having coached against him I would value their objective opinion.

Tips for the weekend
De la v st bedes dela to strong at home with the outs for st bedes
uni blues vuni blacks blues in a thumping for mine
st.bernards v Beaumarisbeauy to bounce back in a big way here 2 goal winners
xavs v scotchies xavs by 10 goals
fitzroy v old melbournians melbournians to strong here win by 5 goals

Tips for the weekend
De la v st bedes dela to strong at home with the outs for st bedes
uni blues vuni blacks blues in a thumping for mine
st.bernards v Beaumarisbeauy to bounce back in a big way here 2 goal winners
xavs v scotchies xavs by 10 goals
fitzroy v old melbournians melbournians to strong here win by 5 goals
Chislet you seem to have the inside scoop on the boys down by the bay, who should we look out for this week when they take on bernies at the pitt, we all have heard about the one they call byza, but im intrigued as to who else is turning fins at the sharks

Your entitled to your opinion but my assessment, based on seeing a lot of him over the last few years, is vastly different to yours. I rate him very highly

As a small forward of course he is going to go ‘in and out’ of games. Can’t remember him being beaten too often at U19 level and he was certainly a handful for the Collegians defenders in the seniors on Saturday. Any 19 years old who has achieved what he has already, including playing Premier seniors as an 18 yo, a 19s Premier div flag and a comp B & F deserves some respect. I reckon MUF and RFS would have seen a bit of him. Having coached against him I would value their objective opinion.

Has MUF been found out? poor old muf! time for a new account muf.
While ive got you MUF do you know when the OX captain Cauley Beetham is returning? I've heard he thinks he is a bit of a colt figure down at the Old Xaverians around the club, not just the u19 program. He tells the older blokes what to do and how they can improve. Surely these whispers arnt true. Do you have anything to say OnceAgain ya peanut!:D:D

I simply meant that MUF has a fair idea of whose who in 19 Premier and has been contributing to the board for a few years now. While RFS is quite open about being a coach I have no idea if MUF is a player, coach, official or just an observer. To be honest I dont care either way but still value his opinions.

He (and RFS) contribute more than just slagging off players and clubs and both have very good knowledge about the better players in this grade. Their opinion on Hugh Nicholson would be fair and objective.

Chislet you seem to have the inside scoop on the boys down by the bay, who should we look out for this week when they take on bernies at the pitt, we all have heard about the one they call byza, but im intrigued as to who else is turning fins at the sharks

After playing against them last week, your tall forward wont do much against McLean. And the only players that will trouble are Coghlan and Ballard. But the big worry is Ramanathan

I simply meant that MUF has a fair idea of whose who in 19 Premier and has been contributing to the board for a few years now. While RFS is quite open about being a coach I have no idea if MUF is a player, coach, official or just an observer. To be honest I dont care either way but still value his opinions.

He (and RFS) contribute more than just slagging off players and clubs and both have very good knowledge about the better players in this grade. Their opinion on Hugh Nicholson would be fair and objective.

I hope I haven't been found out! The captain can play... Just needs to get back on the park to show he still has it! No doubt Nicho can play! Annoying little guy though! But if you have a good enough small defender he can struggle just like when Will Ryan cleaned him up in the granny last year!

Tips to come!

tips this week in bold
De La Salle v St Bedes (Bedes losing to blues, dela flogging blues doesnt look pretty for bedes this week)
Blues v Blacks (close one regardless of how they are both faring both teams turn it on for the varsity derby)
Bernards v Beauy (Bernards going to be too good at the snakepit, beauy at 6's and 7's after the dela loss)
Xavs v Scotch (Xavs just too strong, scotch not bad but average in comparison)
Fitzroy v OM's (probably the closest game of the round, OM's to notch their first win for the year)

I hope I haven't been found out! The captain can play... Just needs to get back on the park to show he still has it!

I heard whispers down in the de la change rooms that the only reason that he hasnt is that he cant stop looking at himself in the mirror. Much more worried about his appearance and making sure he is looking his absolute best before he runs out for his first game as the captain!

Disgraceful human being some would say!:p

MUF, stop selling snags so you can make reasonable calls and have good opinons.

I heard whispers down in the de la change rooms that the only reason that he hasnt is that he cant stop looking at himself in the mirror. Much more worried about his appearance and making sure he is looking his absolute best before he runs out for his first game as the captain!

Disgraceful human being some would say!:p

MUF, stop selling snags so you can make reasonable calls and have good opinons.

Haha, you are a funny one TVSTEALER. Loving your work, too many protected species in under 19's.

Considering players can only have 1-3 years of under 19 footy, some re-occurring posters are either coaches, assistant coaches, team managers or guys that are living in the past.

Loving the belting of Beauy last week as well as the suspensions to some of their players. Karma getting them back for being unsportsmanlike week in week out.

Anyway tips:
Blues to beat Blacks
Xavs to beat Scotch
De La to beat St Bedes
St B to beat Beauy
OM's to beat Fitzroy

Tips:

De La Salle vs St Bedes/Mentone - De La to again win at dairy bell... I'd expect a better performance from St Bedes then last week but De La to win by 7-8 goals

Uni Blues vs Uni Blacks - The derby! You could throw the form out the door with these matches! Blues improved massively since round 1 which could be a worry for the rest of the comp! Blues should win by 30

St Bernards vs Beaumaris - I've said it before... The pit will be a very very hard place to get an away win this year! Bernards are back! And at this stage look to be one of the contenders... Beauy have lost the plot since last year it seems! Bernard's by 75+

Old Xaverians vs Old Scotch - You could say its rivalry round! Xavs hate Scotch, Scotch hate Xavs... Enough said! Xavs have been impressive so far and with the home ground advantage should make it 3 from 3! Xavs by 30

Fitzroy vs Old Melburnians - Fitzroy couldn't have asked for a worse week last week with a smashing and their coach walking out on them! OM's should be able to get a win on the board but wouldn't shock to see Fitzroy get up either! OM's in the closest game of the round! Them to get up by less then a goal