A Section Premier 2016

With the Rep games, can anyone advise on how the initial squads are formed for the 19's ??? There seems to be some class players who haven't been included and some lesser likes who have. Is there a criteria or do they just second guess and look at weekly results.
Lots of clubs put forward who they think are their best players.

With the Rep games, can anyone advise on how the initial squads are formed for the 19's ??? There seems to be some class players who haven't been included and some lesser likes who have. Is there a criteria or do they just second guess and look at weekly results.

The final team is generally made up of kids who are playing senior football in A, B & C grade rather than those playing in the 19 competition.

Cant remember anyone from my club in recent years being selected who was not already playing senior football.

De La is certainly building up some steam. Today's win locks them into the top 4 with a healthy percentage and a game an half clear at the top.
With both Blacks & Trinity losing the other 3 spots are up for grabs.

Bye Bye Bernies.
From flag to relegation.
The 2 up and 2 down system certainly keeps all clubs on their toes.

Agree Canada. Bernies have been brave in defeat but seems that the lack of reward for effort has finally impacted. Never in the hunt today and they are gawnnnn. Can’t say I will miss the trip to the pit! One of either Xavs or SKOBs to play finals. Next weeks match up may decide which one.

Seriously good win by the Bellers today. Despite missing some key personnel, including Jake Williams and Ant Forato, they gave Trinity a flogging. Reckon De La have used more in the seniors than most clubs.Trinity looks a bit vulnerable for the first time in a while and I expect they will be out of the 4 by this time next week.

Scribes disappearance has coincided with Trinity's slide. It isn't a coincidence. We need Scribes spruiking back. He had them playing good football. Scribe? Your team needs you.

SKOB v Xavs next week. Winner will be premiers. Big call...but will be seen by all to be a great call in a few months time. Get excited people...

Will the Premier Grand Final be played at Visy Park, Carlton again this year?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Let's hope so Jase. Take away the likely wind out at Elst or Sandy and you are going to get a better game.
Whilst many Catholics are full of wind, not all enjoy it. SKOB and Xavs are coming and Maplebet has a full book. Going to be great 2nd half of the year....

SKOB v Xavs next week. Winner will be premiers. Big call...but will be seen by all to be a great call in a few months time. Get excited people...

Neither of these will win the Flag. Xavs beat Bernies...well who hasnt? (plus they were coming off a loss). Skobs in last kick of the day, hardly a rollicking stream of victories under their belt prior to this "fall over the line" against Blacks...

I think both teams will build strongly in coming months and peak at the right time. We will see.

I cant see how any team is going to peak or "build strongly" when they are playing in 6 inches of mud and slush in the few weeks. Playing at Uni your in a foot of the stuff....Its going to be a slog to the line....tired and weary legs all round. Both teams middle of ladder, not showing a lot.

There are four better teams above them...

I cant see how any team is going to peak or "build strongly" when they are playing in 6 inches of mud and slush in the few weeks. Playing at Uni your in a foot of the stuff....Its going to be a slog to the line....tired and weary legs all round. Both teams middle of ladder, not showing a lot.

There are four better teams above them...
Who are the four better teams you mention?

You've been saying SKOB are no good all year, have won 5 of their last 6 and lost one game by a point. Had no bench before half time on the weekend and played without the State ruckman in Jones, Williams, Bail and Strauss. Have Dowd, Matheson and a couple of other premiership players also training who have had long term injuries. Have beaten Uni Blacks twice, the same Blacks people were raving about up until Saturday. SKOB were in front most of the day, 25 scoring shots to 18 against a Blacks team with all of their guns playing.

Old Xavs have gotten some very good players back on the last couple of weeks, had Jordan Kelly play on the weekend(probably his only game) and had Kennedy back in. They also had Darvell play in the two's on Saturday. They smashed St Bernards who have been very competitive in all of their games until the weekend. They also have Shaw to come back in soon.

The bigger story is St Bernards, from Premiership heroes to zero. Very unlucky, as I said above have not been smashed in any games ala Carey. With a little luck they would be 3-7 and still in it but realistically they have to win 6 of their last 8 to have a chance of survival, which is very unlikely. They will go to B grade with two sensational players in the Hughes twins, let's hope for their sake they stick around.

De La massively underrated here, amazing team considering they have one player over 6 ft 3. Not sure they can win a flag on a warm spring day against teams with big KPP's, but going everything right.

OT will be lucky to win another game, Carey may even beat them the way they are going.

You've been saying SKOB are no good all year, have won 5 of their last 6 and lost one game by a point. Had no bench before half time on the weekend and played without the State ruckman in Jones, Williams, Bail and Strauss. Have Dowd, Matheson and a couple of other premiership players also training who have had long term injuries. Have beaten Uni Blacks twice, the same Blacks people were raving about up until Saturday. SKOB were in front most of the day, 25 scoring shots to 18 against a Blacks team with all of their guns playing.

Old Xavs have gotten some very good players back on the last couple of weeks, had Jordan Kelly play on the weekend(probably his only game) and had Kennedy back in. They also had Darvell play in the two's on Saturday. They smashed St Bernards who have been very competitive in all of their games until the weekend. They also have Shaw to come back in soon.

The bigger story is St Bernards, from Premiership heroes to zero. Very unlucky, as I said above have not been smashed in any games ala Carey. With a little luck they would be 3-7 and still in it but realistically they have to win 6 of their last 8 to have a chance of survival, which is very unlikely. They will go to B grade with two sensational players in the Hughes twins, let's hope for their sake they stick around.

De La massively underrated here, amazing team considering they have one player over 6 ft 3. Not sure they can win a flag on a warm spring day against teams with big KPP's, but going everything right.

OT will be lucky to win another game, Carey may even beat them the way they are going.
Have it on very good authority that Blacks were missing two of their best on the weekend BS. Was also told that blacks bench was non existent in the 2nd half. Not to take anything away from St Kevins win, but would you mind going easy on the mayo? Even contest between two very even teams.

Not true, Blacks had three players on the bench in the last Q and were rotating. If Blacks had two missing that's pretty good considering most teams have 6 of their best out each week.

First of all look at the ladder....

Please spare us all, "if so and so" were playing "so and so" would have won. And there "bench" was empty at half time and were unlucky in defeat..

Drop this crap. This line of "why or why not" goes on every week with every team, thats footy...

Look at the facts : Both are ahead of Collegians on % only and by the way, Colls have beaten both of them. With your logic, Colls would be
right up there as well....which clearly they wont happen. But hey, thats why the Ammo comp is good, so many twists and turns....

But if I am going to concede something, Skobs will be above Xavs in the end...

First of all look at the ladder....

Please spare us all, "if so and so" were playing "so and so" would have won. And there "bench" was empty at half time and were unlucky in defeat..

Drop this crap. This line of "why or why not" goes on every week with every team, thats footy...

Look at the facts : Both are ahead of Collegians on % only and by the way, Colls have beaten both of them. With your logic, Colls would be
right up there as well....which clearly they wont happen. But hey, thats why the Ammo comp is good, so many twists and turns....

But if I am going to concede something, Skobs will be above Xavs in the end...
So who do you think are the four best teams?

At the moment, De La, UBlues, UB, OM's. I will concede Skobs to make Finals in 4th place.... Xavs and Trinity to miss out.

Colls to stay up, just. Bernies and OC....Gonsky...
I'd be happy to play Blacks, who we have beaten twice, and OM's. Let's remember Blacks beat OM's by 80 points last week, and OM's have already played Carey twice. However, they have had an outstanding season so far, and deserve the plaudits they are receiving.
Personally I think Blues and De La if fully fit are the two best teams at the moment.

I'm happy to sit back and watch this stoush. Agree a little with both of you.
Trinity do look gone. Xavs touched them up pretty easily at the Daley a few weeks back.
By peaking, I mean finally getting a strong side on the park and playing your best footy. Whether that be in the mud or not. Both Xavs and SKOBS lists will start to improve. Maybe a little too late for one of them as you will need 11 or 12 wins, but I'm happy to predict one of these two will end up premiers.
It's only a bit of fun. A prediction. De La deserve favouritsm, but I like the outsiders at the moment.

Not true, Blacks had three players on the bench in the last Q and were rotating. If Blacks had two missing that's pretty good considering most teams have 6 of their best out each week.
Two guns. Like every single club out there, there's far more out of the Blacks side than that, it's just that every other poster here doesn't roll every injured player off as a "gun". Most of the blokes you listed play good premier footy, as for being "guns", give it a rest.

Also Brian, when you're speaking of injured "premiership" players in this the A grade forum, would be worth clarifying that they're B grade premiership players.

I'm happy to sit back and watch this stoush. Agree a little with both of you.
Trinity do look gone. Xavs touched them up pretty easily at the Daley a few weeks back.
By peaking, I mean finally getting a strong side on the park and playing your best footy. Whether that be in the mud or not. Both Xavs and SKOBS lists will start to improve. Maybe a little too late for one of them as you will need 11 or 12 wins, but I'm happy to predict one of these two will end up premiers.
It's only a bit of fun. A prediction. De La deserve favourrism, but I like the outsiders at the moment.
Canada, how's the great Beaser going? Was a ripper when he coached at SKOB, a legendary bloke.

Also Brian, when you're speaking of injured "premiership" players in this the A grade forum, would be worth clarifying that they're B grade premiership players.
Silly comment DD, by your reckoning an A grade premiership player is a nobody when compared to Steve Gilham, who is an AFL premiership player.