A Section Premier 2016

I seem to recall Edwards coming unstuck a few years back for social activities that extended beyond having a few quiet sherbets!

Kicked a heap of goals for Pines last year so if true he will be real handful for ‘A’ grade defenders. Also means Chopper gets the second best defender, which is also a scary thought.

Xavs usually not shy in announcing new arrivals and this has not yet been published on their usual social media outlets yet. How good is the mail FF?

Rooster, Im pretty confident with my source........Be a good get footy wise. As a bloke???? not a great track record..

Why would a former SA player with plenty still to offer and with no known playing connections with a VAFA club turn his back on the $60 to $70k he could easily pick-up elsewhere to play for zilch?

I heard his sister's housekeeper's step-son once played a Club XVIII intraclub for SKOB - and so they will claim him as their own once the ink settles on the job contract:rolleyes:

Reckon a property group with signs all around Victoria gardens area might have something to do with it.

Jamar along with another ex demon heading to T H King.

Reckon a property group with signs all around Victoria gardens area might have something to do with it.

Jamar along with another ex demon heading to T H King.

Interesting Josh Wallis to join Bernards from SKOB - are the ex-AFL pushing home-grown kids out of the club?

Have also heard a couple of brothers from Port Melbourne VFL will be joining the Red & Blacks next year...

Interesting Josh Wallis to join Bernards from SKOB - are the ex-AFL pushing home-grown kids out of the club?

Have also heard a couple of brothers from Port Melbourne VFL will be joining the Red & Blacks next year...

Surely SKOBS have a enough AFL talent already! Interesting that none of them, including the newest signing, are old boys. No big deal unless of course you constantly promote the fact you are developing ‘home grown’ talent.

Think Wallis played juniors at St Bernards and the family live in Essendon so fair enough I reckon

Who are the brothers joining Xavs from the Borough?

Re Skob, they are developing homegrown talent. Have about 40 lads heading down 2015/2016. Nothing wrong with having as many good ex afl players as well. They have about 200 players. Room for all.
Also makes no difference if you live same suburb or are prepared to drive 2 hours to play and train.
The more bogan other comps become (and they are), the more likely ex afl and vfl players will strut their stuff in our great comp.

Joshy is a Footscray VFL player who wants to have a long and successful VFL career.

Old Xavs had brilliant success with the 'foreign legion' in the 90's and 00's, a good mix of Old Boys and non Old Boys, it's a pretty good template to follow I would suggest?

Jimmy Jack, football clubs are football clubs first and foremost, the worst thing you could have would be an environment full of cliques. If people want to have an old boys only environment they should join the old collegians association.

Joshy is a Footscray VFL player who wants to have a long and successful VFL career.

Old Xavs had brilliant success with the 'foreign legion' in the 90's and 00's, a good mix of Old Boys and non Old Boys, it's a pretty good template to follow I would suggest?

Jimmy Jack, football clubs are football clubs first and foremost, the worst thing you could have would be an environment full of cliques. If people want to have an old boys only environment they should join the old collegians association.

i don't think there is any need for explanations Brian. For what its worth I think the injection of this sort of talent is great for the comp and I just wish my club were better at attracting top end talent from outside the school network. But there is a tipping point and clubs such as Haileybury and Old Camberwell have learnt that to their detriment.

I think JJ is suggesting that some clubs constantly spruik how they develop their own when in fact that is far from the truth. I seem to recall that during Xavs golden era they were quite open about the fact they attracted players from other schools and backgrounds.

i don't think there is any need for explanations Brian. For what its worth I think the injection of this sort of talent is great for the comp and I just wish my club were better at attracting top end talent from outside the school network. But there is a tipping point and clubs such as Haileybury and Old Camberwell have learnt that to their detriment.

I think JJ is suggesting that some clubs constantly spruik how they develop their own when in fact that is far from the truth. I seem to recall that during Xavs golden era they were quite open about the fact they attracted players from other schools and backgrounds.
Rooster, good point, although I think several of the Haileybury team may have been there for other reasons, which were well publicised at the time.
Old Camberwell never had any depth of talent across their whole club, let alone 6 teams, of which 3 win flags the previous year and all of the others played finals.
I think we all know that we need to improve our respective teams, especially our club coming up from B.

Thanks Brian, unaware Josh was at Footscray. And overlooked the obvious Essendon link!

No doubt SKOB have their formula right too, don't sell yourself short. A good team for a while just short of A for a while, now the top up of class gets you there! Think there will be a few following in the coming years.

As for the Borough Brothers, word is their old man was a Carlton hero

I actually agree with you BS. Footy clubs are diverse places and personally I could not care less where a club gets its players. It just grates a bit when some clubs roll out the homegrown’ talent line ad naseum.

Thanks Brian, unaware Josh was at Footscray. And overlooked the obvious Essendon link!

No doubt SKOB have their formula right too, don't sell yourself short. A good team for a while just short of A for a while, now the top up of class gets you there! Think there will be a few following in the coming years.

A hero and a rip off specialist

Both Caulfield Grammar old boys. But not sure they will ‘dominate’ like their old man did.

Thats 2 going.....I heard there were 4. Dont know any names..

2 of their best already. Let's hope for Scribe and other hedge burner fans that Tinney and Iezzi are not either of the other two names or Trinity will be like Carey...back to B. Teams like this can't lose class when they have no depth.
My sources tell me Murrie, Freemantle, Bongetti, Rowe, Crozier and Howat are all gone from Carey. Cust Back. McQueen-Misc not back. For a side that was 0-18 in 2's and fell off the speed badly in 1's, they will need to find up to a dozen players. Also heard that King and Reid won't be back till back half of year at best with knees.
Re Xavs, 5-6 big recruits and comebacks already. Plus a heap of unders ready to jump up. Will be strong.

I'm not hinting at anything. Understand there is a career opportunity at a property group which would be enticing for a retiring AFL footballer.

Nothing untoward what so ever.

I tip my cap!

Also understand the Lion's might be into a retiring StKilda player who comes with a premiership medallion.