A Section Premier 2016

Of course you heard that, but again, go and watch the tape. Gossy picked the wrong target when he thought he could walk at Strauss and give him a hip and shoulder front on for no reason. All Strauss did was throw him to the ground then walk off. If you watched the miscalculation by our player who made contact with Johnsons shoulder, you surely would have seen Goss attack Strauss. The Xavier blokes should know better than to start fights that they can't finish.
The OX runner was an absolute flog, lucky he didn't lose his front teeth.
If you hadn't left at half time you would have seen it all unfold.

If you belonged to my Club Briza I would cringe.
You do your club no favours here, condoning violence.

If you watched the miscalculation by our player who made contact with Johnsons shoulder, you surely would have seen Goss attack Strauss.

VAFA include shoulders in the same light as the head. Front on bump to either is considered very serious.

As for flog of the year. Last year I watched Goss try to beat up an 19 yo. When he realised that his feeble attempts to bully his opponent he feigned an injury and sat out the rest of the game.

This following video reminds me of what the St.Kevins lad did to Goss.

Max "Life of Brian" Leader

I have no affiliation with either team, just have one mate that plays for Xavs and the ground is close to home
- the hit on Johnston was bad, no excuse, stkobs fella ran past the pill and hit him with his head down, I was surprised Tomi got up to be honest, also have no idea how it wasn't a 25m penalty.
- aside from that there was a lot of feeling in the game but nothing that would be considered dirty or even beyond the norm between two teams with l, what I got the impression was a lot of history. In reality aside from the remonstrations to the hit mentioned above it was fairly well behaved (mind you I came from EFL and SFL where it's a lot less gentlemanly than the VAFA)
- I didn't actually know who Strauss was but Jesus did the crowd give him plenty all day. I had to ask my mate later on what that was all about.

It was a little bit cryptic, but Goss was the person thrown to the ground "woughly".

Max "People Republic of Judiah" Leader

Silly me - I thought he was the one they nicknamed "Biggus Dickus" at Old Xavs (titter, giggle)

I have no affiliation with either team, just have one mate that plays for Xavs and the ground is close to home
- the hit on Johnston was bad, no excuse, stkobs fella ran past the pill and hit him with his head down, I was surprised Tomi got up to be honest, also have no idea how it wasn't a 25m penalty.
- aside from that there was a lot of feeling in the game but nothing that would be considered dirty or even beyond the norm between two teams with l, what I got the impression was a lot of history. In reality aside from the remonstrations to the hit mentioned above it was fairly well behaved (mind you I came from EFL and SFL where it's a lot less gentlemanly than the VAFA)
- I didn't actually know who Strauss was but Jesus did the crowd give him plenty all day. I had to ask my mate later on what that was all about.
Phant, what did the quality of the game look like compared to those other leagues - remembering this is a mid-table Premier A game? It seemed to me Xavs were a class above SKOBS.

On the first point, better. VAFA Premier has always been the best comp in metro melb for mine. SFL Div 1 always had its stars but even the best teams dropped away quickly from the top 5 players onward. EFL fluctuates wildly, top teams are stacked with talent but never seem have alot of chemistry, these two sides on their day would give any team in EFL div 1 headaches (although Balwyn of 5-6 years ago was just stupidly good).

Xavs were better but when the big FF (Handley i think?) doesn't clunk them (and fair play to StKobs fullback who niggled and held and negated him all day in the best possible way all day) they look a bit lost going forward. At halftime aside from missing alot of shots Xavs also seemed to have no real structure going inside 50 and StKobs honestly looked alot more dangerous when they could get the footy forward of centre.

Brian, it's time for you to take a break. By their (most likely involuntary) association with you, you are making SKOBS blokes look like flogs. Invariably, they are nice fellows. Your idiocy taints them with a brush they don't deserve.

You Catholic brothers.........for heavens sake take a step back. I can feel the punches coming from here.
Lucky there are no "Protos" adding their "sixpeneth worth..........

Back to the game..............

Would agree FF. Collegians very impressive Saturday but most of the credit should go to the players. Stakes were high and they played accordingly. Looking at some of names they have on their list I’m not sure why there were questions marks against them anyway. De La outplayed for all but 10 minutes but still only a goal in it deep in the last. Despite the result I would still fancy the bellers on a neutral venue with a reasonable deck.

Speaking of the deck - WTF is the go with Harry Trott at the moment? Rivals the Uni main circa 2012. Obviously the Lions have adapted very well but it must be taxing training and playing on that.

Being a Coll supporter, I am inclined to agree with you...flat drier deck De La may have prevailed with their running game. Looking good for Colls in "17". Fab Coach with younger talent coming on in leaps and bounds.....
Not only did they have the rain, but I think there was a piping / plumbing issue underneath in a pocket. Parks Vic issue, so it will never be fixed.

Being a Coll supporter, I am inclined to agree with you...flat drier deck De La may have prevailed with their running game. Looking good for Colls in "17". Fab Coach with younger talent coming on in leaps and bounds.....
Not only did they have the rain, but I think there was a piping / plumbing issue underneath in a pocket. Parks Vic issue, so it will never be fixed.
Quite right on Parks Vic down there, they make local council look good.

Ok, so Round 11 is effectively moving day.

While percentage would ordinarily play a big part, it probably goes out of the window with two teams lurking at the bottom of the 4 with a draw for the time being.

Blues win again this weekend with interest.
De la likely put paid to Colls finals hope.
Blacks to skip half a game ahead of the OT's
OM's to hang in the 4 for another week
Skob to hop the xavs at the school. (Winner can play finals, loser can't)

Ladder post weekend if I pick 5.

DE LA - 36
UBlu - 32
OM - 30
UBLa - 28
OT - 26
STK - 24
OX - 20
COLL - 20

Well it never plays out like you think it will. Collegians, what a great win. OT's seem gone. Good on the bernies for showing some fight, I think the OM's might too be running out of steam. Xavs keep their season alive by outplaying the Skob.

You'd expect Xavs to be too strong for OM's this week and continue to slide like the Kangas.
Skob to make up some more percentage but with the teams ahead of them still to play carey, will fall of deaf ears.
Blacks v De La in a mudwrestle. Blacks only because they are used to it.
Collegians with the momentum over OT's.
Blues to keep humming along out at the Pit.

To buy in to the Strauss fiasco. He has a history of cheap shots and is somewhat consistent in previous viewings for him to get a little punchy when the chips were down. If he played hard football you might be able to cop some of that, but he doesn't. Completely bruise free.

Well it never plays out like you think it will. Collegians, what a great win. OT's seem gone. Good on the bernies for showing some fight, I think the OM's might too be running out of steam. Xavs keep their season alive by outplaying the Skob.

You'd expect Xavs to be too strong for OM's this week and continue to slide like the Kangas.
Skob to make up some more percentage but with the teams ahead of them still to play carey, will fall of deaf ears.
Blacks v De La in a mudwrestle. Blacks only because they are used to it.
Collegians with the momentum over OT's.
Blues to keep humming along out at the Pit.

To buy in to the Strauss fiasco. He has a history of cheap shots and is somewhat consistent in previous viewings for him to get a little punchy when the chips were down. If he played hard football you might be able to cop some of that, but he doesn't. Completely bruise free.

Agree 100% with R. Man on his selections. The Strauss issue? Dont know much about his playing history other than what some of his OS team mates
said of him. "A very attractive downhill skier, but wont get hurt while doing it". OS wont have him back regardless............

Round 12 games ranked in order of personal interest (tough splitting 3 of them)

1;Blacks v De La
2; OMs v Xavs
3; OT v Collegians
4; St.Bernards v Blues
5; SKOBS v Carey.

Round 12 games ranked in order of personal interest (tough splitting 3 of them)

1;Blacks v De La
2; OMs v Xavs
3; OT v Collegians
4; St.Bernards v Blues
5; SKOBS v Carey.

Great games other than SKOB % booster.
Tipping Snowdogs, blacks, Trinity and Claret and Stout/Xavier Nation.
Cheers Fitzy...

SKOB's player got 5.
Interesting that no individual Xavs players were cited. Says something.

WzY1X4d.jpg

Not sure it says much AM.
Apart from the reportable incident, the hoo haa afterwards was pretty low key (apart from the obvious Xavier physical dominance and manliness)

If you watched the miscalculation by our player who made contact with Johnsons shoulder, you surely would have seen Goss attack

5 weeks for a "miscalculated shoulder contact".

Thug.

Keep walking mate.

Last edited by a moderator:
5 weeks for a "miscalculated shoulder contact".

Thug.

Keep walking mate.

Dear moderators - I only re-used the word m*r*n (which you deleted) as it was used initially by this kind and generous poster at #1920 (in reference to me). It's still there in his post if you care to check.

He does it all the time.

Very fair assessment of the day's play. I honestly don't understand how anyone could defend the hit on Johnston, the penalty was fair and definitely not a miscalculation. Just a shame that a second red card was shown later in the game.