A Section Premier 2016

Interesting changes afoot in the Premier thirds too, OT and Carey have complained that OX and SKOB are 'SUPER' powers and should have both of their thirds teams in the top grade. What a wank.

Fair enough for mine. Pool from which some clubs have to draw on is nowhere near as big as those 2 clubs.
Reality is that plenty of blokes would prefer to play senior footy (and rightly so) in lower grades then beat up on weak opposition in the Thirds comp.

It is 3rds after all so does it really matter if SKOBs and OX have both their 3rds side in the same grade. If they are good enough, which they clearly are, and it makes for a more even competition then what’s the problem?

And it seems one club has a monopoly on the elite players BS.

A little off topic, but interesting.

ESSENDON players banned for the 2016 season met today for their first informal training session. We think.

A contingent of the Essendon 34 were expected to get together for a kick this morning, and this could be photographic proof.

A young fan took this photo and sent it to the Herald Sun. It was taken about 11am at the home ground of amateur club St Bernard’s — known as the Snake Pit — in West Essendon.

HS today.

FWIW, i am not referring to posts on here when i talk about Clubs pumping themselves up... i'm talking about players, coaches and club supporters out and about around Melbourne.
In a rush is a troll, registered his account around the time Port Adelaide showed interest in the Big Russian, I'd ignore anything he posts.

As I posted two years ago, Blues were an elite team, however don't underrate how big a loss Watts is. Should be a great year, very close with some elite, elite players coming in the comp.

Uni Blues were elite... Spare me.

Elite teams win A GRADE flags Brian. And elite Clubs win lots of them...

Interesting changes afoot in the Premier thirds too, OT and Carey have complained that OX and SKOB are 'SUPER' powers and should have both of their thirds teams in the top grade. What a wank.

It's common knowledge that OT and OC lack depth beyond their senior team, and based in the spruiking on here SKOB's 4ths probably have half a dozen VAFA Reps and a dozen TAC cup graduates to play with.

If OX and SKOB's player 90-120 are superior to OCs and OTs player 50-70 (which is probably correct) then this makes for a far more competitive Premier Thirds grade.

Whilst I agree that Trinity and Carey's depth is pretty bad and that Xavs and SKOB's are super powers in the VAFA world, I don't think having an a and b team playing in the one section is a good idea. Not for that club or for the opposition.

Please.... It’s Thirds FFS! Does it really matter if their A & B tams (or actually their C & D teams) play against each other?

For some clubs to even field a 3rds is a miracle so would the “superpowers” prefer a competitive game or to play witches hats?

Please.... It’s Thirds FFS! Does it really matter if their A & B tams (or actually their C & D teams) play against each other?

For some clubs to even field a 3rds is a miracle so would the “superpowers” prefer a competitive game or to play witches hats?
Seriously should have maintained the status quo of a vibrant and diverse clubbies comp. A monumental screw up by sholly IMHO

Sorry, but your comments about Strauss leaving Scotch to go to SKOB and what that said about both clubs was in very poor taste. As well as being inaccurate and rumour mongering, I don't think character assassination of an individual and a club, the same club that helped your club with our facilities last year when you had no-where to train, is necessary unless you are prepared to tell everyone in the world who you are.

I also know for a fact, that Josh Cowan turned his nose up at De La Salle after reading your post about him, which again was in very, very poor taste, as believe it or not he was actually going to play at De La! I'm happy to give you his phone number in a PM if you like so you can confirm with him.

Believe it or not, people don't like having their character and integrity bought into question by faceless internet forum posters, where the whole world can read scurrilous rumours. All I have read on here for the last few weeks is $WISSE money, Vitamin money, Strauss offered massive coin, Scotch had Strauss a good job but SKOB got him a better one, Jamar on $120K for a firm in Richmond etc etc, it's all fantasy stuff! It's sad people can just make shit up and other people believe it.

SKOB will run out with the same team from the GF with a couple of additions. Jamar going to Essendon was a massive blow, so in my opinion, anyone who thinks they are A grade flag favourites is delusional. Maybe in 2017 if they are still in Premier.

Rant over.

Scribe, who from SKOB is spruiking SKOB? Your recent posts seem a little odd......

Agree, you go out of your way to not pump up SKOB, but do let us know the ins and outs and happenings at the SKOBBERY.
I think it's clear Scribe just holds a grudge from battles from a bygone forum era. Let's all move on.
Group cuddle.....ahhhhhh.
Back to footy.

Bit of talk on here about depth and talent pools so thought it might be interesting to compare student numbers of the old boys clubs cross the top 3 grades against 2015 finishing positions. I accept that there are many other factors to consider, and don’t claim this to be anything other than a guide so please don’t howl me down.

Of note is that the top 3 ranked clubs/school in 2015 had teams made up almost entirely of ex students, particularly OT and DLS. Additionally OT and De La are completely devoid of what you might call "big names". De La also has spent most of the last 40 years in ‘A’ grade despite being a minnow by comparison to other schools. Fair effort for Carey with a 50/50 co-ed enrolment and small student base by comparison to others to compete in ‘A’ grade and put out 3 senior sides while a huge, primarily all boy school like Haileybury struggles to fill its 2s and found itself in C grade last year?

School size
Haileybury
Caulfield Gr
Wesley (co-ed)
Penleigh & Ess Gr (co-ed)
Xavier
St Kevins
St Bernards
Trinity
Carey (co-ed)
Ivanhoe Gr (co-ed)
Scotch
Melbourne Gr
Therry Penola (co-ed)
Peninsula (co-ed)
St Bedes
Camberwell Gr
Marcellin
Mazenod
De La Salle
Brighton Gr

2015 Finish
St Bernards
Trinity
De La Salle
Xavier
Carey
Wesley
Scotch
St Kevins
Melbourne Gr
St Bedes
Brighton Gr
Mazenod
Caulfield Gr
Haileybury
Marcellin
Ivanhoe Gr
Peninsula Gr
Camberwell Gr
Therry Penola
Penleigh & Ess Gr.

Re Skob, they are developing homegrown talent. Have about 40 lads heading down 2015/2016. Nothing wrong with having as many good ex afl players as well. They have about 200 players. Room for all.
Also makes no difference if you live same suburb or are prepared to drive 2 hours to play and train.
The more bogan other comps become (and they are), the more likely ex afl and vfl players will strut their stuff in our great comp.

^^^^^^
This. I didn't say the spruiking came from SKOB but it's been all about them.

200 players is more than OC and OT combined.

Bit of talk on here about depth and talent pools so thought it might be interesting to compare student numbers of the old boys clubs cross the top 3 grades against 2015 finishing positions. I accept that there are many other factors to consider, and don’t claim this to be anything other than a guide so please don’t howl me down.

Of note is that the top 3 ranked clubs/school in 2015 had teams made up almost entirely of ex students, particularly OT and DLS. Additionally OT and De La are completely devoid of what you might call "big names". De La also has spent most of the last 40 years in ‘A’ grade despite being a minnow by comparison to other schools. Fair effort for Carey with a 50/50 co-ed enrolment and small student base by comparison to others to compete in ‘A’ grade and put out 3 senior sides while a huge, primarily all boy school like Haileybury struggles to fill its 2s and found itself in C grade last year?

School size
Haileybury
Caulfield Gr
Wesley (co-ed)
Xavier
St Kevins
St Bernards
Trinity
Carey (co-ed)
Ivanhoe Gr

Ivan Gr (Co-Ed) Has a big bearing on the number of footballers.

^^^^^^
This. I didn't say the spruiking came from SKOB but it's been all about them.

200 players is more than OC and OT combined.
When they are the rolled gold certainties to take the silverware the thread is bound to be fairly much about them.:eek:

They seem to be taking their time finding a suitable role for Harf. Or have I missed the announcement?

School size
Haileybury
Caulfield Gr
Wesley (co-ed)
Xavier
St Kevins
St Bernards
Trinity
Carey (co-ed)
Ivanhoe Gr (co-ed)
Scotch
Melbourne Gr
Therry Penola (co-ed)
Peninsula (co-ed)
St Bedes
Camberwell Gr
Marcellin
Mazenod
De La Salle
Brighton Gr

2015 Finish
St Bernards
Trinity
De La Salle
Xavier
Carey
Wesley
Scotch
St Kevins
Melbourne Gr
St Bedes
Brighton Gr
Mazenod
Caulfield Gr
Haileybury
Marcellin
Ivanhoe Gr
Peninsula Gr
Camberwell Gr
Therry Penola
Penleigh & Ess Gr.

Interesting read. I thought schools like Melb and Scotch would have bigger numbers than Trinity or Carey.
Nice work De La.

The DOC!
Will he be Doctor Do Little
Or
Will he be around to prescribe the required medicine.
Half full?
Harf empty?
Time will tell....
Like the satire!:) Interesting though. Will he be the conventional coach of the coaches with no or little match day coaching input. Or will he be sitting shoulder-to-shoulder with JE putting in his 10 cents worth?

School size
Haileybury
Caulfield Gr
Wesley (co-ed)
Xavier
St Kevins
St Bernards
Trinity
Carey (co-ed)
Ivanhoe Gr (co-ed)
Scotch
Melbourne Gr
Therry Penola (co-ed)
Peninsula (co-ed)
St Bedes
Camberwell Gr
Marcellin
Mazenod
De La Salle
Brighton Gr

2015 Finish
St Bernards
Trinity
De La Salle
Xavier
Carey
Wesley
Scotch
St Kevins
Melbourne Gr
St Bedes
Brighton Gr
Mazenod
Caulfield Gr
Haileybury
Marcellin
Ivanhoe Gr
Peninsula Gr
Camberwell Gr
Therry Penola
Penleigh & Ess Gr.
Caulfield and Haileybury are very much co-ed, although massive schools in their own right. The issues they have are more geographic than anything else IMO, almost like seperate schools.

Premier Division EDFL Club looking for a practice match 12th of March. The game will consist of 3 Grades, full quarters plus time on and can host

Please PM for more info